Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 7 – 10, 14 - 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20160276091), in view of Hu (US 20170110244).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an apparatus comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB in Fig. 3);
a via (a via 110) including a barrel (a stub portion 130) through the PCB, the barrel electrically connected to a first pad (a conductor cap 160) in a first plane of the PCB; and
a first coil (the inductor path 152) around the first pad in the first plane of the PCB, the first coil of conductor in the plane of the PCB, the first coil electrically connected to the first pad (the inductor 152 electrically connected to the pad 160, Fig. 2);
a second pad (the pad connected to the inductor pad 154) in a second plane of the PCB (the plane through 154) with a second coil (the inductor path 154) curved around the second pad in the second plane of the PCB.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose the first coil and the second coil have overlapping patterning.
Hu teaches the first coil (the first inductance coil 11) and the second coil (the first conductive hole 23) have overlapping patterning (Figures 2 - 4).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the position of the components in the circuit board in order to fit all the components of the intended circuitry into the limited space of the circuit substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Zhang further discloses the PCB further comprises an inner routing layer (the layer containing the inductor 154, Fig. 2 or consider another inductor, in Fig. 3, to be in the same plane; or 254, Fig. 4), wherein the second plane comprises the inner routing layer.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Zhang further suggests the second plane comprises either a top layer (the top layer of the stack, Fig. 3) of the PCB or a bottom layer of the PCB.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the first coil and the second coil are coiled in opposite radial directions (152 and 154 are opposite in the radial directions).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses a computer system, comprising:
a host processor (a processor in the device, paragraph 17); and
a memory module (paragraph 17) including multiple memory devices disposed on a printed circuit board (PCB, Fig. 3),
the PCB including:
a via (a via 110) including a barrel (a stub portion 130) through the PCB, the barrel electrically connected to a first pad (a conductor cap 160) in a first plane of the PCB; and
a first coil (the inductor path 152) curved around the first pad in the first plane of the PCB, the first coil of conductor in the first plane of the PCB, the coil electrically connected to the first pad (the inductor 152 electrically connected to the pad 160, Fig. 2).
a second pad (the pad connected to the inductor pad 154) in a second plane of the PCB (the plane through 154) with a second coil (the inductor path 154) curved around the second pad in the second plane of the PCB.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose the first coil and the second coil have overlapping patterning.
Hu teaches the first coil (the first inductance coil 11) and the second coil (the first conductive hole 23) have overlapping patterning (Figures 2 - 4).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the position of the components in the circuit board in order to fit all the components of the intended circuitry into the limited space of the circuit substrate.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8. Zhang further suggests the PCB further comprises an inner routing layer (layer having 154 if the word inner is inside the substrate, Fig. 2; otherwise, consider the routing layer 252 and 254, Fig. 4), wherein the second plane (the plane through 154) comprises the inner routing layer.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8. Zhang further suggests the second plane comprises either the other of the top layer of the PCB or the bottom layer of the PCB (consider the layer through 152 is a top or bottom layer).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8. Zhang further discloses wherein the first coil and the second coil are coiled in opposite radial directions (152 and 154 are opposite in the radial directions).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8. Zhang further suggests the host processor comprises a multicore processor (processors, paragraph 54); or the computer system further comprising: a display communicatively coupled to the host processor; or the computer system further comprising: a network interface communicatively coupled to the host processor (network chips, paragraph 54); or the computer system further comprising: a battery to power the computer system.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses a printed circuit board (PCB) comprising:
multiple planes of routing layers (Fig. 2 & 3), including a top routing layer (top layer, Fig. 2 & 3), a bottom routing layer (bottom layer, Fig. 2 & 3), and an inner routing layer (inner routing layer through 154) between the top routing layer and the bottom routing layer;
a via (120) including a barrel (130) through the top routing layer, the inner routing PCB, and the bottom routing layer, the barrel electrically connected to a first pad (160) in a first plane of the multiple planes of routing layers, wherein the first plane is either the top routing layer or the bottom routing layer (Fig. 2); and
a first coil (152) around the first pad in the first plane, the first coil of conductor in the first plane, the coil electrically connected to the first pad (Fig. 2).
a second pad (the pad connected to the inductor pad 154) in a second plane of the PCB (the plane through 154) with a second coil (the inductor path 154) curved around the second pad in the second plane of the PCB.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose the first coil and the second coil have overlapping patterning.
Hu teaches the first coil (the first inductance coil 11) and the second coil (the first conductive hole 23) have overlapping patterning (Figures 2 - 4).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the position of the components in the circuit board in order to fit all the components of the intended circuitry into the limited space of the circuit substrate.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Zhang further suggests the second plane comprises the inner routing layer (plane through 154).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Zhang further suggests the second plane comprises the other of top routing layer or the bottom routing layer (the plane through either top or bottom layers, Fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Culp (US 20160007462 A1) discloses two parallel patterns overlapping each other.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847