Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 – 10, 12 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20160276091).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an apparatus comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB in Fig. 3);
a via (a via 110) including a barrel (a stub portion 130) through the PCB, the barrel electrically connected to a pad (a conductor cap 160) in a plane of the PCB; and
a coil (the inductor path 152) around the pad in the plane of the PCB, the coil of conductor in the plane of the PCB, the coil electrically connected to the pad (the inductor 152 electrically connected to the pad 160, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Zhang further discloses the PCB further comprises an inner routing layer (the layer containing the inductor 154, Fig. 2 or consider another inductor, in Fig. 3, to be in the same plane; or 254, Fig. 4), wherein the plane comprises the inner routing layer.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Zhang further suggests the plane comprises either a top layer (the top layer of the stack, Fig. 3) of the PCB or a bottom layer of the PCB.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 3. Zhang further discloses the pad comprises a first pad (160) and the coil (152) comprises a first coil (152), wherein the first pad and the first coil are in the top layer of the PCB, the PCB further comprising: an inner routing layer including a second pad (the pad connected to 154, Fig. 2) in a plane (the plane of 154) of the inner routing layer, with a second coil (154) around the second pad in the inner routing layer.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 3. Zhang further suggests the pad comprises a first pad (160) and the coil comprises a first coil (152), wherein the first pad and the first coil are in the bottom layer (consider the layer through 152 is a bottom layer) of the PCB, the PCB further comprising: an inner routing layer including a second pad (the pad connected to 154) in a plane (a plane of 154) of the inner routing layer, with a second coil (154) around the second pad in the inner routing layer.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Zhang further discloses the plane comprises a first plane, the pad comprises a first pad (the pad 160), and the coil comprises a first coil (152), and further comprising a second pad (the pad connected to 154) in a second plane (the plane through 154) of the PCB with a second coil (154) around the second pad in the second plane of the PCB, wherein the first coil and the second coil are coiled in opposite radial directions (152 and 154 are opposite in the radial directions).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses a computer system, comprising:
a host processor (a processor in the device, paragraph 17); and
a memory module (paragraph 17) including multiple memory devices disposed on a printed circuit board (PCB, Fig. 3),
the PCB including:
a via (a via 110) including a barrel (a stub portion 130) through the PCB, the barrel electrically connected to a pad (a conductor cap 160) in a plane of the PCB; and
a coil (the inductor path 152) around the pad in the plane of the PCB, the coil of conductor in the plane of the PCB, the coil electrically connected to the pad (the inductor 152 electrically connected to the pad 160, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8. Zhang further suggests the PCB further comprises an inner routing layer (layer having 154 if the word inner is inside the substrate, Fig. 2; otherwise, consider the routing layer 252 and 254, Fig. 4), wherein the plane (the plane through 154) comprises the inner routing layer.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8. Zhang further suggests the plane comprises either a top layer of the PCB or a bottom layer of the PCB (consider the layer through 152 is a top or bottom layer).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10. Zhang further discloses the pad comprises a first pad (160) and the coil comprises a first coil (152), wherein the first pad and the first coil are in the top layer of the PCB (Fig. 2), the PCB further comprising: an inner routing layer including a second pad (the pad connected to 154) in a plane (a plane through 154) of the inner routing layer, with a second coil (154) around the second pad in the inner routing layer.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10. Zhang further discloses a first pad (160) and the coil comprises a first coil (152), wherein the first pad and the first coil are in the bottom layer of the PCB, the PCB further comprising: an inner routing layer (the layer through 154) including a second pad (the pad connected to 154) in a plane of the inner routing layer, with a second coil (154) around the second pad in the inner routing layer.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8. Zhang further discloses the plane comprises a first plane, the pad comprises a first pad (the pad 160), and the coil comprises a first coil (152), and further comprising a second pad (the pad connected to 154) in a second plane (the plane through 154) of the PCB with a second coil (154) around the second pad in the second plane of the PCB, wherein the first coil and the second coil are coiled in opposite radial directions (152 and 154 are opposite in the radial directions).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8. Zhang further suggests the host processor comprises a multicore processor (processors, paragraph 54); or the computer system further comprising: a display communicatively coupled to the host processor; or the computer system further comprising: a network interface communicatively coupled to the host processor (network chips, paragraph 54); or the computer system further comprising: a battery to power the computer system.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses a printed circuit board (PCB) comprising:
multiple planes of routing layers (Fig. 2 & 3), including a top routing layer (top layer, Fig. 2 & 3), a bottom routing layer (bottom layer, Fig. 2 & 3), and an inner routing layer (inner routing layer through 154) between the top routing layer and the bottom routing layer;
a via (120) including a barrel (130) through the top routing layer, the inner routing PCB, and the bottom routing layer, the barrel electrically connected to a pad (160) in a first plane of the multiple planes of routing layers; and
a coil (152) around the pad in the first plane, the coil of conductor in the first plane, the coil electrically connected to the pad (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Zhang further suggests the first plane comprises the inner routing layer (plane through 154).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Zhang further suggests the first plane comprises either the top routing layer or the bottom routing layer (the plane through either top or bottom layers, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 18. Zhang further discloses the pad comprises a first pad (160) and the coil comprises a first coil (152), wherein the first pad and the first coil are in the top routing layer or the bottom routing layer, and further comprising a second pad (the pad connected to 154) in the inner routing layer with a second coil (154) around the second pad in the inner routing layer.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Zhang further discloses the plane comprises a first plane, the pad comprises a first pad (the pad 160), and the coil comprises a first coil (152), and further comprising a second pad (the pad connected to 154) in a second plane (the plane through 154) of the PCB with a second coil (154) around the second pad in the second plane of the PCB, wherein the first coil and the second coil are coiled in opposite radial directions (152 and 154 are opposite in the radial directions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20160276091), in view of Hu (US 20170110244).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 3. Zhang further suggests the pad comprises a first pad (160) and the coil comprises a first coil (152), wherein the first pad and the first coil are in the top layer of the PCB (Fig. 2).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose a second pad in the bottom layer of the PCB with a second coil around the second pad in the bottom layer of the PCB.
Hu suggests a second pad (121, Fig. 2) in the bottom layer of the PCB with a second coil (the inductor coil 11) around the second pad in the bottom layer of the PCB.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to add more routing layers to the circuit board in order to increase the complexity of the circuitry and adding more function to the electronic device.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10. Zhang further suggests the pad comprises a first pad (160) and the coil comprises a first coil (152), wherein the first pad and the first coil are in the top layer of the PCB (Fig. 2).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose a second pad in the bottom layer of the PCB with a second coil around the second pad in the bottom layer of the PCB.
Hu suggests a second pad (121, Fig. 2) in the bottom layer of the PCB with a second coil (the inductor coil 11) around the second pad in the bottom layer of the PCB.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to add more routing layers to the circuit board in order to increase the complexity of the circuitry and adding more function to the electronic device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Meyer (US 9888577) discloses an inductor connected to the inner pad, Fig. 14A.
Li (US 20210352807) discloses an inductor connected to the inner pad, Fig. 4.
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848