DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 5/8/2026 in which claims 1 and 6 were amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending with claims 1-10 presented for examination and claims 11-20 remaining withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohki (US 2012/0217544 and Ohki hereinafter).
As to claims 1-4: Ohki discloses [claim 1] an integrated circuit structure (Fig. 7D; [0108]-[0109]), comprising: a layer (2; [0109]) comprising gallium and nitrogen (GaN; [0109]), the layer (2) comprising gallium and nitrogen (GaN) above a silicon substrate (1 can be SiC, which is a silicon substrate as it comprises silicon; [0109]); a gate structure (comprising 7 and 9; [0110]) over the layer (2) comprising gallium and nitrogen (GaN), the gate structure (comprising 7 and 9) comprising a gate electrode (7; [0110]) on a gate dielectric layer (9; [0110]); a source region (5; [0109]) on a first side (left side) of the gate structure (comprising 7 and 9); a drain region (6; [0109]) on a second side (right side) of the gate structure (comprising 7 and 9); and a source field plate (8 can be connected to source and is interpreted to be a source field plate; [0110] and [0035]) laterally between the gate structure (comprising 7 and 9) and the drain region (6), the source field plate (8) laterally separated from the gate structure (8 is laterally separated from the gate electrode 7), and the source field plate (8) on the gate dielectric layer (9), wherein the gate dielectric layer (9) is continuous between the gate electrode (7) and the source field plate (8); [claim 2] wherein a voltage associated with the source field plate (8) is different from a gate voltage associated with the gate structure (the source field plate 8 is connected to the source electrode, which is different from the voltage of the gate electrode 7 that is connected to the gate terminal as they are two different sources of voltage; [0035]); [claim 3] wherein the source field plate (8) has a top surface (topmost surface), wherein the top surface (topmost surface) of the source field plate (8) is substantially coplanar (the gate electrode 7 and the source field plate 8 can be formed at the same time to have an identical structure and will thus have coplanar top surfaces; [0110]) with a top surface (topmost surface) of the gate structure (7); [claim 4] wherein the gate structure (7) has a T-shaped gate structure (Fig. 8D; the shape of the gate electrode 7 is T-shaped and this shape can be applied to the embodiment of Fig. 7D; [0124] and [0139]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohki in view of Then et al (US 2020/0098885 and Then hereinafter).
Although the structure disclosed by Ohki shows substantial features of the claimed invention (discussed in paragraph 7 above), it fails to expressly disclose:
further comprising: a layer comprising aluminum and nitrogen, the layer comprising aluminum and nitrogen between the layer comprising gallium and nitrogen and the silicon substrate.
Ohki discloses a semiconductor substrate structure comprising a SiC substrate and a GaN layer thereon.
Then discloses that when forming a GaN on a SiC substrate, an AlN buffer layer can be used between them, see [0017] and [0027].
Given the teachings of Then, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Ohki by employing the well-known or conventional features of III-V device fabrication, such as displayed by Then, by employing an AlN buffer layer between a SiC substrate and an overlying GaN layer in order to improve growth conditions and/or prevent the GaN layer from reacting with the SiC substrate ([0027]).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sihu et al (CN 113241378 and Sihu hereinafter; a machine translation is used as an English language equivalent) in view of Ohki.
As to claims 6-10: Sihu discloses [claim 6] a computing device (Fig. 8; 1000; [0151]), comprising: a board (1002; [0151]); and a component (integrated circuit structure formed within 1006; [0155]) coupled to the board (1002), the component including an integrated circuit structure (integrated circuit structure; [0155]); [claim 7] further comprising: a memory (DRAM; [0152]) coupled to the board (1002); [claim 8] further comprising: a power delivery chip (power amplifier will deliver amplified power to components; [0152]) coupled to the board (1002); [claim 9] further comprising: a camera (camera; [0152]) coupled to the board (1002); [claim 10] wherein the component (integrated circuit structure) is a packaged integrated circuit die ([0155]).
Sihu fails to expressly disclose where the integrated circuit structure comprises [claim 6] a layer comprising gallium and nitrogen, the layer comprising gallium and nitrogen above a silicon substrate; a gate structure over the layer comprising gallium and nitrogen, the gate structure comprising a gate electrode on a gate dielectric layer; a source region on a first side of the gate structure; a drain region on a second side of the gate structure; and a source field plate laterally between the gate structure and the drain region, the source field plate laterally separated from the gate structure, and the source field plate on the gate dielectric layer, wherein the gate dielectric layer is continuous between the gate electrode and the source field plate.
Sihu discloses that the integrated circuit structure can comprise a HEMT ([0105]).
Ohki discloses a HEMT comprising [claim 6] a layer (Fig. 7D; 2; [0109]) comprising gallium and nitrogen (GaN; [0109]), the layer (2) comprising gallium and nitrogen (GaN) above a silicon substrate (1 can be SiC, which is a silicon substrate as it comprises silicon; [0109]); a gate structure (comprising 7 and 9; [0110]) over the layer (2) comprising gallium and nitrogen (GaN), the gate structure (comprising 7 and 9) comprising a gate electrode (7; [0110]) on a gate dielectric layer (9; [0110]); a source region (5; [0109]) on a first side (left side) of the gate structure (comprising 7 and 9); a drain region (6; [0109]) on a second side (right side) of the gate structure (comprising 7 and 9); and a source field plate (8 can be connected to source and is interpreted to be a source field plate; [0110] and [0035]) laterally between the gate structure (comprising 7 and 9) and the drain region (6), the source field plate (8) laterally separated from the gate structure (8 is laterally separated from the gate electrode 7), and the source field plate (8) on the gate dielectric layer (9), wherein the gate dielectric layer (9) is continuous between the gate electrode (7) and the source field plate (8).
Given the teachings of Ohki, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Sihu by employing the well-known or conventional features of HEMT fabrication, such as displayed by Ohki, by employing a GaN-based HEMT structure with a source field plate laterally separated from the gate structure and both are on a gate dielectric in order to provide a HEMT with improved withstanding voltage while suppressing any increase in the on-resistance ([0026]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSEPH C. NICELY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/JOSEPH C. NICELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813