Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, Figure 1B in the reply filed on 11/07/2025 is acknowledged.
Examiner contacted applicant’s representative, Justin Brask (Reg. No. 61080), on December 23, 2025 to clarify the species election as Species I is directed to Figure 1B and Species II is directed to Figure 1C. Mr. Brask clarified that the election is for Species II, Figure 1C.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/7/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takemae et al (US 2012/0235210 and Takemae hereinafter).
As to claims 1-5: Takemae discloses [claim 1] an integrated circuit structure (Fig. 15B; [0156]), comprising: a layer (Fig. 11A; 68; [0157]) comprising gallium and nitrogen (GaN; [0157]), the layer (68) comprising gallium and nitrogen above a silicon substrate (64; [0157]); a gate structure (Fig. 15B; 54; [0156]) over the layer (68) comprising gallium and nitrogen; a source region (S1; [0156]) on a first side (left side) of the gate structure (54); a drain region (D1; [0156]) on a second side (right side) of the gate structure (54); and a source field plate (FP4 is connected to the source and is interpreted to be a source field plate; [0156]) laterally between the gate structure (54) and the drain region (D1), the source field plate (FP4) laterally separated (by a gap) from the gate structure (54); [claim 2] wherein a voltage associated with the source field plate (FP4 is connected to the source voltage, which can be 0 V; [0156] and [0060]-[0062]) is different from a gate voltage (positive voltage; [0062]) associated with the gate structure; [claim 3] wherein the source field plate (FP4) has a top surface (uppermost surface), wherein the top surface (uppermost surface) of the source field plate (FP4) is substantially coplanar with a top surface (uppermost surface) of the gate structure (54); [claim 4] wherein the gate structure (54) has a T-shaped gate structure (structure 54 shown in Fig. 15B shows a horizontal portion connected to a vertical portion that is interpreted to be “T” shaped); [claim 5] further comprising: a layer (66; [0157]) comprising aluminum and nitrogen (AlN; [0157]), the layer (66) comprising aluminum and nitrogen between the layer (68) comprising gallium and nitrogen and the silicon substrate (64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sihu et al (CN 113241378 and Sihu hereinafter; a machine translation is used as an English language equivalent) in view of Takemae.
As to claims 6-10: Sihu discloses [claim 6] a computing device (Fig. 8; 1000; [0151]), comprising: a board (1002; [0151]); and a component (integrated circuit structure formed within 1006; [0155]) coupled to the board (1002), the component including an integrated circuit structure (integrated circuit structure; [0155]); [claim 7] further comprising: a memory (DRAM; [0152]) coupled to the board (1002); [claim 8] further comprising: a power delivery chip (power amplifier will deliver amplified power to components; [0152]) coupled to the board (1002); [claim 9] further comprising: a camera (camera; [0152]) coupled to the board (1002); [claim 10] wherein the component (integrated circuit structure) is a packaged integrated circuit die ([0155]).
Sihu fails to expressly disclose where the integrated circuit structure comprises [claim 6] a layer comprising gallium and nitrogen, the layer comprising gallium and nitrogen above a silicon substrate; a gate structure over the layer comprising gallium and nitrogen; a source region on a first side of the gate structure; a drain region on a second side of the gate structure; and a source field plate laterally between the gate structure and the drain region, the source field plate laterally separated from the gate structure.
Sihu discloses that the integrated circuit structure can comprise a HEMT ([0105]).
Takemae discloses a HEMT that comprises [claim 6] a layer (Fig. 11A; 68; [0157]) comprising gallium and nitrogen (GaN; [0157]), the layer (68) comprising gallium and nitrogen above a silicon substrate (64; [0157]); a gate structure (Fig. 15B; 54; [0156]) over the layer (68) comprising gallium and nitrogen; a source region (S1; [0156]) on a first side (left side) of the gate structure (54); a drain region (D1; [0156]) on a second side (right side) of the gate structure (54); and a source field plate (FP4 is connected to the source and is interpreted to be a source field plate; [0156]) laterally between the gate structure (54) and the drain region (D1), the source field plate (FP4) laterally separated (by a gap) from the gate structure (54).
Given the teachings of Then, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Sihu by employing the well-known or conventional features of HEMT fabrication, such as displayed by Takemae, by employing a gallium nitride based HEMT with a source field plate laterally separated from the gate structure and placed between the gate and the drain region in order to provide a device with a high withstand voltage ([0174]).
Conclusion
JOSEPH C. NICELY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/JOSEPH C. NICELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813
12/27/2025