DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, as to the point that both the Otsuka and Tamada fail to disclose the composition comprises a picolinic acid as the claim 1 is amended, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-13,15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsuka et al (US 2020/0369917) as supported with Tamada (US 2015/0060400) and further in view of Young et al (KR-20100080072-A).
With regards to claims 1 and 4, Otsuka et al disclose a polishing liquid (composition) comprises an abrasive particle of colloidal silica, alumina and ceria [0012],[0031],, the polishing composition further contain other additives such a water-soluble polymer, and an oxidizing agent (for example, hydrogen peroxide) [0060]; and examples of the water-soluble polymer include polyacrylic acid-based polymers such as polyacrylic acid, a polyacrylic acid copolymer, polyacrylate, and a polyacrylic acid copolymer salt; polymethacrylic acid-based polymers such as polymethacrylic acid and polymethacrylate; polyacrylamide (reads on the claimed polyacrylicamide); polydimethylacrylamide; polysaccharides such as alginic acid, pectinic acid, carboxymethylcellulose, agar, curdlan, dextrin, cyclodextrin, and pullulan; vinyl-based polymers such as polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinylpyrrolidone, and polyacrolein; glycerin-based polymers such as polyglycerin and polyglycerin derivatives; and polyethyleneglycol [0061];and aforesaid polyvinyl alcohol reads on the claimed “nonionic polymer” as of the instant claims 1 and 4; and the “polyacrylamide” reads on the claimed “compound comprising one or more functional groups capable of hydrogen bonding” as of the instant claim 1.
It is noted that Otsuka et al may not disclose using both the polyacrylamide and polyvinyl alcohol together in the composition.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use any combination of the water-soluble polymer in the Otsuka et al’s teaching including the polyvinyl alcohol and polyacrylamide (reads on the claimed polyacrylicamide) defined in the applicant’s claim 1 because it has been held that it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition which is to be used for the very same purpose." In re Kerkhoven 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980).
Additionally, Tamada (US 2015/0060400) discloses a polishing composition comprises abrasive particles [0021], oxidizing agent [0023],[0024] and water- soluble polymers including polyvinyl alcohols or polyacrylamide copolymers, polyvinyl alcohols having cationic functional groups (cationized polyvinyl alcohols), polyacrylic acids, polyacrylamides, etc. [0035] and such water-soluble polymer is used in the composition in a predetermined amount or more is adsorbed on the surfaces of the abrasive grains and the surface property of the abrasive grains is changed. Consequently, generation of dishing and erosion on the surface of the object to be polished can be suppressed [0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Tamada's teaching of using such water-soluble polymer into the polishing composition of Otsuka et al for suppressing dishing and erosion on the surface of the object to be polished as suggested by Tamada.
In the above teaching, Otsuka et al fail to teach the polishing composition comprises picolinic acid.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Young et al disclose a polishing composition having abrasive particles, polyvinylpyrrolidone used as a dispersant, and an organic acid, for example picolinic acid and glutamic acid, was used as the addition liquid, it was possible to secure a higher polishing amount and stable dispersion stability compared to the conventional ceria slurry ( see, the paragraph, under the heading “ADVANTAGEOUS-EFFECTS” at page 3 of the translation; abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Young et al's teaching of introducing an additive of picolinic acid into the teaching of Otsuka et al for securing higher polishing rate with improved polishing selectivity as suggested by Young et al.
With regards to claims 3 and 6, Otsuka et al may not disclose the concentration of the compound as the water-soluble polymer of polyacrylamide (the compound) and polyvinyl alcohol (non-ionic polymer). Additionally, Tamada discloses the content of the water-soluble polymer in the polishing composition is preferably 10 weight ppm or more, more preferably 50 weight ppm or more, and further preferably 100 weight ppm or more [0040].
However, it has been held that, generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art in the absence of evidence indicating that said concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
With regards to claim 5, Otsuka et al disclose above that the composition comprises polyvinyl alcohol, which is the same as the claimed invention and expected to have the similar molecular weight. Additionally, Tamada discloses weight average molecular weight of the water-soluble polymer is preferably 100 or more, more preferably 300 or more [0042]; and preferably 500,000 or less, more preferably 300,000 or less [0043], which overlaps the claimed range.
With regards to claim 7, Otsuka et al disclose above that the abrasive particle comprises colloidal silica [0031] and Tamada discloses that surface-modified abrasive grains in the polishing composition may be silica on which an organic acid is fixed. Specifically, colloidal silica on which an organic acid is fixed is preferable [0021].
With regards to claim 8, Otsuka et al disclose the colloidal silica having an average primary particle diameter of the abrasive grains is preferably 40 nm or less, more preferably 35 nm or less, and further preferably 30 nm or less, [0037]; and the average secondary particle diameter of the abrasive grains is preferably 80 nm or less [0041], which are overlapping the claimed range, MPEP 2144.05.
With regards to claim 9, Otsuka et al disclose that a lower limit of the content of the abrasive grains is preferably 0,005% by mass or more; and an upper limit of the content of the abrasive grains is preferably 20% by mass or less [0045], which overlaps the claimed range, and overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.
With regards to claim 10, Otsuka et al disclose that the oxidizing agent comprises hydrogen peroxide [0060].
With regards to claim 11, Otsuka et al remain silent regarding the content of the oxidizing agent but Tamada discloses that the content of the oxidant in the polishing composition is preferably 100 mol/L or less, more preferably 50 mol/L or less [0027], However, it has been held that, generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art in the absence of evidence indicating that said concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
With regards to claim 12, Otsuka et al disclose that the pH of the polishing composition is 2-5 (claim 4, [0064]).
With regards to claim 13, Otsuka et al disclose that the pH of the polishing liquid can be adjusted by an acid component such as an inorganic acid or an organic acid [0065] and aforesaid acid component easily reads on the claimed pH adjusting agent.
With regards to claim 15, Young et al teach the concentration of the picolinic acid is about 2% in the preparation of the additives in the polishing solution (see the paragraph under the heading “Additives Preparation” at page 5 of the translation).
Additionally, it has been held that, generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art in the absence of evidence indicating that said concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Regarding claim 16, Otsuka et al disclose a polishing composition comprising abrasive of colloidal silica [0017]; and the zeta potential of the abrasive grain in the polishing liquid is preferably positive, more preferably +4 mV or more, further preferably +6 mV or more, particularly preferably +8 mV or more, and extremely preferably +10 mV or more, from the viewpoint of easily polishing silicon nitride and polysilicon non-selectively with respect to silicon dioxide [0043].
With regards to claims 17-19, Otsuka et al disclose that the polishing liquid of the present invention, it is possible to polish a surface to be polished containing silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, and polysilicon while flattening. [0016]; and additionally, the specified polishing object is an intended use of the composition is not given a patentable weight; and Otsuka et al’s composition has all the claimed components and which is capable of performing the intended use of the composition as clamed. Likewise, the intended use of composition is not patentably significant. In re Albertson 141 USPQ 730 (CCPA 1964).
With regards to claims 20-22, the polishing selectivity of a polishing composition is purely an intended use of the composition and Otsuka et al’s composition has all the claimed components and which is capable of performing the intended use of the composition as clamed. Likewise, the intended use of composition is not patentably significant. In re Albertson 141 USPQ 730 (CCPA 1964).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al (US 2021/0380842) disclose a polishing composition comprises abrasive particles, a first dispersant including a nonionic linear polymer (abstract) and picolinic acid was used as a pH adjuster to adjust pH to 4 [0097].
SHAMIM AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/SHAMIM AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713