DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant's amendment filed on August 18, 2025 was received. Claims 1, 3 and 9 were amended. Claim 2 was canceled. Clams 16-20 were withdrawn. No claim was added.
The text of those sections of Title 35. U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action Issued April 15, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US20080277063) in view of Nguyen (US20160163511) and Wu (US201400370708) and Qiu (WO2015139503).
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches a method of for treating a substrate using plasma in an apparatus with plurality of process chambers 26 includes a housing 200 (paragraphs 0002 and 0023-0024). Shin teaches to generate plasma by supplying radio frequency power to the bottom electrode 364, which is disposed in a substrate support 222 in the chamber housing 200 (paragraphs 0028-0029, see figure 2) (delivering RF power to an electrode disposed in a substate support, wherein the substrate support is disposed in a process volume of a chamber, the chamber comprising a chamber body, and wherein the electrode generates a plasm). Shin teaches to rotate a first and second magnet units 420 and 440 (rotational magnet housing) around the outside surface of the chamber body 26, the traveling path of the of the magnet units are considered as tracks (paragraphs 0034-0035 and see figures 2-4), wherein the magnet units 420 and 440 are composed of a plurality of magnets (paragraphs 0030-0031) (rotating a rotational magnetic housing around an outside surface of the chamber body such that a plurality of magnets of magnetic housing travel in a path around the outside surface of the chamber body, each of the plurality of magnets are coupled to tracks positioned around the outside surface of the chamber body and are configured to move on the tracks).
Shin does not explicitly teach the plurality of magnets are positioned in a retaining bracket coupled to tracks and the retaining brackets are configured to move on the tracks. However, Nguyen teaches a method of processing a substate in a plasma processing chamber with a magnetic ring to enable the tuning of the plasma (paragraphs 0007-0008), Nguyen teaches the magnetic ring rotates around the process chamber (paragraphs 0049-0050) and is formed by a plurality of magnets being fixed on the ring by bushing 314 and spindle 332 (also read on bracket) or slots on the ring connector 614 (paragraphs 0039-0040 and 0050, see figures 3, 5 and 6B), thus, the slots or spindle on the ring connector 614 is considered to read on the limitations of bracket which is also coupled to the tracks for the rotation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the magnet in a retaining bracket coupled to the tracks as suggested by Nguyen in the method of Shin because Nguyen teaches such mechanism allows the magnets to be fixed on the magnet ring or adjusted by rotating, removing or switching between an on state and an off state, to provide the magnet ring tunable capabilities for the plasma profile (paragraphs 0039-0040).
Shin in view of Nguyen does not explicitly teaches the chamber includes a shield configured to confine a magnetic field generated by the plurality of magnets to the process volume. However, Wu teaches a method of plasma processing a substrate in a chamber (paragraph 0005) using magnetic field generated by a magnetic field forming device disposed proximate the walls of the chamber body to facilitate control over the plasma formed in the processing volume (paragraph 0034). Wu teaches a shield is disposed around the magnetic field forming coils to shield other equipment including controls, process chambers or other fabrication equipment from the magnetic field (pargraph 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the shield to confine the magnetic field generated by the magnetic generated device (magnets) as suggested by Wu in the method of Shin in view of Nguyen because Wu teaches the shield can impede the magnetic field influence to the other equipment such as controllers, process chambers and fabrication equipment (paragraph 0036) and it is desired to form the magnetic field having desired shape and orientation (paragraph 0034).
Nguyen teaches the magnetic ring rotates around the process chamber (paragraphs 0049-0050) and is formed by a plurality of magnets being fixed on the ring by bushing 314 and spindle 332 (also read on bracket) or slots on the ring connector 614 (paragraphs 0039-0040 and 0050, see figures 3, 5 and 6B), thus, the slots or spindle on the ring connector 614 is considered to read on the limitations of bracket which is also coupled to the tracks for the rotation (actuating the retaining brackets to slide along tracks in a radial direction). Thus, Shin in view of Nguyen and Wu teaches all limitations of this claim, except to vary the horizontal distance from each of the magnets to a center axis of the process volume. However, Qiu teaches a method of magnetron sputtering with magnetic field generated by a magnetic ring around the outer wall of the chamber (abstract, page 6 detailed description, figure 2). Qiu teaches to adjust the distance between the radius of the ring magnet and the radius of the target to adjust the magnetic field distribution and magnetic field strength (page 9 second paragraph). Since Shin in view of Nguyen teaches the plasma characteristic/profile and uniformity is turned by the magnetic field (see Shin abstract and paragraph 0004 and Nguyen paragraphs 0010), the combination of Shin in view of Nguyen teaches to vary the horizontal distance from the magnets to the center axis of the process volume during the plasma process in the chamber body. Since Shin in view of Nguyen teaches the magnet are positioned in the retaining bracket to slide along the tracks, with Qiu teaches to vary the horizontal distance from the magnets to the center axis of the process volume, it would be clear that combination includes to actuate the retaining brackets (which hold the magnets) to vary the horizontal distance to the center axis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the horizontal distance of the magnets and the central axis of the process volume as suggested by Qiu in the method of Shin in view of Nguyen and Wu because Qiu teaches the distance changed the strength and distribution of the magnetic field (page 9 second paragraph), which changes the plasma characteristics in light of Shin and Nguyen.
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches the shield is aligned with the magnetic field generated device to shield the magnetic field (paragraphs 0034-0036), thus it is vertically aligned with the plurality of magnets.
Regarding claim 4, Nguyen teaches to lift of to raise or lower the magnetic housing to adjust the vertical position of the magnetic housing relative to the support surface of the substrate support (paragraphs 0046-0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move raise or lower the magnetic housing to adjust the vertical position of the magnetic housing as suggested by Nguyen in the method of Shin because Nguyen teaches because it can adjust the effect of the magnetic field on the plasma and the density of the plasma (paragraph 0047). Wu teaches a shield is disposed around the magnetic field forming coils to shield other equipment including controls, process chambers or other fabrication equipment from the magnetic field (paragraph 0036) and it is desired to form the magnetic field having desired shape and orientation (paragraph 0034). Thus, the combination of Nguyen and Wu teaches the magnetic housing is adjusted vertically relative to an opening within the body of the shield and relative to a support surface of the substrate such that the opening allows the magnetic field to enter the process volume in the desired shape.
Regarding claim 5, Nguyen teaches the vertical position is adjusted by a lifting actuator 512 (housing lift system) coupled to the magnetic housing (paragraphs 0046-0047, see figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Nguyen teaches the vertical position of the magnets from the substrate is changed while generating the plasma in the chamber body (paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches the shield is spaced apart from the magnetic field generating device (magnets) (paragraph 0036), and Nguyen teaches to lift of to raise or lower the magnetic housing to adjust the vertical position of the magnetic housing relative to the support surface of the substrate support (paragraphs 0046-0047). The combination of Nguyen and Wu teaches to adjust the position of the plurality of magnet relative to the shield.
Regarding claim 8, Nguyen teaches the magnets have positive and negative poles and a magnet can be oriented azimuthally while an adjust magnet maybe oriented radially (paragraph 0037), thus, half of the magnets have both poles oriented toward the central opening (azimuthally) while the other half have either positive or negative pole oriented opposite to the central opening.
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US20080277063) in view of Nguyen (US20160163511) and Wu (US201400370708) and Masuda (US6245190).
Regarding claim 9, Shin teaches a method of for treating a substrate using plasma in an apparatus with plurality of process chambers 26 includes housing (a first chamber body) (paragraphs 0002 and 0023-0024). Shin teaches to generate plasma by supplying radio frequency power to the bottom electrode 364, which is disposed in a substrate support 222 in the first chamber housing (paragraphs 0028-0029, see figure 2). Shin teaches to rotate a first and second magnet units 420 and 440 (rotational magnet housing) around the outside surface of the chamber body 26 such that a plurality of magnets of the magnetic housing travel in a path around the outside surface of the chamber body by rotation members (paragraphs 0030-0031, 0034-0035 and 0040-0041 see figures 2-4).
Shin does not explicitly teach the drive system comprising the motor coupled to a first belt. However, Nguyen teaches a method of processing a substate in a plasma processing chamber with a magnetic ring to enable the tuning of the plasma (paragraphs 0007-0008), Nguyen teaches the magnetic ring rotates around the process chamber (paragraphs 0049-0050) and is formed by a plurality of magnets being fixed on the ring by bushing 314 and spindle 332 (also read on bracket) or slots on the ring connector 614 (paragraphs 0039-0040 and 0050, see figures 3, 5 and 6B). Nguyen further teaches a ring rotation actuator 610 have an output shaft attached to a linkage connector, which has a corresponding ring connector, wherein the linkage connector is a belt for transferring motion from the ring rotation actuator to the magnetic ring, wherein the belt has a plurality of lugs corresponding to a groove of a plurality of groves of an outside sidewall of the rotational magnetic housing (paragraphs 0050 see figure 6B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the magnets in a retaining bracket on the ring and use a driving system comprising a motor and a belt as suggested by Nguyen in the method of Shin because Nguyen teaches such mechanism allows the magnets to be fixed on the magnet ring or adjusted by rotating, removing or switching between an on state and an off state, to provide the magnet ring tunable capabilities for the plasma profile (paragraphs 0039-0040), and the belt and motor system is suitable to transfer motion from the actuator to the magnetic housing (paragraph 0050).
Shin in view of Nguyen does not explicitly teaches the chamber includes a shield configured to confine a magnetic field generated by the plurality of magnets to the process volume. However, Wu teaches a method of plasma processing a substrate in a chamber (paragraph 0005) using magnetic field generated by a magnetic field forming device disposed proximate the walls of the chamber body to facilitate control over the plasma formed in the processing volume (paragraph 0034). Wu teaches a shield is disposed around the magnetic field forming coils to shield other equipment including controls, process chambers or other fabrication equipment from the magnetic field (pargraph 0036). Wu teaches the shield is aligned with the magnetic field generated device to shield the magnetic field (paragraphs 0034-0036), thus it is vertically aligned with the plurality of magnets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the shield to confine the magnetic field generated by the magnetic generated device (magnets) as suggested by Wu in the method of Shin in view of Nguyen because Wu teaches the shield can impede the magnetic field influence to the other equipment such as controllers, process chambers and fabrication equipment (paragraph 0036) and it is desired to form the magnetic field having desired shape and orientation (paragraph 0034).
Shin in view of Nguyen and Wu does not explicitly teach the shield is disposed between the process volume and the plurality of magnets. However, Masuda teaches a method of plasma processing (abstract) and a portion of a shield (yoke segments 53A-53F) disposed between the process volume and the coils (plurality of magnets of Shin view of Nguyen) (figures 1 and 12, column 9 lines 55-57 and column 20 lines 5-21). Masuda’s yoke is considered as the extension of the outer shield 52 as they work together along with the coil (magnets) to provide the magnetic field. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic shield of Shin in view of Nguyen and Wu to have a portion of the shield being deposed between the process volume and the plurality of magnets as suggested by Masuda, because Masuda teaches such configuration of the shield enable the formation of parallel magnetic lines which can help maintain a preferable etching rate over a large size wafer (column 4 lines 37-43, column 11 lines 54-58 and column 12 lines 14-17)/
Regarding claim 10, Shin teaches to adjust the rotation rate of the magnet housing (paragraph 0043). Nguyen teaches to adjust the rotation rate of the magnetic housing (paragraph 0049) and to remove the magnets from the housing (paragraph 0039), which reads on the limitation of the adjusting a pitch between each magnet of the plurality of magnets.
Regarding claim 11, Nguyen teaches the magnets have positive and negative poles and a magnet can be oriented azimuthally while an adjust magnet maybe oriented radially (paragraph 0037), thus, half of the magnets have both poles oriented toward the central opening (azimuthally) while the other half have either positive or negative pole oriented opposite to the central opening.
Regarding claim 12, Shin further teaches a plurality of process chambers 26 is provided in the apparatus (paragraphs 0023), thus, Shin teaches rotating a second rotational magnetic housing around an outside of a second chamber body. Since Nguyen teaches the first rotational magnetic housing is coupled to a first belt, it would be expected a second belt is coupled to the second rotational magnetic housing also.
Regarding claim 13, Nguyen teaches the first belt rotates the first rotational magnetic housing, and it would be expected a second belt rotates the second rotational magnetic housing.
Regarding claim 14, Shin in view of Nguyen and Wu teaches all limitations of this claim, except to vary the horizontal distance from the magnets to a center axis of the process volume. However, Qiu teaches a method of magnetron sputtering with magnetic field generated by a magnetic ring around the outer wall of the chamber (abstract, page 6 detailed description, figure 2). Qiu teaches to adjust the distance between the radius of the ring magnet and the radius of the target to adjust the magnetic field distribution and magnetic field strength (page 9 second paragraph). Since Shin in view of Nguyen teaches the plasma characteristic/profile and uniformity is turned by the magnetic field (see Shin abstract and paragraph 0004 and Nguyen paragraphs 0010), the combination of Shin in view of Nguyen teaches to vary the horizontal distance from the magnets to the center axis of the process volume during the plasma process in the chamber body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the horizontal distance of the magnets and the central axis of the process volume as suggested by Qiu in the method of Shin in view of Nguyen and Wu because Qiu teaches the distance changed the strength and distribution of the magnetic field (page 9 second paragraph), which changes the plasma characteristics in light of Shin and Nguyen.
Regarding claim 15, Shin teaches to adjust the rotation rate of the magnet housing (at least one of the rotation rate of the first rotational magnetic housing or a rotation rate of the second rotational magnetic housing) (paragraph 0043). Nguyen teaches to adjust the rotation rate of the magnetic housing (paragraph 0049)
Double Patenting
The claim rejections on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11557466 in view of Wu (US201400370708) are withdrawn, because the claims have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
Qiu does not teach retaining bracket that actuates the magnets to vary a horizontal distance to the center axis of the process volume while generating the plasma in the chamber body.
Shin in view of Nguyen and Wu does not teach the new limitations of claim 9.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments:
Since Shin in view of Nguyen teaches the magnet are positioned in the retaining bracket to slide along the tracks, with Qiu teaches to vary the horizontal distance from the magnets to the center axis of the process volume, it would be clear that combination includes to actuate the retaining brackets (which hold the magnets) to vary the horizontal distance to the center axis. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
New references, Masuda is included to address the new limitations (see rejections above).
Conclusion
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/Examiner, Art Unit 1717