DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments received 02/04/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Regarding the rejection under 35 USC 101, Applicant argues (REMARKS, p.5):
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Following the Alice framework set forth in MPEP 2106 and the “Reminders on evaluating subject matter eligibility of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101” (August 4 memo), Examiner separates the representative claim 8 into two portions: the claim limitations possibly directed to abstract ideas which are highlighted in bold, and the remaining limitations treated as “additional elements”. Examiner analyses the limitations in the bolded portion one-by-one under Step 2A - Prong 1 and determines that the bolded portion of instant claim 8, reciting a series of mathematical concepts and mental process, amounts to an abstract idea falling within a combination of the “Mental Process” and “Mathematical Concepts” groupings of Abstract Ideas defined by the 2019 PEG. Examiner then moves on to Step 2A - Prong 2 and Step 2B to identify any additional elements (specifically point to claim features/limitations/steps) recited in the claim beyond the identified judicial exception; and evaluate the integration of the judicial exception into a practical application using the considerations set forth in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(a)- (c) and (e)- (h), 2106.05(II) and 2106.07(a)(III). By evaluating each of the additional elements both individually and as a combination and giving weight to all of the claimed additional elements, Examiner determines that none of the additional elements recited in representative claim 8 is significantly more such that the claim as whole integrates the judicial exception into a practical application or amounts to an inventive concept. In particular, the limitations (S2), (S3), (S4) and (S5) in the bolded portion are recited as being performed by utilizing a statistical module of the metrology. However, the “statistical module of the metrology” is recited at a high level of generality. The “statistical module” is merely used as a generic computing component (e.g., a conventional microprocessor) to perform the identified abstract idea, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, none of the additional elements of claim 8 is considered to be qualified for a significant or meaningful limitation to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amounts to an inventive concept because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The rest of the Applicant’s arguments about the eligibility of claim subject matter are reliant upon the issues discussed above or have been fully addressed by the analysis under the 2019 PEG as set forth below in this Office Action.
Regarding the rejection under 35 USC 103, Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Detailed response is given in sections 8-9 as set forth below in this Office Action.
In response to Applicant’s arguments with respect to Hummon’s teaching of “an electricity meter coupled to said electrical grid at a periphery of the electrical grid”, Examiner reminds to the Applicant that during patent examination, the pending claims must be given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. See MPEP 2111.01. Moreover, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). With these principles in mind, Examiner maintains the position that Hummon’s grid edge device 201 (Fig. 2) does encompass “an electricity meter coupled to said electrical grid at a periphery of the electrical grid”.
In particular, Hummon mentions explicitly: “The system can include a grid edge device (e.g., a metering device) comprising one or more processors coupled to memory and positioned at a grid edge” (para. 0008); “In utility distribution grids, meters or other components within utility distribution grids can collect samples of power delivery or consumption at respective sites (e.g., residential homes, facilities, or entities) for processing” (para. 0030); “a grid edge device 201, which can include any grid device, such as a metering device 118, or any other system coupled with the grid” (para. 0061); “The grid edge device 201 can be a metering device 118 at a particular site or a location (e.g., a local grid, or a portion of a grid) and can be utilized to manage or operate electricity services at that location” (para. 0062); “Electricity characteristics 210 can include any type and form of attributes or properties of the electrical power being delivered or consumed at a site of a grid edge device 201. Electricity characteristics 210 can include, for example, voltage levels, current flow, power consumption …” (para. 0064); “Input query 204 can be generated by applications 282 on client devices 280 and transmitted to the data processing system 150 for processing and response generation. For example, a user can query the system to find out the projected electricity bill for a time period, … based on one or more electricity characteristics 210” (para. 0065).
It is commonly known that an electric meter (or energy meter) is a device installed by utility companies at homes and businesses to measure the total amount of electrical energy consumed over time. It records usage, allowing for accurate billing, grid management, and monitoring of power demand, etc. As such, Hummon’s teaching of the grid edge device 201 reads on “an electricity meter coupled to an electrical grid at a periphery of the electrical grid”. Applicant’s arguments in this regard are therefore not persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a voltage module”, “a statistics module”, “a communication module”, and “a metrology module”, etc. in claims 1-7 and/or claims 8-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Under the 2019 PEG (now been incorporated into MPEP 2106), the revised procedure for determining whether a claim is "directed to" a judicial exception requires a two-prong inquiry into whether the claim recites: (1) any judicial exceptions, including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human interactions such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes); and (2) additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)-(c), (e)-(h)).
Only if a claim (1) recites a judicial exception and (2) does not integrate that exception into a practical application, do we then look to whether the claim: (3) adds a specific limitation beyond the judicial exception that is not "well-understood, routine, conventional" in the field (see MPEP § 2106.0S(d)); or (4) simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
Claims 1-20 are directed to an abstract idea of detecting anomaly in an electrical grid based on monitored voltage.
Specifically, representative claim 8 recites:
An electricity meter comprising:
one or more processors;
one or more modules coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more modules including a communication module and a metrology module; and
memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory storing thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations utilizing the one or more modules, the operations comprising:
(S1) collecting, by utilizing a voltage module of the metrology module, at a preselected sampling rate, a voltage waveform of an electrical grid coupled to the electricity meter at a periphery of the electrical grid;
(S2) determining, by utilizing a statistical module of the metrology, standard voltage waveform statistics of voltage of the electrical grid based on the voltage data, the standard voltage waveform statistics including one or more statistical metrics including kurtosis;
(S3) determining, by utilizing the statistical module, a range for the one or more statistical metrics based on the standard voltage waveform statistics;
(S4) at a preselected interval, calculating, by utilizing the statistical module, a statistical value of the one or more statistical metrics of a present voltage waveform sampled at the preselected sampling rate;
(S5) determining, by utilizing the statistical module, whether the statistical value is outside of the range;
(S6) in response to determining that the statistical value is outside of the range:
capturing, by utilizing the statistical module, a predetermined number of cycles of voltage waveforms around the present voltage waveform; and
sending, by utilizing the statistical module, an alarm to a remote computing device associated with the electrical grid.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements”.
The highlighted portion of the claim constitutes an abstract idea under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance and the additional elements are NOT sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions, as analyzed below:
Step
Analysis
1. Statutory Category ?
Yes.
System
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes.
See the bolded portion as listed above.
Under its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), each and/or the combination of the limitations S2, S3 and S4 recited in the bolded portion encompasses mathematical concepts (e.g., determining/calculating the standard voltage waveform statistics, including statistical metrics such as kurtosis, of voltage of the electrical grid based on the voltage data; determining or specifying a range for the statistical metrics based on the standard voltage waveform statistics; etc. ), namely a series of calculations leading to one or more numerical results or answers, which also encompasses mental processes, i.e. data manipulation and evaluation, that can be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper.
Under its BRI, the limitation S5 encompasses a data analysis process that can be performed by the human mind using mental steps/critical thinking.
Nothing in the bolded portion precludes the limitations S2-S5 from practically being performed in the mind and/or with the aid of pen/paper.
Therefore, the bolded portion of instant claim 8, reciting a series of mathematical concepts and mental process, amounts to an abstract idea falling within a combination of the “Mental Process” and “Mathematical Concepts” groupings of Abstract Ideas defined by the 2019 PEG.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No.
Representative claim 8 recites: “An electricity meter comprising one or more processors; one or more modules coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more modules including a communication module and a metrology module; and memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory storing thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations utilizing the one or more modules” and “an electrical grid coupled to the electricity meter at a periphery of the electrical grid”. It is deemed that each of the components/modules of the electricity meter, including “one or more processors”, “one or more modules coupled to the one or more processors”, “a communication module and a metrology module”, “memory coupled to the one or more processors” and “an electrical grid coupled to the electricity meter at a periphery of the electrical grid”, is recited at a high level of generality. In particular, the combination of the processor and the memory reads on a general-purpose computer processor performing a generic computer function of processing data. The generic processor limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Using the guidelines set forth in MPEP 2106, it is held that performing an abstract idea using a general-purpose computer system would not amount to significantly more than the abstract algorithm itself. See also, for example, Whitserve LLC v. Dropbox, Inc. and MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, the claim does not require any particular machine or concrete structural components in a particular way to implement the coupling between the communication/metrology modules and the generic processor, and without placing any limits on how the communication module and the metrology module function to assist the generic processor in generating and manipulating the voltage data. As such, they do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim but are merely related to insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Special attention is given to the generically recited “a metrology module” (coupled to the one or more processors) and “a statistical module of the metrology”. Under the BRI, each or the combination of them encompasses a general-purpose computer and/or generic computing component used as a tool to perform the abstract idea. According to the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), if a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mental processes except for the mention of generic computer components performing computing activities via basic function of the computer, then the claim is likely considered to be directed to an ineligible abstract idea, as it essentially describes a mental process that could be performed by a human without the computer components adding any significant practical application beyond the abstract concept itself.
The claim recites the limitation “(S1) …” which encompasses a process of gathering the data/information necessary for performing the abstract idea. It is necessary to acquire the data in order to use the recited judicial exception to perform the statistical (math) calculations. As explained above, the additional elements of “an electrical grid coupled to the electricity meter at a periphery of the electrical grid” and “a voltage module of the metrology module” are all recited at a high level of generality but do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. The “voltage module” is used as a tool to perform the generic computer function of receiving data. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim does not require any particular devices or sensors to sample the voltage data and/or to perform the “collecting”. Thus, under the BRI, the limitation of “collecting voltage data, by utilizing a voltage module of the metrology module, by sampling, at a preselected sampling rate, …” does not impose any other meaningful limits on the claim. See MPEP 2106.05(g)(3): … that were described as mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea. See also Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 13863, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering).
Furthermore, said “sampling” does not specify how the “sampling” is performed and/or any particular sampling devices or mechanisms are used in certain particular manner. Thus claim 8 would monopolize the abstract idea across a wide range of applications.
The limitation “(S6) …” encompasses a step of gathering the data/information necessary for outputting the results of the identified abstract idea, which is considered an insignificant post-solution activity (i.e., transmitting or displaying the algorithm results). Similarly, “sending an alarm to a remote computing device associated with the electrical grid” also represents an extra-solution activity to the judicial exception that does not amount to the recitation of significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The “statistical module” is used merely as a tool to perform the generic computer function of receiving/capturing and transmitting data but does not amount to be “significantly more”. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The limitations (S2), (S3), (S4) and (S5) are recited as being performed by utilizing a statistical module of the metrology. As illustrated above, the “statistical module of the metrology” is recited at a high level of generality. The “statistical module of the metrology” is used merely to perform the identified abstract idea, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, none of the additional elements of claim 8 is considered to be qualified for a significant or meaningful limitation to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. At most, they only generally link the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(2).
The claim as a whole does not meet any of the following criteria to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application:
An additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to affect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Various considerations are used to determine whether the additional elements are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. However, in all of these respects, the claim fails to recite additional elements which might possibly integrate the claim into a particular practical application. Instead, based on the above considerations, the claim would tend to monopolize the algorithm across a wide range of applications.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No.
Focusing on what the inventors have invented exactly, it is considered that the “heart” of pending claim 8 is directed to an algorithm of analyzing voltage data of an electrical grid, wherein the algorithm is performed in an electricity meter at a periphery of the electrical grid. The algorithm of analyzing voltage data encompasses statistical calculations, i.e., mathematical concepts, falling within a combination of the “Mental Process” and “Mathematical Concepts” groupings of abstract ideas.
The claimed electricity meter, including a voltage module and statistical module of the metrology module, at a periphery of the electrical grid is recited at a high level of generality. It is considered that a device, such as a smart meter or a digital/advanced meter including a metrology module as the core component of the meter, that records real-time quantitative measurement of electricity consumption and power quality data and automatically analyzes the data to generate outputs is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art. See the prior art cited below in this Office Action.
As discussed in Step 2A Prong Two above, each or the combination of the additional limitations in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and/or well-known techniques. The claim does not recite any additional element that can be treated as “significantly more” or an “inventive concept”. See MPEP 2106.05.
The claim is therefore ineligible under 35 USC 101.
The dependent claims 9-14 inherit attributes of the independent claim 8, but does not add anything which would render the claimed invention a patent eligible application of the abstract idea. The claim merely extends (or narrows) the abstract idea which does not amount for "significant more" because it merely adds details to the algorithm which forms the abstract idea as discussed above. As to the additional elements of “data of the voltage data corresponding to periods during which the electrical grid is known to be operating normally” (claim 9), “the one or more statistical metrics include at least one of: a crest factor; or skewness” (claim 10), “one or more statistical metrics of the preselected intervals in the captured predetermined number of cycles of voltage waveforms” (claim 11)”, etc., under the BRI, they encompass merely data characterization which can be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of electrical grid monitoring and/or anomaly detection but do not amount to be meaningful to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 for the same reason as for claims 8-14 set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkin (US 9453869 B1) in view of Hummon et al. (US 20240213800 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Parkin discloses a method, performed by an electrical power quality node (PQ-Node 10 in Figs. 1 and 2, comprising a microprocessor 16 and ram 17) coupled to an electrical grid (see discussion related to PQ-Node 10 in Figs. 1 and 2) at a periphery of the electrical grid for detecting voltage anomaly in an electrical grid (Abstract; col. 1, lines 59-62; col. 5, lines 59-67; col. 6, lines 1-10), wherein electrical power quality node comprising: one or more processors (16 Fig. 2); one or more modules coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more modules including a communication module and a metrology module (col. 7, lines 32-36); and memory (17) coupled to the one or more processors, the memory storing thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations utilizing the one or more modules, the operations comprising: collecting, by utilizing a voltage module of the PQ-Node, voltage data by sampling a voltage waveform of the electrical grid at a preselected sampling rate (col. 7, lines 14-17 and 41-55); determining, by utilizing a statistics module of the PQ-Node, standard voltage waveform statistics of voltage of the electrical grid based on the voltage data (col. 6, lines 41-44; col. 7, lines 46-62; col. 9, lines 11-15; col. 21, lines 42-67: by inherency, the PQ-Node performs the compression cycle, where concurrent data blocks are merged, before the data blocks are sent to the output register where they are prepared for transmission to the multi-channel recorder 20; the formation of the compression cycle includes: e.g., calculating the derivation of the variable's average value and standard deviation for that period of time, the calculated standard deviation is then divided by the average RMS value, multiplied by 100 to produce the percent of variation used in the comparison of electrical values for determination of data block compression, further the voltage percent variation and the current percent variation determine the compression cycle for all data blocks), the standard voltage waveform statistics including one or more statistical metrics (e.g., the standard deviation measured for the voltage and current RMS values measured by that PQ-Node; see col. 21, lines 42-67; col. 22, lines 28-62; see also Figs. 16a/16b and related text); determining, by utilizing the statistics module, a range (e.g., the percent of variation used in the comparison of electrical values for determination of data block compression) for the one or more statistical metrics based on the standard voltage waveform statistics (col. 21, lines 51-67; col. 22, lines 16-26); at a preselected interval, calculating, by utilizing the statistics module of the PQ-Node, a statistical value (e.g., standard deviation and/or volatility) of the one or more statistical metrics (see Figs. 16a/16b and related text) of a present voltage waveform sampled at the preselected sampling rate (col. 5, lines 59-67; col. 6, lines 33-44; col. 9, line 67 – col. 10, line 2; col. 11, lines 3-8; col. 12, lines 3-8; col. 14, lines 24-33), and determining whether the statistical value is outside of the range (col. 17, lines 32-42; col. 23, lines 16-26); in response to determining that the statistical value is outside of the range: capturing a predetermined number of cycles of voltage waveforms around the present voltage waveform (col. 3, lines 54-63; col. 5, lines 59-67; col. 17, lines 32-42; col. 21, lines 51-67; col. 23, lines 15-35; col. 24, lines 32-46); and sending an alarm to a remote computing device (e.g., the multi-channel recorder 20 Figs. 1 and 3) associated with the electrical grid (col. 8, lines 25-42; col. 19, lines 15-39).
Parkin does not mention explicitly: said electrical power quality node an electricity meter coupled to said electrical grid at a periphery of the electrical grid; wherein the standard voltage waveform statistics including one or more statistical metrics including kurtosis.
Hummon discloses a method, performed by an electricity meter (edge device 201 in Fig. 2; para. 0008: “The system can include a grid edge device (e.g., a metering device) comprising one or more processors coupled to memory and positioned at a grid edge”; para. 0030: “In utility distribution grids, meters or other components within utility distribution grids can collect samples of power delivery or consumption at respective sites (e.g., residential homes, facilities, or entities) for processing”; para. 0061: “a grid edge device 201, which can include any grid device, such as a metering device 118, or any other system coupled with the grid”; para. 0064: “Electricity characteristics 210 can include any type and form of attributes or properties of the electrical power being delivered or consumed at a site of a grid edge device 201. Electricity characteristics 210 can include, for example, voltage levels, current flow, power consumption …”; para. 0065: “Input query 204 can be generated by applications 282 on client devices 280 and transmitted to the data processing system 150 for processing and response generation. For example, a user can query the system to find out the projected electricity bill for a time period, … based on one or more electricity characteristics 210”) coupled to an electrical grid at a periphery of the electrical grid (para. 0062: “The grid edge device 201 can be a metering device 118 at a particular site or a location (e.g., a local grid, or a portion of a grid) and can be utilized to manage or operate electricity services at that location”), for fingerprint analyses associated with voltage characteristics in the electrical grid (para. 0006: “The metering device can include a graphic processing unit (GPU) configured to process collected data, thereby combining metrology and GPU processing capability to enable distributed edge computing or learning”; para. 0034, 0055: “The edge device can include or correspond to the metering device 118”, para. 0060: “The meter collar can … enable real-time data collection and distributed AI models for execution at the grid edge (e.g., executed on edge devices)”; para. 0064: “The electrical waveforms can correspond to at least one of the voltage or current waveforms”; para. 0105: “the model selected for the respective application can perform the respective functionalities, such as but not limited to fingerprint analysis associated with voltage characteristics”; para. 0111: “the metric generator 210 can determine the one or more metrics based on or according to the voltage and current detected by the edge device 201, the sensor of the edge device 201, or the metering device 118”; see also para. 0134); wherein the fingerprint analyses include one or more statistical metrics including kurtosis (para. 0155).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parkin in view of Hummon to arrive the claimed invention by incorporating the functionalities of electric consumption metering and the fingerprint-analyses of Hummon’s electricity meter/edge device (201) into Parkin’s PQ-node, such that it is capable of performing signal/data collection, electricity metering, and fault detection in a single edge device located on an electricity distribution grid. Doing so would allow for providing an electricity meter as an edge device that is capable of handling data processing operations (e.g., grid edge intelligence) at the edge of the utility distribution grid to optimize the configurations or decisions (e.g., adjustment of electrical input or output) for the distributed energy resources in real-time, and intelligent visualization of the electrical conditions at the grid edge (e.g., capabilities for acquiring the statuses or event information associated with the utility distribution grid and presenting the information to the users), and providing capabilities or supports for integrating one or more applications, such as third-party applications, from various application developers to one or more edge devices, among other non-limiting features or functionalities (Hummon, para. 0004). It has been held that the mere application of known technologies (e.g., edge computing in smart meters for utilities) to a specific instance by those skilled in the art would have been obvious.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Parkin discloses: wherein determining the standard voltage waveform statistics of the voltage of the electrical grid based on collected voltage data includes: selecting, by utilizing the statistics module, data of the voltage data corresponding to periods during which the electrical grid is known to be operating normally (col. 12, lines 26-38; col. 18, lines 27-39); and determining, by utilizing the statistics module, the standard voltage waveform statistics of the voltage of the electrical grid based on the selected data (col. 12, line 54 - col. 13, line 2; col. 18, lines 27-39).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Parkin discloses: wherein the one or more statistical metrics further include at least one of: a crest factor; or skewness (col. 6, lines 1-10 and 17-32; col. 10, lines 33-35; col. 21, lines 51-57: “the standard deviation is then divided by the average RMS value, multiplied by 100” reads on “a crest factor” which indicates how much the peaks deviate from its average value).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Parkin discloses: wherein capturing the predetermined number of cycles of voltage waveforms around the present voltage waveform includes: calculating, by utilizing the statistics module, out of range data comprising the one or more statistical metrics of the preselected intervals in the captured predetermined number of cycles of voltage waveforms (col. 8, line 49 – col. 9, line 22; col. 17, lines 32-42; col. 19, line 40 – col. 20, line 22; col. 23, lines 16-26); timestamping, by utilizing the statistics module, the out of range data (col. 11, lines 26-38); locally storing, by utilizing the statistics module, original waveforms and the out of range data, the original waveforms comprising the captured predetermined number of cycles of voltage waveforms (col. 7, line 41 - col. 8, line 11); and transmitting, by utilizing the statistics module, the original waveforms and the out of range data to the remote computing device (col. 8, lines 25-48; col. 9, lines 43-47; col. 19, lines 40-55; col. 20, lines 36-53).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Parkin discloses: wherein the range is a first range (e.g., the “Warning Region” in Fig. 15), the method further comprising: determining, by utilizing the statistics module, a second range (e.g., the range defined by “Initial Std. Dev. Value” in Figs. 14 and 15) for the one or more statistical metrics based on the standard voltage waveform statistics (col. 12, lines 54-59; col. 13, lines 36-39; col. 14, lines 4-13; col. 23, lines 27-56); determining, by utilizing the statistics module, whether the statistical value is outside of the second range (e.g., reaches the “Warning Region” or the “alarm Region” part of the predictive analysis region; see col. 18, line 45 – col. 19, line 39); and in response to determining that the statistical value is outside of the second range, capturing, by utilizing the statistics module, the predetermined number of cycles of voltage waveforms around the present voltage waveform (col. 8, lines 25-42; col. 17, lines 43 – col. 18, line 10; col. 19, lines 40-55; see also Fig. 19 and related text).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Parkin discloses: wherein in response to determining that the statistical value is outside of the second range and within the first range (e.g., within the “Warning Region” Fig. 15), capturing the predetermined number of cycles of voltage waveforms around the present voltage waveform includes: calculating, by utilizing the statistics module, out of range data comprising the one or more statistical metrics of the preselected interval in the captured predetermined number of cycles of voltage waveforms (col. 8, line 49 – col. 9, line 22; col. 17, lines 32-42; col. 19, line 40 – col. 20, line 22; col. 23, lines 16-26); timestamping, by utilizing the statistics module, the out of range data (col. 11, lines 26-38); locally storing, by utilizing the statistics module, original waveforms and the out of range data, the original waveforms comprising the captured predetermined number of cycles of voltage waveforms (col. 7, line 41 - col. 8, line 11); and transmitting, by utilizing the statistics module, the original waveforms and the out of range data to the remote computing device (col. 8, lines 25-48; col. 9, lines 43-47; col. 19, lines 40-55; col. 20, lines 36-53).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Parkin discloses: wherein transmitting the original waveforms and the out of range data to the remote computing device includes: transmitting, by utilizing the statistics module, the original waveforms and the out of range data to the remote computing device periodically at a predetermined interval (col. 12, lines 3-8; col. 17, lines 12-15; col. 20, lines 42-63; col. 26, lines 45-53; col. 27, lines 20-35).
Regarding claims 15-20, the combination of Parkin and Hummon renders the claimed invention obvious (see discussion for claims 1-14 above).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Andersen (US 6459997 B1) -- Method For Event Analysis At An Intelligent Electronic Device.
Zheng et al. (CN 111797436 B) -- Energy-saving Data Counterfeit Identification Method Of Power Distribution System Energy-saving Device.
Contact Information
/X.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857