Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 2026-05-05 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-20 remain pending in this application. Claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 have been amended.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 were amended to overcome the 35 USC 112 rejection made in the previous office action. This amendment is acceptable and the 35 USC 112 rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026-05-05 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with respect to the amended claims 1, 9 and 17, that He does not teach a target voltage that cannot be reached by the integrated circuit and interleaving the static voltage between applications of the dynamic voltage.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, any voltage applied to an integrated circuit, where the integrated circuit successfully operated will necessarily be less than a voltage where the integrated circuit cannot operate successfully and therefore is less than a voltage that cannot be reached by the integrated circuit (see examiner’s note below for interpretation of “reached by”). Additionally, the voltage levels taught by He, as seen in Figure 4, are interleaved as they may be seen to alternate between each other.
Claim 17 does not contain the amended phrase “target voltage that cannot be reached by the integrated circuit” found in the other amended claims. For the sake of the arguments above, claim 17 was treated as if it contained the limitation as the examiner believes this to be an administrative error.
Examiner’s Note
The phrase “target voltage that cannot be reached by the integrated circuit” found in line 8 of claim 1 (and additionally found in independent claim 9), will be interpreted to mean that the integrated circuit cannot successfully operate at the target voltage due to some structural limitation. Since the term “be reached” may be interpreted broadly as applied to and theoretically any voltage may be applied to an integrated circuit, the examiner interprets this in line with paragraph [0020] of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He et al. (US-20210199710-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, He teaches A method for testing an integrated circuit for defects, the method comprising:
applying a nominal voltage (Fig 4: first voltage level, 200) to the integrated circuit (Fig 1: IC, 112) for a first time period (Refer to annotated Figure 4 of He);
applying a dynamic voltage (Fig 4: third voltage level, 424) greater than the nominal voltage (Para [0046] teaches the second voltage level, 422, may be 3 times higher than the first voltage level, 200, and further teaches the third voltage level, 424, maybe 0.9 times the second voltage level, 422. Therefore Para [0046] teaches the third voltage level may be greater than the nominal or first voltage level, 200) to the integrated circuit for a second time period after the first time period (Refer to annotated Figure 4 of He);
applying a static voltage (Fig 4: second voltage level, 422) greater than the dynamic voltage to the integrated circuit for a third time period after the second time period (Refer to annotated Figure 4 of He), wherein the static voltage is a target static voltage less than a target voltage (Para [0028] teaches the stress signal may vary based on testing requirements and the defective-parts-per-million (DPPM)) that cannot be reached by the integrated circuit (Any voltage level applied to the integrated circuit where the integrated circuit may successfully operate will necessarily be less than the voltage that the integrated circuit cannot successfully operate); and
applying the dynamic voltage to the integrated circuit during a fourth time period after the third time period (Refer to annotated Figure 4 of He), interleaving the static voltage between applications of the dynamic voltage (It can be seen in the Annotated Figure 4 of He, that the second voltage level, 422, alternates with the third voltage level, 424, and they are therefore interleaved).
Regarding Claims 2 & 3, He teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the second time period and the fourth time period are activity time periods;
wherein performance of at least one integrated circuit test occurs during the activity time periods (Fig 7 shows in steps 716 and 718 that the ramping up and down of voltages is done in order to test the IC. The times periods being toggle between are described in at least Para [0049] as energizing the IC and causing it to change or toggle states, therefore activity happens during these time periods).
Annotated Figure 4 of He
Regarding Claim 4, He teaches wherein the third time period is an idle time period (Para [0024] of the instant application refers to the idle time as when a static stress is applied to the IC where the voltage appears to be held constant based on the graph in Fig 1 of the instant application. Para [0028] of the reference teaches the voltage, 222 (or 422), is the stress voltage, which it also shows to be held constant in Fig 4, during the time period).
Regarding Claim 5, He teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the target voltage is not applied to the integrated circuit during a test for defects of the integrated circuit (From Figure 4 no voltages other than the nominal, static and dynamic are applied during the test).
Regarding Claim 7, He teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: applying the static voltage to the integrated circuit during a fifth time period after the fourth time period (Refer to annotated Fig 4 of He).
Regarding Claim 8, He teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the second time period and the fourth time period are different in duration (Fig 4 shows a difference in duration of the second and fourth time periods).
Regarding Claim 9, He teaches A device for testing an integrated circuit for defects, the device (Fig 1: signal generator, 102) comprising a voltage source configured to:
apply a nominal voltage (Fig 4: first voltage level, 200) to the integrated circuit (Fig 1: IC, 112) for a first time period (Refer to annotated Figure 4 of He);
apply a dynamic voltage (Fig 4: third voltage level, 424) greater than the nominal voltage (Para [0046] teaches the second voltage level, 422, may be 3 times higher than the first voltage level, 200, and further teaches the third voltage level, 424, maybe 0.9 times the second voltage level, 422. Therefore Para [0046] teaches the third voltage level may be greater than the nominal or first voltage level, 200) to the integrated circuit for a second time period after the first time period (Refer to annotated Figure 4 of He);
apply a static voltage (Fig 4: second voltage level, 422) greater than the dynamic voltage to the integrated circuit for a third time period after the second time period (Refer to annotated Figure 4 of He), wherein the static voltage is a target static voltage less than a target voltage (Para [0028] teaches the stress signal may vary based on testing requirements and the defective-parts-per-million (DPPM)) that cannot be reached by the integrated circuit (Any voltage level applied to the integrated circuit where the integrated circuit may successfully operate will necessarily be less than the voltage that the integrated circuit cannot successfully operate); and
apply the dynamic voltage to the integrated circuit during a fourth time period after the third time period (Refer to annotated Figure 4 of He) interleaving the static voltage between applications of the dynamic voltage (It can be seen in the Annotated Figure 4 of He, that the second voltage level, 422, alternates with the third voltage level, 424, and they are therefore interleaved).
Regarding Claim 10 and 11, He teaches The device of claim 9, wherein the second time period and the fourth time period are activity time periods;
wherein performance of at least one integrated circuit test occurs during the activity time periods (Fig 7 shows in steps 716 and 718 that the ramping up and down of voltages is done in order to test the IC. The times periods being toggle between are described in at least Para [0049] as energizing the IC and causing it to change or toggle states, therefore activity happens during these time periods).
Regarding Claim 12, He teaches The device of claim 9, wherein the third time period is an idle time period (Para [0024] of the instant application refers to the idle time as when a static stress is applied to the IC where the voltage appears to be held constant based on the graph in Fig 1 of the instant application. Para [0028] of the reference teaches the voltage, 222 (or 422), is the stress voltage, which it also shows to be held constant in Fig 4, during the time period).
Regarding Claim 13, He teaches The device of claim 9, wherein the target voltage is not applied to the integrated circuit during a test for defects of the integrated circuit (From Figure 4 no voltages other than the nominal, static and dynamic are applied during the test).
Regarding Claim 15, He teaches The device of claim 9, wherein the voltage source is further configured to: apply the static voltage to the integrated circuit during a fifth time period after the fourth time period (Refer to annotated Fig 4 of He).
Regarding Claim 16, He teaches The device of claim 9, wherein the second time period and the fourth time period are different in duration (Fig 4 shows a difference in duration of the second and fourth time periods).
Regarding Claim 17, He teaches A system for testing an integrated circuit for defects, the system comprising:
the integrated circuit (Fig 1: IC, 112); and
a voltage source configured to:
apply a nominal voltage (Fig 4: first voltage level, 200) to the integrated circuit (Fig 1: IC, 112) for a first time period (Refer to annotated Figure 4 of He);
apply a dynamic voltage (Fig 4: third voltage level, 424) greater than the nominal voltage (Para [0046] teaches the second voltage level, 422, may be 3 times higher than the first voltage level, 200, and further teaches the third voltage level, 424, maybe 0.9 times the second voltage level, 422. Therefore Para [0046] teaches the third voltage level may be greater than the nominal or first voltage level, 200) to the integrated circuit for a second time period after the first time period (Refer to annotated Figure 4 of He);
apply a static voltage (Fig 4: second voltage level, 422) greater than the dynamic voltage to the integrated circuit for a third time period after the second time period (Refer to annotated Figure 4 of He), wherein the static voltage is a target static voltage less than a target voltage (Para [0028] teaches the stress signal may vary based on testing requirements and the defective-parts-per-million (DPPM)); and
apply the dynamic voltage to the integrated circuit during a fourth time period after the third time period (Refer to annotated Figure 4 of He) interleaving the static voltage between applications of the dynamic voltage (It can be seen in the Annotated Figure 4 of He, that the second voltage level, 422, alternates with the third voltage level, 424, and they are therefore interleaved).
Regarding Claim 18 and 19, He teaches The system of claim 17, wherein the second time period and the fourth time period are activity time periods;
wherein performance of at least one integrated circuit test occurs during the activity time periods (Fig 7 shows in steps 716 and 718 that the ramping up and down of voltages is done in order to test the IC. The times periods being toggle between are described in at least Para [0049] as energizing the IC and causing it to change or toggle states, therefore activity happens during these time periods).
Regarding Claim 20, He teaches The system of claim 17, wherein the third time period is an idle time period (Para [0024] of the instant application refers to the idle time as when a static stress is applied to the IC where the voltage appears to be held constant based on the graph in Fig 1 of the instant application. Para [0028] of the reference teaches the voltage, 222 (or 422), is the stress voltage, which it also shows to be held constant in Fig 4, during the time period).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He.
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, He does not explicitly teach wherein the first time period, the second time period, the third time period, and the fourth time period are contiguous time periods. However, the difference in the prior art and in the instant application is that the dynamic voltage is applied immediately following the nominal, this is what allows the time periods as claimed to be contiguous. The prior art teaches applying the static voltage (second voltage level, 422) after the nominal. However, in both the prior art and the instant application it is the swapping between the static voltage and dynamic voltage levels where the main concept behind the invention lies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to begin with the dynamic voltage level, there being only a finite number of options to choose from, then switch to the higher voltage (stress). As stated before, beginning with the dynamic voltage level will make the time periods as claimed contiguous. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success by beginning with the dynamic voltage level as the main purpose of the inventive concept lies in the switching between the voltage levels and not in which voltage level begins the switching.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMIAH J BARRON/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858