Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US Pub. No.: 2021/0375551), and further in view of Fujita (US Pub. No. 2020/00275558).
Claim 1. Park discloses in Fig. 2H, a package core, comprising:
a core substrate (202) comprising glass;
a cavity (222, 224) into the core substrate; and
a capacitor lining sidewalls of the cavity, wherein the capacitor comprises:
a first layer (210);
a dielectric layer (212) over the first layer; and
a second layer (214) over the dielectric layer.
Park fails to disclose:
the core substrate comprising glass.
However, Fujita discloses:
a core substrate (10) comprising glass [0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 2. Park illustrates in Fig. 2H, wherein the capacitor has a U-shaped cross-section.
Claim 3. Park illustrates in Fig. 2H, wherein sidewalls of the cavity are vertical.
Claim 4. Park fails to disclose, wherein sidewalls of the cavity are sloped.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the sidewalls of the cavity sloped, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 5. Park discloses, further comprising: a seed layer (208) between the core substrate and the first layer.
Claim 6. Park discloses, wherein the first layer and the second layer comprise ruthenium, ruthenium and oxygen, or tungsten [0036] and [0040].
Claim 7. Park fails to disclose, wherein the dielectric layer comprises titanium and oxygen, aluminum and oxygen, or hafnium and oxygen.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 8. Park discloses, further comprising: a via through the core substrate, wherein the via is electrically coupled to the capacitor.
Claim 9. Park fails to disclose, wherein the via has an hourglass shaped cross-section.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the sidewalls of the cavity sloped, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 10. Park discloses, wherein the package core is part of a computing system for a personal computer, a server, a mobile device, a tablet, or an automobile.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park.
Claim 14. Park fails to disclose, wherein the dielectric layer comprises titanium and oxygen, aluminum and oxygen, or hafnium and oxygen.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park.
Claim 11. Park discloses in Fig. 2H, package substrate, comprising:
a core (202);
a buildup layer (206, 208) over the core; and
a corrugated capacitor within the buildup layer, wherein the corrugated capacitor comprises:
a plurality of trenches (222, 224) into the core, wherein the trenches have sidewall surfaces; and
a capacitor structure (210, 212, 214) lining the sidewall surfaces of the plurality of trenches.
Claim 12. Park discloses, further comprising: an underlying pad (240), wherein the corrugated capacitor contacts the underlying pad at more than one location.
Claim 13. Park discloses, wherein the corrugated capacitor comprises a dielectric layer (212) between a first layer and a second layer.
Claim 15. Park discloses, wherein the plurality of trenches comprises three or more trenches.
Claims 16 and 20. Park discloses, wherein the package core is part of a computing system for a personal computer, a server, a mobile device, a tablet, or an automobile.
Claim 17. Park discloses in Fig. 2H, a package substrate, comprising:
a layer (202) comprising a dielectric;
a scaffold (photoresist) over the layer; and a capacitor over the scaffold, wherein the capacitor comprises:
a first layer (210);
a dielectric layer (212) over the first layer; and
a second layer (214) over the dielectric layer.
Claim 18. Park discloses, wherein the scaffold is a photo-imageable dielectric (PID).
Claim 19. Park discloses, wherein the scaffold has substantially vertical sidewalls.
/MARVIN PAYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899