DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Vaidya et al. US 2021/0272881 A1.
Regarding claims 1-6, 8 and 10, Vaidya discloses:
An electronic package (Figs. 1-11), comprising:
a package substrate (901);
an opening (923) in the package substrate, wherein a plurality of first pads (902) are provided at a bottom of the opening;
a bridge die (500) in the opening, wherein the bridge die comprises a plurality of second pads (103) that are coupled to the first pads by solder; and
a non-conductive film (NCF) (906) around the solder between the first pads and the second pads.
(claim 2) a plurality of vias (102).
(claim 3) an organic material (para 0072 and 0075).
(claim 4) glass (para 0075; woven glass cloth).
(claim 5) an epoxy (para 0077).
(claim 6) surface finish (902 shown with planar/flat surface).
(claim 8) a passive bridge die (only 102 vias shown in 500).
claim 10) a first die (929); a second die (930) (Fig. 11).
Regarding claims 10-13 and 15, Vaidya discloses:
A bridge die (Fig. 5; 500), comprising:
a die substrate (101);
a plurality of vias (102) through the die substrate;
a plurality of pads (103) over a backside of the plurality of vias;
a plurality of solder bumps (113) on the plurality of pads; and
a non-conductive film (NCF) (106) over the plurality of solder bumps.
(claim 12) an epoxy (para 0077).
(claim 13) solder bumps (113) embedded in NCF (106).
(claim 15) a passive bridge die (only 102 vias shown in 500).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaidya et al. US 2021/0272881 A1 in view of Wang et al. US 2018/0366436 A1.
Regarding claims 9 and 14, Vaidya does no disclose:
wherein the bridge die/ die substrate is an active bridge/silicon die.
Wang discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
wherein the bridge die/die substrate is an active bridge/silicon die (para 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ an active die as shown by Wang for the similar bridge die/die substrate of Vaidya to increase functionality of the overall electronic package.
Claims 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaidya et al. US 2021/0272881.
Regarding claims 16-20, Vaidya discloses:
An electronic system (Figs. 1-11; paras 0104-0117), comprising:
a package substrate (901) comprising:
a cavity (923);
a bridge die (500) in the cavity, wherein a backside of the bridge die is coupled to pads (902) in the cavity using a non-conductive film (NCF) (906) around solder between the bridge die and the pads;
a first die (929) coupled to the package substrate; and
a second die (930) coupled to the package substrate, wherein the first die is communicatively coupled to the second die by the bridge die.
Although Vaidya does not specifically disclose “a board”, Vaidya discloses various electronic systems, in paras 0104-0117, in which the electronic package of Fig. 11 can be employed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to understand that the electronic package in Fig. 11 of Vaidya would be connected to a board or PCB using bond pads 902 in order to be integrated into the discussed electronic systems.
(claim 17) a passive bridge die (only 102 vias shown in 500).
(claim 18) an epoxy (para 0077).
(claim 19) surface finish (902 shown with planar/flat surface).
(claim 20) paras 0104-0117.
Conclusion
/ERROL V FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, AU 2893