CTFR 18/089,489 CTFR 78034 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 2. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dory et al (US 7,371,975; hereinafter Dory) in view of Mobley et al (US 11,251,109; hereinafter Mobley) . Regarding claim 1, Dory discloses a package core (see figure 3), comprising: a substrate (202) with a first surface and a second surface opposite from the first surface (see figures 2 and 3), wherein the substrate (202) comprise glass (column 4 lines 27-38; any suitable material or combination materials, such as organic or ceramic material); a via (221, 225) through the substrate (202), wherein the via (221, 225) is electrically conductive (see figure 3); a recess (see figures 2 and 3) into the first surface of the substrate (202); and a trace (222, 224) embedded in the recess (see figure 3), wherein the trace (222, 224) is electrically conductive (column 6 lines 40-45); but Dory lacks the substrate (202) comprising borosilicate glass or a silica glass. Mobley teaches a substrate (100) comprises borosilicate glass or a silica glass (column 1 lines 41-45 or column 4 lines 28-46; borosilicate). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Dory’s substrate comprising borosilicate glass as taught by Mobley to provide Dory with a substrate resistant to thermal shock and high temperatures, making it resistant to cracking or breaking from sudden temperature changes. Regarding claim 2, Dory discloses the package core (see figure 3), wherein the trace (222, 224) is electrically coupled to the via (221, 225). Regarding claim 3, Dory discloses the package core (see figure 3), wherein the trace (222, 224) and the via (221, 225) comprise copper (column 6 lines 40-45). Regarding claim 4, Dory discloses the package core (see figure 3), wherein the recess (see figure 3) has tapered sidewalls (column 6 lines 4-20; different geometries). Regarding claim 5, Dory discloses the package core (see figure 3), wherein the via (221,225) has tapered sidewalls (column 6 lines 4-20; different geometries). Regarding claim 6, Dory discloses the package core (see figure 3), wherein the via (221,225) has an hourglass shaped cross- section (column 6 lines 4-20; different geometries). Regarding claim 7, Dory discloses the package core (see figure 3), further comprising: a recess (242; see figures 2 and 3) in the second surface of the substrate (202); and a second trace in the recess in the second surface of the substrate (see figures 2 and 3). Regarding claim 8, Dory discloses the package core (see figure 3), further comprising: a blind hole (see figure 3) into the first surface of the substrate (202), wherein the blind hole is filled with an electrically conductive material (see figure 3; column 6 lines 40-45) . Regarding claim 9, the modified Dory discloses the package core (see figure 3), wherein the substrate (202) comprises substantially all borosilicate glass or silica glass (as taught by Mobley; column 1 lines 41-45 or column 4 lines 28-46; borosilicate). Regarding claim 10, Dory discloses the package core (see figure 3), further comprising: organic buildup layers (302; column 4 lines 27-38) over and under the substrate (202; column 6 lines 28-38). Regarding claim 11, Dory discloses the package core (see figure 3), wherein the substrate (202) is coupled to a processor of a computing system, and wherein the computing system is part of a personal computer, a server, a mobile device, a tablet, or an automobile (column 1 lines 26-62 and column 3 lines 48-64). Regarding claim 12, Dory discloses a package substrate (see figure 3), comprising: a core (202); buildup layers above (302) and below (see figure 1) the core (202); conductive routing through the core (202) and the buildup layers (see figure 1), wherein a first end of the conductive routing has first pads (see figure 3) with a first pitch and a second end of the conductive routing has second pads (see figure 3) with a second pitch that is smaller than the first pitch (see figure 3), and wherein the conductive routing comprises at least one trace (221,225) on the core and a via (222, 224) through the core (see figure 3); but Dory lacks the core (202) comprising borosilicate glass or a silica glass. Mobley teaches a core (100) comprises borosilicate glass or a silica glass (column 1 lines 41-45 or column 4 lines 28-46; borosilicate). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Dory’s core comprising borosilicate glass or a silica glass as taught by Mobley to provide Dory with a core resistant to thermal shock and high temperatures, making it resistant to cracking or breaking from sudden temperature changes. Regarding claim 13, Dory discloses the package substrate (see figure 3), wherein the at least one trace (222,224) is embedded in the core (see figure 3). Regarding claim 14, Dory discloses the package substrate (see figure 3), wherein the at least one trace (221,224) has sloped sidewalls (column 6 lines 4-20; different geometries). Regarding claim 15, Dory discloses the package substrate (see figure 3), wherein the via (221,225) has tapered sidewalls (column 6 lines 4-20; different geometries). Regarding claim 16, Dory discloses the package core (see figure 3), wherein the via (221,225) has an hourglass shaped cross-section(column 6 lines 4-20; different geometries). Regarding claim 17, Dory discloses the package substrate (see figure 3), wherein the first pads are coupled to a board (24; column 4 lines 7-16), and wherein the second pads are coupled to a die (10; see figure 1). Regarding claim 18, Dory discloses a computing system (see figure 1), comprising: a board (24); a package substrate (see figure 1) coupled to the board (24), wherein the package substrate (see figure 2) comprises: a core (202), wherein the core (202) comprises glass (column 4 lines 27-38; any suitable material or combination materials, such as organic or ceramic material); a via (221,225) through the core (202); a trace (222, 224) embedded in the core (202); and buildup layers over and under the core (see figures 1-3); and a die (10) coupled to the package substrate (see figure 1); but Dory lacks the core (202) comprising borosilicate glass or a silica glass. Mobley teaches a package substrate comprises a core (100) comprising a borosilicate glass or a silica glass (column 1 lines 41-45 or column 4 lines 28-46; borosilicate). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Dory’s core comprising borosilicate glass or a silica glass as taught by Mobley to provide Dory with a core resistant to thermal shock and high temperatures, making it resistant to cracking or breaking from sudden temperature changes. Regarding claim 19, Dory discloses the computing system (see figure 1), wherein the die (10) is a processor, a system on a chip (SoC), an XPU, a graphics processor, a communication chip, or an ASIC (column 3 lines 48-64; integrated circuit). Regarding claim 20, Dory discloses the computing system (see figure 1), wherein the computing system is part of a personal computer, a server, a mobile device, a tablet, or an automobile (column 1 lines 26-62 and column 3 lines 48-64) . Response to Arguments 3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-40 AIA 4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. 07-100 AIA 5. Any inquiry concerning this communication should be directed to Angel R. Estrada at telephone number (571) 272-1973. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (8:30am -5:00pm) . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Imani N. Hayman can be reached on (571) 270-5528. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) OR 571-272-1000. August 12, 2026 /ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/089,489 Page 2 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/089,489 Page 3 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/089,489 Page 4 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/089,489 Page 5 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/089,489 Page 6 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/089,489 Page 7 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/089,489 Page 8 Art Unit: 2841