CTNF 18/089,494 CTNF 82842 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received 4/21/26 withdrawing claims 11-20. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 4/21/26 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-10 are examined in this Office action. Information Disclosure Statement Acknowledgment is made that the information disclosure statement has been received and considered by the examiner. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same. Drawings There are no objections or rejections to the drawings. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-fti The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-fti Claim s 1, 4-5 and 7-8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Strong et al. (US Patent Application Publication No 2023/0207332) hereinafter referred to as Strong . Per Claim 1 Strong discloses a package substrate device, comprising (see figures 5A-7D) a core (710); a via opening (717) through the core (see figure 7A), wherein the via opening comprises sidewalls (see figure 4A); a composite layer (730) along the sidewalls, wherein the composite layer comprises carbon; and (liner can be carbon doped oxides, [0041]) a via (735) within the via opening, wherein the via is electrically conductive (via is conductor material; see [0020]) Per Claim 4 Strong discloses the device of claim 1 including where (see figures 5A-7D) the sidewalls (717) have a slope (as shown in figures 7C-D). Per Claim 5 Strong discloses the device of claim 4 including where (see figures 5A-7D) the sidewalls (717) define a via opening with an hourglass shaped cross-section. (as shown in figures 7C-D) Per Claim 7 Strong discloses the device of claim 1 including where (see figures 5A-7D) the core comprises glass. [0002] Per Claim 8 Strong discloses the device of claim 1 including where (see figures 5A-7D) the composite layer is over a top surface and a bottom surface of the core. (see figures 7C-D) Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-3, 6 and 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Cited Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith . The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMI VALENTINE MILLER whose telephone number is (571)272-9786. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 7am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eva Montalvo can be reached on (571) 270-3829. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Jami Valentine Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/089,494 Page 2 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/089,494 Page 3 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/089,494 Page 4 Art Unit: 2818