DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/28/2022, 06/22/2023, and 09/18/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: It does not end in a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 14, which invokes 112(f) in “a user inputting means”, the corresponding structure from applicant’s specification refers to a interface 20 that allows the user to input commands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 states “each one of the plurality of capacity-time correlations” and is dependent on claim 1 but the plurality to which is refers back to is not introduced until claim 5. Therefore, for examination purposes it is assumed claim 9 was meant to depend from at least claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al. [US 2022/0289065] in view of Pryor [US 2008/0007202].
With respect to claims 1, 14-15, Matsuda discloses a method for charging a battery, comprising: a) acquiring real-time information about the battery [Fig. 4; see items 43-45, note this forms the battery charging circuitry]; c) by using a capacity charging model of the battery, calculating a charging current for the battery based on the real-time information [Fig. 2; item 111, see at least par. 0056-0059; note these comprise processors which implicitly include instruction in order to carry out the functions]; d) charging the battery using the calculated charging current during a charging period [see Fig. 5]; and e) calibrating the capacity charging model based on information of the battery gathered during the charging period [Fig. 2; item 112, see also par. 0071, 0076, 0078, 0083], however, while Matsuda discloses the charging model uses a charging termination time he fails to disclose it is input from a user.
Pryor relates to optimizing charging of a battery and teaches b) receiving an on-site input from a user, the on-site input comprising at least one of a user available time in which the battery is to be charged and a target State of Charge (SoC) to which the battery is to be charged [Fig. 4; see item 148 and par. 0022, note the user inputting means includes 120].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Matsuda to allow for the user to enter the time as taught by Pryor for the benefit of allowing the user to tailor the charging constraints to their needs.
With respect to claim 2, Matsuda further discloses wherein the capacity charging model is a programmable model [i.e. processors are programmable with instructions] of the battery which is built based on a plurality of charging profiles of the battery [par. 0058; i.e. constant current CC and constant current- constant voltage CC-CV].
With respect to claim 3, Matsuda further discloses wherein the plurality of charging profiles of the battery comprise a constant voltage (CV) mode capacity profile, and a constant current (CC) mode voltage profile [par. 0058].
With respect to claim 4, Matsuda further discloses wherein in the capacity charging model, the CC mode capacity profile is ahead of the CV mode voltage profile in time [par. 0058; i.e. “CC-CV”].
With respect to claims 5 and 6, Matsuda further discloses wherein the capacity charging model comprises a plurality of capacity-time correlations each defined under a condition including a CC mode current and a CV mode voltage and wherein the plurality of capacity-time correlations is described by a set of parameters that are derived from the plurality of charging profiles of the battery [see Fig. 5 which shows a plurality of capacity (SOC) versus time of the model that utilizes the CC-CV charging process, including an updated/corrected model that is derived from the charging profiles, see par. 0065-0071].
With respect to claim 7, Matsuda further discloses wherein Step a) further comprises recording the following information of the battery: real-time SoC and real-time voltage [12].
With respect to claim 8, Matsuda as applied above in view of Pryor further discloses wherein the charging current is for a CC charging stage of the battery according to the on-site input [par. 0058]; Step c) further comprising steps of: f) identifying, from a plurality of capacity-time correlations in the capacity charging model, an optimal correlation that meets the user available time and/or the target SoC [par. 0058-0062 the creating unit 111 creates/derives the charging plan based on SOC, among other variables]; and g) choosing an optimal current that is associated with the optimal correlation, as the charging current [par. 0062 “creates a charging plan that contributes to suppression of degradation of the secondary battery, based on the required charging amount and the target charging completion time. A charging method using an algorithm suitable for quick charging can be used.”].
With respect to claim 9, Matsuda further discloses wherein each one of the plurality of capacity-time correlations is further associated with a charging voltage for a CV charging stage of the battery [par. 0058; i.e. the CV part of the charging operation].
With respect to claim 10, Matsuda further discloses wherein Step e) further comprises steps of: h) recalling, from a memory device, one or more recent charging profiles which are associated with recent charging cycles and stored in the memory device [i.e. recording unit 12]; i) conducting an analysis to the one or more recent charging profiles to identify a set of updated parameters for the capacity charging model [updating unit 112]; and j) calibrating the capacity charging model using the set of updated parameters [creating unit 111, i.e. see Fig. 5 where the charging plan is updated].
With respect to claim 11, Matsuda further discloses wherein the one or more recent charging profiles comprises latest charging profiles of the battery gathered during the charging period which are stored to the memory device after Step d) [par. 0071-0085; i.e. the updating unit utilizes the current charging information].
With respect to claim 12, Matsuda further discloses wherein the one or more recent charging profiles further comprises previous charging profiles of the battery gathered during charging periods associated with previous charging cycles of the battery [par. 0071-0085; i.e. the charging efficiency of a particular charger of the multiple chargers, which is used in the updating unit].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al. [US 2022/0289065] and Pryor [US 2008/0007202] as applied above, and further in view of Biletska et al. [US 2016/0202324].
With respect to claim 13, Matsuda fails to disclose wherein the analysis comprises a non-linear regression analysis. However, non-linear regression analysis is well-known in the art. For example, Biletska relates to estimating parameters of a battery and teaches using modeling with non-linear regression [par. 0027, 0093].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify Matsuda to use non-linear regression type modeling for the benefit of utilizing high flexibility in curve fitting and improved predictive accuracy.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL R PELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859