DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A, represented by figures 1A-1B and claims 1-6 in the reply filed on April 2, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Information Disclosure Statement
As of April 13, 2026, no information disclosure statement has been made of record.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 1B contains a plurality of unlabeled elements. These elements are shown below.
Response to arguments dated April 2, 2026
Applicant states they do not need to label the unlabeled elements shown in Examiner’s figure 1. Applicant states this is because these unlabeled elements are not claimed.
This argument is unpersuasive. Assuming the unlabled items are conventional they must still be labeled in the drawings. MPEP 608.02(d) citing 37 CFR 1.83(a), where “conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box).” Based upon the Rules figure 1B continues to be objected to. See MPEP 608.02(e) and form paragraph 6.22.01, where Examiner can object to the drawings because they fail to label, and thereby show, “structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2018/0012868 A1), in view of Wong et al. (US 2015/0123170 A1) (“Wong”), in view of linking reference Wu et al. (US 2001/0023964 A1) (“Wu”), in view Raring et al. (US 9,666,677 A1) (“Raring”).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches at least in figure 1-2f:
A III-V material (200);
a first gate (204) over the III-V material (200);
an material (103) beneath the III-V material (200); and
a second gate (104) beneath the material (103).
Huang does not teach:
The III-V material is GaN.
a first material on the GaN material,
wherein the first material is at a first side of the first gate;
a second material on the GaN material,
wherein the second material is at a second side of the first gate opposite the first side of the first gate;
wherein the body includes a first wide band gap material, and
wherein the first material and the second material are doped GaN regions;
the material is a SiC material.
In regards to the material.
Huang teaches the material 103 is an insulating material.
However, Huang does not teach the insulating material comprises SiC.
Huang teaches the insulating material 103 silicon oxide. ¶ 0013.
Wong teaches at least in figure 1:
That SICO can replace silicon oxide as an interlayer dielectric material (e.g. they cover transistors), ¶ 0022, as they are art recognized equivalents for the same purpose of being an interlayer dielectric material, MPEP 2144.06, and are art recognized as being suitable for the same intended purpose of being an interlayer dielectric material, MPEP 2144.07. Thus, the substitution of the silicon carbide material, SiCO, for silicon oxide would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Huang and Wong do not teach:
The III-V material is GaN.
a first material on the GaN material,
wherein the first material is at a first side of the first gate;
a second material on the GaN material,
wherein the second material is at a second side of the first gate opposite the first side of the first gate;
wherein the body includes a first wide band gap material, and
wherein the first material and the second material are doped GaN regions;
This is because Huang teaches:
The III-V material can be GaAs, InAs, InP, etc.
Linking reference Wu teaches:
That the wide bandgap III-V material GaN is superior to other III-V materials such as GaAs as a device using GaN can produce ten times the power of GaAs devices. ¶ 0008. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the III-V material of Huang with a GaN device in order to obtain this increase in power.
Raring teaches such a GaN device in at least in figures 11A, 11g, 11j:
The III-V material is GaN (the figures call this GaN).
a first material on the GaN material (figure 11g n-GaN source),
wherein the first material is at a first side of the first gate (Gate);
a second material on the GaN material (figure 11g a second n-GaN drain),
wherein the second material is at a second side of the first gate opposite the first side of the first gate (both source and drain are on opposite sides of gate) ; and
wherein the first material and the second material are doped GaN regions (both source and drain are doped are indicated by the use of “n-“. Where if they were not doped they would have just been called GaN).
As stated above with respect to Wu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the III-V material of Huang with the III-V GaN material as it would have allowed one to increase the power of the III-V transistors.
Regarding claim 3,
wherein the first material has a first level of doping concentration and wherein the second material has a second level of doping concentration (it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the source would have a different level of doping than the drain because of standard process variations one would not expect the source and drain to have the exact same, e.g. identical, doping down to the same dopant atom. There will obviously be some doping variation between the source and drain. All the claim requires is one atom of dopant difference. This is obvious).
Regarding claim 4, Raring teaches such a GaN device in at least in figures 11A, 11g, 11j:
a first electrical contact on the first material; and a second electrical contact on the second material (Col. 50 at lines 30-34, where there are electrical contacts on the source and drain).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches at least in figure 1-2f:
a third electrical contact laterally spaced apart from the second gate (this would be the source or drain region of the transistors 104. Where the third electrical contact could be the source/drain contact connecting to 108).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches at least in figure 1-2f:
wherein the first electrical contact is vertically overlapping with third electrical contact (As can be seen in the figures of Huang there are a plurality of source/drain contacts for transistor 204 which overlap with a plurality of source/drain contacts for transistors 104.).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Wong, in view of linking reference Wu, in view Raring, in view of Koester (US 2005/0104092 A1) (“Koester”).
Regarding claim 2, Huang does not teach:
The material of the second gate.
Raring teaches:
The material of the first gate can be Ni/AU, Pt, Pd, Au, etc. Col. 50 at lines 34-37.
Koester teaches at least in figure 1(a):
That silicon mosfet gates, such as the one of Huang, can be made out of “polysilicon, polysilicon germanium, or the metals: Mo, Pt, Ir, W, Pd, Al, Au, Ni, Cu, Ti…” ¶ 0024.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the second gate could be made out of the materials described by Koester as they are well-known gate materials to use in the second gate of Huang.
Based upon the materials described by Koester and Raring it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the materials of the first gate can be different from the materials of the second gate.
Conclusion
/VINCENT WALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898