DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
In Figure 1, is reference number 148 (gate) pointing to the correct item? The drawing shows reference number 148 pointing to what appears to be the channel of the transistor.
Applicants’ Figure 1 (portion):
In Figure 1, is reference number 248 (gate) pointing to the correct item? The drawing shows reference number 248 pointing to what appears to be the channel of the transistor.
Applicants’ Figure 2 (portion):
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 25, paragraph 80, line 5: Change “batter” to “battery”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on April 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-6 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 2: Add “capacitor” after “each”.
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to for depending from objected-to base claim 4.
Claim 5, line 1: After “each” add “capacitor”.
Claim 6 is objected to for depending from objected-to base claim 5.
Claim 6, line 1: Add “capacitor” after “each”.
Claim 8, line 1: Please provide antecedent basis for “the insulator”. Antecedent basis has not been provided for this term in claim 8 or its parent claim, claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 1: Claim 8 refers to “the insulator” in line 1, but the insulator has not been defined in either claim 1 or claim 8. (An insulator is defined in claim 3.) Because the insulator lacks antecedent basis in claim 1 and claim 8, claim 8 is rejected as indefinite. For purposes of examination, claim 8 will be interpreted as depending from claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cooper, U.S. Pat. No. 5,465,249, Figure 5A.
Regarding claim 1: Cooper Figure 5A discloses a dynamic random-access memory (DRAM) comprising: a transistor (76) that includes a source (66), a drain (68), and a body (64), wherein the body (64) includes a selected one or more of: silicon (Si) and carbon (C) or gallium (Ga) and nitrogen (N) (SiC); and a capacitor (80) electrically coupled with the transistor (76). Cooper specification, col. 7, l. 36 – col. 8, l. 34.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: Cooper discloses the capacitor (80) is within a layer (64) that includes a selected one or more of: Si and C or Ga and N (SiC). Id. See also Cooper Figure 5(a).
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1: Cooper discloses the capacitor (80) includes a first electrode (82), a second electrode (78), and an insulator (70), wherein the insulator (70) electrically isolates the first electrode (82) and the second electrode (78) from each other, and wherein the first electrode (82) is electrically coupled with the drain (68) or with the source (66) (coupled to the drain (68)). Cooper specification, col. 7, l. 65 – col. 8, l. 7.
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 1: Cooper discloses the transistor (76) is a selected one of: a field effect transistor, a nanowire transistor, a planar transistor, or a silicon on insulator transistor (field effect transistor). Id. col. 7, ll. 60-64.
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 3,1 which depends from claim 1: Cooper discloses the insulator (70) includes a selected one or more of: a dielectric, an oxide, or a ferroelectric. Id. col. 7, l. 65 – col. 8, l. 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the informalities were addressed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 4: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “the capacitor includes a plurality of capacitors, wherein the first electrode of each [capacitor] of the plurality of capacitors are electrically coupled with each other”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
With regard to claims 5 and 6: The claims have been found allowable due to their dependency from claim 4 above.
With regard to claim 9: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “the DRAM is a portion of a wafer scale engine (WSE)”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
1 As presented, claim 8 depends from claim 1, but as noted in the Section 112(b) rejections, the insulator in claim 8 lacks antecedent basis. Per the discussion in the Section 112(b) rejection, the Office is interpreting claim 8 as depending from claim 3, which defines an insulator.