DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 – 10, filed 09/10/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-9 and 13-17 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 USC 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 9, and 13 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanemaru et al. (US 2009/0025961).
Regarding claim 1, Kanemaru teaches (FIG. 8, 9):
A component carrier (11), comprising:
a stack comprising a plurality of stacked layers, the stacked layers comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (12a, 12b) and at least one electrically insulating layer structure (13);
a plurality of equally designed electronic units (41) formed in the stack, each electronic unit comprising at least one semiconductor element embedded into the stack, wherein each semiconductor element is made of a semiconductor material ([0051]);
wherein at least a plurality of said electronic units are arranged to form at least one active area, which is surrounded by a frame area without functional components (FIG. 8);
a plurality of dummy components (51) embedded into the stack in the frame area;
wherein the at least a plurality of said electronic units is arranged in the at least one active area in a pattern (FIG. 8).
Kanemaru teaches various exemplary embodiments of uniform layouts of active and dummy structures for limiting warpage of a substrate, but fails to expressly disclose that active area components are arranged in a pattern comprising 5 rows or more and/or 5 columns or more.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the active area devices in whatever arrangement of total devices was necessary or expedient for maximizing active area layout to minimize total device size while offsetting substrate stresses with dummy chip-like parts to achieve uniform stresses over the substrate, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 2, Kanemaru teaches:
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein each electronic unit comprises solely one semiconductor element ([0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Kanemaru teaches:
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein the at least one semiconductor element occupies at least more than at least 20% of a volume of the corresponding electronic unit ([0051] bare chip state).
Regarding claim 4, Kanemaru teaches (FIG. 8):
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein the at least a plurality of said electronic units in an active area are equally spaced and/or distributed in the rows and/or columns; and/or wherein a distance between two adjacent electronic units in the pattern is smaller than a width and/or thickness of the frame area.
Regarding claim 5, Kanemaru teaches (FIG. 8):
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein the dummy components are solely embedded into the frame area.
Regarding claim 6, Kanemaru teaches (FIG. 8):
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein at least some of the dummy components have an extension greater than an extension of the electronic units.
Regarding claim 7, Kanemaru teaches (FIG. 20):
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein an area of a dummy component is greater of at least 20 times the area of an electronic unit.
Regarding claim 8, Kanemaru teaches (FIG. 20):
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein at least some of the dummy components have an extension, which is greater than a distance between neighboring electronic units of the at least a plurality of said electronic units.
Regarding claim 9, Kanemaru teaches (FIG. 20):
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein the dummy components have different sizes.
Regarding claim 13, Kanemaru teaches (FIG. 20):
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein two dummy components have different shapes; and/or wherein at least one dummy component may be oriented in the component inclined with respect to a stack thickness direction and/or with respect to the electronic units of the active area.
Regarding claim 14, Kanemaru teaches ([0057]):
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein the dummy components are made of a homogenous material.
Regarding claim 15, Kanemaru teaches ([0057]):
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein the dummy components are made of a material comprising silicon.
Regarding claim 16, Kanemaru teaches ([0058]):
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein a coefficient of thermal expansion of the semiconductor elements differs at most by 10% from the coefficient of thermal expansion of at least some of the dummy components.
Regarding claim 17, Kanemaru teaches (FIG. 8):
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein the at least one active area is rectangular; and/or wherein the component carrier comprises a plurality of active areas, which are separated by strips composing the frame area; and/or wherein the active areas are arranged in rows and/or columns.
Claims 10 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanemaru et al. (US 2009/0025961) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shih (US 9,607,967).
Regarding claim 10, Kanemaru fails to explicitly disclose:
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein a dummy component occupies at least two layers of the stack.
However, Shih (FIG. 15) teaches a multi-chip package having stiffening/warpage reducing components embedded with active components in multiple layers of the multi-chip stack (100a, 680).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply utilize the teachings of Kanemaru in multi-chip packages as taught by Shih for the predictable advantage of increasing device density while maintaining warpage control in a well-known manner.
Regarding claim 11, Kanemaru fails to explicitly disclose:
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein dummy components are arranged in at least two different layers of the stack.
However, Shih (FIG. 15) teaches a multi-chip package having stiffening/warpage reducing components embedded with active components in multiple layers of the multi-chip stack (100a, 680).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply utilize the teachings of Kanemaru in multi-chip packages as taught by Shih for the predictable advantage of increasing device density while maintaining warpage control in a well-known manner.
Regarding claim 12, Kanemaru fails to explicitly disclose:
The component carrier of claim 1, wherein dummy components are arranged in different layers as the semiconductor elements; and/or wherein two dummy components are stacked with respect to each other within the stack.
However, Shih (FIG. 15) teaches a multi-chip package having stiffening/warpage reducing components embedded with active components in multiple layers of the multi-chip stack (100a, 680).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply utilize the teachings of Kanemaru in multi-chip packages as taught by Shih for the predictable advantage of increasing device density while maintaining warpage control in a well-known manner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624