DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arrington et al., (Arrington) US 2021/0202348 in view of Terhune IV US 2014/0099827.
Regarding claim 1, Arrington shows in FIG. 5D-13, an integrated circuit (IC) device, comprising: a substrate (310), comprising a first surface, wherein the substrate (310) comprises glass [0024]; an IC die (305)[0050], comprising a second surface, wherein the second surface is coupled to a first portion of the first surface (of 310), and the first portion is surrounded by a second portion of the first surface; and a frame (860), wherein the frame (860) is affixed to the second portion.
Arrington differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device wherein the frame comprising a feature beyond an outer perimeter of the first surface, wherein the feature comprises a notch, an opening, or a protrusion.
Terhune discloses and shows in FIG. 2, a device wherein the frame (40,10) [0019] comprising a feature beyond an outer perimeter of the first surface, wherein the feature comprises a notch (401) [0019], an opening, or a protrusion.
Terhune is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Arrington. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Terhune in the device of Arrington because it will reduce damage in the electronic package [0008].
Regarding claim 2, Arrington in view of Terhune discloses an IC device wherein the feature (40,10) [0019] is to mate with a complementary structure of a socket [0006] to receive the IC device (41).
Terhune is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Arrington. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Terhune in the device of Arrington because it will reduce damage in the electronic package [0008].
Regarding claims 3,4, Arrington in view of Terhune discloses an IC device wherein the frame (1060) comprises a material other than glass [0070]; wherein the frame is a continuous metal structure coupled to the first surface and encircling an edge of the substrate (310).
Regarding claim 5, Arrington in view of Terhune discloses an IC device wherein the feature (40,10) comprises an opening to receive a keying feature (14) of the socket (it could also be via hooks 321 and receiving portion 110).
Terhune is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Arrington. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Terhune in the device of Arrington because it will reduce damage in the electronic package [0008].
Regarding claim 6, Arrington in view of Terhune discloses an IC device wherein the frame (1060) [0050] is affixed to the second portion by an epoxy [0050].
Regarding claim 7, Arrington in view of Terhune discloses an IC device further comprising a heat spreader (980) coupled to a third surface of the IC die (305), the third surface distal the second surface, wherein the heat spreader (980) comprises a metal [0070].
Regarding claim 8, Arrington in view of Terhune discloses an IC device, wherein the heat spreader (980) extends laterally beyond the outer perimeter of the first surface (surface where die 305 makes the contact).
Regarding claims 9-11 Arrington in view of Terhune discloses an IC device, wherein the heat spreader (980) is coupled to the frame (860); wherein the heat spreader (980) comprises a heat pipe [0046,0047]; a thermal interface material (1050)[0050] between the third surface and the heat spreader (980).
Regarding claim 12, Arrington shows in FIG. 5D-13, an integrated circuit (IC) device, comprising: an IC die (305); a substrate (310), comprising an upper surface coupled to a lower surface of the IC die (305), the substrate comprising glass [0024]; a frame (1060) coupled to an outer portion of the upper surface.
Arrington differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device having a socket, wherein the socket is configured to mate to the frame.
Terhune shows and discloses a device having a socket [0006], wherein the socket (portions 14, 321, 110, are configured to mate) is configured to mate to the frame.
Terhune is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Arrington. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Terhune in the device of Arrington because it will reduce damage in the electronic package [0008].
Regarding claims 13-15, Arrington in view of Terhune discloses an IC device, wherein the frame (40,10) comprises an inner perimeter and an outer perimeter, the inner perimeter around the IC die (41), and the outer perimeter around the inner perimeter, and the socket comprises a structure configured to mate with a void (shown by Arrington) in the frame.
Terhune is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Arrington. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Terhune in the device of Arrington because it will reduce damage in the electronic package [0008].
Regarding claim 16, Arrington shows in FIG. 5D-13, an integrated circuit (IC) system, comprising: a first substrate (810); a second substrate (310), wherein the second substrate (310) is coupled to the first substrate by a socket (socket mount technology can be used as 811 [0046]), wherein the second substrate (310) comprises glass [0024]; an IC die (305) coupled to a surface of the second substrate (310) distal the first substrate (310); and a frame (860) coupled to the surface and extending beyond an outer perimeter of the second substrate.
Arrington differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device wherein the frame has an opening configured to pair with the socket.
Terhune shows and discloses a device wherein the frame has an opening configured to pair with the socket [0006], (portions 14, 321, 110, are configured to pair).
Terhune is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Arrington. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Terhune in the device of Arrington because it will reduce damage in the electronic package [0008].
Regarding claims 17-20, Arrington in view of Terhune discloses an IC device, wherein a portion of the surface surrounds the IC die (305) and is between the IC die and the frame; a heat spreader (980), wherein the heat spreader is coupled to an upper surface of the IC die (305), the upper surface distal the second substrate (310); wherein a lateral dimension of the heat spreader (980) is greater than a lateral dimension of the second substrate (310)(contact portion of 305) ; wherein the heat spreader (980) comprises a heat pipe.
Conclusion
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813