DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-15 are presently amended.
Claims 16-20 is cancelled.
Claims 21-25 are newly added.
Claims 1-15 and 21-25 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been fully considered in view of further consideration of statutory law, Office policy, precedential common law, and the cited prior art as necessitated by the amendments to the claims, and are persuasive in-part for the reasons set forth below.
35 USC § 101 Rejections
First, Applicant argues that “The claims, when viewed as a whole, are directed to a patent-eligible subject matter because the additional elements integrate the alleged abstract idea into a practical application of improving the function of a computer or another technology as detailed in the Specification… The claims recite applying the machine learning model to predict the volume flow density during a time period based on the set of images, predicting a number of objects that occupy the physical building space during a subsequent time period, and dynamically allocating the physical resources of the
physical building space to "provide more efficient resource configuration models for operation and control of building management systems." The recitation of the dynamic allocation of the physical resources of the physical building space provides a technological solution to a technological problem of efficient operation and control of building management systems, and thus the claims are patent-eligible” [Arguments, pages 1-4].
In response, Applicant’s arguments are considered and are persuasive. Examiner observes that the present invention recites claims which, when considered in light of the additional elements individually and in combination, are considered to integrate the exception into a practical application. In particular, Examiner observes that the claimed system and method include the optimization of HVAC-resource consumption by adjusting resource allocations based, in part, on a machine learning classification analysis of pixel flow density in a set of images captured by a recording device. Examiner considers the resource allocation techniques of the present claims to demonstrate an improvement to the field of power consumption and usage. Thus, claims 1-15 are considered to demonstrate significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding newly added claims 21-25, Examiner observes that Claims 21-23 and 25 are considered ineligible for the reasons stated in the rejection below. Claim 24 eligible is considered eligible when considered in light of parent claims 21 and 23, which disclose the pixel group analysis and machine learning classification elements present in independent claims 1 and 11. Thus, Claim 24 is considered eligible by demonstrating an improvement to the field of power consumption and usage. As such, claims 1-15 and 24 are considered eligible and claims 21-23 and 25 are considered ineligible.
35 USC § 103 Rejections
First, Applicant argues that “Konrad teaches that the "sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy- related features for an area of the building. (Konrad at 1 [0004] (emphasis added).)…
Konrad does not teach "obtaining, by a computer system from a first computing device, a first dataset comprising a set of images captured by at least one recording device, the set of images indicative of a movement of objects during a first time period," and "wherein the set of images captured by the at least one recording device are of the moving objects in at least one scene that is externally located relative to the physical building space," as recited in amended claim 1, because Konrad's "plurality of sensors" are "interior sensors and boundary sensors" for "conveying occupancy-related features for an area of the building." Konrad's "sensors" capture scenes of moving objects that are externally located relative to the building of Konrad. Instead, the sensors in Konrad are precisely calibrated cameras/sensors that algorithmically provide occupancy estimates based on the "corresponding pixel-to-density map."” [Arguments, pages 5-7].
In response, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees and directs the Applicant to (Ellias, ¶ 2, This disclosure relates to sensing and monitoring, and more specifically to sensing and monitoring certain spaces and areas for human occupancy. This disclosure is also related to sensing and monitoring movement or changes in an environment, including movement by animals and objects. This disclosure is also related to using sensor and/or monitor information to control certain systems within commercial and residential facilities, including, but not limited to; heating, cooling, ventilation, security, lighting, power, and entertainment systems and the like. This disclosure also may be used to determine human occupancy in outdoor spaces and to control certain outdoor systems including, but not limited to; heating, cooling, ventilation, security, lighting, power, and entertainment systems and the like), (Id., ¶ 115, While this disclosure has described a sensor system 100 inside or outside a building, the sensor system 100 can be applied to other types of scenarios and other space(s) 105. For example only, the disclosed sensor systems 100 could be used to detect the presence of humans in disaster scenarios such as collapsed buildings, caves, mines and the like. In such scenarios, the sensor systems 100 could be used to determine if and how many humans are breathing and at what rate their hearts are beating. Likewise, the sensor systems 100 could be used to determine if and how many humans might be hidden in an enclosure during a hostage or kidnapping situation and may determine if and how many humans are enclosed in a container such as a shipping crate, a trucking crate, below deck on a boat, and the like. In addition to human presence, the sensor systems 100 could be used to monitor the health of humans and/or animals in an area. For example only, this disclosure could generate an output signal that is related to the breathing rate and or heartrate of any living beings within a space 105. Such sensor systems 100 could be used to monitor the breathing of babies and protect against sudden infant death syndrome. Such systems could also monitor the sleeping of people with sleep apnea and sound an alarm or adjust a bed or environmental setting if a person’s breathing becomes too erratic or stops), (Id., ¶ 151, The sensor system 100 may include a physical process observation system such as for tracking physical activities of workers that may be used for determining value chain recommendations. Physical activities of workers (e.g., shippers, delivery workers, packers, pickers, assembly personnel, customers, merchants, vendors, distributors and others), physical interactions of workers with other workers, interactions of workers with physical entities like machines and equipment, and interactions of physical entities with other physical entities, including, without limitation, by use of video and still image cameras, motion sensing systems (such as including optical sensors, LIDAR, IR and other sensor sets), robotic motion tracking systems (such as tracking movements of systems attached to a human or a physical entity) and many others).
Here, and as previously cited, Elias explicitly discloses the use of sensor system 100 “inside or outside a building”. Thus, Examiner respectfully maintains that in combination, Konrad and Elias render the above-argued limitations obvious. As such, Examiner remains unpersuaded.
Second, Applicant argues that “Elias does not teach "predicting, by the machine learning model, a number of objects within a physical building space during a time period after the first time period based on the determined volume flow density," and "dynamically allocating, by the machine learning model, at least one physical resource associated with the physical building space during the time period after the first time period based on the predicted number of objects within the physical building space," as recited in amended claim 1, because Elias teaches two distinct scenarios: 1) "using sensor and/or monitor information to control certain systems within commercial and residential facilities"; or 2) determine human occupancy in outdoor spaces and to control certain outdoor systems." In one example of Elias, the "sensors and/or monitor information" that is used the control the facility systems are within the facility itself. Additionally, in the other example of Elias, human occupancy estimates in the outdoor space is used to control the "certain outdoor systems." Elias does not teach using volume flow density determined from images that capture a scene that is external to the facility of Elias to control the facility systems that are internal to the facility itself…” [Arguments, pages 7-8].
In response, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. Examiner first observes that the above-argued limitations do not appear to involve the use of images external to a facility to control systems internal to a facility, as is presently argued. However, Examiner respectfully maintains that such a scenario would be rendered obvious by the combination of Konrad and Elias given the occupancy prediction and system-control context of each disclosure.
Regarding the above-argued limitations, Examiner respectfully maintains that the previously applied art renders these limitations obvious and directs the Applicant to (Konrad, (Id., ¶ 13, An Occupancy Sensing SYstem (OSSY) generates an estimate of the number of occupants in an area of a building, and uses the estimate for system purposes such as adjusting a rate of ventilation air flow to be tailored for the estimated occupancy. In some applications the building may be a commercial venue and include for example offices, conference rooms, large classrooms or conference rooms, and very large colloquium rooms. The system may be used with a variety of other building times. The system is inherently scalable to support a wide range of room sizes, from small offices to large meeting halls. This is a byproduct of a modular architecture enabling the addition of new units and seamlessly fusing their occupancy estimates with existing ones, thereby expanding coverage. The system can deliver robust performance by fusing information from multiple sensor modalities (e.g., wide-area, overhead sensing using panoramic cameras and local, entryway sensing using low-resolution thermal sensors) and from different algorithms (e.g., body counting versus crowd-density estimation). The system can be privacy-adaptive, using entryway sensors that collect only low-resolution, thermal data, facilitating deployment in bathrooms, changing rooms, etc. It may also be cost-effective by minimizing the number of sensors needed and, therefore, the cost of installation), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level).
Here, the OSSY system of Konrad discloses adjusting HVAC airflow based on a machine learning analysis of volume flow density within a facility, as required by the present claims. As such, Examiner remains unpersuaded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 21-23 and 25 are directed to statutory categories, namely an article of manufacture.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Claims 21, in part, recites the following abstract idea:
…perform operations comprising: …obtain data comprising a set of images indicative of a movement of objects during a defined time period, the set of images captured by… ; extract a set of feature values based on the movement of objects in the set of images during the defined time period; determine, by … a volume flow density of the moving objects during the defined time period based on the set of feature values; predicting, by…, a number of objects within a physical building space during a time period after the defined time period based on the determined volume flow density; obtain a reference dataset representative of the number of objects within the physical building space during the time period after the defined time period; and… based on the reference dataset on predicting the number of objects within the physical building space during a given time period based on the volume flow density output prediction of the machine learning model from the moving objects captured in a given set of images during a time period occurring before the given time period [Claim 21].
These concepts are not meaningfully different than the following concepts identified by the MPEP:
Concepts relating to certain methods of organizing human activity. The aforementioned limitations describe steps for fundamental economic principles or practices. Specifically, configuring the usage of resources based on resource allocations is considered to describe a fundamental economic practice. As such, claim 21 recites concepts identified as abstract ideas.
Dependent claims 22-23 and 25 recite limitations relative to the independent claims, including, for example:
…wherein the obtained reference dataset further comprises an allocation of a plurality of physical resources during the time period after the defined time period, and wherein the operations further comprise:… based on the reference dataset on dynamically allocating the plurality of physical resources to users within the physical building space during the given time period based on the volume flow density output prediction [Claim 22],
…wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining a first dataset comprising a set of images captured by … the set of images indicative of a movement of objects during a first time period; extracting, by … a first set of feature values representative of one or more pixel groups in the set of images; classifying, by… each of the objects in the one or more pixel groups based on the first set of feature values; determining, by… a volume flow density of the moving objects during the first time period based on the first set of feature values; predicting, by… a number of objects within a physical building space during a time period after the first time period based on the determined volume flow density; and dynamically allocating, by … at least one physical resource associated with the physical building space during the time period after the first time period based on the predicted number of objects within the physical building space; wherein the set of images captured by …include the moving objects in at least one scene that is externally located relative to the physical building space [claim 23],
…wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining text data indicative of a condition of an environment in which the physical building space is located; extracting, by … a third set of feature values from the text data; and modifying, by … the prediction of the number of objects within the physical building space during the time period after the first time period based on the third set of feature values, the modification including increasing or decreasing the predicted number of objects within the physical building space during the time period [claim 25].
The limitations of these dependent claims are merely narrowing the abstract idea identified in the independent claims, and thus, the dependent claims 22-23 and 25 also recite abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 21 only recites the following additional elements –
A computer program product embodied on one or more non-transitory computer readable media having stored thereon instructions that are executable by one or more processors to cause the computer program product to … at least one image sensor; …a machine learning model…; …the machine learning model…; … training the machine learning model… [Claim 21].
The sensor, machine learning model and executable instructions are recited at a high-level of generality (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)), like the following MPEP example:
iii. Gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48;
iii. Mere automation of manual processes, such as using a generic computer to process an application for financing a purchase, Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 1055, 123 USPQ2d 1100, 1108-09 (Fed. Cir. 2017) or speeding up a loan-application process by enabling borrowers to avoid physically going to or calling each lender and filling out a loan application, LendingTree, LLC v. Zillow, Inc., 656 Fed. App'x 991, 996-97 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential);
Furthermore, the computer implemented element is considered to amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)), like the following MPEP example:
i. A commonplace business method or mathematical algorithm being applied on a general purpose computer, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 223, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983 (2014); Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 64, 175 USPQ 673, 674 (1972); Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015);
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The remaining dependent claims do not recite any new additional elements, and thus do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: Claim 21 and its underlying limitations, steps, features and terms, considered both individually and as a whole, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the following reasons:
Independent claim 21 only recites the following additional elements –
A computer program product embodied on one or more non-transitory computer readable media having stored thereon instructions that are executable by one or more processors to cause the computer program product to … at least one image sensor; …a machine learning model…; …the machine learning model…; … training the machine learning model… [Claim 21].
These elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the reasons discussed in 2A prong 2 with regard to MPEP 2106.05(a) and MPEP 2106.05(f). By the failure of the elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application there, the additional elements likewise fail to amount to an inventive concept that is significantly more than an abstract idea here, in Step 2B.
As such, both individually or in combination, these limitations do not add significantly more to the judicial exception.
The remaining dependent claims 22-23 and 25 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the dependent claims do not recite any new additional elements other than those mentioned in the independent claims, which amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). As such, these claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Konrad et al., U.S. Publication No. 2019/0360714 [hereinafter Konrad].
Regarding Claim 21, Konrad anticipates …A computer program product embodied on one or more non-transitory computer readable media having stored thereon instructions that are executable by one or more processors to cause the computer program product to perform operations comprising obtain data comprising a set of images indicative of a movement of objects during a defined time period, the set of images captured by at least one image sensor (Konrad, ¶ 23, Application software may be stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium such as an optical or magnetic disk, Flash memory or other non-volatile semiconductor memory, etc., from which it is retrieved for execution by the processing circuitry, as generally known in the art), (Id., ¶ 28, For a wide range of commercial venue sizes, it may be a challenge to find a single sensing modality to simultaneously satisfy performance and cost constraints. In one embodiment, the proposed standalone, wireless occupancy sensing system can address this challenge by leveraging two complementary sensing modalities: high-resolution (HR) panoramic cameras 32 and low-resolution (LR) door sensors 34. (discloses obtaining images from a sensor) Used jointly in challenging scenarios, such as illumination changes or fast-moving crowds, these modalities are expected to deliver reliable occupancy estimates by means of advanced fusion. This unique combination of technologies is capable of supporting occupancy sensing needs in a very wide range of buildings of different sizes and uses, from individual employee offices and small conference rooms, for just a few people, to huge lecture halls where hundreds of people may congregate. Due to the use of panoramic cameras 32, the disclosed system can minimize the number of sensors needed, thus limiting installation costs. By also using LR door thermal sensors 34, it can also support small-venue scenarios calling for privacy, and do so at a low cost. The proposed system uses standalone computing infrastructure and wireless (or PoE) communication, independent of the cloud and of networks existing in commercial venues) (Id., ¶ 30, Assuming that the system operates based on a given rate of occupancy estimation, such as once per minute for example, the SCNs 42 aggregate data and respond within such a time period. The sensing units preferably acquire data at a rate compatible with occupancy variations (cameras 32) or body speed (door sensors 34) (discloses obtaining movement data associated with a time period) to minimize the potential for aliasing. Since cameras 32 are responsible for steady-state occupancy data, a frame rate of about 1 Hz should be adequate. A 3.0 MPixel panoramic camera typically produces a bit rate of about 10 Mb/s for high-quality 30 Hz video using H.264/AVC compression, but this rate would drop to about 330 Kb/s at 1 Hz. Multiple cameras can be easily supported by WiFi or wired Ethernet (CATS in legacy and CAT6 in new buildings). Use of PoE, providing DC power, can additionally reduce installation costs, and is supported by CATS wiring. To assure accurate ingress/egress detection, door sensors 34 preferably sample at 10-20 Hz, but at 16×4 resolution this would result in no more than 40 Kb/s of uncompressed data rate. This rate is compatible with lower-rate communications connections such as ZigBee, although it may be preferred to use WiFi or wired Ethernet for commonality with the cameras 32), (Id., ¶ 34, To estimate the (quasi) steady-state occupancy, in one example panoramic, overhead, high-resolution, low-cost CMOS cameras are used, which provide a wide field of view with minimal occlusions, while also being widely available and relatively inexpensive. OSSY preferably employs accurate, real-time (at HVAC time scale) algorithms for occupant counting using panoramic video frames. A fundamental block in many occupancy sensing algorithms is change detection (also referred to as background subtraction), which identifies areas of a video frame that have changed in relation to some background model, e.g., view of an empty room), (Id., ¶ 22, FIG. 4 shows a local area 10 with a more structural focus, including a variable air volume (VAV) box 40 as an example of local-area equipment 12 (FIG. 1), and a shared computing node (SCN) 42 as an example of a local-area controller 14. Also shown is a separate building automation system (BAS) 44 as an example of a central controller 26 (also FIG. 1), and communications connections 46 between the SCN 42 and the sensors 32, 34 as well as the BAS 44. The connections 46 may be realized in various ways including as wireless connections (e.g., WiFi) and/or wired connections such as a Ethernet, either powered (PoE) or unpowered. The system may be realized as a standalone system (i.e., not connected to an external network or “cloud”), with one or more SCNs 42 providing data processing and fusion for multiple venues in the same control zone);
extract a set of feature values based on the movement of objects in the set of images during the defined time period (Id., ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features (discloses extracting features based on the movement dataset) for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate. The controller generally includes one or more fusion systems collectively generating the occupancy estimate by corresponding fusion calculations, the fusion systems including a first fusion system producing a boundary occupancy-count change based on sensor signals from the boundary sensors, a second fusion system producing an interior occupancy count based on sensor signals from the interior sensors, and a third fusion system producing the occupancy estimate based on one or both of the boundary occupancy-count change and the interior occupancy count. Fusion may be of one or multiple types including cross-modality fusion across different sensor types, within-modality fusion across different instances of same-type sensors, and cross-algorithm fusion using different algorithms to generates respective estimates for the same sensor(s). Use of the occupancy sensing system can help to deliver desired occupancy-sensitive performance of the HVAC system, specifically the attainment of a desired energy savings without an undue incidence of undesirable under-ventilation), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses extracting features of the movement dataset using machine learning), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
determine, by a machine learning model, a volume flow density of the moving objects during the defined time period based on the set of feature values (Id., ¶ 31, Another factor is the configuration or “commissioning” of a system into operation. To support a variety of venue configurations, it is preferable that algorithms be agnostic to configuration variations, e.g., camera/sensor installation height, room size and shape. In the case of human-body counting, the camera installation height and room size affect a projected body size and, therefore, call for a scale-invariant human-body detector, which is a problem considered to have been solved. In the case of crowd density estimation from a panoramic camera, every pixel contributes in some proportion to a body count but this proportion is dependent on pixel location on the sensor (e.g., a pixel in the middle of a sensor, parallel to room's floor, will occupy a smaller fraction of human head, than a pixel at sensor's periphery, due to lens properties). However, the knowledge of intrinsic camera parameters, such as sensor size and resolution, focal length, lens diameter and barrel distortion, can be used to establish a relationship between pixel location and its contribution to crowd density (pixel-to-density mapping), very much like in methods to de-warp a fisheye image for visualization. Alternatively, a pixel-to-density mapping can be obtained experimentally in a room of maximum permissible size for various installation heights and camera models, and stored in a look-up table to use during deployment, thus making a crowd density estimation algorithm agnostic to camera installation height and room size. A similar mapping can be obtained for LR thermal sensors (both “tripwire” and room-view). Additionally, some thermal sensors such as Melexis sensors are available with different lenses (40°, 60°, 120° FOVs) allowing to match them to different combinations of room height and door width), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
predicting, by the machine learning model, a number of objects within a physical building space during a time period after the defined time period based on the determined volume flow density (Id., ¶ 13, An Occupancy Sensing SYstem (OSSY) generates an estimate of the number of occupants in an area of a building, and uses the estimate for system purposes such as adjusting a rate of ventilation air flow to be tailored for the estimated occupancy. In some applications the building may be a commercial venue and include for example offices, conference rooms, large classrooms or conference rooms, and very large colloquium rooms. The system may be used with a variety of other building times. The system is inherently scalable to support a wide range of room sizes, from small offices to large meeting halls. This is a byproduct of a modular architecture enabling the addition of new units and seamlessly fusing their occupancy estimates with existing ones, thereby expanding coverage. The system can deliver robust performance by fusing information from multiple sensor modalities (e.g., wide-area, overhead sensing using panoramic cameras and local, entryway sensing using low-resolution thermal sensors) and from different algorithms (e.g., body counting versus crowd-density estimation). The system can be privacy-adaptive, using entryway sensors that collect only low-resolution, thermal data, facilitating deployment in bathrooms, changing rooms, etc. It may also be cost-effective by minimizing the number of sensors needed and, therefore, the cost of installation), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
obtain a reference dataset representative of the number of objects within the physical building space during the time period after the defined time period (Id., ¶ 13, An Occupancy Sensing SYstem (OSSY) generates an estimate of the number of occupants in an area of a building, and uses the estimate for system purposes such as adjusting a rate of ventilation air flow to be tailored for the estimated occupancy. In some applications the building may be a commercial venue and include for example offices, conference rooms, large classrooms or conference rooms, and very large colloquium rooms. The system may be used with a variety of other building times. The system is inherently scalable to support a wide range of room sizes, from small offices to large meeting halls. This is a byproduct of a modular architecture enabling the addition of new units and seamlessly fusing their occupancy estimates with existing ones, thereby expanding coverage. The system can deliver robust performance by fusing information from multiple sensor modalities (e.g., wide-area, overhead sensing using panoramic cameras and local, entryway sensing using low-resolution thermal sensors) and from different algorithms (e.g., body counting versus crowd-density estimation). The system can be privacy-adaptive, using entryway sensors that collect only low-resolution, thermal data, facilitating deployment in bathrooms, changing rooms, etc. It may also be cost-effective by minimizing the number of sensors needed and, therefore, the cost of installation), (Id., ¶ 20, FIG. 2 illustrates an aspect of the disclosed approach that can facilitate system scalability while supporting multiple occupancy-sensing modalities, for an area shown as a “unit volume” 30 such as a room. Two distinct types of sensor nodes may deployed in various combinations: interior sensors such as high-resolution (HR) panoramic overhead cameras 32 for wide-area monitoring, and boundary sensors such as low-resolution (LR) thermal sensors 34 located at doorways for ingress/egress detection. The use of panoramic cameras 32 can help minimize the number of sensors needed, thus reducing installation costs while still supporting scalability to large-size venues. The door sensors 34 may serve several roles. First, they provide transient phase data for fusion with steady-state occupancy data from the overhead cameras 32 or other interior sensors when used. For this purpose, in some cases a door sensor 34 may be as simple as a “tripwire”, shown as a “T Door Sensor 36”, that only detects ingress/egress. Such a tripwire sensor 36 may employ low-resolution (LR) thermal sensing for example. Secondly, in small-venue scenarios where panoramic cameras 32 are not used, the door sensors 34 may be realized as TRV door sensors 38 equipped with both an LR thermal “tripwire” (pointing down at the door opening) and an LR “room view” thermal array pointed into the room, for determining both transient and steady-state phase of occupancy. Additionally, if the door sensors 34 collect only LR thermal data, they are generally suitable for privacy-sensitive areas such as restrooms etc.), (Id., ¶¶ 47-51, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change; [0048] 2. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total interior occupancy count produced by applying fusion system 2 (ref 72) to occupancy count estimates produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring interior regions of zone, and previous estimates of total interior occupancy count; [0049] 3. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of number of occupants within zone produced by applying fusion system 3 (ref 74) to the outputs of fusion systems 1 and/or fusion system 2, and previous estimates of number of occupants within zone; [0050] 4. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 make use of parametric or non-parametric, linear or non-linear systems. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 take into account the rate at which the number of occupants in zone is changing, specifically whether it is changing rapidly (transient state) or sporadically (quasi steady state), and accordingly diminishing the influence of the boundary count or interior count, respectively, towards the estimation of the total number of occupants. [0051] 5. A system to continuously maximize energy savings for zone based on zone type or on current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone while simultaneously not exceeding a maximum failure rate which can be specified. This is accomplished by scaling the estimate of the number of occupants in zone at each time instant by an overestimation factor greater than or equal to one based on zone type or current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone (discloses reference dataset representative of the number of objects within the physical space), (Id., ¶ 80, In terms of lighting, the data determined by OSSY can be used to adjust and/or turn off lighting in different spaces where OSSY sensing systems are installed. For example, in a large exhibit or meeting rooms, areas unoccupied can have the lights turned off or down. (discloses allocation of physical resources) Similarly, in areas occupied, the lighting levels can be increased. In such applications, OSSY may send not only occupant counts, but information as to location of occupants to a lighting control system that would use the spatial information to adjust lighting levels. Different lighting strategies, e.g., levels/intensities, can be pre-programmed);
and training the machine learning model based on the reference dataset on predicting the number of objects within the physical building space during a given time period based on the volume flow density output prediction of the machine learning model from the moving objects captured in a given set of images during a time period occurring before the given time period (Id., ¶ 45, a fusion algorithm can combine both raw data and decisions generated by different sensors through a complex, generally nonlinear relationship, e.g., kernel support vector regression and neural networks which can be trained using machine learning techniques. However, such an algorithm may be difficult to train (too many parameters relative to training data size) or may not generalize well to new deployment conditions without significant labor-intensive re-training that would impede self-commissioning and drive up cost. An alternative approach is to employ a recursive Bayesian filtering method like Kalman filtering (linear, extended, or unscented transform) or particle filtering with the system dynamics learned offline from training data. (discloses training with reference training dataset) However, this can be computationally intensive for video data due to its high dimensionality. Hence while in general such options are not excluded, the present description assumes use of relatively simple-to-train adaptive algorithms that fuse occupancy estimates rather than raw data), (Id., ¶ 64, A lookup table may be designed offline using ground-truth training data and regression techniques. The end result will be a coarsely-quantized map (table lookup) from environmental conditions to values for τ[t], λ[t]. The lookup table encodes changes to τ[t], λ[t] relative to environmental conditions. If the rate of occupancy change is high (fast-moving crowds), then a transient phase is in operation and λ[t] should be decreased to give more weight to the door sensor estimates and τ[t] should be decreased to deemphasize older measurements. If the rate of occupancy change is low, then a quasi-steady state is in effect and τ[t] can be increased. Further, if the illumination is good, then λ[t] should be increased to give more weight to the overhead camera estimates. Similarly, if the ambient lighting changes rapidly (e.g., for a slide show) then the camera estimates should be de-weighted by decreasing λ[t]), (Id., ¶¶ 47-51, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change; [0048] 2. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total interior occupancy count produced by applying fusion system 2 (ref 72) to occupancy count estimates produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring interior regions of zone, and previous estimates of total interior occupancy count; [0049] 3. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of number of occupants within zone produced by applying fusion system 3 (ref 74) to the outputs of fusion systems 1 and/or fusion system 2, and previous estimates of number of occupants within zone; [0050] 4. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 make use of parametric or non-parametric, linear or non-linear systems. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 take into account the rate at which the number of occupants in zone is changing, specifically whether it is changing rapidly (transient state) or sporadically (quasi steady state), and accordingly diminishing the influence of the boundary count or interior count, respectively, towards the estimation of the total number of occupants. [0051] 5. A system to continuously maximize energy savings for zone based on zone type or on current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone while simultaneously not exceeding a maximum failure rate which can be specified. This is accomplished by scaling the estimate of the number of occupants in zone at each time instant by an overestimation factor greater than or equal to one based on zone type or current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone (discloses reference dataset representative of the number of objects within the physical space), (Id., ¶ 80, In terms of lighting, the data determined by OSSY can be used to adjust and/or turn off lighting in different spaces where OSSY sensing systems are installed. For example, in a large exhibit or meeting rooms, areas unoccupied can have the lights turned off or down. (discloses allocation of physical resources) Similarly, in areas occupied, the lighting levels can be increased. In such applications, OSSY may send not only occupant counts, but information as to location of occupants to a lighting control system that would use the spatial information to adjust lighting levels. Different lighting strategies, e.g., levels/intensities, can be pre-programmed).
Regarding Claim 22, Konrad anticipates …The computer program product of claim 21…
Konrad further anticipates …wherein the obtained reference dataset further comprises an allocation of a plurality of physical resources during the time period after the defined time period, and wherein the operations further comprise: training the machine learning model based on the reference dataset on dynamically allocating the plurality of physical resources to users within the physical building space during the given time period based on the volume flow density output prediction (Id., ¶ 13, An Occupancy Sensing SYstem (OSSY) generates an estimate of the number of occupants in an area of a building, and uses the estimate for system purposes such as adjusting a rate of ventilation air flow to be tailored for the estimated occupancy. In some applications the building may be a commercial venue and include for example offices, conference rooms, large classrooms or conference rooms, and very large colloquium rooms. The system may be used with a variety of other building times. The system is inherently scalable to support a wide range of room sizes, from small offices to large meeting halls. This is a byproduct of a modular architecture enabling the addition of new units and seamlessly fusing their occupancy estimates with existing ones, thereby expanding coverage. The system can deliver robust performance by fusing information from multiple sensor modalities (e.g., wide-area, overhead sensing using panoramic cameras and local, entryway sensing using low-resolution thermal sensors) and from different algorithms (e.g., body counting versus crowd-density estimation). The system can be privacy-adaptive, using entryway sensors that collect only low-resolution, thermal data, facilitating deployment in bathrooms, changing rooms, etc. It may also be cost-effective by minimizing the number of sensors needed and, therefore, the cost of installation), (Id., ¶ 20, FIG. 2 illustrates an aspect of the disclosed approach that can facilitate system scalability while supporting multiple occupancy-sensing modalities, for an area shown as a “unit volume” 30 such as a room. Two distinct types of sensor nodes may deployed in various combinations: interior sensors such as high-resolution (HR) panoramic overhead cameras 32 for wide-area monitoring, and boundary sensors such as low-resolution (LR) thermal sensors 34 located at doorways for ingress/egress detection. The use of panoramic cameras 32 can help minimize the number of sensors needed, thus reducing installation costs while still supporting scalability to large-size venues. The door sensors 34 may serve several roles. First, they provide transient phase data for fusion with steady-state occupancy data from the overhead cameras 32 or other interior sensors when used. For this purpose, in some cases a door sensor 34 may be as simple as a “tripwire”, shown as a “T Door Sensor 36”, that only detects ingress/egress. Such a tripwire sensor 36 may employ low-resolution (LR) thermal sensing for example. Secondly, in small-venue scenarios where panoramic cameras 32 are not used, the door sensors 34 may be realized as TRV door sensors 38 equipped with both an LR thermal “tripwire” (pointing down at the door opening) and an LR “room view” thermal array pointed into the room, for determining both transient and steady-state phase of occupancy. Additionally, if the door sensors 34 collect only LR thermal data, they are generally suitable for privacy-sensitive areas such as restrooms etc.), (Id., ¶¶ 47-51, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change; [0048] 2. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total interior occupancy count produced by applying fusion system 2 (ref 72) to occupancy count estimates produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring interior regions of zone, and previous estimates of total interior occupancy count; [0049] 3. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of number of occupants within zone produced by applying fusion system 3 (ref 74) to the outputs of fusion systems 1 and/or fusion system 2, and previous estimates of number of occupants within zone; [0050] 4. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 make use of parametric or non-parametric, linear or non-linear systems. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 take into account the rate at which the number of occupants in zone is changing, specifically whether it is changing rapidly (transient state) or sporadically (quasi steady state), and accordingly diminishing the influence of the boundary count or interior count, respectively, towards the estimation of the total number of occupants. [0051] 5. A system to continuously maximize energy savings for zone based on zone type or on current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone while simultaneously not exceeding a maximum failure rate which can be specified. This is accomplished by scaling the estimate of the number of occupants in zone at each time instant by an overestimation factor greater than or equal to one based on zone type or current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone (discloses reference dataset representative of the number of objects within the physical space), (Id., ¶ 80, In terms of lighting, the data determined by OSSY can be used to adjust and/or turn off lighting in different spaces where OSSY sensing systems are installed. For example, in a large exhibit or meeting rooms, areas unoccupied can have the lights turned off or down. (discloses allocation of physical resources) Similarly, in areas occupied, the lighting levels can be increased. In such applications, OSSY may send not only occupant counts, but information as to location of occupants to a lighting control system that would use the spatial information to adjust lighting levels. Different lighting strategies, e.g., levels/intensities, can be pre-programmed), (Id., ¶ 45, a fusion algorithm can combine both raw data and decisions generated by different sensors through a complex, generally nonlinear relationship, e.g., kernel support vector regression and neural networks which can be trained using machine learning techniques. However, such an algorithm may be difficult to train (too many parameters relative to training data size) or may not generalize well to new deployment conditions without significant labor-intensive re-training that would impede self-commissioning and drive up cost. An alternative approach is to employ a recursive Bayesian filtering method like Kalman filtering (linear, extended, or unscented transform) or particle filtering with the system dynamics learned offline from training data. (discloses training with reference training dataset) However, this can be computationally intensive for video data due to its high dimensionality. Hence while in general such options are not excluded, the present description assumes use of relatively simple-to-train adaptive algorithms that fuse occupancy estimates rather than raw data), (Id., ¶ 64, A lookup table may be designed offline using ground-truth training data and regression techniques. The end result will be a coarsely-quantized map (table lookup) from environmental conditions to values for τ[t], λ[t]. The lookup table encodes changes to τ[t], λ[t] relative to environmental conditions. If the rate of occupancy change is high (fast-moving crowds), then a transient phase is in operation and λ[t] should be decreased to give more weight to the door sensor estimates and τ[t] should be decreased to deemphasize older measurements. If the rate of occupancy change is low, then a quasi-steady state is in effect and τ[t] can be increased. Further, if the illumination is good, then λ[t] should be increased to give more weight to the overhead camera estimates. Similarly, if the ambient lighting changes rapidly (e.g., for a slide show) then the camera estimates should be de-weighted by decreasing λ[t]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-14 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrad in view of Elias et al., WO 2021/007293 [hereinafter Elias].
Regarding Claim 1, Konrad discloses … A computer-implemented method, comprising: obtaining, by a computer system from a first computing device, a first dataset comprising a set of images captured by at least one recording device, the set of images indicative of a movement of objects during a first time period (Konrad, ¶ 30, Assuming that the system operates based on a given rate of occupancy estimation, such as once per minute for example, the SCNs 42 aggregate data and respond within such a time period. The sensing units preferably acquire data at a rate compatible with occupancy variations (cameras 32) (discloses recording device) or body speed (door sensors 34) to minimize the potential for aliasing. Since cameras 32 are responsible for steady-state occupancy data, a frame rate of about 1 Hz should be adequate. A 3.0 MPixel panoramic camera typically produces a bit rate of about 10 Mb/s for high-quality 30 Hz video using H.264/AVC compression, but this rate would drop to about 330 Kb/s at 1 Hz. Multiple cameras can be easily supported by WiFi or wired Ethernet (CATS in legacy and CAT6 in new buildings). Use of PoE, providing DC power, can additionally reduce installation costs, and is supported by CATS wiring. To assure accurate ingress/egress detection, door sensors 34 preferably sample at 10-20 Hz, but at 16×4 resolution this would result in no more than 40 Kb/s of uncompressed data rate. This rate is compatible with lower-rate communications connections such as ZigBee, although it may be preferred to use WiFi or wired Ethernet for commonality with the cameras 32), (Id., ¶ 34, To estimate the (quasi) steady-state occupancy, in one example panoramic, overhead, high-resolution, low-cost CMOS cameras are used, which provide a wide field of view with minimal occlusions, while also being widely available and relatively inexpensive. OSSY preferably employs accurate, real-time (at HVAC time scale) algorithms for occupant counting using panoramic video frames. A fundamental block in many occupancy sensing algorithms is change detection (also referred to as background subtraction), which identifies areas of a video frame (discloses a set of images indicative with movement and associated with a time period) that have changed in relation to some background model, e.g., view of an empty room), (Id., ¶ 22, FIG. 4 shows a local area 10 with a more structural focus, including a variable air volume (VAV) box 40 as an example of local-area equipment 12 (FIG. 1), and a shared computing node (SCN) 42 as an example of a local-area controller 14. Also shown is a separate building automation system (BAS) 44 as an example of a central controller 26 (also FIG. 1), and communications connections 46 between the SCN 42 and the sensors 32, 34 as well as the BAS 44. The connections 46 may be realized in various ways including as wireless connections (e.g., WiFi) and/or wired connections such as a Ethernet, either powered (PoE) or unpowered. The system may be realized as a standalone system (i.e., not connected to an external network or “cloud”), with one or more SCNs 42 providing data processing and fusion for multiple venues in the same control zone);
extracting, by a machine learning model of the computer system, a first set of feature values representative of one or more pixel groups in the first set of images (Id., ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features (discloses extracting features based on the movement dataset) for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate. The controller generally includes one or more fusion systems collectively generating the occupancy estimate by corresponding fusion calculations, the fusion systems including a first fusion system producing a boundary occupancy-count change based on sensor signals from the boundary sensors, a second fusion system producing an interior occupancy count based on sensor signals from the interior sensors, and a third fusion system producing the occupancy estimate based on one or both of the boundary occupancy-count change and the interior occupancy count. Fusion may be of one or multiple types including cross-modality fusion across different sensor types, within-modality fusion across different instances of same-type sensors, and cross-algorithm fusion using different algorithms to generates respective estimates for the same sensor(s). Use of the occupancy sensing system can help to deliver desired occupancy-sensitive performance of the HVAC system, specifically the attainment of a desired energy savings without an undue incidence of undesirable under-ventilation), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses extracting/classifying pixel group features using machine learning), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
classifying, by the machine learning model, each of the objects in the one or more pixel groups based on the first set of feature values (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses extracting/classifying pixel group features using machine learning), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
determining, by the machine learning model, a volume flow density of the moving objects during the first time period based on the first set of feature values (Id., ¶ 31, In the case of crowd density estimation from a panoramic camera, every pixel contributes in some proportion to a body count but this proportion is dependent on pixel location on the sensor (e.g., a pixel in the middle of a sensor, parallel to room's floor, will occupy a smaller fraction of human head, than a pixel at sensor's periphery, due to lens properties). However, the knowledge of intrinsic camera parameters, such as sensor size and resolution, focal length, lens diameter and barrel distortion, can be used to establish a relationship between pixel location and its contribution to crowd density (pixel-to-density mapping), very much like in methods to de-warp a fisheye image for visualization. Alternatively, a pixel-to-density mapping can be obtained experimentally in a room of maximum permissible size for various installation heights and camera models, and stored in a look-up table to use during deployment, thus making a crowd density estimation algorithm agnostic to camera installation height and room size. A similar mapping can be obtained for LR thermal sensors (both “tripwire” and room-view). Additionally, some thermal sensors such as Melexis sensors are available with different lenses (40°, 60°, 120° FOVs) allowing to match them to different combinations of room height and door width), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, (discloses estimating a volume flow density of moving objects) head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level), (Id., ¶ 46, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change);
predicting, by the machine learning model, a number of objects within a physical building space during a time period after the first time period based on the determined volume flow density (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, (discloses estimating a volume flow density of moving objects to predict a head count) head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level), (Id., ¶ 46, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change);
dynamically allocating, by the machine learning model, at least one physical resource associated with the physical building space during the time period after the first time period based on the predicted number of objects within the physical building space (Id., ¶ 13, An Occupancy Sensing SYstem (OSSY) generates an estimate of the number of occupants in an area of a building, and uses the estimate for system purposes such as adjusting a rate of ventilation air flow to be tailored for the estimated occupancy. In some applications the building may be a commercial venue and include for example offices, conference rooms, large classrooms or conference rooms, and very large colloquium rooms. The system may be used with a variety of other building times. The system is inherently scalable to support a wide range of room sizes, from small offices to large meeting halls. This is a byproduct of a modular architecture enabling the addition of new units and seamlessly fusing their occupancy estimates with existing ones, thereby expanding coverage. The system can deliver robust performance by fusing information from multiple sensor modalities (e.g., wide-area, overhead sensing using panoramic cameras and local, entryway sensing using low-resolution thermal sensors) and from different algorithms (e.g., body counting versus crowd-density estimation). The system can be privacy-adaptive, using entryway sensors that collect only low-resolution, thermal data, facilitating deployment in bathrooms, changing rooms, etc. It may also be cost-effective by minimizing the number of sensors needed and, therefore, the cost of installation), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods (discloses machine learning) which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 20, FIG. 2 illustrates an aspect of the disclosed approach that can facilitate system scalability while supporting multiple occupancy-sensing modalities, for an area shown as a “unit volume” 30 such as a room. Two distinct types of sensor nodes may deployed in various combinations: interior sensors such as high-resolution (HR) panoramic overhead cameras 32 for wide-area monitoring, and boundary sensors such as low-resolution (LR) thermal sensors 34 located at doorways for ingress/egress detection. The use of panoramic cameras 32 can help minimize the number of sensors needed, thus reducing installation costs while still supporting scalability to large-size venues. The door sensors 34 may serve several roles. First, they provide transient phase data for fusion with steady-state occupancy data from the overhead cameras 32 or other interior sensors when used. For this purpose, in some cases a door sensor 34 may be as simple as a “tripwire”, shown as a “T Door Sensor 36”, that only detects ingress/egress. Such a tripwire sensor 36 may employ low-resolution (LR) thermal sensing for example. Secondly, in small-venue scenarios where panoramic cameras 32 are not used, the door sensors 34 may be realized as TRV door sensors 38 equipped with both an LR thermal “tripwire” (pointing down at the door opening) and an LR “room view” thermal array pointed into the room, for determining both transient and steady-state phase of occupancy. Additionally, if the door sensors 34 collect only LR thermal data, they are generally suitable for privacy-sensitive areas such as restrooms etc.), (Id., ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy), (Id., ¶ 24, the local equipment controller 62 may convert the occupancy estimate 66 into a corresponding fraction of maximum occupancy, and control airflow accordingly. Thus if the occupancy is at 50% of maximum, for example, the local-area airflow is adjusted to 50% of maximum airflow. (discloses adjusting resource allocation based on a predicted number of objects in a building during a time period) As previously indicated, the local equipment controller 62 may also communicate with the central controller 26 in support of broader system-level control), (Id., ¶ 46, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change);
wherein the physical building space comprises a HVAC system, and wherein dynamically allocating the at least one physical resource comprises the machine learning model dynamically configuring each of a first zone of the HVAC system and a second zone of the HVAC system to operate or to not operate based on the predicted number of objects within the physical building space (Id., ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate. (discloses operating an HVAC system in separate areas based on a predicted number of objects within the area) The controller generally includes one or more fusion systems collectively generating the occupancy estimate by corresponding fusion calculations, the fusion systems including a first fusion system producing a boundary occupancy-count change based on sensor signals from the boundary sensors, a second fusion system producing an interior occupancy count based on sensor signals from the interior sensors, and a third fusion system producing the occupancy estimate based on one or both of the boundary occupancy-count change and the interior occupancy count. Fusion may be of one or multiple types including cross-modality fusion across different sensor types, within-modality fusion across different instances of same-type sensors, and cross-algorithm fusion using different algorithms to generates respective estimates for the same sensor(s). Use of the occupancy sensing system can help to deliver desired occupancy-sensitive performance of the HVAC system, specifically the attainment of a desired energy savings without an undue incidence of undesirable under-ventilation), (Id., ¶ 76, To determine the HVAC energy savings that can be achieved with the occupancy sensing system, a data-driven energy savings model based on building HVAC equipment specifications, current air supply levels, and actual building-use data obtained in the validation study. Table 3 below shows example airflow estimates that might be obtained using a Ventilation Airflow Model (VAM). While this model is representative of education and research environments in particular, many aspects of commercial office buildings are also represented in this example including offices, conference rooms, and large meeting spaces. This model includes air required as a function of both area (resulting in fixed airflow) and variable occupancy (as per ASHRAE 62.1-2013), so that the average yearly occupancy does not directly determine HVAC energy and cost reduction. This analysis indicates that airflow and HVAC energy use can be reduced by 39% if accurate occupancy data were available. In some cases depending on the exact nature and use of the building, there may be potential for even greater reduction), (Id., ¶ 80, the data determined by OSSY can be used to adjust and/or turn off lighting in different spaces where OSSY sensing systems are installed. For example, in a large exhibit or meeting rooms, areas unoccupied can have the lights turned off or down. Similarly, in areas occupied, the lighting levels can be increased. In such applications, OSSY may send not only occupant counts, but information as to location of occupants to a lighting control system that would use the spatial information to adjust lighting levels. Different lighting strategies, e.g., levels/intensities, can be pre-programmed), (Id., ¶ 19, The remaining description elaborates primarily certain structural and functional details of components involved in occupancy estimation, i.e., the sensors 16 and local-area controller 14. In typical applications today, systems are limited to a binary occupied/unoccupied decision and operation. While such operation is an improvement over older systems by reducing idle ventilation, the system described herein can extend energy savings by delivering a more fine-grained air volume control over a range of room sizes, achieving greater efficiency without sacrificing ventilation quality), (Id., ¶ 50, Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 make use of parametric or non-parametric, linear or non-linear systems. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 take into account the rate at which the number of occupants in zone is changing, specifically whether it is changing rapidly (transient state) or sporadically (quasi steady state), and accordingly diminishing the influence of the boundary count or interior count, respectively, towards the estimation of the total number of occupants. [0051] 5. A system to continuously maximize energy savings for zone based on zone type or on current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone while simultaneously not exceeding a maximum failure rate which can be specified. This is accomplished by scaling the estimate of the number of occupants in zone at each time instant by an overestimation factor greater than or equal to one based on zone type or current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone).
While suggested in at least Fig. 2 and related texts, Konrad does not explicitly disclose …wherein the set of images captured by the at least one recording device are of the moving objects in at least one scene that is externally located relative to the physical building space;
However, Elias discloses … wherein the set of images captured by the at least one recording device are of the moving objects in at least one scene that is externally located relative to the physical building space (Elias, ¶ 2, This disclosure relates to sensing and monitoring, and more specifically to sensing and monitoring certain spaces and areas for human occupancy. This disclosure is also related to sensing and monitoring movement or changes in an environment, including movement by animals and objects. This disclosure is also related to using sensor and/or monitor information to control certain systems within commercial and residential facilities, including, but not limited to; heating, cooling, ventilation, security, lighting, power, and entertainment systems and the like. This disclosure also may be used to determine human occupancy in outdoor spaces and to control certain outdoor systems including, but not limited to; heating, cooling, ventilation, security, lighting, power, and entertainment systems and the like), (Id., ¶ 115, While this disclosure has described a sensor system 100 inside or outside a building, (discloses scenes captured externally relative to a building space) the sensor system 100 can be applied to other types of scenarios and other space(s) 105. For example only, the disclosed sensor systems 100 could be used to detect the presence of humans in disaster scenarios such as collapsed buildings, caves, mines and the like. In such scenarios, the sensor systems 100 could be used to determine if and how many humans are breathing and at what rate their hearts are beating. Likewise, the sensor systems 100 could be used to determine if and how many humans might be hidden in an enclosure during a hostage or kidnapping situation and may determine if and how many humans are enclosed in a container such as a shipping crate, a trucking crate, below deck on a boat, and the like. In addition to human presence, the sensor systems 100 could be used to monitor the health of humans and/or animals in an area. For example only, this disclosure could generate an output signal that is related to the breathing rate and or heartrate of any living beings within a space 105. Such sensor systems 100 could be used to monitor the breathing of babies and protect against sudden infant death syndrome. Such systems could also monitor the sleeping of people with sleep apnea and sound an alarm or adjust a bed or environmental setting if a person’s breathing becomes too erratic or stops), (Id., ¶ 151, The sensor system 100 may include a physical process observation system such as for tracking physical activities of workers that may be used for determining value chain recommendations. Physical activities of workers (e.g., shippers, delivery workers, packers, pickers, assembly personnel, customers, merchants, vendors, distributors and others), physical interactions of workers with other workers, interactions of workers with physical entities like machines and equipment, and interactions of physical entities with other physical entities, including, without limitation, by use of video and still image cameras, motion sensing systems (such as including optical sensors, LIDAR, IR and other sensor sets), robotic motion tracking systems (such as tracking movements of systems attached to a human or a physical entity) and many others. (discloses images captured by a recording device) Machine state monitoring systems may include onboard monitors and external monitors of conditions, states, operating parameters, or other measures of the condition of any value chain entity, such as a machine or component thereof, such as a machine, such as a client, a server, a cloud resource, a control system, a display screen, a sensor, a camera, a vehicle, a robot, or other machine. Sensors and cameras and other loT data collection systems (including onboard sensors, sensors or other data collectors (including click tracking sensors) in or about a value chain environment (such as, without limitation, a point of origin, a loading or unloading dock, a vehicle or floating asset used to convey goods, a container, a port, a distribution center, a storage facility, a warehouse, a delivery vehicle, and a point of destination), cameras for monitoring an entire environment, dedicated cameras for a particular machine, process, worker, or the like, wearable cameras, portable cameras, cameras disposed on mobile robots, cameras of portable devices like smart phones and tablets, and many others. [0152] The sensor system 100 may interact with value chain network entities based on worker data such as locations of workers (including routes taken through a location, where workers of a given type are located during a given set of events, processes or the like, how workers manipulate pieces of equipment, cargo, containers, packages, products or other items using various tools, equipment, and physical interfaces, the timing of worker responses with respect to various events such as responses to alerts and warnings), procedures by which workers undertake scheduled deliveries, movements, maintenance, updates, repairs and service processes; procedures by which workers tune or adjust items involved in workflows, and many others. The sensor system may include a physical process observation that may include tracking positions, angles, forces, velocities, acceleration, pressures, torque, and the like of a worker as the worker operates on hardware, such as on a container or package, or on a piece of equipment involved in handling products, with a tool. Such observations may be obtained by any combination of video data, data detected within a machine (such as of positions of elements of the machine detected and reported by position detectors), data collected by a wearable device (such as an exoskeleton that contains position detectors, force detectors, torque detectors and the like that is configured to detect the physical characteristics of interactions of a human worker with a hardware item for purposes of developing a training data set). The sensor system 100 may use this physical activities data and worker data (e.g., physical process interaction observations) for determining value chain recommendations (e.g., training suggested where needed) in order to improve value chain workflows.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the resource allocation and machine learning elements of Konrad to include the vehicle pathway and public transportation elements of Elias in the analogous art of detecting occupancy using radio signals.
The motivation for doing so would have been to improve an ability to “adjust the HVAC system to the appropriate level for the unoccupied or under-occupied conditions” (Elias, ¶ 3), wherein such improvements would benefit Konrad’s method which enables “adjusting the operation of the HVAC system accordingly, to provide heating or cooling both sufficiently (i.e., meeting standards of temperature regulation and adequate ventilation, based on occupancy) and efficiently (i.e., using only an appropriate proportion of maximum ventilation capacity and avoiding wasteful over-ventilation)” [Elias, ¶ 3; Konrad, ¶ 16].
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The computer-implemented method according to claim 1…
While suggested in at least Fig. 2 and related texts, Konrad does not explicitly disclose …wherein the machine learning model is a first machine learning model, the method further comprising: determining, by the computer system and via execution of a second machine learning model, the dynamic configuration of the at least one physical resource associated with the physical building space based on the physical resource allocation.
However, through KSR Rationale D (See MPEP 2141(III)(D)), Konrad discloses …wherein the machine learning model is a first machine learning model, the method further comprising: determining, by the computer system and via execution of a second machine learning model, the dynamic configuration of the at least one physical resource associated with the physical building space based on the physical resource allocation.
First, Konrad discloses machine learning modeling techniques for determining occupancy of a building (Konrad, ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features (discloses extracting features based on the movement dataset) for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate. The controller generally includes one or more fusion systems collectively generating the occupancy estimate by corresponding fusion calculations, the fusion systems including a first fusion system producing a boundary occupancy-count change based on sensor signals from the boundary sensors, a second fusion system producing an interior occupancy count based on sensor signals from the interior sensors, and a third fusion system producing the occupancy estimate based on one or both of the boundary occupancy-count change and the interior occupancy count. Fusion may be of one or multiple types including cross-modality fusion across different sensor types, within-modality fusion across different instances of same-type sensors, and cross-algorithm fusion using different algorithms to generates respective estimates for the same sensor(s). Use of the occupancy sensing system can help to deliver desired occupancy-sensitive performance of the HVAC system, specifically the attainment of a desired energy savings without an undue incidence of undesirable under-ventilation), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses extracting features of the movement dataset using machine learning), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level).
Further, Konrad discloses dynamic configuration of resources in a building based on a resource allocation (Konrad, ¶ 34, To estimate the (quasi) steady-state occupancy, in one example panoramic, overhead, high-resolution, low-cost CMOS cameras are used, which provide a wide field of view with minimal occlusions, while also being widely available and relatively inexpensive. OSSY preferably employs accurate, real-time (at HVAC time scale) algorithms for occupant counting using panoramic video frames. A fundamental block in many occupancy sensing algorithms is change detection (also referred to as background subtraction), which identifies areas of a video frame that have changed in relation to some background model, e.g., view of an empty room), (Id., ¶ 13, An Occupancy Sensing SYstem (OSSY) generates an estimate of the number of occupants in an area of a building, and uses the estimate for system purposes such as adjusting a rate of ventilation air flow to be tailored for the estimated occupancy. In some applications the building may be a commercial venue and include for example offices, conference rooms, large classrooms or conference rooms, and very large colloquium rooms. The system may be used with a variety of other building times. The system is inherently scalable to support a wide range of room sizes, from small offices to large meeting halls. This is a byproduct of a modular architecture enabling the addition of new units and seamlessly fusing their occupancy estimates with existing ones, thereby expanding coverage. The system can deliver robust performance by fusing information from multiple sensor modalities (e.g., wide-area, overhead sensing using panoramic cameras and local, entryway sensing using low-resolution thermal sensors) and from different algorithms (e.g., body counting versus crowd-density estimation). The system can be privacy-adaptive, using entryway sensors that collect only low-resolution, thermal data, facilitating deployment in bathrooms, changing rooms, etc. It may also be cost-effective by minimizing the number of sensors needed and, therefore, the cost of installation), (Id., ¶ 16, FIG. 1 is a general block diagram of an HVAC system employing occupancy sensing, i.e., explicitly estimating the number of people in a local area 10 and adjusting the operation of the HVAC system accordingly, to provide heating or cooling both sufficiently (i.e., meeting standards of temperature regulation and adequate ventilation, based on occupancy) and efficiently (i.e., using only an appropriate proportion of maximum ventilation capacity and avoiding wasteful over-ventilation). In practice, a local area 10 may be a single room or a collection of rooms, and the room(s) may be small or large. In some cases a local area 10 may correspond to part or all of a “zone” as that term is conventionally understood in HVAC systems, while in other cases it may span multiple zones in whole or in part).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known machine learning technique of Konrad would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the known machine learning technique of Konrad to the dynamic resource configuration step would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the reference applied shows the ability to incorporate such resource optimization features into similar energy efficiency systems. Further, applying the machine learning technique to the dynamic resource configuration step, would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for faster and more optimal adjustments to resource allocations based on observed object movements within a building.
Thus, through KSR Rationale D (See MPEP 2141(III)(D)), Konrad discloses …wherein the machine learning model is a first machine learning model, the method further comprising: determining, by the computer system and via execution of a second machine learning model, the dynamic configuration of the at least one physical resource associated with the physical building space based on the physical resource allocation.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The computer-implemented method according to claim 2…
Konrad further discloses …wherein the dynamic allocation of the one or more physical resources further comprises: dynamically allocating a plurality of workstations associated with the physical building space to the predicted number of objects within the physical building space based on a ranking of each workstation of the plurality of workstations, wherein the plurality of workstations include a first group of workstations located in the first zone of the HVAC system and a second group of workstations located in the second zone of the HVAC system, the machine learning model being configured to allocate workstations from the first group of workstations based on the first zone being configured to operate, and the machine learning model being configured to allocate workstations from the second group of workstations based on the second zone being configured to operate (Id., ¶ 81, OSSY occupancy data can be used to determine what areas of the building are occupied, as well as occupant density and numbers, and this information can be provided to internal building systems and emergency responders. For example, this data can be used to enable/prevent access to different parts of the building through closing different door systems electromechanically. (discloses resource allocation to various workstation groups) The data can also be used to trigger different lighting systems or audio systems to advise building occupants as to the appropriate action in different spaces of the buildings, (discloses allocating workspaces within a building) or to indicate to safety/security staff the locations of occupants in the building. For these applications, aggregated OSSY data can be sent to a security computer system and that data either presented to security staff in aggregated manner, and/or have actions taken in terms of access control, lighting signals, or information systems being implemented in an automatic fashion), (Id., ¶ 82, In terms of space utilization applications, OSSY may send data for different spaces to a central computer or web based system that aggregates the data and provides different utilization metrics such as capacity utilization that could be temporally disaggregated. In one application, this can provide information to a real-time scheduling system that can indicate to building managers and occupants which spaces are currently being utilized, or are expected to be utilized in a specified time range. In another application, this system can indicate to building managers how well their space is currently configured and used in terms of capacity utilization and temporally. Furthermore, information as to the building cost (rental, operational, etc.) for different areas can be combined to provide a more explicit evaluation of cost performance), (Id., Table 2, table indicates occupancy rankings for workstations within a building), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The computer-implemented method according to claim 1…
Konrad further discloses … obtaining, by the computer system from the first computing device, data comprising a second set of images captured by the at least one recording device indicative of the movement of objects during a second time period (Konrad, ¶ 30, Assuming that the system operates based on a given rate of occupancy estimation, such as once per minute for example, the SCNs 42 aggregate data and respond within such a time period. The sensing units preferably acquire data at a rate compatible with occupancy variations (cameras 32) or body speed (door sensors 34) (discloses obtaining movement data associated with a time period) to minimize the potential for aliasing. Since cameras 32 are responsible for steady-state occupancy data, a frame rate of about 1 Hz should be adequate. A 3.0 MPixel panoramic camera typically produces a bit rate of about 10 Mb/s for high-quality 30 Hz video using H.264/AVC compression, but this rate would drop to about 330 Kb/s at 1 Hz. Multiple cameras can be easily supported by WiFi or wired Ethernet (CATS in legacy and CAT6 in new buildings). Use of PoE, providing DC power, can additionally reduce installation costs, and is supported by CATS wiring. To assure accurate ingress/egress detection, door sensors 34 preferably sample at 10-20 Hz, but at 16×4 resolution this would result in no more than 40 Kb/s of uncompressed data rate. This rate is compatible with lower-rate communications connections such as ZigBee, although it may be preferred to use WiFi or wired Ethernet for commonality with the cameras 32), (Id., ¶ 34, To estimate the (quasi) steady-state occupancy, in one example panoramic, overhead, high-resolution, low-cost CMOS cameras are used, which provide a wide field of view with minimal occlusions, while also being widely available and relatively inexpensive. OSSY preferably employs accurate, real-time (at HVAC time scale) algorithms for occupant counting using panoramic video frames. A fundamental block in many occupancy sensing algorithms is change detection (also referred to as background subtraction), which identifies areas of a video frame that have changed in relation to some background model, e.g., view of an empty room), (Id., ¶ 46, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change);
extracting, by the computer system and via execution of the machine learning model, a second set of feature values based on the movement of objects in the second set of images during the second time period (Id., ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features (discloses extracting features based on the movement dataset) for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate. The controller generally includes one or more fusion systems collectively generating the occupancy estimate by corresponding fusion calculations, the fusion systems including a first fusion system producing a boundary occupancy-count change based on sensor signals from the boundary sensors, a second fusion system producing an interior occupancy count based on sensor signals from the interior sensors, and a third fusion system producing the occupancy estimate based on one or both of the boundary occupancy-count change and the interior occupancy count. Fusion may be of one or multiple types including cross-modality fusion across different sensor types, within-modality fusion across different instances of same-type sensors, and cross-algorithm fusion using different algorithms to generates respective estimates for the same sensor(s). Use of the occupancy sensing system can help to deliver desired occupancy-sensitive performance of the HVAC system, specifically the attainment of a desired energy savings without an undue incidence of undesirable under-ventilation), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses extracting features of the movement dataset using machine learning), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
determining, by the machine learning model, a volume flow density of the moving objects during the second time period based on the second set of feature values (Id., ¶ 31, In the case of crowd density estimation from a panoramic camera, every pixel contributes in some proportion to a body count but this proportion is dependent on pixel location on the sensor (e.g., a pixel in the middle of a sensor, parallel to room's floor, will occupy a smaller fraction of human head, than a pixel at sensor's periphery, due to lens properties). However, the knowledge of intrinsic camera parameters, such as sensor size and resolution, focal length, lens diameter and barrel distortion, can be used to establish a relationship between pixel location and its contribution to crowd density (pixel-to-density mapping), very much like in methods to de-warp a fisheye image for visualization. Alternatively, a pixel-to-density mapping can be obtained experimentally in a room of maximum permissible size for various installation heights and camera models, and stored in a look-up table to use during deployment, thus making a crowd density estimation algorithm agnostic to camera installation height and room size. A similar mapping can be obtained for LR thermal sensors (both “tripwire” and room-view). Additionally, some thermal sensors such as Melexis sensors are available with different lenses (40°, 60°, 120° FOVs) allowing to match them to different combinations of room height and door width), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, (discloses estimating a volume flow density of moving objects) head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level), (Id., ¶ 46, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change);
predicting, by the machine learning model, a number of objects within the physical building space during the time period after the second time period based on the determined volume flow density (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, (discloses estimating a volume flow density of moving objects to predict a head count) head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level), (Id., ¶ 46, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change);
obtaining, by the computer system, a reference dataset representative of the number of objects within the physical space and the allocation of a plurality of physical resource within the physical building space to the objects during a time after the second time period dataset, the plurality of physical resources including the at least one physical resource (Id., ¶ 13, An Occupancy Sensing SYstem (OSSY) generates an estimate of the number of occupants in an area of a building, and uses the estimate for system purposes such as adjusting a rate of ventilation air flow to be tailored for the estimated occupancy. In some applications the building may be a commercial venue and include for example offices, conference rooms, large classrooms or conference rooms, and very large colloquium rooms. The system may be used with a variety of other building times. The system is inherently scalable to support a wide range of room sizes, from small offices to large meeting halls. This is a byproduct of a modular architecture enabling the addition of new units and seamlessly fusing their occupancy estimates with existing ones, thereby expanding coverage. The system can deliver robust performance by fusing information from multiple sensor modalities (e.g., wide-area, overhead sensing using panoramic cameras and local, entryway sensing using low-resolution thermal sensors) and from different algorithms (e.g., body counting versus crowd-density estimation). The system can be privacy-adaptive, using entryway sensors that collect only low-resolution, thermal data, facilitating deployment in bathrooms, changing rooms, etc. It may also be cost-effective by minimizing the number of sensors needed and, therefore, the cost of installation), (Id., ¶ 20, FIG. 2 illustrates an aspect of the disclosed approach that can facilitate system scalability while supporting multiple occupancy-sensing modalities, for an area shown as a “unit volume” 30 such as a room. Two distinct types of sensor nodes may deployed in various combinations: interior sensors such as high-resolution (HR) panoramic overhead cameras 32 for wide-area monitoring, and boundary sensors such as low-resolution (LR) thermal sensors 34 located at doorways for ingress/egress detection. The use of panoramic cameras 32 can help minimize the number of sensors needed, thus reducing installation costs while still supporting scalability to large-size venues. The door sensors 34 may serve several roles. First, they provide transient phase data for fusion with steady-state occupancy data from the overhead cameras 32 or other interior sensors when used. For this purpose, in some cases a door sensor 34 may be as simple as a “tripwire”, shown as a “T Door Sensor 36”, that only detects ingress/egress. Such a tripwire sensor 36 may employ low-resolution (LR) thermal sensing for example. Secondly, in small-venue scenarios where panoramic cameras 32 are not used, the door sensors 34 may be realized as TRV door sensors 38 equipped with both an LR thermal “tripwire” (pointing down at the door opening) and an LR “room view” thermal array pointed into the room, for determining both transient and steady-state phase of occupancy. Additionally, if the door sensors 34 collect only LR thermal data, they are generally suitable for privacy-sensitive areas such as restrooms etc.), (Id., ¶¶ 47-51, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change; [0048] 2. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total interior occupancy count produced by applying fusion system 2 (ref 72) to occupancy count estimates produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring interior regions of zone, and previous estimates of total interior occupancy count; [0049] 3. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of number of occupants within zone produced by applying fusion system 3 (ref 74) to the outputs of fusion systems 1 and/or fusion system 2, and previous estimates of number of occupants within zone; [0050] 4. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 make use of parametric or non-parametric, linear or non-linear systems. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 take into account the rate at which the number of occupants in zone is changing, specifically whether it is changing rapidly (transient state) or sporadically (quasi steady state), and accordingly diminishing the influence of the boundary count or interior count, respectively, towards the estimation of the total number of occupants. [0051] 5. A system to continuously maximize energy savings for zone based on zone type or on current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone while simultaneously not exceeding a maximum failure rate which can be specified. This is accomplished by scaling the estimate of the number of occupants in zone at each time instant by an overestimation factor greater than or equal to one based on zone type or current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone (discloses reference dataset representative of the number of objects within the physical space), (Id., ¶ 80, In terms of lighting, the data determined by OSSY can be used to adjust and/or turn off lighting in different spaces where OSSY sensing systems are installed. For example, in a large exhibit or meeting rooms, areas unoccupied can have the lights turned off or down. (discloses allocation of physical resources) Similarly, in areas occupied, the lighting levels can be increased. In such applications, OSSY may send not only occupant counts, but information as to location of occupants to a lighting control system that would use the spatial information to adjust lighting levels. Different lighting strategies, e.g., levels/intensities, can be pre-programmed);
and training, by the computer system, the machine learning model on the dynamic allocation of the plurality of physical resources to objects within the physical building space during a given period of time based on the volume flow density of the moving objects determined from the sets of images, wherein the trained machine learning model dynamically allocates the at least one physical resource within the physical building space during the time period after the first time period based on the predicted volume flow density for the set of images of the first dataset (Id., ¶ 45, a fusion algorithm can combine both raw data and decisions generated by different sensors through a complex, generally nonlinear relationship, e.g., kernel support vector regression and neural networks which can be trained using machine learning techniques. However, such an algorithm may be difficult to train (too many parameters relative to training data size) or may not generalize well to new deployment conditions without significant labor-intensive re-training that would impede self-commissioning and drive up cost. An alternative approach is to employ a recursive Bayesian filtering method like Kalman filtering (linear, extended, or unscented transform) or particle filtering with the system dynamics learned offline from training data. (discloses training with reference training dataset) However, this can be computationally intensive for video data due to its high dimensionality. Hence while in general such options are not excluded, the present description assumes use of relatively simple-to-train adaptive algorithms that fuse occupancy estimates rather than raw data), (Id., ¶ 64, A lookup table may be designed offline using ground-truth training data and regression techniques. The end result will be a coarsely-quantized map (table lookup) from environmental conditions to values for τ[t], λ[t]. The lookup table encodes changes to τ[t], λ[t] relative to environmental conditions. If the rate of occupancy change is high (fast-moving crowds), then a transient phase is in operation and λ[t] should be decreased to give more weight to the door sensor estimates and τ[t] should be decreased to deemphasize older measurements. If the rate of occupancy change is low, then a quasi-steady state is in effect and τ[t] can be increased. Further, if the illumination is good, then λ[t] should be increased to give more weight to the overhead camera estimates. Similarly, if the ambient lighting changes rapidly (e.g., for a slide show) then the camera estimates should be de-weighted by decreasing λ[t], (Id., ¶¶ 47-51, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change; [0048] 2. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total interior occupancy count produced by applying fusion system 2 (ref 72) to occupancy count estimates produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring interior regions of zone, and previous estimates of total interior occupancy count; [0049] 3. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of number of occupants within zone produced by applying fusion system 3 (ref 74) to the outputs of fusion systems 1 and/or fusion system 2, and previous estimates of number of occupants within zone; [0050] 4. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 make use of parametric or non-parametric, linear or non-linear systems. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 take into account the rate at which the number of occupants in zone is changing, specifically whether it is changing rapidly (transient state) or sporadically (quasi steady state), and accordingly diminishing the influence of the boundary count or interior count, respectively, towards the estimation of the total number of occupants. [0051] 5. A system to continuously maximize energy savings for zone based on zone type or on current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone while simultaneously not exceeding a maximum failure rate which can be specified. This is accomplished by scaling the estimate of the number of occupants in zone at each time instant by an overestimation factor greater than or equal to one based on zone type or current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone (discloses reference dataset representative of the number of objects within the physical space), (Id., ¶ 80, In terms of lighting, the data determined by OSSY can be used to adjust and/or turn off lighting in different spaces where OSSY sensing systems are installed. For example, in a large exhibit or meeting rooms, areas unoccupied can have the lights turned off or down. (discloses allocation of physical resources) Similarly, in areas occupied, the lighting levels can be increased. In such applications, OSSY may send not only occupant counts, but information as to location of occupants to a lighting control system that would use the spatial information to adjust lighting levels. Different lighting strategies, e.g., levels/intensities, can be pre-programmed).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The computer-implemented method according to claim 1…
Konrad further discloses …wherein the first dataset comprises one or more sets of images captured by a plurality of recording devices… (Konrad, ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate).
While suggested in at least Fig. 2 and related texts, Konrad does not explicitly disclose … wherein each recording device captures a scene of a plurality of scenes externally located relative the physical building space.
However, Elias discloses …wherein each recording device captures a scene of a plurality of scenes externally located relative the physical building space (Elias, ¶ 2, This disclosure relates to sensing and monitoring, and more specifically to sensing and monitoring certain spaces and areas for human occupancy. This disclosure is also related to sensing and monitoring movement or changes in an environment, including movement by animals and objects. This disclosure is also related to using sensor and/or monitor information to control certain systems within commercial and residential facilities, including, but not limited to; heating, cooling, ventilation, security, lighting, power, and entertainment systems and the like. This disclosure also may be used to determine human occupancy in outdoor spaces and to control certain outdoor systems including, but not limited to; heating, cooling, ventilation, security, lighting, power, and entertainment systems and the like), (Id., ¶ 115, While this disclosure has described a sensor system 100 inside or outside a building, (discloses scenes captured externally relative to a building space) the sensor system 100 can be applied to other types of scenarios and other space(s) 105. For example only, the disclosed sensor systems 100 could be used to detect the presence of humans in disaster scenarios such as collapsed buildings, caves, mines and the like. In such scenarios, the sensor systems 100 could be used to determine if and how many humans are breathing and at what rate their hearts are beating. Likewise, the sensor systems 100 could be used to determine if and how many humans might be hidden in an enclosure during a hostage or kidnapping situation and may determine if and how many humans are enclosed in a container such as a shipping crate, a trucking crate, below deck on a boat, and the like. In addition to human presence, the sensor systems 100 could be used to monitor the health of humans and/or animals in an area. For example only, this disclosure could generate an output signal that is related to the breathing rate and or heartrate of any living beings within a space 105. Such sensor systems 100 could be used to monitor the breathing of babies and protect against sudden infant death syndrome. Such systems could also monitor the sleeping of people with sleep apnea and sound an alarm or adjust a bed or environmental setting if a person’s breathing becomes too erratic or stops), (Id., ¶ 151, The sensor system 100 may include a physical process observation system such as for tracking physical activities of workers that may be used for determining value chain recommendations. Physical activities of workers (e.g., shippers, delivery workers, packers, pickers, assembly personnel, customers, merchants, vendors, distributors and others), physical interactions of workers with other workers, interactions of workers with physical entities like machines and equipment, and interactions of physical entities with other physical entities, including, without limitation, by use of video and still image cameras, motion sensing systems (such as including optical sensors, LIDAR, IR and other sensor sets), robotic motion tracking systems (such as tracking movements of systems attached to a human or a physical entity) and many others. (discloses images captured by a recording device) Machine state monitoring systems may include onboard monitors and external monitors of conditions, states, operating parameters, or other measures of the condition of any value chain entity, such as a machine or component thereof, such as a machine, such as a client, a server, a cloud resource, a control system, a display screen, a sensor, a camera, a vehicle, a robot, or other machine. Sensors and cameras and other loT data collection systems (including onboard sensors, sensors or other data collectors (including click tracking sensors) in or about a value chain environment (such as, without limitation, a point of origin, a loading or unloading dock, a vehicle or floating asset used to convey goods, a container, a port, a distribution center, a storage facility, a warehouse, a delivery vehicle, and a point of destination), cameras for monitoring an entire environment, dedicated cameras for a particular machine, process, worker, or the like, wearable cameras, portable cameras, cameras disposed on mobile robots, cameras of portable devices like smart phones and tablets, and many others. [0152] The sensor system 100 may interact with value chain network entities based on worker data such as locations of workers (including routes taken through a location, where workers of a given type are located during a given set of events, processes or the like, how workers manipulate pieces of equipment, cargo, containers, packages, products or other items using various tools, equipment, and physical interfaces, the timing of worker responses with respect to various events such as responses to alerts and warnings), procedures by which workers undertake scheduled deliveries, movements, maintenance, updates, repairs and service processes; procedures by which workers tune or adjust items involved in workflows, and many others. The sensor system may include a physical process observation that may include tracking positions, angles, forces, velocities, acceleration, pressures, torque, and the like of a worker as the worker operates on hardware, such as on a container or package, or on a piece of equipment involved in handling products, with a tool. Such observations may be obtained by any combination of video data, data detected within a machine (such as of positions of elements of the machine detected and reported by position detectors), data collected by a wearable device (such as an exoskeleton that contains position detectors, force detectors, torque detectors and the like that is configured to detect the physical characteristics of interactions of a human worker with a hardware item for purposes of developing a training data set). The sensor system 100 may use this physical activities data and worker data (e.g., physical process interaction observations) for determining value chain recommendations (e.g., training suggested where needed) in order to improve value chain workflows.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the resource allocation and machine learning elements of Konrad to include the vehicle pathway and public transportation elements of Elias in the analogous art of detecting occupancy using radio signals for the same reasons as stated for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The computer-implemented method according to claim 5…
Konrad further discloses … wherein extracting the first set of feature values further comprises: applying, via the machine learning model, one or more computer vision techniques to the set of images, identifying, by the computer system, one or more pixel groups in the set of images, determining, by the computer system, a first set of characteristics based on the one or more images and associating the first set of characteristics to the one or more pixel groups, and deriving, by the computer system, the volume flow density based on the first set of characteristics and the first set of feature values (Konrad, ¶ 35, a system can employ multiple algorithms for people counting using data captured by a panoramic camera (640×480, 0.3 MPixels) mounted overhead in a room such as a computer lab. Variants of crowd density estimation are used which learn a mapping between the fraction of a video frame that has changed and the number of people in that frame—the more changes, the more people. Example algorithms include regression, Support Vector Machine (SVM) and k-Nearest Neighbor (kNN) search. Table 1 below shows a Correct Classification Rate (CCR) that can be obtained for people counting using these algorithms on data captured across several days with a specified number (e.g., 0 to 10) of occupants. Results from such a simple test case show that even simple change detection may provide 96% of accuracy with 0.01 mean absolute error (MAE) per occupant (kNN for k=5). Such an MAE value may be within maximum permissible limits needed to achieve desired performance targets), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level), (Id., ¶ 31, Another factor is the configuration or “commissioning” of a system into operation. To support a variety of venue configurations, it is preferable that algorithms be agnostic to configuration variations, e.g., camera/sensor installation height, room size and shape. In the case of human-body counting, the camera installation height and room size affect a projected body size and, therefore, call for a scale-invariant human-body detector, which is a problem considered to have been solved. In the case of crowd density estimation from a panoramic camera, every pixel contributes in some proportion to a body count but this proportion is dependent on pixel location on the sensor (e.g., a pixel in the middle of a sensor, parallel to room's floor, will occupy a smaller fraction of human head, than a pixel at sensor's periphery, due to lens properties). However, the knowledge of intrinsic camera parameters, such as sensor size and resolution, focal length, lens diameter and barrel distortion, can be used to establish a relationship between pixel location and its contribution to crowd density (pixel-to-density mapping), very much like in methods to de-warp a fisheye image for visualization. Alternatively, a pixel-to-density mapping can be obtained experimentally in a room of maximum permissible size for various installation heights and camera models, and stored in a look-up table to use during deployment, thus making a crowd density estimation algorithm agnostic to camera installation height and room size. A similar mapping can be obtained for LR thermal sensors (both “tripwire” and room-view). Additionally, some thermal sensors such as Melexis sensors are available with different lenses (40°, 60°, 120° FOVs) allowing to match them to different combinations of room height and door width).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The computer-implemented method according to claim 5…
While suggested in at least Fig. 2 and related texts, Konrad does not explicitly disclose …wherein the one or more sets of images comprise scenes of one or more vehicle pathways.
However, Elias discloses …wherein the one or more sets of images comprise scenes of one or more vehicle pathways (Elias, ¶ 151, The sensor system 100 may include a physical process observation system such as for tracking physical activities of workers that may be used for determining value chain recommendations. Physical activities of workers (e.g., shippers, delivery workers, packers, pickers, assembly personnel, customers, merchants, vendors, distributors and others), physical interactions of workers with other workers, interactions of workers with physical entities like machines and equipment, and interactions of physical entities with other physical entities, including, without limitation, by use of video and still image cameras, motion sensing systems (such as including optical sensors, LIDAR, IR and other sensor sets), robotic motion tracking systems (such as tracking movements of systems attached to a human or a physical entity) and many others. Machine state monitoring systems may include onboard monitors and external monitors of conditions, states, operating parameters, or other measures of the condition of any value chain entity, such as a machine or component thereof, such as a machine, such as a client, a server, a cloud resource, a control system, a display screen, a sensor, a camera, a vehicle, a robot, or other machine. Sensors and cameras and other loT data collection systems (including onboard sensors, sensors or other data collectors (including click tracking sensors) in or about a value chain environment (such as, without limitation, a point of origin, a loading or unloading dock, (discloses vehicle pathway images) a vehicle or floating asset used to convey goods, a container, a port, a distribution center, a storage facility, a warehouse, a delivery vehicle, and a point of destination), cameras for monitoring an entire environment, dedicated cameras for a particular machine, process, worker, or the like, wearable cameras, portable cameras, cameras disposed on mobile robots, cameras of portable devices like smart phones and tablets, and many others), (Id., ¶ 152, The sensor system 100 may interact with value chain network entities based on worker data such as locations of workers (including routes taken through a location, where workers of a given type are located during a given set of events, processes or the like, how workers manipulate pieces of equipment, cargo, containers, packages, products or other items using various tools, equipment, and physical interfaces, the timing of worker responses with respect to various events such as responses to alerts and warnings), procedures by which workers undertake scheduled deliveries, movements, maintenance, updates, repairs and service processes; procedures by which workers tune or adjust items involved in workflows, and many others. The sensor system may include a physical process observation that may include tracking positions, angles, forces, velocities, acceleration, pressures, torque, and the like of a worker as the worker operates on hardware, such as on a container or package, or on a piece of equipment involved in handling products, with a tool. Such observations may be obtained by any combination of video data, data detected within a machine (such as of positions of elements of the machine detected and reported by position detectors), data collected by a wearable device (such as an exoskeleton that contains position detectors, force detectors, torque detectors and the like that is configured to detect the physical characteristics of interactions of a human worker with a hardware item for purposes of developing a training data set). The sensor system 100 may use this physical activities data and worker data (e.g., physical process interaction observations) for determining value chain recommendations (e.g., training suggested where needed) in order to improve value chain workflows), (Id., ¶ 19, In embodiments, the value chain recommendation is based on logistics factors that include one or more of: a type of product corresponding to the proposed logistics solution, one or more features of the type of product, a location of a manufacturing site, a location of a distribution facility, a location of a warehouse, a location of a customer base, proposed expansion areas of the organization, and supply chain features. In embodiments, the value chain recommendation is based on logistics value chain network entities that are selected from the group consisting of products, suppliers, producers, manufacturers, retailers, businesses, owners, operators, operating facilities, customers, consumers, workers, mobile devices, wearable devices, distributors, resellers, supply chain infrastructure facilities, supply chain processes, logistics processes, reverse logistics processes, demand prediction processes, demand management processes, demand aggregation processes, machines, ships, barges, warehouses, maritime ports, airports, airways, waterways, roadways, railways, bridges, tunnels, online retailers, e-commerce sites, demand factors, supply factors, delivery systems, floating assets, points of origin, points of destination, points of storage, points of use, networks, information technology systems, software platforms, distribution centers, fulfillment centers, containers, container handling facilities, customs, export control, border control, drones, robots, autonomous vehicles, hauling facilities, drones/robots/AVs, waterways, and port infrastructure facilities).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the resource allocation and machine learning elements of Konrad to include the vehicle pathway and public transportation elements of Elias in the analogous art of detecting occupancy using radio signals for the same reasons as stated for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The computer-implemented method according to claim 5…
While suggested in at least Fig. 2 and related texts, Konrad does not explicitly disclose …wherein the one or more images sets of comprise scenes of one or more public transportation stations.
However, Elias discloses …wherein the one or more sets of images comprise scenes of one or more public transportation stations (Elias, ¶ 151, The sensor system 100 may include a physical process observation system such as for tracking physical activities of workers that may be used for determining value chain recommendations. Physical activities of workers (e.g., shippers, delivery workers, packers, pickers, assembly personnel, customers, merchants, vendors, distributors and others), physical interactions of workers with other workers, interactions of workers with physical entities like machines and equipment, and interactions of physical entities with other physical entities, including, without limitation, by use of video and still image cameras, motion sensing systems (such as including optical sensors, LIDAR, IR and other sensor sets), robotic motion tracking systems (such as tracking movements of systems attached to a human or a physical entity) and many others. Machine state monitoring systems may include onboard monitors and external monitors of conditions, states, operating parameters, or other measures of the condition of any value chain entity, such as a machine or component thereof, such as a machine, such as a client, a server, a cloud resource, a control system, a display screen, a sensor, a camera, a vehicle, a robot, or other machine. Sensors and cameras and other loT data collection systems (including onboard sensors, sensors or other data collectors (including click tracking sensors) in or about a value chain environment (such as, without limitation, a point of origin, a loading or unloading dock, (discloses vehicle pathway images) a vehicle or floating asset used to convey goods, a container, a port, a distribution center, a storage facility, a warehouse, a delivery vehicle, and a point of destination), cameras for monitoring an entire environment, dedicated cameras for a particular machine, process, worker, or the like, wearable cameras, portable cameras, cameras disposed on mobile robots, cameras of portable devices like smart phones and tablets, and many others), (Id., ¶ 19, In embodiments, the value chain recommendation is based on logistics factors that include one or more of: a type of product corresponding to the proposed logistics solution, one or more features of the type of product, a location of a manufacturing site, a location of a distribution facility, a location of a warehouse, a location of a customer base, proposed expansion areas of the organization, and supply chain features. In embodiments, the value chain recommendation is based on logistics value chain network entities that are selected from the group consisting of products, suppliers, producers, manufacturers, retailers, businesses, owners, operators, operating facilities, customers, consumers, workers, mobile devices, wearable devices, distributors, resellers, supply chain infrastructure facilities, supply chain processes, logistics processes, reverse logistics processes, demand prediction processes, demand management processes, demand aggregation processes, machines, ships, barges, warehouses, maritime ports, airports, airways, waterways, roadways, railways, bridges, tunnels, online retailers, e-commerce sites, demand factors, supply factors, delivery systems, floating assets, points of origin, points of destination, points of storage, points of use, networks, information technology systems, software platforms, distribution centers, fulfillment centers, containers, container handling facilities, customs, export control, border control, drones, robots, autonomous vehicles, hauling facilities, drones/robots/AVs, waterways, and port infrastructure facilities).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the resource allocation and machine learning elements of Konrad to include the vehicle pathway and public transportation elements of Elias in the analogous art of detecting occupancy using radio signals for the same reasons as stated for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, Konrad discloses … A system comprising: one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon instructions that are executable by the one or more processors to cause the system to perform operations comprising: obtain a first dataset comprising a set of images indicative of a movement of objects associated with a first time period , the set of images captured by at least one sensor (Konrad, ¶ 23, Application software may be stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium such as an optical or magnetic disk, Flash memory or other non-volatile semiconductor memory, etc., from which it is retrieved for execution by the processing circuitry, as generally known in the art), (Id., ¶ 28, For a wide range of commercial venue sizes, it may be a challenge to find a single sensing modality to simultaneously satisfy performance and cost constraints. In one embodiment, the proposed standalone, wireless occupancy sensing system can address this challenge by leveraging two complementary sensing modalities: high-resolution (HR) panoramic cameras 32 and low-resolution (LR) door sensors 34. (discloses obtaining images from a sensor) Used jointly in challenging scenarios, such as illumination changes or fast-moving crowds, these modalities are expected to deliver reliable occupancy estimates by means of advanced fusion. This unique combination of technologies is capable of supporting occupancy sensing needs in a very wide range of buildings of different sizes and uses, from individual employee offices and small conference rooms, for just a few people, to huge lecture halls where hundreds of people may congregate. Due to the use of panoramic cameras 32, the disclosed system can minimize the number of sensors needed, thus limiting installation costs. By also using LR door thermal sensors 34, it can also support small-venue scenarios calling for privacy, and do so at a low cost. The proposed system uses standalone computing infrastructure and wireless (or PoE) communication, independent of the cloud and of networks existing in commercial venues) (Id., ¶ 30, Assuming that the system operates based on a given rate of occupancy estimation, such as once per minute for example, the SCNs 42 aggregate data and respond within such a time period. The sensing units preferably acquire data at a rate compatible with occupancy variations (cameras 32) or body speed (door sensors 34) (discloses obtaining movement data associated with a time period) to minimize the potential for aliasing. Since cameras 32 are responsible for steady-state occupancy data, a frame rate of about 1 Hz should be adequate. A 3.0 MPixel panoramic camera typically produces a bit rate of about 10 Mb/s for high-quality 30 Hz video using H.264/AVC compression, but this rate would drop to about 330 Kb/s at 1 Hz. Multiple cameras can be easily supported by WiFi or wired Ethernet (CATS in legacy and CAT6 in new buildings). Use of PoE, providing DC power, can additionally reduce installation costs, and is supported by CATS wiring. To assure accurate ingress/egress detection, door sensors 34 preferably sample at 10-20 Hz, but at 16×4 resolution this would result in no more than 40 Kb/s of uncompressed data rate. This rate is compatible with lower-rate communications connections such as ZigBee, although it may be preferred to use WiFi or wired Ethernet for commonality with the cameras 32), (Id., ¶ 34, To estimate the (quasi) steady-state occupancy, in one example panoramic, overhead, high-resolution, low-cost CMOS cameras are used, which provide a wide field of view with minimal occlusions, while also being widely available and relatively inexpensive. OSSY preferably employs accurate, real-time (at HVAC time scale) algorithms for occupant counting using panoramic video frames. A fundamental block in many occupancy sensing algorithms is change detection (also referred to as background subtraction), which identifies areas of a video frame that have changed in relation to some background model, e.g., view of an empty room), (Id., ¶ 22, FIG. 4 shows a local area 10 with a more structural focus, including a variable air volume (VAV) box 40 as an example of local-area equipment 12 (FIG. 1), and a shared computing node (SCN) 42 as an example of a local-area controller 14. Also shown is a separate building automation system (BAS) 44 as an example of a central controller 26 (also FIG. 1), and communications connections 46 between the SCN 42 and the sensors 32, 34 as well as the BAS 44. The connections 46 may be realized in various ways including as wireless connections (e.g., WiFi) and/or wired connections such as a Ethernet, either powered (PoE) or unpowered. The system may be realized as a standalone system (i.e., not connected to an external network or “cloud”), with one or more SCNs 42 providing data processing and fusion for multiple venues in the same control zone);
extract, via execution of a first machine learning model, a first set of feature values representative of pixel groups representative of objects from the set of images (Id., ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features (discloses extracting features based on the movement dataset) for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate. The controller generally includes one or more fusion systems collectively generating the occupancy estimate by corresponding fusion calculations, the fusion systems including a first fusion system producing a boundary occupancy-count change based on sensor signals from the boundary sensors, a second fusion system producing an interior occupancy count based on sensor signals from the interior sensors, and a third fusion system producing the occupancy estimate based on one or both of the boundary occupancy-count change and the interior occupancy count. Fusion may be of one or multiple types including cross-modality fusion across different sensor types, within-modality fusion across different instances of same-type sensors, and cross-algorithm fusion using different algorithms to generates respective estimates for the same sensor(s). Use of the occupancy sensing system can help to deliver desired occupancy-sensitive performance of the HVAC system, specifically the attainment of a desired energy savings without an undue incidence of undesirable under-ventilation), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses extracting/classifying pixel group features using machine learning), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
classify each of the objects based on the extracted first set of feature values (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses extracting/classifying pixel group features using machine learning), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
determine, by the first machine learning model, a traffic density of the objects based on the first set of feature values (Id., ¶ 31, Another factor is the configuration or “commissioning” of a system into operation. To support a variety of venue configurations, it is preferable that algorithms be agnostic to configuration variations, e.g., camera/sensor installation height, room size and shape. In the case of human-body counting, the camera installation height and room size affect a projected body size and, therefore, call for a scale-invariant human-body detector, which is a problem considered to have been solved. In the case of crowd density estimation from a panoramic camera, every pixel contributes in some proportion to a body count but this proportion is dependent on pixel location on the sensor (e.g., a pixel in the middle of a sensor, parallel to room's floor, will occupy a smaller fraction of human head, than a pixel at sensor's periphery, due to lens properties). However, the knowledge of intrinsic camera parameters, such as sensor size and resolution, focal length, lens diameter and barrel distortion, can be used to establish a relationship between pixel location and its contribution to crowd density (pixel-to-density mapping), very much like in methods to de-warp a fisheye image for visualization. Alternatively, a pixel-to-density mapping can be obtained experimentally in a room of maximum permissible size for various installation heights and camera models, and stored in a look-up table to use during deployment, thus making a crowd density estimation algorithm agnostic to camera installation height and room size. A similar mapping can be obtained for LR thermal sensors (both “tripwire” and room-view). Additionally, some thermal sensors such as Melexis sensors are available with different lenses (40°, 60°, 120° FOVs) allowing to match them to different combinations of room height and door width), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
determine dynamically allocating… a plurality of physical resources within the physical building space based on the objects (Id., ¶ 13, An Occupancy Sensing SYstem (OSSY) generates an estimate of the number of occupants in an area of a building, and uses the estimate for system purposes such as adjusting a rate of ventilation air flow to be tailored for the estimated occupancy. In some applications the building may be a commercial venue and include for example offices, conference rooms, large classrooms or conference rooms, and very large colloquium rooms. The system may be used with a variety of other building times. The system is inherently scalable to support a wide range of room sizes, from small offices to large meeting halls. This is a byproduct of a modular architecture enabling the addition of new units and seamlessly fusing their occupancy estimates with existing ones, thereby expanding coverage. The system can deliver robust performance by fusing information from multiple sensor modalities (e.g., wide-area, overhead sensing using panoramic cameras and local, entryway sensing using low-resolution thermal sensors) and from different algorithms (e.g., body counting versus crowd-density estimation). The system can be privacy-adaptive, using entryway sensors that collect only low-resolution, thermal data, facilitating deployment in bathrooms, changing rooms, etc. It may also be cost-effective by minimizing the number of sensors needed and, therefore, the cost of installation), (Id., ¶ 20, FIG. 2 illustrates an aspect of the disclosed approach that can facilitate system scalability while supporting multiple occupancy-sensing modalities, for an area shown as a “unit volume” 30 such as a room. Two distinct types of sensor nodes may deployed in various combinations: interior sensors such as high-resolution (HR) panoramic overhead cameras 32 for wide-area monitoring, and boundary sensors such as low-resolution (LR) thermal sensors 34 located at doorways for ingress/egress detection. The use of panoramic cameras 32 can help minimize the number of sensors needed, thus reducing installation costs while still supporting scalability to large-size venues. The door sensors 34 may serve several roles. First, they provide transient phase data for fusion (discloses reference dataset) with steady-state occupancy data from the overhead cameras 32 or other interior sensors when used. For this purpose, in some cases a door sensor 34 may be as simple as a “tripwire”, shown as a “T Door Sensor 36”, that only detects ingress/egress. Such a tripwire sensor 36 may employ low-resolution (LR) thermal sensing for example. Secondly, in small-venue scenarios where panoramic cameras 32 are not used, the door sensors 34 may be realized as TRV door sensors 38 equipped with both an LR thermal “tripwire” (pointing down at the door opening) and an LR “room view” thermal array pointed into the room, for determining both transient and steady-state phase of occupancy. Additionally, if the door sensors 34 collect only LR thermal data, they are generally suitable for privacy-sensitive areas such as restrooms etc.), (Id., ¶ 24, the local equipment controller 62 may convert the occupancy estimate 66 into a corresponding fraction of maximum occupancy, and control airflow accordingly. Thus if the occupancy is at 50% of maximum, for example, the local-area airflow is adjusted to 50% of maximum airflow. (discloses dynamic allocation of resources) As previously indicated, the local equipment controller 62 may also communicate with the central controller 26 in support of broader system-level control);
Konrad further discloses …and dynamically configuring each of a first zone and a second zone of the HVAC system to operate or not operate based on the predicted number of users (Konrad, ¶ 34, To estimate the (quasi) steady-state occupancy, in one example panoramic, overhead, high-resolution, low-cost CMOS cameras are used, which provide a wide field of view with minimal occlusions, while also being widely available and relatively inexpensive. OSSY preferably employs accurate, real-time (at HVAC time scale) algorithms for occupant counting using panoramic video frames. A fundamental block in many occupancy sensing algorithms is change detection (also referred to as background subtraction), which identifies areas of a video frame that have changed in relation to some background model, e.g., view of an empty room), (Id., ¶ 13, An Occupancy Sensing SYstem (OSSY) generates an estimate of the number of occupants in an area of a building, and uses the estimate for system purposes such as adjusting a rate of ventilation air flow to be tailored for the estimated occupancy. In some applications the building may be a commercial venue and include for example offices, conference rooms, large classrooms or conference rooms, and very large colloquium rooms. The system may be used with a variety of other building times. The system is inherently scalable to support a wide range of room sizes, from small offices to large meeting halls. This is a byproduct of a modular architecture enabling the addition of new units and seamlessly fusing their occupancy estimates with existing ones, thereby expanding coverage. The system can deliver robust performance by fusing information from multiple sensor modalities (e.g., wide-area, overhead sensing using panoramic cameras and local, entryway sensing using low-resolution thermal sensors) and from different algorithms (e.g., body counting versus crowd-density estimation). The system can be privacy-adaptive, using entryway sensors that collect only low-resolution, thermal data, facilitating deployment in bathrooms, changing rooms, etc. It may also be cost-effective by minimizing the number of sensors needed and, therefore, the cost of installation), (Id., ¶ 16, FIG. 1 is a general block diagram of an HVAC system employing occupancy sensing, i.e., explicitly estimating the number of people in a local area 10 and adjusting the operation of the HVAC system accordingly, to provide heating or cooling both sufficiently (i.e., meeting standards of temperature regulation and adequate ventilation, based on occupancy) and efficiently (i.e., using only an appropriate proportion of maximum ventilation capacity and avoiding wasteful over-ventilation). In practice, a local area 10 may be a single room or a collection of rooms, and the room(s) may be small or large. In some cases a local area 10 may correspond to part or all of a “zone” as that term is conventionally understood in HVAC systems, while in other cases it may span multiple zones in whole or in part);
wherein the physical building space comprises a HVAC system, and wherein dynamically configuring the usage of the one or more physical resources comprises dynamically configuring a first zone of the HVAC system to operate and a second zone of the HVAC system to not operate (Id., ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate. The controller generally includes one or more fusion systems collectively generating the occupancy estimate by corresponding fusion calculations, the fusion systems including a first fusion system producing a boundary occupancy-count change based on sensor signals from the boundary sensors, a second fusion system producing an interior occupancy count based on sensor signals from the interior sensors, and a third fusion system producing the occupancy estimate based on one or both of the boundary occupancy-count change and the interior occupancy count. Fusion may be of one or multiple types including cross-modality fusion across different sensor types, within-modality fusion across different instances of same-type sensors, and cross-algorithm fusion using different algorithms to generates respective estimates for the same sensor(s). Use of the occupancy sensing system can help to deliver desired occupancy-sensitive performance of the HVAC system, specifically the attainment of a desired energy savings without an undue incidence of undesirable under-ventilation), (Id., ¶ 76, To determine the HVAC energy savings that can be achieved with the occupancy sensing system, a data-driven energy savings model based on building HVAC equipment specifications, current air supply levels, and actual building-use data obtained in the validation study. Table 3 below shows example airflow estimates that might be obtained using a Ventilation Airflow Model (VAM). While this model is representative of education and research environments in particular, many aspects of commercial office buildings are also represented in this example including offices, conference rooms, and large meeting spaces. This model includes air required as a function of both area (resulting in fixed airflow) and variable occupancy (as per ASHRAE 62.1-2013), so that the average yearly occupancy does not directly determine HVAC energy and cost reduction. This analysis indicates that airflow and HVAC energy use can be reduced by 39% if accurate occupancy data were available. In some cases depending on the exact nature and use of the building, there may be potential for even greater reduction), (Id., ¶ 19, The remaining description elaborates primarily certain structural and functional details of components involved in occupancy estimation, i.e., the sensors 16 and local-area controller 14. In typical applications today, systems are limited to a binary occupied/unoccupied decision and operation. While such operation is an improvement over older systems by reducing idle ventilation, the system described herein can extend energy savings by delivering a more fine-grained air volume control over a range of room sizes, achieving greater efficiency without sacrificing ventilation quality), (Id., ¶ 50, Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 make use of parametric or non-parametric, linear or non-linear systems. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 take into account the rate at which the number of occupants in zone is changing, specifically whether it is changing rapidly (transient state) or sporadically (quasi steady state), and accordingly diminishing the influence of the boundary count or interior count, respectively, towards the estimation of the total number of occupants. [0051] 5. A system to continuously maximize energy savings for zone based on zone type or on current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone while simultaneously not exceeding a maximum failure rate which can be specified. This is accomplished by scaling the estimate of the number of occupants in zone at each time instant by an overestimation factor greater than or equal to one based on zone type or current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone).
While suggested in at least Fig. 2 and related texts, Konrad does not explicitly disclose …predict, by a second machine learning model, a number of users within a physical building space during a time period after the first time period based on the traffic density of the objects; …by the second machine learning model…; wherein the set of images capturing the moving objects of the first dataset are from a first scene that is externally located relative to the physical building space;
However, Elias discloses …predict, by a second machine learning model, a number of users within a physical building space during a time period after the first time period based on the traffic density of the objects; …by the second machine learning model… (Elias, ¶ 74, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may average some, most, or all of the CSI data. Further, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may process amplitude and phase data separately using the same, similar, or different processing steps and variables. For example only, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may compute an average phase, time, amplitude, energy, phase change, time change, amplitude change, energy change, phase spread, time spread, amplitude spread, energy spread, phase change spread, time change spread, amplitude spread change, and energy spread change. The occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may associate any, some, or all of the variables or changes in the variables described herein with human occupancy in a space 105 (such as a room or a home). For example only, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may associate an increase in an average phase signal and a decrease in an average amplitude signal with the presence of a human. In further examples, the algorithm may associate a change in the phase value calculated for subcarrier channel 33 with the presence of a human. The occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may adapt and change under machine learning or artificial intelligence control. In embodiments, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may be a machine learning algorithm configured to be deployed to analyze individual and/or combined signals across spatial (different antennas), temporal and frequency domains. In embodiments, features of the signals can include, but not limited to, power, angle of arrival, direction of arrival, time of flight, time of arrival, time of flight, time difference of arrival, received signal strength, fading, signal- to-noise-ratio, amplitude and phase of subcarriers, differences in amplitude and phase as a function of time, space (antenna) and frequency (compared across subcarriers). In embodiments, features of the signals that can be analyzed can also include changes to the features including abrupt changes may be analyzed to look for patterns or signatures that have been determined indicate the presence of one or more humans in the environment 105. In embodiments, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may identify certain features extracted from the radio signals as being more or especially indicative of human presence and may assign weights to different features when determining whether or not a human is in the space 105), (Id., ¶ 151, The sensor system 100 may include a physical process observation system such as for tracking physical activities of workers that may be used for determining value chain recommendations. Physical activities of workers (e.g., shippers, delivery workers, packers, pickers, assembly personnel, customers, merchants, vendors, distributors and others), physical interactions of workers with other workers, interactions of workers with physical entities like machines and equipment, and interactions of physical entities with other physical entities, including, without limitation, by use of video and still image cameras, motion sensing systems (such as including optical sensors, LIDAR, IR and other sensor sets), robotic motion tracking systems (such as tracking movements of systems attached to a human or a physical entity) and many others), (Id., ¶ 157, The sensor system 100 may reallocate human assets such as worker resources based on human worker traffic and productivity of workflows. Reallocation of human resources may be needed based on occupation data such that if there are spaces that need more assistance from workers and other spaces where there are workers that do not have enough work (i.e. , additional bandwidth or too many workers) then reallocation may be suggested when determining value chain recommendations);
wherein the set of images capturing the moving objects of the first dataset are from a first scene that is externally located relative to the physical building space; (Elias, ¶ 2, This disclosure relates to sensing and monitoring, and more specifically to sensing and monitoring certain spaces and areas for human occupancy. This disclosure is also related to sensing and monitoring movement or changes in an environment, including movement by animals and objects. This disclosure is also related to using sensor and/or monitor information to control certain systems within commercial and residential facilities, including, but not limited to; heating, cooling, ventilation, security, lighting, power, and entertainment systems and the like. This disclosure also may be used to determine human occupancy in outdoor spaces and to control certain outdoor systems including, but not limited to; heating, cooling, ventilation, security, lighting, power, and entertainment systems and the like), (Id., ¶ 115, While this disclosure has described a sensor system 100 inside or outside a building, the sensor system 100 can be applied to other types of scenarios and other space(s) 105. For example only, the disclosed sensor systems 100 could be used to detect the presence of humans in disaster scenarios such as collapsed buildings, caves, mines and the like. In such scenarios, the sensor systems 100 could be used to determine if and how many humans are breathing and at what rate their hearts are beating. Likewise, the sensor systems 100 could be used to determine if and how many humans might be hidden in an enclosure during a hostage or kidnapping situation and may determine if and how many humans are enclosed in a container such as a shipping crate, a trucking crate, below deck on a boat, and the like. In addition to human presence, the sensor systems 100 could be used to monitor the health of humans and/or animals in an area. For example only, this disclosure could generate an output signal that is related to the breathing rate and or heartrate of any living beings within a space 105. Such sensor systems 100 could be used to monitor the breathing of babies and protect against sudden infant death syndrome. Such systems could also monitor the sleeping of people with sleep apnea and sound an alarm or adjust a bed or environmental setting if a person’s breathing becomes too erratic or stops).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the resource allocation and machine learning elements of Konrad to include the vehicle pathway and public transportation elements of Elias in the analogous art of detecting occupancy using radio signals for the same reasons as stated for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The system according to claim 11…
Konrad further discloses …wherein the plurality of physical resources includes a plurality of workstations, and wherein dynamically allocating the plurality of physical resources within the physical building space further comprises: allocating the plurality of workstations associated with the physical building space to the users based on a ranking of each workstation of the plurality of workstations by each user, wherein the plurality of workstations include a first group of workstations located in the first zone of the HVAC system and a second group of workstations located in the second zone of the HVAC system, the machine learning model being configured to allocate workstations from the first group of workstations to the users based on the first zone being configured to operate, and the machine learning model being further configured to allocate workstations from the second group of workstations to the users based on the second zone being configured to operate (Id., ¶ 81, OSSY occupancy data can be used to determine what areas of the building are occupied, as well as occupant density and numbers, and this information can be provided to internal building systems and emergency responders. For example, this data can be used to enable/prevent access to different parts of the building through closing different door systems electromechanically. (discloses resource allocation to various workstation groups) The data can also be used to trigger different lighting systems or audio systems to advise building occupants as to the appropriate action in different spaces of the buildings, (discloses allocating workspaces within a building) or to indicate to safety/security staff the locations of occupants in the building. For these applications, aggregated OSSY data can be sent to a security computer system and that data either presented to security staff in aggregated manner, and/or have actions taken in terms of access control, lighting signals, or information systems being implemented in an automatic fashion), (Id., ¶ 82, In terms of space utilization applications, OSSY may send data for different spaces to a central computer or web based system that aggregates the data and provides different utilization metrics such as capacity utilization that could be temporally disaggregated. In one application, this can provide information to a real-time scheduling system that can indicate to building managers and occupants which spaces are currently being utilized, or are expected to be utilized in a specified time range. In another application, this system can indicate to building managers how well their space is currently configured and used in terms of capacity utilization and temporally. Furthermore, information as to the building cost (rental, operational, etc.) for different areas can be combined to provide a more explicit evaluation of cost performance), (Id., Table 2, table indicates occupancy rankings for workstations within a building), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The system according to claim 11…
Konrad further discloses …wherein the operations further comprise: obtain data comprising a second set of images indicative of the movement of objects during a second time period, the second set of images captured by the at least one image sensor (Konrad, ¶ 30, Assuming that the system operates based on a given rate of occupancy estimation, such as once per minute for example, the SCNs 42 aggregate data and respond within such a time period. The sensing units preferably acquire data at a rate compatible with occupancy variations (cameras 32) or body speed (door sensors 34) (discloses obtaining movement data associated with a time period) to minimize the potential for aliasing. Since cameras 32 are responsible for steady-state occupancy data, a frame rate of about 1 Hz should be adequate. A 3.0 MPixel panoramic camera typically produces a bit rate of about 10 Mb/s for high-quality 30 Hz video using H.264/AVC compression, but this rate would drop to about 330 Kb/s at 1 Hz. Multiple cameras can be easily supported by WiFi or wired Ethernet (CATS in legacy and CAT6 in new buildings). Use of PoE, providing DC power, can additionally reduce installation costs, and is supported by CATS wiring. To assure accurate ingress/egress detection, door sensors 34 preferably sample at 10-20 Hz, but at 16×4 resolution this would result in no more than 40 Kb/s of uncompressed data rate. This rate is compatible with lower-rate communications connections such as ZigBee, although it may be preferred to use WiFi or wired Ethernet for commonality with the cameras 32), (Id., ¶ 34, To estimate the (quasi) steady-state occupancy, in one example panoramic, overhead, high-resolution, low-cost CMOS cameras are used, which provide a wide field of view with minimal occlusions, while also being widely available and relatively inexpensive. OSSY preferably employs accurate, real-time (at HVAC time scale) algorithms for occupant counting using panoramic video frames. A fundamental block in many occupancy sensing algorithms is change detection (also referred to as background subtraction), which identifies areas of a video frame that have changed in relation to some background model, e.g., view of an empty room), (Id., ¶ 46, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change);
extract, by the first machine learning model, a second set of feature values based on the movement of objects in the second set of images during the second time period (Id., ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features (discloses extracting features based on the movement dataset) for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate. The controller generally includes one or more fusion systems collectively generating the occupancy estimate by corresponding fusion calculations, the fusion systems including a first fusion system producing a boundary occupancy-count change based on sensor signals from the boundary sensors, a second fusion system producing an interior occupancy count based on sensor signals from the interior sensors, and a third fusion system producing the occupancy estimate based on one or both of the boundary occupancy-count change and the interior occupancy count. Fusion may be of one or multiple types including cross-modality fusion across different sensor types, within-modality fusion across different instances of same-type sensors, and cross-algorithm fusion using different algorithms to generates respective estimates for the same sensor(s). Use of the occupancy sensing system can help to deliver desired occupancy-sensitive performance of the HVAC system, specifically the attainment of a desired energy savings without an undue incidence of undesirable under-ventilation), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses extracting features of the movement dataset using machine learning), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
determine, by the first machine learning model, a traffic density of the moving objects during the second time period based on the second set of feature values (Id., ¶ 31, In the case of crowd density estimation from a panoramic camera, every pixel contributes in some proportion to a body count but this proportion is dependent on pixel location on the sensor (e.g., a pixel in the middle of a sensor, parallel to room's floor, will occupy a smaller fraction of human head, than a pixel at sensor's periphery, due to lens properties). However, the knowledge of intrinsic camera parameters, such as sensor size and resolution, focal length, lens diameter and barrel distortion, can be used to establish a relationship between pixel location and its contribution to crowd density (pixel-to-density mapping), very much like in methods to de-warp a fisheye image for visualization. Alternatively, a pixel-to-density mapping can be obtained experimentally in a room of maximum permissible size for various installation heights and camera models, and stored in a look-up table to use during deployment, thus making a crowd density estimation algorithm agnostic to camera installation height and room size. A similar mapping can be obtained for LR thermal sensors (both “tripwire” and room-view). Additionally, some thermal sensors such as Melexis sensors are available with different lenses (40°, 60°, 120° FOVs) allowing to match them to different combinations of room height and door width), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, (discloses estimating a volume flow density of moving objects) head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level), (Id., ¶ 46, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change);
predicting, by the first machine learning model, a number of users within the physical building space during the time period after the second time period based on the determined traffic density (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, (discloses estimating a volume flow density of moving objects to predict a head count) head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level), (Id., ¶ 46, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change);
obtain a reference dataset representative of the number of users within the physical building space during the time after the second time period (Id., ¶ 13, An Occupancy Sensing SYstem (OSSY) generates an estimate of the number of occupants in an area of a building, and uses the estimate for system purposes such as adjusting a rate of ventilation air flow to be tailored for the estimated occupancy. In some applications the building may be a commercial venue and include for example offices, conference rooms, large classrooms or conference rooms, and very large colloquium rooms. The system may be used with a variety of other building times. The system is inherently scalable to support a wide range of room sizes, from small offices to large meeting halls. This is a byproduct of a modular architecture enabling the addition of new units and seamlessly fusing their occupancy estimates with existing ones, thereby expanding coverage. The system can deliver robust performance by fusing information from multiple sensor modalities (e.g., wide-area, overhead sensing using panoramic cameras and local, entryway sensing using low-resolution thermal sensors) and from different algorithms (e.g., body counting versus crowd-density estimation). The system can be privacy-adaptive, using entryway sensors that collect only low-resolution, thermal data, facilitating deployment in bathrooms, changing rooms, etc. It may also be cost-effective by minimizing the number of sensors needed and, therefore, the cost of installation), (Id., ¶ 20, FIG. 2 illustrates an aspect of the disclosed approach that can facilitate system scalability while supporting multiple occupancy-sensing modalities, for an area shown as a “unit volume” 30 such as a room. Two distinct types of sensor nodes may deployed in various combinations: interior sensors such as high-resolution (HR) panoramic overhead cameras 32 for wide-area monitoring, and boundary sensors such as low-resolution (LR) thermal sensors 34 located at doorways for ingress/egress detection. The use of panoramic cameras 32 can help minimize the number of sensors needed, thus reducing installation costs while still supporting scalability to large-size venues. The door sensors 34 may serve several roles. First, they provide transient phase data for fusion with steady-state occupancy data from the overhead cameras 32 or other interior sensors when used. For this purpose, in some cases a door sensor 34 may be as simple as a “tripwire”, shown as a “T Door Sensor 36”, that only detects ingress/egress. Such a tripwire sensor 36 may employ low-resolution (LR) thermal sensing for example. Secondly, in small-venue scenarios where panoramic cameras 32 are not used, the door sensors 34 may be realized as TRV door sensors 38 equipped with both an LR thermal “tripwire” (pointing down at the door opening) and an LR “room view” thermal array pointed into the room, for determining both transient and steady-state phase of occupancy. Additionally, if the door sensors 34 collect only LR thermal data, they are generally suitable for privacy-sensitive areas such as restrooms etc.), (Id., ¶¶ 47-51, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change; [0048] 2. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total interior occupancy count produced by applying fusion system 2 (ref 72) to occupancy count estimates produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring interior regions of zone, and previous estimates of total interior occupancy count; [0049] 3. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of number of occupants within zone produced by applying fusion system 3 (ref 74) to the outputs of fusion systems 1 and/or fusion system 2, and previous estimates of number of occupants within zone; [0050] 4. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 make use of parametric or non-parametric, linear or non-linear systems. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 take into account the rate at which the number of occupants in zone is changing, specifically whether it is changing rapidly (transient state) or sporadically (quasi steady state), and accordingly diminishing the influence of the boundary count or interior count, respectively, towards the estimation of the total number of occupants. [0051] 5. A system to continuously maximize energy savings for zone based on zone type or on current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone while simultaneously not exceeding a maximum failure rate which can be specified. This is accomplished by scaling the estimate of the number of occupants in zone at each time instant by an overestimation factor greater than or equal to one based on zone type or current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone (discloses reference dataset representative of the number of objects within the physical space), (Id., ¶ 80, In terms of lighting, the data determined by OSSY can be used to adjust and/or turn off lighting in different spaces where OSSY sensing systems are installed. For example, in a large exhibit or meeting rooms, areas unoccupied can have the lights turned off or down. (discloses allocation of physical resources) Similarly, in areas occupied, the lighting levels can be increased. In such applications, OSSY may send not only occupant counts, but information as to location of occupants to a lighting control system that would use the spatial information to adjust lighting levels. Different lighting strategies, e.g., levels/intensities, can be pre-programmed);
and train… based on the reference dataset on predicting the number of users within the physical building space during a given time period based on the moving objects captured in the sets of images during a certain time period occurring before the given time period (Id., ¶ 45, a fusion algorithm can combine both raw data and decisions generated by different sensors through a complex, generally nonlinear relationship, e.g., kernel support vector regression and neural networks which can be trained using machine learning techniques. However, such an algorithm may be difficult to train (too many parameters relative to training data size) or may not generalize well to new deployment conditions without significant labor-intensive re-training that would impede self-commissioning and drive up cost. An alternative approach is to employ a recursive Bayesian filtering method like Kalman filtering (linear, extended, or unscented transform) or particle filtering with the system dynamics learned offline from training data. (discloses training with reference training dataset) However, this can be computationally intensive for video data due to its high dimensionality. Hence while in general such options are not excluded, the present description assumes use of relatively simple-to-train adaptive algorithms that fuse occupancy estimates rather than raw data), (Id., ¶ 64, A lookup table may be designed offline using ground-truth training data and regression techniques. The end result will be a coarsely-quantized map (table lookup) from environmental conditions to values for τ[t], λ[t]. The lookup table encodes changes to τ[t], λ[t] relative to environmental conditions. If the rate of occupancy change is high (fast-moving crowds), then a transient phase is in operation and λ[t] should be decreased to give more weight to the door sensor estimates and τ[t] should be decreased to deemphasize older measurements. If the rate of occupancy change is low, then a quasi-steady state is in effect and τ[t] can be increased. Further, if the illumination is good, then λ[t] should be increased to give more weight to the overhead camera estimates. Similarly, if the ambient lighting changes rapidly (e.g., for a slide show) then the camera estimates should be de-weighted by decreasing λ[t], (Id., ¶¶ 47-51, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change; [0048] 2. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total interior occupancy count produced by applying fusion system 2 (ref 72) to occupancy count estimates produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring interior regions of zone, and previous estimates of total interior occupancy count; [0049] 3. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of number of occupants within zone produced by applying fusion system 3 (ref 74) to the outputs of fusion systems 1 and/or fusion system 2, and previous estimates of number of occupants within zone; [0050] 4. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 make use of parametric or non-parametric, linear or non-linear systems. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 take into account the rate at which the number of occupants in zone is changing, specifically whether it is changing rapidly (transient state) or sporadically (quasi steady state), and accordingly diminishing the influence of the boundary count or interior count, respectively, towards the estimation of the total number of occupants. [0051] 5. A system to continuously maximize energy savings for zone based on zone type or on current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone while simultaneously not exceeding a maximum failure rate which can be specified. This is accomplished by scaling the estimate of the number of occupants in zone at each time instant by an overestimation factor greater than or equal to one based on zone type or current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone (discloses reference dataset representative of the number of objects within the physical space), (Id., ¶ 80, In terms of lighting, the data determined by OSSY can be used to adjust and/or turn off lighting in different spaces where OSSY sensing systems are installed. For example, in a large exhibit or meeting rooms, areas unoccupied can have the lights turned off or down. (discloses allocation of physical resources) Similarly, in areas occupied, the lighting levels can be increased. In such applications, OSSY may send not only occupant counts, but information as to location of occupants to a lighting control system that would use the spatial information to adjust lighting levels. Different lighting strategies, e.g., levels/intensities, can be pre-programmed).
While suggested in at least Fig. 2 and related texts, Konrad does not explicitly disclose…the second machine learning model…
However, Elias discloses …the second machine learning model… (Elias, ¶ 74, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may average some, most, or all of the CSI data. Further, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may process amplitude and phase data separately using the same, similar, or different processing steps and variables. For example only, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may compute an average phase, time, amplitude, energy, phase change, time change, amplitude change, energy change, phase spread, time spread, amplitude spread, energy spread, phase change spread, time change spread, amplitude spread change, and energy spread change. The occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may associate any, some, or all of the variables or changes in the variables described herein with human occupancy in a space 105 (such as a room or a home). For example only, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may associate an increase in an average phase signal and a decrease in an average amplitude signal with the presence of a human. In further examples, the algorithm may associate a change in the phase value calculated for subcarrier channel 33 with the presence of a human. The occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may adapt and change under machine learning or artificial intelligence control. In embodiments, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may be a machine learning algorithm configured to be deployed to analyze individual and/or combined signals across spatial (different antennas), temporal and frequency domains. In embodiments, features of the signals can include, but not limited to, power, angle of arrival, direction of arrival, time of flight, time of arrival, time of flight, time difference of arrival, received signal strength, fading, signal- to-noise-ratio, amplitude and phase of subcarriers, differences in amplitude and phase as a function of time, space (antenna) and frequency (compared across subcarriers). In embodiments, features of the signals that can be analyzed can also include changes to the features including abrupt changes may be analyzed to look for patterns or signatures that have been determined indicate the presence of one or more humans in the environment 105. In embodiments, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may identify certain features extracted from the radio signals as being more or especially indicative of human presence and may assign weights to different features when determining whether or not a human is in the space 105), (Id., ¶ 151, The sensor system 100 may include a physical process observation system such as for tracking physical activities of workers that may be used for determining value chain recommendations. Physical activities of workers (e.g., shippers, delivery workers, packers, pickers, assembly personnel, customers, merchants, vendors, distributors and others), physical interactions of workers with other workers, interactions of workers with physical entities like machines and equipment, and interactions of physical entities with other physical entities, including, without limitation, by use of video and still image cameras, motion sensing systems (such as including optical sensors, LIDAR, IR and other sensor sets), robotic motion tracking systems (such as tracking movements of systems attached to a human or a physical entity) and many others), (Id., ¶ 157, The sensor system 100 may reallocate human assets such as worker resources based on human worker traffic and productivity of workflows. Reallocation of human resources may be needed based on occupation data such that if there are spaces that need more assistance from workers and other spaces where there are workers that do not have enough work (i.e. , additional bandwidth or too many workers) then reallocation may be suggested when determining value chain recommendations);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the resource allocation and machine learning elements of Konrad to include the machine learning elements of Elias in the analogous art of detecting occupancy using radio signals for the same reasons as stated for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The system according to claim 13…
Konrad further discloses …wherein the obtained reference data further comprises an allocation of a plurality of physical resources during the time period after the second time period, and wherein the operations further comprise: training… based on the reference dataset on the dynamic allocation of the plurality of physical resources to users within the physical building space during the given time period based on the traffic density output prediction of the first machine learning model (Konrad, ¶ 34, To estimate the (quasi) steady-state occupancy, in one example panoramic, overhead, high-resolution, low-cost CMOS cameras are used, which provide a wide field of view with minimal occlusions, while also being widely available and relatively inexpensive. OSSY preferably employs accurate, real-time (at HVAC time scale) algorithms for occupant counting using panoramic video frames. A fundamental block in many occupancy sensing algorithms is change detection (also referred to as background subtraction), which identifies areas of a video frame that have changed in relation to some background model, e.g., view of an empty room), (Id., ¶ 13, An Occupancy Sensing SYstem (OSSY) generates an estimate of the number of occupants in an area of a building, and uses the estimate for system purposes such as adjusting a rate of ventilation air flow to be tailored for the estimated occupancy. In some applications the building may be a commercial venue and include for example offices, conference rooms, large classrooms or conference rooms, and very large colloquium rooms. The system may be used with a variety of other building times. The system is inherently scalable to support a wide range of room sizes, from small offices to large meeting halls. This is a byproduct of a modular architecture enabling the addition of new units and seamlessly fusing their occupancy estimates with existing ones, thereby expanding coverage. The system can deliver robust performance by fusing information from multiple sensor modalities (e.g., wide-area, overhead sensing using panoramic cameras and local, entryway sensing using low-resolution thermal sensors) and from different algorithms (e.g., body counting versus crowd-density estimation). The system can be privacy-adaptive, using entryway sensors that collect only low-resolution, thermal data, facilitating deployment in bathrooms, changing rooms, etc. It may also be cost-effective by minimizing the number of sensors needed and, therefore, the cost of installation), (Id., ¶ 16, FIG. 1 is a general block diagram of an HVAC system employing occupancy sensing, i.e., explicitly estimating the number of people in a local area 10 and adjusting the operation of the HVAC system accordingly, to provide heating or cooling both sufficiently (i.e., meeting standards of temperature regulation and adequate ventilation, based on occupancy) and efficiently (i.e., using only an appropriate proportion of maximum ventilation capacity and avoiding wasteful over-ventilation). In practice, a local area 10 may be a single room or a collection of rooms, and the room(s) may be small or large. In some cases a local area 10 may correspond to part or all of a “zone” as that term is conventionally understood in HVAC systems, while in other cases it may span multiple zones in whole or in part), (Id., ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate. The controller generally includes one or more fusion systems collectively generating the occupancy estimate by corresponding fusion calculations, the fusion systems including a first fusion system producing a boundary occupancy-count change based on sensor signals from the boundary sensors, a second fusion system producing an interior occupancy count based on sensor signals from the interior sensors, and a third fusion system producing the occupancy estimate based on one or both of the boundary occupancy-count change and the interior occupancy count. Fusion may be of one or multiple types including cross-modality fusion across different sensor types, within-modality fusion across different instances of same-type sensors, and cross-algorithm fusion using different algorithms to generates respective estimates for the same sensor(s). Use of the occupancy sensing system can help to deliver desired occupancy-sensitive performance of the HVAC system, specifically the attainment of a desired energy savings without an undue incidence of undesirable under-ventilation), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses extracting features of the movement dataset using machine learning), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level).
While suggested in at least Fig. 2 and related texts, Konrad does not explicitly disclose …the second machine learning model…
However, Elias discloses …the second machine learning model… (Elias, ¶ 74, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may average some, most, or all of the CSI data. Further, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may process amplitude and phase data separately using the same, similar, or different processing steps and variables. For example only, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may compute an average phase, time, amplitude, energy, phase change, time change, amplitude change, energy change, phase spread, time spread, amplitude spread, energy spread, phase change spread, time change spread, amplitude spread change, and energy spread change. The occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may associate any, some, or all of the variables or changes in the variables described herein with human occupancy in a space 105 (such as a room or a home). For example only, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may associate an increase in an average phase signal and a decrease in an average amplitude signal with the presence of a human. In further examples, the algorithm may associate a change in the phase value calculated for subcarrier channel 33 with the presence of a human. The occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may adapt and change under machine learning or artificial intelligence control. In embodiments, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may be a machine learning algorithm configured to be deployed to analyze individual and/or combined signals across spatial (different antennas), temporal and frequency domains. In embodiments, features of the signals can include, but not limited to, power, angle of arrival, direction of arrival, time of flight, time of arrival, time of flight, time difference of arrival, received signal strength, fading, signal- to-noise-ratio, amplitude and phase of subcarriers, differences in amplitude and phase as a function of time, space (antenna) and frequency (compared across subcarriers). In embodiments, features of the signals that can be analyzed can also include changes to the features including abrupt changes may be analyzed to look for patterns or signatures that have been determined indicate the presence of one or more humans in the environment 105. In embodiments, the occupancy-centric algorithm 250 may identify certain features extracted from the radio signals as being more or especially indicative of human presence and may assign weights to different features when determining whether or not a human is in the space 105), (Id., ¶ 151, The sensor system 100 may include a physical process observation system such as for tracking physical activities of workers that may be used for determining value chain recommendations. Physical activities of workers (e.g., shippers, delivery workers, packers, pickers, assembly personnel, customers, merchants, vendors, distributors and others), physical interactions of workers with other workers, interactions of workers with physical entities like machines and equipment, and interactions of physical entities with other physical entities, including, without limitation, by use of video and still image cameras, motion sensing systems (such as including optical sensors, LIDAR, IR and other sensor sets), robotic motion tracking systems (such as tracking movements of systems attached to a human or a physical entity) and many others), (Id., ¶ 157, The sensor system 100 may reallocate human assets such as worker resources based on human worker traffic and productivity of workflows. Reallocation of human resources may be needed based on occupation data such that if there are spaces that need more assistance from workers and other spaces where there are workers that do not have enough work (i.e. , additional bandwidth or too many workers) then reallocation may be suggested when determining value chain recommendations);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the resource allocation and machine learning elements of Konrad to include the machine learning elements of Elias in the analogous art of detecting occupancy using radio signals for the same reasons as stated for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 23, Konrad anticipates …The computer program product of claim 21…
Konrad further discloses …wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining a first dataset comprising a set of images captured by the at least one image sensor, the set of images indicative of a movement of objects during a first time period (Konrad, ¶ 30, Assuming that the system operates based on a given rate of occupancy estimation, such as once per minute for example, the SCNs 42 aggregate data and respond within such a time period. The sensing units preferably acquire data at a rate compatible with occupancy variations (cameras 32) or body speed (door sensors 34) (discloses sensors for detecting movement of objects) to minimize the potential for aliasing. Since cameras 32 are responsible for steady-state occupancy data, a frame rate of about 1 Hz should be adequate. A 3.0 MPixel panoramic camera typically produces a bit rate of about 10 Mb/s for high-quality 30 Hz video using H.264/AVC compression, but this rate would drop to about 330 Kb/s at 1 Hz. Multiple cameras can be easily supported by WiFi or wired Ethernet (CATS in legacy and CAT6 in new buildings). Use of PoE, providing DC power, can additionally reduce installation costs, and is supported by CATS wiring. To assure accurate ingress/egress detection, door sensors 34 preferably sample at 10-20 Hz, but at 16×4 resolution this would result in no more than 40 Kb/s of uncompressed data rate. This rate is compatible with lower-rate communications connections such as ZigBee, although it may be preferred to use WiFi or wired Ethernet for commonality with the cameras 32), (Id., ¶ 34, To estimate the (quasi) steady-state occupancy, in one example panoramic, overhead, high-resolution, low-cost CMOS cameras are used, which provide a wide field of view with minimal occlusions, while also being widely available and relatively inexpensive. OSSY preferably employs accurate, real-time (at HVAC time scale) algorithms for occupant counting using panoramic video frames. A fundamental block in many occupancy sensing algorithms is change detection (also referred to as background subtraction), which identifies areas of a video frame (discloses a set of images indicative with movement and associated with a time period) that have changed in relation to some background model, e.g., view of an empty room), (Id., ¶ 22, FIG. 4 shows a local area 10 with a more structural focus, including a variable air volume (VAV) box 40 as an example of local-area equipment 12 (FIG. 1), and a shared computing node (SCN) 42 as an example of a local-area controller 14. Also shown is a separate building automation system (BAS) 44 as an example of a central controller 26 (also FIG. 1), and communications connections 46 between the SCN 42 and the sensors 32, 34 as well as the BAS 44. The connections 46 may be realized in various ways including as wireless connections (e.g., WiFi) and/or wired connections such as a Ethernet, either powered (PoE) or unpowered. The system may be realized as a standalone system (i.e., not connected to an external network or “cloud”), with one or more SCNs 42 providing data processing and fusion for multiple venues in the same control zone);
extracting, by the trained machine learning model, a first set of feature values representative of one or more pixel groups in the set of images (Id., ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features (discloses extracting features based on the movement dataset) for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate. The controller generally includes one or more fusion systems collectively generating the occupancy estimate by corresponding fusion calculations, the fusion systems including a first fusion system producing a boundary occupancy-count change based on sensor signals from the boundary sensors, a second fusion system producing an interior occupancy count based on sensor signals from the interior sensors, and a third fusion system producing the occupancy estimate based on one or both of the boundary occupancy-count change and the interior occupancy count. Fusion may be of one or multiple types including cross-modality fusion across different sensor types, within-modality fusion across different instances of same-type sensors, and cross-algorithm fusion using different algorithms to generates respective estimates for the same sensor(s). Use of the occupancy sensing system can help to deliver desired occupancy-sensitive performance of the HVAC system, specifically the attainment of a desired energy savings without an undue incidence of undesirable under-ventilation), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses extracting/classifying pixel group features using machine learning), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
classifying, by the trained machine learning model, each of the objects in the one or more pixel groups based on the first set of feature values (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses extracting/classifying pixel group features using machine learning), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
determining, by the trained machine learning model, a volume flow density of the moving objects during the first time period based on the first set of feature values (Id., ¶ 31, In the case of crowd density estimation from a panoramic camera, every pixel contributes in some proportion to a body count but this proportion is dependent on pixel location on the sensor (e.g., a pixel in the middle of a sensor, parallel to room's floor, will occupy a smaller fraction of human head, than a pixel at sensor's periphery, due to lens properties). However, the knowledge of intrinsic camera parameters, such as sensor size and resolution, focal length, lens diameter and barrel distortion, can be used to establish a relationship between pixel location and its contribution to crowd density (pixel-to-density mapping), very much like in methods to de-warp a fisheye image for visualization. Alternatively, a pixel-to-density mapping can be obtained experimentally in a room of maximum permissible size for various installation heights and camera models, and stored in a look-up table to use during deployment, thus making a crowd density estimation algorithm agnostic to camera installation height and room size. A similar mapping can be obtained for LR thermal sensors (both “tripwire” and room-view). Additionally, some thermal sensors such as Melexis sensors are available with different lenses (40°, 60°, 120° FOVs) allowing to match them to different combinations of room height and door width), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, (discloses estimating a volume flow density of moving objects) head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level), (Id., ¶ 46, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change);
predicting, by the trained machine learning model, a number of objects within a physical building space during a time period after the first time period based on the determined volume flow density (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, (discloses estimating a volume flow density of moving objects to predict a head count) head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification, and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level), (Id., ¶ 46, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change);
and dynamically allocating, by the trained machine learning model, at least one physical resource associated with the physical building space during the time period after the first time period based on the predicted number of objects within the physical building space (Id., ¶ 13, An Occupancy Sensing SYstem (OSSY) generates an estimate of the number of occupants in an area of a building, and uses the estimate for system purposes such as adjusting a rate of ventilation air flow to be tailored for the estimated occupancy. In some applications the building may be a commercial venue and include for example offices, conference rooms, large classrooms or conference rooms, and very large colloquium rooms. The system may be used with a variety of other building times. The system is inherently scalable to support a wide range of room sizes, from small offices to large meeting halls. This is a byproduct of a modular architecture enabling the addition of new units and seamlessly fusing their occupancy estimates with existing ones, thereby expanding coverage. The system can deliver robust performance by fusing information from multiple sensor modalities (e.g., wide-area, overhead sensing using panoramic cameras and local, entryway sensing using low-resolution thermal sensors) and from different algorithms (e.g., body counting versus crowd-density estimation). The system can be privacy-adaptive, using entryway sensors that collect only low-resolution, thermal data, facilitating deployment in bathrooms, changing rooms, etc. It may also be cost-effective by minimizing the number of sensors needed and, therefore, the cost of installation), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods (discloses machine learning) which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 20, FIG. 2 illustrates an aspect of the disclosed approach that can facilitate system scalability while supporting multiple occupancy-sensing modalities, for an area shown as a “unit volume” 30 such as a room. Two distinct types of sensor nodes may deployed in various combinations: interior sensors such as high-resolution (HR) panoramic overhead cameras 32 for wide-area monitoring, and boundary sensors such as low-resolution (LR) thermal sensors 34 located at doorways for ingress/egress detection. The use of panoramic cameras 32 can help minimize the number of sensors needed, thus reducing installation costs while still supporting scalability to large-size venues. The door sensors 34 may serve several roles. First, they provide transient phase data for fusion with steady-state occupancy data from the overhead cameras 32 or other interior sensors when used. For this purpose, in some cases a door sensor 34 may be as simple as a “tripwire”, shown as a “T Door Sensor 36”, that only detects ingress/egress. Such a tripwire sensor 36 may employ low-resolution (LR) thermal sensing for example. Secondly, in small-venue scenarios where panoramic cameras 32 are not used, the door sensors 34 may be realized as TRV door sensors 38 equipped with both an LR thermal “tripwire” (pointing down at the door opening) and an LR “room view” thermal array pointed into the room, for determining both transient and steady-state phase of occupancy. Additionally, if the door sensors 34 collect only LR thermal data, they are generally suitable for privacy-sensitive areas such as restrooms etc.), (Id., ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy), (Id., ¶ 24, the local equipment controller 62 may convert the occupancy estimate 66 into a corresponding fraction of maximum occupancy, and control airflow accordingly. Thus if the occupancy is at 50% of maximum, for example, the local-area airflow is adjusted to 50% of maximum airflow. (discloses adjusting resource allocation based on a predicted number of objects in a building during a time period) As previously indicated, the local equipment controller 62 may also communicate with the central controller 26 in support of broader system-level control), (Id., ¶ 46, Returning to FIG. 7, the disclosed system provides for continuous estimation of the number of occupants within a local area or zone using one or more of the following: [0047] 1. Temporally recursive update, within a specifiable moving time window, of total boundary occupancy-count change produced by applying fusion system 1 (ref 70) to occupancy-count change detections produced by one or more algorithms applied to data from one or more devices each of one or multiple modalities monitoring ingress and/or egress regions of zone, and previous estimates of total boundary occupancy-count change);
While suggested in at least Fig. 2 and related texts, Konrad does not explicitly disclose … wherein the set of images captured by the at least one image sensor include the moving objects in at least one scene that is externally located relative to the physical building space.
However, Elias discloses … wherein the set of images captured by the at least one image sensor include the moving objects in at least one scene that is externally located relative to the physical building space (Elias, ¶ 2, This disclosure relates to sensing and monitoring, and more specifically to sensing and monitoring certain spaces and areas for human occupancy. This disclosure is also related to sensing and monitoring movement or changes in an environment, including movement by animals and objects. This disclosure is also related to using sensor and/or monitor information to control certain systems within commercial and residential facilities, including, but not limited to; heating, cooling, ventilation, security, lighting, power, and entertainment systems and the like. This disclosure also may be used to determine human occupancy in outdoor spaces and to control certain outdoor systems including, but not limited to; heating, cooling, ventilation, security, lighting, power, and entertainment systems and the like), (Id., ¶ 115, While this disclosure has described a sensor system 100 inside or outside a building, (discloses scenes captured externally relative to a building space) the sensor system 100 can be applied to other types of scenarios and other space(s) 105. For example only, the disclosed sensor systems 100 could be used to detect the presence of humans in disaster scenarios such as collapsed buildings, caves, mines and the like. In such scenarios, the sensor systems 100 could be used to determine if and how many humans are breathing and at what rate their hearts are beating. Likewise, the sensor systems 100 could be used to determine if and how many humans might be hidden in an enclosure during a hostage or kidnapping situation and may determine if and how many humans are enclosed in a container such as a shipping crate, a trucking crate, below deck on a boat, and the like. In addition to human presence, the sensor systems 100 could be used to monitor the health of humans and/or animals in an area. For example only, this disclosure could generate an output signal that is related to the breathing rate and or heartrate of any living beings within a space 105. Such sensor systems 100 could be used to monitor the breathing of babies and protect against sudden infant death syndrome. Such systems could also monitor the sleeping of people with sleep apnea and sound an alarm or adjust a bed or environmental setting if a person’s breathing becomes too erratic or stops), (Id., ¶ 151, The sensor system 100 may include a physical process observation system such as for tracking physical activities of workers that may be used for determining value chain recommendations. Physical activities of workers (e.g., shippers, delivery workers, packers, pickers, assembly personnel, customers, merchants, vendors, distributors and others), physical interactions of workers with other workers, interactions of workers with physical entities like machines and equipment, and interactions of physical entities with other physical entities, including, without limitation, by use of video and still image cameras, motion sensing systems (such as including optical sensors, LIDAR, IR and other sensor sets), robotic motion tracking systems (such as tracking movements of systems attached to a human or a physical entity) and many others. (discloses images captured by a recording device) Machine state monitoring systems may include onboard monitors and external monitors of conditions, states, operating parameters, or other measures of the condition of any value chain entity, such as a machine or component thereof, such as a machine, such as a client, a server, a cloud resource, a control system, a display screen, a sensor, a camera, a vehicle, a robot, or other machine. Sensors and cameras and other loT data collection systems (including onboard sensors, sensors or other data collectors (including click tracking sensors) in or about a value chain environment (such as, without limitation, a point of origin, a loading or unloading dock, a vehicle or floating asset used to convey goods, a container, a port, a distribution center, a storage facility, a warehouse, a delivery vehicle, and a point of destination), cameras for monitoring an entire environment, dedicated cameras for a particular machine, process, worker, or the like, wearable cameras, portable cameras, cameras disposed on mobile robots, cameras of portable devices like smart phones and tablets, and many others. [0152] The sensor system 100 may interact with value chain network entities based on worker data such as locations of workers (including routes taken through a location, where workers of a given type are located during a given set of events, processes or the like, how workers manipulate pieces of equipment, cargo, containers, packages, products or other items using various tools, equipment, and physical interfaces, the timing of worker responses with respect to various events such as responses to alerts and warnings), procedures by which workers undertake scheduled deliveries, movements, maintenance, updates, repairs and service processes; procedures by which workers tune or adjust items involved in workflows, and many others. The sensor system may include a physical process observation that may include tracking positions, angles, forces, velocities, acceleration, pressures, torque, and the like of a worker as the worker operates on hardware, such as on a container or package, or on a piece of equipment involved in handling products, with a tool. Such observations may be obtained by any combination of video data, data detected within a machine (such as of positions of elements of the machine detected and reported by position detectors), data collected by a wearable device (such as an exoskeleton that contains position detectors, force detectors, torque detectors and the like that is configured to detect the physical characteristics of interactions of a human worker with a hardware item for purposes of developing a training data set). The sensor system 100 may use this physical activities data and worker data (e.g., physical process interaction observations) for determining value chain recommendations (e.g., training suggested where needed) in order to improve value chain workflows.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the resource allocation and machine learning elements of Konrad to include the vehicle pathway and public transportation elements of Elias in the analogous art of detecting occupancy using radio signals for the same reasons as stated for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The computer program product of claim 23…
Konrad further discloses …wherein the physical building space comprises a HVAC system, and wherein dynamically allocating the at least one physical resource comprises the machine learning model dynamically configuring each of a first zone of the HVAC system and a second zone of the HVAC system to operate or to not operate based on the predicted number of objects within the physical building space (Id., ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate. The controller generally includes one or more fusion systems collectively generating the occupancy estimate by corresponding fusion calculations, the fusion systems including a first fusion system producing a boundary occupancy-count change based on sensor signals from the boundary sensors, a second fusion system producing an interior occupancy count based on sensor signals from the interior sensors, and a third fusion system producing the occupancy estimate based on one or both of the boundary occupancy-count change and the interior occupancy count. Fusion may be of one or multiple types including cross-modality fusion across different sensor types, within-modality fusion across different instances of same-type sensors, and cross-algorithm fusion using different algorithms to generates respective estimates for the same sensor(s). Use of the occupancy sensing system can help to deliver desired occupancy-sensitive performance of the HVAC system, specifically the attainment of a desired energy savings without an undue incidence of undesirable under-ventilation), (Id., ¶ 76, To determine the HVAC energy savings that can be achieved with the occupancy sensing system, a data-driven energy savings model based on building HVAC equipment specifications, current air supply levels, and actual building-use data obtained in the validation study. Table 3 below shows example airflow estimates that might be obtained using a Ventilation Airflow Model (VAM). While this model is representative of education and research environments in particular, many aspects of commercial office buildings are also represented in this example including offices, conference rooms, and large meeting spaces. This model includes air required as a function of both area (resulting in fixed airflow) and variable occupancy (as per ASHRAE 62.1-2013), so that the average yearly occupancy does not directly determine HVAC energy and cost reduction. This analysis indicates that airflow and HVAC energy use can be reduced by 39% if accurate occupancy data were available. In some cases depending on the exact nature and use of the building, there may be potential for even greater reduction), (Id., ¶ 19, The remaining description elaborates primarily certain structural and functional details of components involved in occupancy estimation, i.e., the sensors 16 and local-area controller 14. In typical applications today, systems are limited to a binary occupied/unoccupied decision and operation. While such operation is an improvement over older systems by reducing idle ventilation, the system described herein can extend energy savings by delivering a more fine-grained air volume control over a range of room sizes, achieving greater efficiency without sacrificing ventilation quality), (Id., ¶ 50, Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 make use of parametric or non-parametric, linear or non-linear systems. Fusion systems 1, 2 and 3 take into account the rate at which the number of occupants in zone is changing, specifically whether it is changing rapidly (transient state) or sporadically (quasi steady state), and accordingly diminishing the influence of the boundary count or interior count, respectively, towards the estimation of the total number of occupants. [0051] 5. A system to continuously maximize energy savings for zone based on zone type or on current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone while simultaneously not exceeding a maximum failure rate which can be specified. This is accomplished by scaling the estimate of the number of occupants in zone at each time instant by an overestimation factor greater than or equal to one based on zone type or current, recent, or historical estimates of number of occupants in zone).
Claims 9-10, 15 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konrad in view of Elias and in further view of Albonesi et al., U.S. Publication No. 2016/0051469 [hereinafter Albonesi].
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The computer-implemented method according to claim 1…
Konrad further discloses …extracting, by the computer system and via execution of the first machine learning model, a third set of feature values… (Konrad, ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features (discloses extracting features values) for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate. The controller generally includes one or more fusion systems collectively generating the occupancy estimate by corresponding fusion calculations, the fusion systems including a first fusion system producing a boundary occupancy-count change based on sensor signals from the boundary sensors, a second fusion system producing an interior occupancy count based on sensor signals from the interior sensors, and a third fusion system producing the occupancy estimate based on one or both of the boundary occupancy-count change and the interior occupancy count. Fusion may be of one or multiple types including cross-modality fusion across different sensor types, within-modality fusion across different instances of same-type sensors, and cross-algorithm fusion using different algorithms to generates respective estimates for the same sensor(s). Use of the occupancy sensing system can help to deliver desired occupancy-sensitive performance of the HVAC system, specifically the attainment of a desired energy savings without an undue incidence of undesirable under-ventilation), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses extracting feature values using machine learning), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
and modifying the prediction of the number of objects within the physical building space during the time period after the first time period based on the third set of feature values, the modification including increasing or decreasing the predicted number of objects within the physical building space during the time period (Id., ¶ 25, FIG. 7 illustrates certain detail of the occupancy estimator 60 in one embodiment. The occupancy estimate 66 is generated by processing of the sensor signals 64 grouped as shown into boundary sensor signals 64A and interior sensing signals 64B. The boundary sensor signals 64A are generated by boundary sensors (of sensors 16) generally located at ingress/egress points and perhaps specialized for detecting individuals, such as the door sensors 34. The interior sensor signals 64B are generated by interior sensors (of sensors 16) such as cameras 32 that cover interior areas that are occupied during steady state. The occupancy estimator 60 employs a certain type of data fusion using collections of one or more fusion systems, shown as fusion system 1 (ref 70), fusion system 2 (ref 72), and fusion system 3 (ref 74). Fusion systems 1 and 2 generate respective boundary and interior estimates 76, 78, and fusion system 3 performs additional calculations on the estimates 76, 78 to generate a raw occupancy estimate 80. This is supplied to an overestimation scaling unit 82 which applies a scaling factor to generate the occupancy estimate 66 (discloses modified occupancy prediction) provided to the local equipment controller 62 (FIG. 6)), (Id., ¶ 34, To estimate the (quasi) steady-state occupancy, in one example panoramic, overhead, high-resolution, low-cost CMOS cameras are used, which provide a wide field of view with minimal occlusions, while also being widely available and relatively inexpensive. OSSY preferably employs accurate, real-time (at HVAC time scale) algorithms for occupant counting using panoramic video frames. A fundamental block in many occupancy sensing algorithms is change detection (also referred to as background subtraction), which identifies areas of a video frame that have changed in relation to some background model, e.g., view of an empty room), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses feature values), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level).
While suggested in at least Fig. 2 and related texts of Konrad, the combination of Konrad and Elias does not explicitly disclose …wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises: obtaining, by the computer system from a second computing device, text data indicative of a condition of an environment in which the physical building space is located; ...from the text data
However, Albonesi discloses … wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises: obtaining, by the computer system from a second computing device, text data indicative of a condition of an environment in which the physical building space is located; ...from the text data (Albonesi, ¶ 108, Level 4 can include scheduling and behavioral nudges. Two examples include use of space heater to further drop the nighttime setback. In one example, this has been implemented on a user's house and realized about $100/month annual savings. This could be augmented by adding additional sensors, e.g., off the shelf, Nest Thermostats can be deployed throughout a house to sense multiple locations. Another exemplary component can include behavioral nudges where changes in planning/scheduling/behavior to save energy can be suggested. Examples:), (Id., ¶ 109, “If you set your thermostat back 1 degree, you will save $Z per day. Is this okay?”), (Id., ¶ 110, “Can we learn from your preferences? We will occasionally set back your thermostat slightly and observe whether you override this by turning it back up. We will also ask if you are comfortable via text message (discloses text data indicative of a temperature condition in a building) and use that to develop algorithms.”), (Id., ¶ 54, The exemplary Resource Scheduling and Nudges layer at Level 4 mines the filtered sensor data from the Level 2 interface to improve energy efficiency. It discovers trends that are passed to Level 3 to improve its optimization. It learns preferences from building occupants and “nudges” them to take actions that are more energy-friendly. It achieves long term power savings through energy-aware assignment of schedulable building resources such as meeting rooms in an office building), (Id., ¶ 89, Learning: The information collected can be used to as feedback to improve operations of the system over time, e.g., by building response surfaces with Radial Basis Functions, (discloses extracting features value) which are a type of spline. The control systems can be operated for a long time, and all the data can be saved that is collected about the values of K.sub.c(P.sub.t, t, X.sub.t, w.sub.t) in (2) and of the future value function F.sub.t(X.sub.t). For example over the course of a year, K.sub.c(P.sub.t, t, X.sub.t, w.sub.t) can be solved over 8700 times, and a multivariate response surface can be built from that information, and thereby reduce the number of times a relatively expensive simulation model, e.g., like Energy Plus, needs to be run), (Id., ¶ 90, Comparison to other methods: In the last decade, an increasing number of papers have demonstrated receding horizon optimal control framework of building systems, commonly referred to as Model Predictive Control (MPC). However there exist significant challenges with respect to the scalability of such an approach in terms of computation and implementation especially for stochastic analysis, which is necessary to incorporate uncertainty of prices, occupancy, and weather, for example…), (Id., ¶ 94, While the Power Manager makes changes in power states based on a short time horizon, the Scheduler at the top of the BPMS identifies long term power savings through data analysis and interaction with the Power Manager and building occupants (FIG. 1). The Scheduler mines the filtered sensor data from the Level 2 interface to improve energy efficiency. It discovers trends that are passed to the Power Manager to improve its optimization. It learns preferences from building occupants and “nudges” them to take actions that are more energy-friendly, e.g., through accurate cost savings estimates of lowering room temperature, occupants may opt for lower thermostat settings. Identifying effective occupant “nudges” is part of the deployment plan, which is described in the next section of this patent document).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the resource allocation and machine learning elements of Konrad and the outdoor elements of Elias to include the text data elements of Albonesi in the analogous art of building power management systems.
The motivation for doing so would have been to improve an ability “to reduce building energy consumption and dramatically improve building energy efficiencies” (Albonesi, ¶ 20), wherein such improvements would benefit Elias’ method which seeks to improve an ability to “adjust the HVAC system to the appropriate level for the unoccupied or under-occupied conditions” (Elias, ¶ 3), and wherein such improvements would further benefit Konrad’s method which enables “adjusting the operation of the HVAC system accordingly, to provide heating or cooling both sufficiently (i.e., meeting standards of temperature regulation and adequate ventilation, based on occupancy) and efficiently (i.e., using only an appropriate proportion of maximum ventilation capacity and avoiding wasteful over-ventilation)” [Albonesi, ¶ 20; Elias, ¶ 3; Konrad, ¶ 16].
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Konrad, Elias and Albonesi discloses…The computer-implemented method according to claim 9…
While suggested in at least Fig. 2 and related texts, Konrad does not explicitly disclose … wherein extracting the third set of feature values from the text data comprises: identifying, by the computer system and the machine learning model, one or more key terms in the text data, determining, by the computer system, a second set of characteristics based on the key terms, and deriving, by the computer system, an indication corresponding to the increase or decrease to the physical resource allocation based on the third set of feature values and the second set of characteristics.
However, Albonesi discloses …wherein extracting the third set of feature values from the text data comprises: identifying, by the computer system and the machine learning model, one or more key terms in the text data, determining, by the computer system, a second set of characteristics based on the key terms, and deriving, by the computer system, an indication corresponding to the increase or decrease to the physical resource allocation based on the third set of feature values and the second set of characteristics (Albonesi, ¶ 108, Level 4 can include scheduling and behavioral nudges. Two examples include use of space heater to further drop the nighttime setback. In one example, this has been implemented on a user's house and realized about $100/month annual savings. This could be augmented by adding additional sensors, e.g., off the shelf, Nest Thermostats can be deployed throughout a house to sense multiple locations. Another exemplary component can include behavioral nudges where changes in planning/scheduling/behavior to save energy can be suggested. Examples:), (Id., ¶ 109, “If you set your thermostat back 1 degree, you will save $Z per day. Is this okay?”), (Id., ¶ 110, “Can we learn from your preferences? We will occasionally set back your thermostat slightly and observe whether you override this by turning it back up. We will also ask if you are comfortable via text message (discloses text data indicative of a decrease to the resource allocation) and use that to develop algorithms.”), (Id., ¶ 54, The exemplary Resource Scheduling and Nudges layer at Level 4 mines the filtered sensor data from the Level 2 interface to improve energy efficiency. It discovers trends that are passed to Level 3 to improve its optimization. It learns preferences from building occupants and “nudges” them to take actions that are more energy-friendly. It achieves long term power savings through energy-aware assignment of schedulable building resources such as meeting rooms in an office building), (Id., ¶ 89, Learning: The information collected can be used to as feedback to improve operations of the system over time, e.g., by building response surfaces with Radial Basis Functions, (discloses extracting features value) which are a type of spline. The control systems can be operated for a long time, and all the data can be saved that is collected about the values of K.sub.c(P.sub.t, t, X.sub.t, w.sub.t) in (2) and of the future value function F.sub.t(X.sub.t). For example over the course of a year, K.sub.c(P.sub.t, t, X.sub.t, w.sub.t) can be solved over 8700 times, and a multivariate response surface can be built from that information, and thereby reduce the number of times a relatively expensive simulation model, e.g., like Energy Plus, needs to be run), (Id., ¶ 90, Comparison to other methods: In the last decade, an increasing number of papers have demonstrated receding horizon optimal control framework of building systems, commonly referred to as Model Predictive Control (MPC). However there exist significant challenges with respect to the scalability of such an approach in terms of computation and implementation especially for stochastic analysis, which is necessary to incorporate uncertainty of prices, occupancy, and weather, for example…), (Id., ¶ 94, While the Power Manager makes changes in power states based on a short time horizon, the Scheduler at the top of the BPMS identifies long term power savings through data analysis and interaction with the Power Manager and building occupants (FIG. 1). The Scheduler mines the filtered sensor data from the Level 2 interface to improve energy efficiency. It discovers trends that are passed to the Power Manager to improve its optimization. It learns preferences from building occupants and “nudges” them to take actions that are more energy-friendly, e.g., through accurate cost savings estimates of lowering room temperature, occupants may opt for lower thermostat settings. Identifying effective occupant “nudges” is part of the deployment plan, which is described in the next section of this patent document).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the resource allocation and machine learning elements of Konrad and the outdoor elements of Elias to include the text data elements of Albonesi in the analogous art of building power management systems for the same reasons as stated for claim 9.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The system according to claim 11…
While suggested in at least Fig. 2 and related texts of Konrad, the combination of Konrad and Elias does not explicitly disclose …further comprising a building management system, wherein the building management system comprises an electrical distribution system, and wherein dynamically allocating the at least one physical resource associated with the physical building space during the time period after the first time period comprises: dynamically configuring the electrical distribution system within the physical building space to reduce a power consumption based on the physical resource allocation.
However, Albonesi discloses … further comprising a building management system, wherein the building management system comprises an electrical distribution system, and wherein dynamically allocating the at least one physical resource associated with the physical building space during the time period after the first time period comprises: dynamically configuring the electrical distribution system within the physical building space to reduce a power consumption based on the physical resource allocation (Albonesi, ¶ 3, Heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) technologies can be used to provide systems, devices, and methods for controlling conditions of buildings to meet certain comfort needs and other specific needs in using or managing HVAC controlled buildings. HVAC system design and engineering are generally based on the principles of various technical fields including, thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, heat transfer, electricity power management and others…), (Id., ¶ 5, The disclosed integrated building power management system includes a hierarchical computer control software architecture for managing building power using a cyber-physical system. In some implementations, the architecture of the integrated building power management system (discloses electrical distribution system) is arranged in a hierarchy of control levels of hardware and software systems, also referred to herein as ‘stacks’. For example, e.g., the system levels can be controlled using software hierarchical layers that receive information from, and perform various decision making processes for controlling electrical power distribution and consumption at, various locations and appliances in buildings based on a computer controlled network of sensors and power control devices in the buildings to enable dynamic power management based on real time power needs to provide energy efficient electrical power systems for buildings. (discloses dynamically configuring usage of resources)), (Id., ¶ 22, Building occupants demand comfort at their particular sections of a large HVAC controlled building without considering the overall HVAC operations of the building, including power efficiency, operating cost or systems limitations. In such systems, building operators tediously tune building operational parameters using simple control rules to meet the demands of building occupant demands or requirements. Power control levers, such as night setbacks to conserve power, (discloses reducing power consumption based on resource allocation) are typically statically set, coarse-grain, and conservative. At the sensor and actuator level, legacy building systems are incompatible with the temporal and spatial scales of real time building events, and are unable to scale between large and small building environments. Recent proposals for adapting building systems to weather and occupant behavior are hindered by these hardware limitations. The building and its HVAC system may have been built with little forethought of the constraints that would ultimately be placed on how the building could be operated).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the resource allocation and machine learning elements of Konrad and the outdoor elements of Elias to include the power management elements of Albonesi in the analogous art of building power management systems for the same reasons as stated for claim 9.
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Konrad and Elias discloses …The computer program product of claim 23…
Konrad further discloses …extracting, by the trained machine learning model, a third set of feature values… (Konrad, ¶ 4, sensing and control apparatus are disclosed for use in an HVAC system of a building. The apparatus includes a plurality of sensors including interior sensors and boundary sensors, the sensors generating respective sensor signals conveying occupancy-related features (discloses extracting features values) for an area of the building. In one example the sensors include cameras in interior areas and low-resolution thermal sensors at ingress/egress points. The occupancy-related features may be specific aspects of camera images, or signal levels from the thermal sensors, that can be processed to arrive at an estimate of occupancy. The apparatus further includes a controller configured and operative in response to the sensor signals to produce an occupancy estimate for the area and to generate equipment-control signals to cause the HVAC system to supply conditioned air to the area based on the occupancy estimate. The controller generally includes one or more fusion systems collectively generating the occupancy estimate by corresponding fusion calculations, the fusion systems including a first fusion system producing a boundary occupancy-count change based on sensor signals from the boundary sensors, a second fusion system producing an interior occupancy count based on sensor signals from the interior sensors, and a third fusion system producing the occupancy estimate based on one or both of the boundary occupancy-count change and the interior occupancy count. Fusion may be of one or multiple types including cross-modality fusion across different sensor types, within-modality fusion across different instances of same-type sensors, and cross-algorithm fusion using different algorithms to generates respective estimates for the same sensor(s). Use of the occupancy sensing system can help to deliver desired occupancy-sensitive performance of the HVAC system, specifically the attainment of a desired energy savings without an undue incidence of undesirable under-ventilation), (Id., ¶ 32, at the time of commissioning a system the camera/sensor installation height needs to be provided. Alternatively, a precise calibration pattern can be placed directly under a camera/sensor and a self-calibration operation is performed. With the installation height known, a corresponding pixel-to-density map can be used algorithmically to provide accurate occupancy estimates. The system may employ data-driven or “machine-learning” methods which can provide robustness against real-world variability without a physical model, but it is preferred that such methods be kept simple and not require re-training in new environments. In some cases machine learning is used only for offline training of counting and fusion algorithms, and only a system is fine-tuned in real time through self-calibration to a new environment by setting certain global parameters, e.g., room height, spacing between units, etc), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses extracting feature values using machine learning), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level);
and modifying, by the trained machine learning model, the prediction of the number of objects within the physical building space during the time period after the first time period based on the third set of feature values, the modification including increasing or decreasing the predicted number of objects within the physical building space during the time period (Id., ¶ 25, FIG. 7 illustrates certain detail of the occupancy estimator 60 in one embodiment. The occupancy estimate 66 is generated by processing of the sensor signals 64 grouped as shown into boundary sensor signals 64A and interior sensing signals 64B. The boundary sensor signals 64A are generated by boundary sensors (of sensors 16) generally located at ingress/egress points and perhaps specialized for detecting individuals, such as the door sensors 34. The interior sensor signals 64B are generated by interior sensors (of sensors 16) such as cameras 32 that cover interior areas that are occupied during steady state. The occupancy estimator 60 employs a certain type of data fusion using collections of one or more fusion systems, shown as fusion system 1 (ref 70), fusion system 2 (ref 72), and fusion system 3 (ref 74). Fusion systems 1 and 2 generate respective boundary and interior estimates 76, 78, and fusion system 3 performs additional calculations on the estimates 76, 78 to generate a raw occupancy estimate 80. This is supplied to an overestimation scaling unit 82 which applies a scaling factor to generate the occupancy estimate 66 (discloses modified occupancy prediction) provided to the local equipment controller 62 (FIG. 6)), (Id., ¶ 34, To estimate the (quasi) steady-state occupancy, in one example panoramic, overhead, high-resolution, low-cost CMOS cameras are used, which provide a wide field of view with minimal occlusions, while also being widely available and relatively inexpensive. OSSY preferably employs accurate, real-time (at HVAC time scale) algorithms for occupant counting using panoramic video frames. A fundamental block in many occupancy sensing algorithms is change detection (also referred to as background subtraction), which identifies areas of a video frame that have changed in relation to some background model, e.g., view of an empty room), (Id., ¶ 37, Two known approaches to estimating occupancy level are (1) detecting and then counting human bodies, and (2) estimating number based on detected changes in a camera field of view (FOV). Recent occupancy sensing methods via human-body counting include: full-body detection using Haar features and ADABOOST, head counting using Harr or HOG (Histogram of Gradients) features and SVM classification (discloses feature values), and head counting using Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs). These methods show great robustness to variations in body size and orientation. Shallow CNNs may suffice (for body/non-body binary output) and could run on a low-power mobile platform. As for crowd-density estimation, algorithms are known that are based on image gradient changes followed by SVM, full-image CNNs, and a wealth of approaches at pixel, texture or object level).
While suggested in at least Fig. 2 and related texts of Konrad, the combination of Konrad and Elias does not explicitly disclose … wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining text data indicative of a condition of an environment in which the physical building space is located; ...from the text data…
However, Albonesi discloses …wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining text data indicative of a condition of an environment in which the physical building space is located; ...from the text data… (Albonesi, ¶ 108, Level 4 can include scheduling and behavioral nudges. Two examples include use of space heater to further drop the nighttime setback. In one example, this has been implemented on a user's house and realized about $100/month annual savings. This could be augmented by adding additional sensors, e.g., off the shelf, Nest Thermostats can be deployed throughout a house to sense multiple locations. Another exemplary component can include behavioral nudges where changes in planning/scheduling/behavior to save energy can be suggested. Examples:), (Id., ¶ 109, “If you set your thermostat back 1 degree, you will save $Z per day. Is this okay?”), (Id., ¶ 110, “Can we learn from your preferences? We will occasionally set back your thermostat slightly and observe whether you override this by turning it back up. We will also ask if you are comfortable via text message (discloses text data indicative of a temperature condition in a building) and use that to develop algorithms.”), (Id., ¶ 54, The exemplary Resource Scheduling and Nudges layer at Level 4 mines the filtered sensor data from the Level 2 interface to improve energy efficiency. It discovers trends that are passed to Level 3 to improve its optimization. It learns preferences from building occupants and “nudges” them to take actions that are more energy-friendly. It achieves long term power savings through energy-aware assignment of schedulable building resources such as meeting rooms in an office building), (Id., ¶ 89, Learning: The information collected can be used to as feedback to improve operations of the system over time, e.g., by building response surfaces with Radial Basis Functions, (discloses extracting features value) which are a type of spline. The control systems can be operated for a long time, and all the data can be saved that is collected about the values of K.sub.c(P.sub.t, t, X.sub.t, w.sub.t) in (2) and of the future value function F.sub.t(X.sub.t). For example over the course of a year, K.sub.c(P.sub.t, t, X.sub.t, w.sub.t) can be solved over 8700 times, and a multivariate response surface can be built from that information, and thereby reduce the number of times a relatively expensive simulation model, e.g., like Energy Plus, needs to be run), (Id., ¶ 90, Comparison to other methods: In the last decade, an increasing number of papers have demonstrated receding horizon optimal control framework of building systems, commonly referred to as Model Predictive Control (MPC). However there exist significant challenges with respect to the scalability of such an approach in terms of computation and implementation especially for stochastic analysis, which is necessary to incorporate uncertainty of prices, occupancy, and weather, for example…), (Id., ¶ 94, While the Power Manager makes changes in power states based on a short time horizon, the Scheduler at the top of the BPMS identifies long term power savings through data analysis and interaction with the Power Manager and building occupants (FIG. 1). The Scheduler mines the filtered sensor data from the Level 2 interface to improve energy efficiency. It discovers trends that are passed to the Power Manager to improve its optimization. It learns preferences from building occupants and “nudges” them to take actions that are more energy-friendly, e.g., through accurate cost savings estimates of lowering room temperature, occupants may opt for lower thermostat settings. Identifying effective occupant “nudges” is part of the deployment plan, which is described in the next section of this patent document).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the resource allocation and machine learning elements of Konrad and the outdoor elements of Elias to include the text data elements of Albonesi in the analogous art of building power management systems for the same reasons as stated for claim 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pita et al., U.S. Publication No. 2023/0142105 discloses machine-learning-based prediction of construction project parameters.
Stafanski et al., U.S. Publication No. 2015/0168003 discloses systems and methods for signature-based thermostat control.
Witbeck et al., U.S. Publication No. 2012/0217315 discloses a system for controlling temperatures of multiple zones in multiple structures.
/NICHOLAS D BOLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/PATRICIA H MUNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3624