DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Nanba et al. 20120104602 applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAE et al. 20150103500 in view of Nanba et al. 20120104602.
Regarding claim 1, figs. 1-4 of Bae disclose a display device comprising:
a display module 110 comprising: a base substrate including a display area DA and a non-display area (MA/BA) adjacent to the display area; and
pads (IPD-110s) overlapping with the non-display area and disposed on the base substrate; and
a circuit board 120 comprising: a board 122; and connection pads (OPD-120s) disposed on the board and being in contact with the pads of the display module (IPD-110s – see par [0127],[0133]), respectively.
Bae does not disclose wherein each of the connection pads comprises: a first conductive layer disposed on the board in a thickness direction of the board.
a second conductive layer which overlaps with the first conductive layer, is disposed on the first conductive layer and has a different material from that of the first conductive layer; and
a third conductive layer which overlaps with the second conductive layer, is disposed on the second conductive layer and is in contact with a corresponding one of the pads of the display module,
wherein, for each of the connection pads, the second conductive layer covers an entirety of a side surface of the first conductive layer in a direction intersecting the thickness direction of the board,
wherein, the side surface of the first conductive layer extends in the thickness direction of the board, and
wherein, the first conductive layer overlaps with the third conductive layer in the direction to intersecting the thickness direction of the board.
However, fig. 8B of Nanba discloses a first board (bottom 1) and a second board (top 1). The first board comprising connection pads and being in contact with pads of the second board,
wherein each of the connection pads comprises: a first conductive layer 4 disposed on first board in a thickness direction of the board.
a second conductive layer 5 which overlaps with the first conductive layer, is disposed on the first conductive layer and has a different material from that of the first conductive layer; and
a third conductive layer 8 which overlaps with the second conductive layer, is disposed on the second conductive layer and is in contact with a corresponding one of the pads of the second board,
wherein, for each of the connection pads, the second conductive layer 5 covers an entirety of a side surface of the first conductive layer 4 in a direction intersecting the thickness direction of the board,
wherein, the side surface of the first conductive layer 4 extends in the thickness direction of the board, and
wherein, the first conductive layer 4 overlaps with the third conductive layer 8 in the direction to intersecting the thickness direction of the board.
Note fig. 8B of Nanba is equivalent to applicant fig. 6A.
Note fig. 6A of Applicant shows the first board FCB and the second board PCB with the driving pad PDd and the second connection pad PD2 of contact.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a device of Bae comprising wherein each of the connection pads comprises: a first conductive layer disposed on the board in a thickness direction of the board.
a second conductive layer which overlaps with the first conductive layer, is disposed on the first conductive layer and has a different material from that of the first conductive layer; and
a third conductive layer which overlaps with the second conductive layer, is disposed on the second conductive layer and is in contact with a corresponding one of the pads of the display module,
wherein, for each of the connection pads, the second conductive layer covers an entirety of a side surface of the first conductive layer in a direction intersecting the thickness direction of the board,
wherein, the side surface of the first conductive layer extends in the thickness direction of the board, and
wherein, the first conductive layer overlaps with the third conductive layer in the direction to intersecting the thickness direction of the board.
such as taught by Nanba in order to form a better connection by having high electrical connection reliability and mechanically structure.
Regarding claim 3, figs. 1-4 of Bae disclose a display device comprising:
a display module 110 comprising: a base substrate including a display area DA and a non-display area (MA/BA) adjacent to the display area; and
pads (IPD-110s) overlapping with the non-display area and disposed on the base substrate; and
a circuit board 120 comprising: a board 122; and connection pads (OPD-120s) disposed on the board and being in contact with the pads of the display module (IPD-110s), respectively.
Bae does not disclose wherein each of the connection pads comprises: a first conductive layer disposed on the board in a thickness direction of the board; a second conductive layer which overlaps with the first conductive layer, is disposed on the first conductive layer and has a different material from that of the first conductive layer; and a third layer which overlaps with the second conductive layer, is disposed on the second conductive layer and is in direct contact with a corresponding one of the pads of the display module, wherein at least a portion of the second conductive layer is in direct contact with the corresponding pads one of the pads of the display module, and wherein, the first conductive layer overlaps with the third conductive layer in a direction intersecting the thickness direction of the board.
However, fig. 8B of Nanba (as labeled by examiner in claim 1 rejection above) discloses a first board and a second board. The first board comprising connection pads and being in contact with pads of the second board,
wherein each of the connection pads comprises:
a first conductive layer 4 disposed on the board in a thickness direction of the board,
a second conductive layer 5 which overlaps with the first conductive layer, is disposed on the first conductive layer and has a different material from that of the first conductive layer; and
a third layer 8 which overlaps with the second conductive layer, is disposed on the second conductive layer and is in direct contact with a corresponding one of the pads of the display module, wherein at least a portion of the second conductive layer is in direct contact with the corresponding pads 9 one of the pads of the second board, and
wherein, the first conductive layer overlaps with the third conductive layer in a direction intersecting the thickness direction of the board (as labeled by examiner in claim 1 rejection above).
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a device of Bae comprising wherein each of the connection pads comprises: a first conductive layer disposed on the board in a thickness direction of the board; a second conductive layer which overlaps with the first conductive layer, is disposed on the first conductive layer and has a different material from that of the first conductive layer; and a third layer which overlaps with the second conductive layer, is disposed on the second conductive layer and is in direct contact with a corresponding one of the pads of the display module, wherein at least a portion of the second conductive layer is in direct contact with the corresponding pads one of the pads of the display module, and wherein, the first conductive layer overlaps with the third conductive layer in a direction intersecting the thickness direction of the board such as taught by Nanba in order to form a better connection by having high electrical connection reliability and mechanically structure
Regarding claim 2, fig. 8 of Nanab discloses further comprising: a resin 7 disposed between the base substrate (1) and the board (the other 1) and surrounding the pads of the display module and the connection pads.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 8B of Nanba discloses wherein the second conductive layer entirely overlaps with the first conductive layer, and the third conductive layer overlaps with at least a portion of the second conductive layer. The resulting structure would have been one meeting the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, Bae and Nanba disclose claim 1. Bae does not disclose wherein each of the pads comprises: a first driving conductive layer disposed on the base substrate; a second driving conductive layer disposed on the first driving conductive layer; and a third driving conductive layer disposed on the second driving conductive layer and being in contact with the third conductive layer.
However, fig. 8B of Nanba discloses the second board comprises pads and wherein each of the pads comprises: a first driving conductive layer disposed on the base substrate; a second driving conductive layer disposed on the first driving conductive layer; and a third driving conductive layer disposed on the second driving conductive layer and being in contact with the third conductive layer
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a display device of Bae and Nanba further comprising wherein each of the pads comprises: a first driving conductive layer disposed on the base substrate; a second driving conductive layer disposed on the first driving conductive layer; and a third driving conductive layer disposed on the second driving conductive layer and being in contact with the third conductive layer such as taught by Nanba in order to form a better connection by having electrically and mechanically structure.
Regarding claim 6, Bae and Sundahl disclose claim 5, but do not disclose wherein a material of the first driving conductive layer and a material of the third driving conductive layer are the same.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a display comprising wherein a material of the first driving conductive layer and a material of the third driving conductive layer are the same in order to obtain a desire resistance. Note that although Bae and Sundahl do not teach exact the material of the semiconductor film as that claimed by Applicant, the material differences are considered obvious design choices and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious. Note In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416, In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
Bae and Nanba do not disclose of wherein a thickness of the second driving conductive layer is greater than a thickness of each of the first and third driving conductive layers.
However, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
As such it would have been obvious to form a display of Bae and Nanba comprising wherein a thickness of the second driving conductive layer is greater than a thickness of each of the first and third driving conductive layers in order to obtain a desired contact resistance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2829