Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-18, 24, 26-27 and 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn (Pub. No.: US 2015/0228663) filed in the IDS on 12/28/2022 in view of Noh (Pub. No.: US 2022/0032392).
Re claim 14, Youn, FIG. 16J teaches a memory device, comprising:
a semiconductor layer (502/504), a stacked structure ([553/554/556]/572) located on the semiconductor layer, and a dielectric layer (top most layer 572+776) covering the semiconductor layer and the stacked structure;
a channel hole (T31, FIG. 16A), penetrating through the stacked structure, wherein the channel hole comprises a channel structure (left 520, FIG. 16C, [0177]) disposed in a channel hole (T31, FIG. 16A) and extending through the stacked structure ([553/554/556]/572), wherein a polysilicon layer (736A, FIG. 16C, [0260]), a first metal silicide layer (736B, FIG. 16I, ¶ [0291]), and a through via contact metal layer (792) are sequentially stacked over an end of the channel structure (520) within the channel hole and are laterally in contact with the same dielectric layer (top most layer 572+776); and
a second metal silicide layer (704) and a first contact plug (582, [0185]) extending through the dielectric layer (top most layer 572) in a region inside the stacked structure comprising interleaved gate lines (554) and isolation layers (572), wherein the second metal silicide layer (704) is located on the semiconductor layer (502/504), and the first contact plug (582) is located on the second metal silicide layer,
wherein the through via contact metal layer is configured to serve as a bit line contact plug (792, [0294]).
Youn fails to teach a second metal silicide layer and a first contact plug extending through the dielectric layer in a region outside the stacked structure comprising interleaved gate lines and isolation layers.
Noh teaches a second metal silicide layer and a first contact plug (170/172, FIG. 3B, ¶ [0072]) extending through the dielectric layer (136) in a region outside the stacked structure comprising interleaved gate lines (WL1/WL2) and isolation layers (132).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing the connectivity by utilizing the metal silicide material as taught by Noh, [0072].
Re claim 15, Youn, FIG. 16J teaches the memory device of claim 14, wherein a diameter of the through via contact metal layer (diameter of the bottommost area of 792) is equal to a diameter of the polysilicon layer (736A).
Re claim 16, Youn, FIG. 16J teaches the memory device of claim 15, further comprising:
a second dielectric layer (776) located on the dielectric layer (top most layer 572+776); and
a bit line contact (794) located within the second dielectric layer (776), wherein the bit line contact is located on the through via contact metal layer (792), a diameter of the bit line contact (diameter of the bottommost portion of 792) is less than a diameter of the channel hole (T31 of FIG. 16A).
Re claim 17, Youn, FIG. 16J teaches the memory device of claim 16, wherein a thickness of the through via contact metal layer (vertical thickness of 792) is less than a thickness of the bit line contact (vertical thickness of 794).
Re claim 18, Youn, FIG. 16J teaches the memory device of claim 16, wherein a diameter of the bit line contact (792) is less than a diameter of the first contact plug (582).
Re claim 24, Youn, FIG. 16J teaches the memory device of claim 14, wherein the channel structure is a first channel structure; and the memory device further comprises:
a second channel structure (right 520) extending through the stacked structure (554/572); and
a gate line slit structure (504/704/582) comprising an array common source (504, [0176]), the gate line slit structure being arranged between the first channel structure (left 520) and the second channel structure (right 520).
Re claim 26, Youn, FIG. 16J teaches the memory device of claim 24, wherein the array common source comprises a conductive layer (582); and a top surface of the conductive layer is lower than a top surface of the dielectric layer (top most layer 572+776).
Re claim 27, Youn, FIG. 16J teaches the memory device of claim 14, wherein the first metal silicide layer comprises at least one of nickel silicide, cobalt silicide, tantalum silicide, or titanium silicide (736B, [0291]).
Re claim 30, Youn, FIG. 16J teaches the memory device of claim 14, wherein a projection of the bit line contact plug (792) on the semiconductor layer covers a projection of a bit line contact (794), arranged within a second dielectric layer (792), on the semiconductor layer (502/504).
Re claim 31, Youn, FIG. 12C teaches the memory device of claim 14, wherein the channel structure comprising a charge storage layer (540, [0180]) and a channel layer (520) surrounding the charge storage layer; and the polysilicon layer (536, [0179]) is arranged over the channel layer and the charge storage layer.
Re claim 32, Youn, FIG. 12C teaches the memory device of claim 14, further comprising: a buffer oxide layer (532, [0178]); the channel structure (520) extends through the stacked structure (572/554) and the buffer oxide layer; and the first contact plug (582) is arranged outside the buffer oxide layer without extending through the buffer oxide layer.
Claim(s) 19 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn/Noh in view of Chinese Patent No.: CN110797345 (hereinafter `345).
Youn/Noh teaches all the limitation of claim 16/14.
Youn/Noh fails to teach the limitation of claim 19/22.
`345, FIG. 23 teaches herein an end of the stacked structure has a staircase structure, the memory device further comprises:
a second contact plug (554), located in the dielectric layer (230), wherein the second contact plug is connected to a surface of a corresponding staircase structure, and
a diameter of the second contact plug (554) is greater than a diameter of the bit line contact (552) (claim 19).
wherein a top surface of the first contact plug (552) protrudes above a top surface of the dielectric layer (330/230) (claim 22).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of effectively forming contact plugs for the gate electrode as taught by `345, Background technique.
Claim(s) 23, 25 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn/Noh in view of DAI (Pub. No.: US 2019/0096901).
Re claim 23/29/25, Youn/Noh teaches all the limitation of claim 14/24.
Youn/Noh fails to teach the limitation of claim 23/29/25.
DAI teaches wherein a top surface of the first contact plug (126+248, FIG. 2, ¶ [0060]) is higher than a top surface of the through via contact metal layer (238, [0059]) (claim 23).
wherein a sidewall of the polysilicon layer (226, FIG. 2, [0056]) is in direct contact with the dielectric layer (the dielectric layer immediately right below layer 244) (claim 29).
wherein the gate line slit structure (126+248) further comprises a third contact plug (250) arranged over the array common source (126); and a top surface of the third contact plug (250) is higher than a top surface of the through via contact metal layer (238) (claim 25).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing manufacturing flexibility as taught by DAI, [0003]-[0004].
Claim(s) 21, 28 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn/Noh in view of LAI (Pub. No.: US 2022/0320140).
Re claim 28, Youn/Noh teaches all the limitation of claim 14.
Youn/Noh fails to teach the limitation of claim 28.
LAI teaches wherein a diameter of the polysilicon layer (828, FIG. 19, [0042]) is equal to a diameter of the first metal silicide layer (451, [0041]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing the connectivity by lowering the contact resistance as taught by LAI, [0002].
Re claim 33/21, Youn, FIG. 16J teaches a memory device, comprising:
a semiconductor layer (502/504),
a stacked structure (554/572) over the semiconductor layer, and a dielectric layer covering the semiconductor layer and the stacked structure;
a channel structure (520) disposed in a channel hole (T31, FIG. 16A) and extending through the stacked structure, wherein a polysilicon layer (736A), a first metal silicide layer (736B), and a through via contact metal layer (792) are sequentially stacked over a top of the channel structure within the channel hole and are laterally in contact with the same dielectric layer (top most layer 572+776); and
a second metal silicide layer (704) and a first contact plug (582) formed in the dielectric layer, wherein the second metal silicide layer (704) is located over the semiconductor layer (502/504), and the first contact plug (582) is located over the second metal silicide layer,
wherein the through via contact metal layer is configured to serve as a bit line contact plug (792, [0294]); and
a diameter of the through via contact metal layer (topmost surface of 792), and a diameter of the first metal silicide layer (736B) are equal (part of claim 21).
Youn fails to teach a diameter of the polysilicon layer and a diameter of the first metal silicide layer are equal (claim 33 and the rest of 21).
LAI teaches a diameter of the polysilicon layer (828, FIG. 19, [0042]), and a diameter of the first metal silicide layer (451, [0041]) are equal.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of enhancing the connectivity by lowering the contact resistance as taught by LAI, [0002].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 14-19 and 21-33 on the remarks filed on 05/15/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893