DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the claim amendments filed 6/2/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claim amendments overcome the 35 USC § 112 Claim Rejections from the previous office action and therefore it is withdrawn.
Claims 9 and 15, plus its dependent claims 16-20, recites the limitation "the plurality of driving elements". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degner et al., US 9,419,065, in view of Shin et al., US 2021/80183837.
Regarding claim 1, Degner (figure 5) teaches a display device, comprising:
a first display module, comprising:
a first support substrate 52 having a first side surface (left), a second side surface (right) opposite to the first side surface (left), a back surface (bottom) connecting the first side surface (left) and the second side surface (right), and a front surface (top) opposite to the back surface (bottom) and connecting the first side surface (left) and the second side surface (right);
a first flexible substrate 52, disposed on the front surface (top) of the first support substrate 52;
a first conductive circuit 51, disposed on (column 7, lines 4-6) the front surface (top) of the first support substrate 52;
a plurality of first electronic elements 54, disposed on the first conductive circuit 51, wherein the first conductive circuit 51 is located between the plurality of first electronic elements 54 and the first support substrate 48 and electrically connected to the plurality of first electronic elements 54; and
a protection layer 46, covering the plurality of first electronic elements 54 and the first conductive circuit 51;
wherein the first flexible substrate 52 and the first conductive circuit 51 are bent from the first side surface (top) of the first support substrate 52 to the back surface (bottom) of the first support substrate 52,
wherein the first conductive circuit 51 comprises a conductive pattern extending continuously from the front surface (top) of the first support substrate 52 to the back surface (bottom) of the first support substrate 52 along the first side surface (left) of the first support substrate 52, the protection layer 46 covers and contacts a top surface of the conductive pattern 51 disposed on the front surface (top) of the first support substrate 52, and exposes the conductive pattern 51 disposed on the back surface (bottom) of the first support substrate 52.
Degner fails to the protection layer contacts the conductive pattern disposed on the first side surface of the first support substrate, and exposes the conductive pattern disposed on the back surface of the first support substrate.
Shin (figure 6) teaches the protection layer 100 contacts the conductive pattern 46 disposed on the first side surface 45 of the first support substrate 40, and exposes the conductive pattern 46 disposed on the back surface 48 of the first support substrate 40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the protection layer of Shin in the invention of Degner because Shin (paragraphs 00134-00135) teaches it protects the diodes, the side surfaces, and the substrate from external forces.
With respect to claim 2, Degner (figure 5) teaches the first conductive circuit 51 comprises another conductive pattern (Degner paragraph 0055 states conductive traces, note the plural is used) disposed on the first flexible substrate 48 and continuously extending below one of the plurality of first electronic elements 54 from a top surface of the first flexible substrate 52 and electrically connected to one of the plurality of first electronic elements 54.
As to claim 3, Degner (figure 5) teaches the first conductive circuit 51 located between the plurality of first electronic elements 54 and the first support substrate 52 is disposed on the first flexible substrate 48.
In re claim 6, Shin (figure 6) teaches the protection layer 100 has a first portion covering the first side surface 45 of the first support substrate 40 and a second portion covering the front surface 41 of the first support substrate 40.
Concerning claim 7, Shin (figure 6) teaches a thickness of the first portion is less than or equal to a thickness of the second portion.
Pertaining to claim 9, though Degner (figure 5) fails to teach another protection layer, covering the plurality of driving elements 60, respectively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use another protection layer in the invention of Degner because a skilled artisan knows that another protection layer would protect the driving elements from eternal forces and from peeling. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In claim 15, Degner (figure 5) teaches a display device, comprising:
a first display module, comprising:
a first support substrate 52 having a first side surface (left), a second side surface (right) opposite to the first side surface (left), a back surface (bottom) connecting the first side surface (left) and the second side surface (right), and a front surface (top) opposite to the back surface (bottom) and connecting the first side surface (left) and the second side surface (right);
a first flexible substrate 48, disposed on the front surface (top) of the first support substrate 52;
a first conductive circuit 51, disposed on the front surface (top) of the first support substrate 52;
a plurality of first electronic elements 54, disposed on the first conductive circuit 51, wherein the first conductive circuit 51 is located between the plurality of first electronic elements 54 and the first support substrate 52 and electrically connected to the plurality of first electronic elements 54; and
a protection layer 46, covering the plurality of first electronic elements 54 and the first conductive circuit 51;
wherein the first flexible substrate 52 and the first conductive circuit 51 are bent from the first side surface (top) of the first support substrate 52 to the back surface (bottom) of the first support substrate 52, wherein a projection area of the first conductive circuit 51 on the back surface (bottom) of the first support substrate 52 is larger than a projection area of the driving elements 60 on the back surface (bottom) of the first support substrate 52,
wherein the first conductive circuit 51 comprises a conductive pattern 51 extending continuously from the front surface (top) of the first support substrate 52 to the back surface (bottom) of the first support substrate 52 along the first side surface (left) of the first support substrate 52, the protection layer 46 covers and contacts a top surface (paragraph 0055 teaches traces 51 on the first support substrate 52) of the conductive pattern 51 disposed on the front surface (top) of the first support substrate 52.
Degner fails to teach the protection layer covers and contacts the conductive pattern disposed on the first side surface of the first support substrate, and exposes the conductive pattern disposed on the back surface of the first support substrate.
Shin (figure 6) teaches the protection layer 100 contacts the conductive pattern 46 disposed on the first side surface 45 of the first support substrate 40, and exposes the conductive pattern 46 disposed on the back surface 48 of the first support substrate 40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the protection layer of Shin in the invention of Degner because Shin (paragraphs 00134-00135) teaches it protects the diodes, the side surfaces, and the substrate from external forces.
In claim 16, Degner (figure 5) teaches the first conductive circuit 51 comprises another conductive pattern (Degner paragraph 0055 states conductive traces, note the plural is used) disposed on the first flexible substrate 48 and continuously extending below one of the plurality of first electronic elements 54 from a top surface of the first flexible substrate 52 and electrically connected to one of the plurality of first electronic elements 54.
Regarding claim 17, Degner (figure 5) teaches the first conductive circuit 51 located between the plurality of first electronic elements 54 and the first support substrate 52 is disposed on the first flexible substrate 48.
With respect to claim 18, Shin (figure 6) teaches the protection layer 100 has a first portion covering the first side surface 45 of the first support substrate 40 and a second portion covering the front surface 41 of the first support substrate 40.
As to claim 19, Shin (figure 6) teaches a thickness of the first portion is less than or equal to a thickness of the second portion.
In re claim 20, though Degner (figure 5) fails to teach another protection layer, covering the plurality of driving elements 60, respectively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use another protection layer in the invention of Degner because a skilled artisan knows that another protection layer would protect the driving elements from eternal forces and from peeling. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art teach various aspects of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID A ZARNEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 7/6/26