DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment accompanying the Request for Continued Examination filed 17 March 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 are pending. Applicant's amendments have overcome the objection to the specification previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 5 February 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Claim 1 recites, “a second group of the clearances increase in width until reaching the second opening”. This feature is not illustrated in the present drawings. Instead, as best as can be determined, the second group of clearances initially increases when moving downward toward the second opening from the narrowest portion, then decreases in width, and then increases in width. See the annotated Fig. 5 (i.e., the version of Fig. 5 as amended 17 March 2026) below indicating an area of the second group of clearances that decrease in width. Due to the area of the second group of clearances that includes decreasing clearances, the second group of clearances as illustrated in the present drawings do not increase in width from the narrowest portion until reaching the second opening as required by claim 1. This feature is further discussed in the Claim Rejections – 35 USC 112 section below. Therefore, the features of the second group of clearances as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). The specification fails to include any antecedent basis for any ‘clearances’. As such, correction of the following is required: the specification should be amended to provide a specification antecedent basis for “clearances”, “a first group of the clearances”, and “a second group of the clearances” as now recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 at the final paragraph recites, “a second group of clearances increase in width from the narrowest portion until reaching the second opening”. This feature was not described in the specification as originally filed in such a way as to reasonably convey one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor(s) had possession of the feature at the time the application was filed. First, this feature is newly added to the claims in the amendment of 17 March 2026, and this feature was not recited in the claims as originally filed. Second, the drawings as originally filed do not illustrate this feature. Consider Fig. 5 as originally filed, which is annotated below. Fig. 5 as originally filed illustrates that, along a portion of the holding space above distance ‘C22’, distances between the battery and the inner surface of the main body decrease when moving downward toward the second opening. This is because the inner surface of the holding space includes a wall section indicated in the annotated Fig. 5 below that is angled toward the battery. Thus, while many of distances between the battery and the inner surface increase in magnitude when moving downward from the narrowest portion ‘225’, not all distances between the battery and the inner surface increase in width compared to high distances. Turning to the present specification as originally filed, it is true that paragraph 47 discloses distance ‘C22’ as being longer than distance ‘C21’. However, this disclosure does not require the second group of clearances increase in width from the narrowest portion until reaching the second opening as now recited in claim 1. Paragraph 47 is only comparing two distances, not describing all distances between the narrowest portion and the second opening as described in claim 1. Paragraph 48, as best understood, is merely rephrasing paragraph 47, as evidenced by the phrase, “In other words, ...” to begin paragraph 48. Paragraph 48 thus also appears to only describe a comparison of two distances, and paragraph 48 does not describe the distances as increasing “until reaching the second opening” as recited in claim 1 (e.g., paragraph 48 merely states “as near the second opening 222”, and being near the second opening is not the same as reaching the second opening). There is nothing in paragraphs 47 and 48 that precludes the paragraphs from describing the structure that is illustrated in Fig. 5 as originally filed. As such, the present application as originally filed does not reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art the feature of “a second group of the clearances increase in width from the narrowest portion until reaching the second opening” as now recited in claim 1.
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 at the final paragraph recites, “the clearances define the holding space and directly face the outer surface”. This recitation is indefinite in view of the present specification. As best understood, the ‘clearances’ as disclosed are spaces between the battery and the main body, such that the clearances are areas where empty space is present. This interpretation is consistent with the plain and ordinary meaning of a ‘clearance’, which is the distance between two objects; an amount of clear space per dictionary.com. Assuming that the applicant intends the various distances ‘C1’, ‘C2’, ‘C11’, etc. as being ‘clearances’, these clearances do not “directly face the outer surface [of the battery]”. Instead, the clearances are the distances between the outer surface of the battery and the inner surface of the main body. Since a ‘clearance’ is distance between the outer surface of the battery and the inner surface of the main body, it is unclear how clearances can “define the holding space and directly face the outer surface”. A clearance, being a distance between two objects, does not ‘face’ anything. Does claim 1 at the final paragraph include a typographical error, where the Applicant intended to recite – the inner surface defines the holding space and directly faces the outer surface –? This interpretation would be consistent with the present specification. However, it is not clear that this interpretation is intended because the interpretation involves a re-writing of the claim. The examiner suggests avoiding reciting that “clearances” define the holding space and directly face the outer surface, and instead reciting that some structure (rather than a distance or empty space) such as the inner surface of the main body defines the holding space and directly faces the outer surface.
Claim 6 introduces, “a rear side outer surface” of the battery, among other outer surfaces of the battery. Claim 6 is indefinite because the relationship between the ‘rear side outer surface’ of the battery and the ‘outer surface’ of the battery as already introduced in claim 1 is unclear. Can the rear side outer surface of claim 1 be the same outer surface already introduced in claim 1, or must claim 5 be interpreted as introducing a new outer surface as suggested by the use of “a”? As disclosed in the present application, the ‘outer surface’ described in claim 1 is the rear side outer surface (see Fig. 5 of the present drawings), such that the present specification suggests that claim 5 need not necessarily be introducing a new outer surface despite the use of “a” and the new descriptor “rear side”.
Claim 8 introduces, “a rear side outer surface” of the battery. This recitation is indefinite because the relationship between the ‘rear side outer surface’ of the battery and the ‘outer surface’ of the battery as already introduced in claim 1 is unclear for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Claim 10 introduces, “a rear side outer surface” of the battery. This recitation is indefinite because the relationship between the ‘rear side outer surface’ of the battery and the ‘outer surface’ of the battery as already introduced in claim 1 is unclear for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Claim 11 introduces, “a rear side outer surface” of the battery. This recitation is indefinite because the relationship between the ‘rear side outer surface’ of the battery and the ‘outer surface’ of the battery as already introduced in claim 1 is unclear for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2019/0262753 A1 to Miura et al.
Regarding claim 1, Miura discloses an electric working machine 1, comprising:
a main body 10;
a motor 30 housed in the main body 10 (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 20), the motor 30 being configured to operate by electric power supplied from a battery 50 (see paragraph 19);
an electric working assembly (including guide bar 21 and saw chain 22) that is provided at the main body 10 (see Figs. 1 and 4), the electric working assembly having a saw chain 22, the saw chain 22 of the electric working assembly being configured to operate due to rotation of the motor 30 (see paragraph 39); and
a battery holder 16 that is provided in the main body 10 (see Fig. 1), the battery holder 16 having a holding space (see the space defined within the battery holder 16 in Figs. 2 and 3) in which the battery 50 is configured to be inserted in an insertion direction (compare Figs. 1 and 2; the insertion direction is approximately perpendicular to a plane defined at a top, open end of the battery holder 16 relative to Fig. 2), the battery holder 16 holding the battery 50 (see Fig. 1), wherein
the electric working machine 1 has a longitudinal structure formed by the main body 10 and the electric working assembly (the machine 1 has a longitudinal structure because the main body 10, including the handle 62, and the guide bar 21 extend longitudinally in a front-rear direction relative to the directional key of Fig. 1), the electric working machine 1 is elongated along a front-rear direction (see Fig. 1), and the front-rear direction is perpendicular to a left-right direction in plan view (see the directional key in Fig. 1),
when the electric working machine 1 is placed on a base (e.g., relative to the directional key included in Fig. 1, which is an orientation of the machine 1 that is achievable by placing the machine 1 on a base):
a tip of the electric working assembly faces toward a front side along the front-rear direction (see Fig. 1 – the tip of the electric working assembly is at a front end of the guide bar 21 and chain 22); and
an end of the main body 10 faces toward a rear side along the front-rear direction (see Fig. 1, where the end of the main body 10 can be either of the end of the portion receiving the lead line for reference character ‘11’ in Fig. 1, or alternatively a rear-most end of handle 62 of the main body 10, noting that a main body can have more than one ‘end’, since each individual portion of the main body 10 may have its own respective end),
the battery holder 16 includes a first opening (the first opening being an opening facing approximately in the ‘Up’ direction relative to Fig. 2) and a second opening 82 (see Figs. 2 and 3; either of the openings 82 can be considered as the ‘second opening’), and the holding space is formed continuously from the first opening to the second opening 82 (see Fig. 2, where there is a continuous empty space from the first opening to the second opening 82; indeed, in Fig. 3, even with the battery 50 in the holding space, there is still a continuous formation of the holding space from the first opening at the gap 81 to the second opening 82),
the battery 50 has a preceding surface located on an insertion-direction-forward side (see the annotated Fig. 3 below showing three options for ‘a preceding surface’; regarding the third option, note that a preceding surface can be curved and is not limited to a planar surface, and note also that the downward facing portion of the third option of the preceding surface is joined to the oblique portions of the third option of the preceding surface by curves, such that all three portions can properly be considered as ‘a preceding surface’; note also, in regards to first and second options of the preceding surface, that the battery 50 may have more than one ‘preceding surface’, since the broadest reasonable interpretation of a ‘preceding surface’ is any surface that precedes entry of the battery into the holder relative to any other surface of the battery, such as preceding entry of the following surface) and a following surface located on an insertion-direction-rearward side (see the annotated Fig. 3 below),
the preceding surface faces forward (see Fig. 3, where the preceding surface faces ‘forward’ relative to the insertion direction; note that the claim only mentions the term ‘forward’ in the context of the insertion-direction-forward side, so it is proper to consider ‘forward’ as being defined with respect to the insertion direction consistent with lines 22-23 of the claim; line 17 of the claim introduces a different ‘front-rear direction’), and the following surface faces rearward (see Fig. 3, where the following surface faces ‘rearward’ relative to the insertion direction; note that the claim only mentions the term ‘rearward’ in the context of the insertion-direction-rearward side, so it is proper to consider ‘rearward’ as being defined with respect to the insertion direction consistent with lines 22-23 of the claim; line 17 of the claim introduces a different ‘front-rear direction’), and
while the battery 50 is held in the holding space:
the preceding surface of the battery 50 is located inward of the second opening 82 in the insertion direction (see the second annotated Fig. 3 below, where a vertical line along the plane of the page corresponds to the ‘insertion direction’, and this line, when moving upward along the plane of the page, passes through the second opening 82 prior to passing through the preceding surface; as such, when measuring along the insertion direction, the preceding surface of the battery 50 is inward of the second opening 82; the same is true for the other options of the preceding surface);
the second opening 82 is positioned at a location opposing the preceding surface of the battery 50 along the insertion direction (see the second annotated Fig. 3 below);
a passage path extending from the first opening toward the second opening 82 is formed in the holding space (see Fig. 3, where the passage path extends from gap 81 to the second opening 82 as can be seen in Fig. 3), such that chips or dust entering the holding space through the first opening (as contemplated at paragraph 60, which acknowledges that some dust particles enter through the gap 81 defined at the first opening) are discharged through the second opening 82 (see paragraph 61); and
clearances are formed between an outer surface of the battery 50 (e.g., a left facing surface of the battery relative to Fig. 3) and an inner surface of the main body (see the annotated portion of Fig. 3 below; in the annotated portion of Fig. 3 below, the clearances are spaces measured in a left-right direction along the plane of the page from the inner surface of the main body to the outer surface of the battery 50), and the clearances define the holding space and directly face the outer surface (these features are satisfied to the same extent as disclosed in the present application, noting that indefiniteness of this recitation as discussed above; e.g., the clearances are their left ends extend to the holding space and at their right ends extend to the outer surface), wherein a first group of the clearances decrease in width toward a narrowest position along the insertion direction (see the annotated portion of Fig. 3 below, where the first group of clearances is between the ‘upper end of the first group of clearances’ and the ‘narrowest portion), the narrowest position is located at an intermediate position of the inner surface along the insertion direction (see Fig. 3; the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘intermediate’ is any location between the extreme ends of the inner surface, since the definition of ‘intermediate’ includes between extremes, such that the intermediate position need not be at the exact center of the inner surface; the narrowest portion of Miura is intermediate of the top and bottom points of the inner surface), one of the clearances at the narrowest position is a narrowest of the clearances (see the annotated portion of Fig. 3 below, noting that the ‘narrowest’ of the clearances is the narrowest among the first and second groups of clearances; note that the claim includes the preamble of ‘comprising’, such that the claim permits there to be some additional group of clearances in addition to the clearances indicated in the annotated portion of Fig. 3 below), and a second group of the clearances increase in width from the narrowest position until reaching the second opening (see the annotated portion of Fig. 3 below, where the second group of clearances extends from the ‘narrowest portion’ to the ‘lower end of the second group of clearances’; the widths of the second group of clearances increase moving downward due to the battery sloping inward as the battery extends downward from the narrowest portion).
Regarding claim 2, Miura discloses that the second opening 82 is positioned lower than the first opening along the insertion direction (see Fig. 1, where the second opening 82 is lower than the first opening in view of the ‘Up’ and ‘Down’ direction in the figure; the insertion direction is nearly aligned with the ‘Up’ and ‘Down’ direction in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Miura discloses the second opening 82 is positioned outward of the preceding surface of the battery 50 along the insertion direction (see Fig. 3 – a vertical line along the plane of the page passes through the preceding surface before the second opening 82).
Regarding claim 4, Miura discloses that the second opening 82 has a shape and a size that do not allow the battery 50 to pass therethrough (see Fig. 1; the battery 50 is unable to pass through the second opening 82).
Regarding claim 5, Miura discloses that the main body 10 partially aligns with the preceding surface of the battery 50 in the plan view (see the surface labeled 16b in Fig. 3 – this surface aligns with a portion of each of the options for the preceding surface).
Regarding claim 6, Miura discloses that in the main body 10, a distance from one side outer surface of a front side outer surface, a rear side outer surface, a left side outer surface, and a right side outer surface of the battery 50 (e.g., a surface on a right side of the battery 50 relative to Fig. 3) held in the holding space to a first point of the battery holder 16 directly facing the one side outer surface is longer than a distance from the one side outer surface to a second point of the battery holder directly facing the one side outer surface (see the annotated Fig. below, where both distances are measured from the right side of the battery 50 horizontally to the respective first or second point), and the first point is located closer to the second opening 82 than the second point when the battery 50 is inserted into the holding space of the battery holder (see the annotated Fig. below).
Regarding claim 7, Miura discloses that the electric working assembly further includes a rear handle 62 and a guide bar 21 on which [i.e., on the guide bar 21] the saw chain 22 is provided (see Fig. 1), wherein the guide bar 21 is provided on one of a right side and a left side of a center of the rear handle 62 in the left-right direction (a right side; see Figs. 1 and 4 and paragraph 38), and the second opening 82 is provided on the other of the right side and the left side of the center of the rear handle 62 in the left-right direction (see the second opening 82 on the ‘left’ side of the handle 62 in Fig. 5; note also that even the ‘third option’ for the second opening satisfies this requirement since the third option includes the second opening being provided on both right and left sides of the center).
Regarding claim 8, Miura discloses that in the main body 10, a crevice space (a space at opening 16a as shown in Fig. 3) is formed on a side of the first opening (see Fig. 1) where a distance between a rear side outer surface of the battery 50 (the ‘rear side outer surface’ of the battery being a side surface of the battery 50 adjacent the rear end of the battery along the insertion direction – i.e., the rear side surface faces the crevice space relative to Fig. 3) and the inner surface of the main body facing the rear side outer surface of the battery is equal to or greater than a first distance (see Fig. 3, this claim limitation is satisfied because no requirements are made of the first distance; the first distance can be any arbitrary distance, inclusive of a distance that is less than the distance between the rear side outer surface of the battery 50 and the surface of the main body facing the side surface within the battery holder).
Regarding claim 9, Miura discloses that the main body 10 is configured to provide a non-slip property on the inner surface forming the crevice space (see the annotated Fig. 3 below; the horizontal projection within the circled area provides a ‘non-slip property’ because the horizontal projection provides an upward facing surface against which a user’s finger or thumb can press, which surface reduces the likelihood of the user’s finger of thumb slipping further downward).
Regarding claim 10, Miura discloses the holding space is formed from the first opening to the second opening 82 in such a manner that a distance between a rear side outer surface of the battery 50 held in the holding space and the inner surface facing the rear side outer surface of the battery is equal to or greater than a second distance (see Fig. 3 – the rear side surface of the battery is a side surface of the battery adjacent the rear end of the battery along the insertion direction, and this side surface faces an inner surface of the battery holder of the main body; this claim limitation is satisfied because no requirements are made of the second distance, such that the second distance can be any arbitrary distance, inclusive of a distance that is less than the distance between the rear side surface of the battery 50 and the inner surface of the main body).
Regarding claim 11, Miura discloses that the main body 10 includes a first guide configured to guide a front side outer surface of the battery 50 (the front side surface of the battery labeled in the annotated Fig. below as a ‘first side surface’) and a second guide configured to guide a rear side outer surface of the battery 50 (the rear side surface of the battery labeled in the annotated Fig. below as a ‘second side surface’) during insertion of the battery 50 into the holding space of the battery holder 16 (see the annotated Fig. 2 below – each of the indicated guides is a ‘guide’ because the first or second side of the battery 50 can be slid along either of these guides during insertion of the battery 50; this interpretation of a surface being a ‘guide’ is consistent with the present specification, where surfaces without any particular structural features are considered ‘guides’; note that also consistent with the present disclosure, both of the first and second guides need not necessary be capable of simultaneously guiding the battery).
Regarding claim 12, Miura discloses that the main body 10 includes a third opening 82 (i.e., there are two openings 82; one of these openings is the ‘second opening’ introduced in claim 1, and the other of these two openings 82 is the ‘third opening’ of claim 12) through which one of the left side outer surface and the right side outer surface of the battery 50 is exposed to an outside (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Miura discloses that the battery 50 is configured to be moved in a direction opposite to the insertion direction by applying a force to the preceding surface of the battery 50 through the second opening 50 along a direction opposite to the insertion direction (see Fig. 3 and paragraph 62).
Regarding claim 14, Miura discloses that the passage path is also configured as an air passage through which air passes from the first opening toward the second opening 82 (see Fig. 3, where there are two arrows adjacent gaps 81 indicating air passes from the first opening in a downward direction, where the downward direction is ‘toward the second opening’), thereby suppressing heat accumulation of the battery 50 held in the holding space (see paragraph 43, describing a ‘cooling’ ability; cooling takes place so long as the ambient air introduced into the holding space is cooler than the battery 50, such as if the machine is used in a cold outdoor environment).
Regarding claim 15, Miura discloses that the main body 10 includes an air intake port 82 (the air intake port 82 being the other one of openings 82 besides the second opening 82; note that there are two openings 82, such that one of the openings 82 is the second opening and the other is the air intake port) configured to introduce cooling air into the main body 10 (see Fig. 3 and paragraphs 43 and 60); the air intake port is different from each of the first opening and the second opening (see Fig. 3, where there are three different openings; e.g., the air intake port is different from the second opening due to being on an opposing side of a centerline of the machine).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 distinguishing over Miura, the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because the arguments fail to address the particular interpretation of Miura relied on above. That is, since the ‘clearances’ of claim 1 are required to include, but not consist of, a first group of clearance and a second group of clearance, Miura teaches the first and second groups of clearances in the vicinity of the ‘narrowest position’ as indicated in the annotated portion of Fig. 3 of Miura above, where these first and second groups of clearances of Miura satisfy the requirements of claim 1. Although the examiner indicated in the Interview Summary of 26 February 2026 that amending claim 1 to require that the second group of clearances increases in width until reaching the second opening would appear to overcome Miura, the examiner failed to contemplate that the second group of clearances could be the group identified in the annotated portion of Fig. 3 of Miura above. (However, the examiner was proposing alternative language relative to the Applicant’s interview agenda on the spot after explaining the broadest reasonable interpretation of the Applicant’s originally proposed language, so the examiner did not have time to contemplate the ‘until reaching the second opening’ requirement in depth.) Since Miura does disclose the features at issue, claim 1 remains rejected as being anticipated by Miura.
Conclusion
/EVAN H MACFARLANE/Examiner, Art Unit 3724