DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-20 of copending Application No. 17/660,182. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims and the instant claims are drawn to overlapping subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,598,909. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims and the instant claims are drawn to overlapping subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al (US 2020/0168819) (Ahn).
In reference to claims 1-4 and 8-20, Ahn teaches an organic light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, an organic layer between them and including an emission layer, hole transport layer, and electron transport layer and a heterocyclic compound of formula 1 as shown below in the emission layer with a dopant of formula 401 (Ahn abstract, [0004], [0007] [0115])
for example, wherein in the formula 1, X1 to X3 are each N, Ar1 is 2-3(1), Ar2 is 2-1(1), Ar3 is 2-1(2), wherein Z14 is phenyl Z11 to Z13 are each hydrogen (Ahn [0037] to [0039] [0081] [0083]).
Ahn discloses the compound of formula 1 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the formula 1, X1 to X3 are each N, Ar1 is 2-3(1), Ar2 is 2-1(1), Ar3 is 2-1(2), wherein Z14 is phenyl Z11 to Z13 are each hydrogen. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Ahn are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 1 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Ahn and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on the claimed device wherein Ar11, Ar12, Ar13, Ar21, Ar22, and Ar23 are each benzene, X1 to X3 are each N, X4 is CR4, R4 is phenyl, Y1 is silyl, a21 is 1 and E21 is phenyl.
For Claim 2: Reads on the claimed layers.
For Claim 3: Reads on the emitting layer comprises the compound.
For Claim 4: Reads on a dopant of 401.
For Claim 8: Reads on a compound as claimed.
For Claim 9: Reads on wherein X4 is CR4, R4 is phenyl.
For Claim 10: Reads on E11 is phenyl.
For Claim 11: Reads on s ingle bond.
For Claim 12: Reads on single bond.
For Claim 13: Reads on hydrogen .
For Claim 14: Reads on 1.
For Claim 15: Reads on 0.
For Claim 16: Reads on 1a.
For Claim 17: Reads on 1b-15.
For Claim 18: Reads on 2a.
For Claim 19: Reads on formula 2-1.
For Claim 20: Reads on compound 1.
In reference to claim 5, Ahn teaches the device as described above for claim 1. Ahn does not exemplify this exact device but other devices of similar structure and demonstrates EQE values of equal to or greater than about 20% (See e.g. Ahn Table 2). Further the property of the device is a result of its composition and therefore the device meeting the composition would be expected to perform similarly.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al (US 2020/0168819) (Ahn) in view of Song et al (US 2020/0028084) (Song).
In reference to claim 6-7, Ahn teaches the device as described above for claim 1 but does not expressly state that it comprises the claimed thin-film transistor configuration or a color filter, color conversion layer, touch screen layer, a polarizing layer or combination thereof. However, such features are exceptionally well known in the art of organic light emitting devices.
With respect to the difference, Song teaches, in analogous art, display devices with similar materials comprising thin film transistors, source and drain electrodes (Song [0132] to [0134]) and a color filter (Song [0143]).
It would have been obvious to use the device configuration of Song including well known elements such as thin film transistors, source and drain electrodes and a color filter with the expectation of providing an organic EL display device with improved color characteristics, efficiency and lifespan (Song abstract).
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786