DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 2024/0030336) in view of Sun (US 2014/0042440).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a p-GaN high-electron-mobility transistor, comprising: a buffer layer (Fig.1, numeral 14) stacked on a substrate (12); a channel layer (16) stacked on the buffer layer (14); a supply layer (180 stacked on the channel layer (16), wherein a source (28a) and a drain (30) are electrically connected to the channel layer (16) and the supply layer (18), respectively; a doped layer (22R1); (22R2) ( [0045]) stacked on the supply layer (18), wherein a gate (24) is located on the doped layer (22R1), wherein the dopant is any one of alkaline earth metals ([0050]; note: the limitaiton “formed by doping….” is a product -by-process limitaiton. And according to MPEP 2113, I; "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).).
Ito does not disclose a hydrogen barrier layer covering the supply layer and the doped layer, wherein the hydrogen barrier layer is doped with fluorine, wherein a material of the hydrogen barrier layer includes fluorine-doped silicon dioxide, fluorine-doped gallium oxide, or fluorine-doped aluminum oxide.
Ito however discloses a passivation layer (26) covering the supply layer (18) and the doped layer (22R1), (22R2). And Sun discloses a passivation (Fig. 6B, numeral 410 [0061]) wherein the passivation layer is doped with fluorine ([0031]; [0061]), wherein a material of the hydrogen barrier layer includes fluorine-doped silicon dioxide, fluorine-doped gallium oxide, or fluorine-doped aluminum oxide ([0031]). And because a passivation layer doped with fluorine is made from the same material as Applicant’s invention ([0031]; note: aluminum oxide) it inherently has the same hydrogen barrier properties.
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ito with Sun to have a hydrogen barrier layer covering the supply layer and the doped layer, wherein the hydrogen barrier layer is doped with fluorine, wherein a material of the hydrogen barrier layer includes fluorine-doped aluminum oxide for the purpose of improving electrode performance (Sun, [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Ito discloses wherein the doped layer is a p-GaN layer formed by doping a GaN material with a dopant, and wherein the dopant is magnesium ([0050]; note: the limitaiton “formed by doping….” is a product -by-process limitaiton. And according to MPEP 2113, I; "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).).
Regarding claims 4-7, Ito in view of Sun discloses wherein a fluorine-containing gas is introduced in a process of growing the hydrogen barrier layer through deposition, wherein the fluorine-containing gas is carbon tetrafluoride, trifluoromethane, difluoromethane, or fluoromethane, wherein the deposition is atomic layer deposition, physical vapor deposition, or chemical vapor deposition; wherein the fluorine-containing gas is introduced at a flow rate of 5-100 cm3/min (note: the limitation “wherein a fluorine-containing gas is introduced in a process of growing the hydrogen barrier..” is a product -by-process limitaiton. And according to MPEP 2113, I; "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). And because hydrogen barrier layer is the same as hydrogen barrier layer of Applicant’s invention, this limitaiton is considered to be met.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891