Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 38 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 38 recited amended claim limitation in lines 16-17. Amendment to claim 38 is not properly marked by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions).
All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of "currently amended," and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25, 27-28, 31-34, 36, and 38- 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. 2007/0152331, hereinafter refer to Kang) in view of West et al. (U.S. 2012/0235296 A1, hereinafter refer to West).
Regarding Claim 21: Kang discloses an apparatus (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown below and ¶ [0003]) comprising:
a first component (110) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above);
a second component (120) having a surface (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above);
a first solder joint (130/132/pad portion of 122) between the first component (110) and the surface of the second component (120) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above), the first solder joint (pad portion of 122/130/132) comprising:
a solder structure (136) comprising a first metal (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]); and
a bump structure (pad portion of 122/138) between the solder structure (136) and the second component (120) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above), the bump structure (pad portion of 122/138) comprising:
an inner portion (pad portion of 122) comprising a second metal, the inner portion (pad portion of 122) having a sidewall perpendicular to the surface of the second component (120), the sidewall having a length (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]); and
an outer portion (138) comprising an intermetallic compound (IMC) of the first metal and the second metal, the IMC between and in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure (pad portion of 122) and the solder structure (136), wherein the IMC extends along the length of the sidewall (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]);
a second solder joint (pad portion of 122/130/132) between the first component (110) and the second component (120) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above); and
a dielectric material (140) between the first solder joint (pad portion of 122/130/132) and the second solder joint (pad portion of 122/130/132) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Kang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein, along the length of the sidewall, the outer portion of the bump structure is between and in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure and the dielectric material.
For support see West, which teaches wherein, along the length of the sidewall, the outer portion (426) of the bump structure is between and in contact with the inner portion (425) of the bump structure and the dielectric material (air, note: air is known as the most preferred dielectric material) (see west, Fig.4 as shown below and ¶ [0006]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and West to enable the Kang’s sidewall of the outer portion of the bump structure to be in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure and the dielectric material as taught by West in order to prevent IMC-induced cracking.
Regarding Claim 22: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the bump structure (pad portion of 122/138) has a rectangular cross- section (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 23: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the first metal is tin (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]).
Regarding Claim 24: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the dielectric material (140) between the first solder joint and the second solder joint is an underfill material (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 25: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 24 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the underfill material (140, Figs.2-3) surrounds the first solder joint and the second solder joint (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 27: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the outer portion of the bump structure (138) is in contact with the second component (120) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 28: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the outer portion of the bump structure (138) is a liner partially surrounding the inner portion of the bump structure (122) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 31: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the first component (110) comprises an interconnect (through substrate (120) portion of 122) in contact with the bump structure, and a width of the interconnect (through substrate (120) portion of 122) is less than a width of the bump structure (pad portion of 122/138) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 32: Kang discloses an apparatus (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0003]) comprising:
a plurality of solder joints (130/132/pad portion of 122), wherein a first solder joint of the plurality of solder joints (130/132/pad portion of 122) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above) comprises:
a solder structure (136) comprising a first metal (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]); and
a bump structure (pad portion of 122/138) in contact with the solder structure (136) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above), the bump structure (pad portion of 122/138) comprising:
an inner portion (pad portion of 122) comprising a second metal, the inner portion (pad portion of 122) having a sidewall, the sidewall having a length (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]); and
an outer portion (138) comprising an intermetallic compound (IMC) of the first metal and the second metal, the IMC between and in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure (pad portion of 122) and the solder structure (136), wherein the IMC extends along the length of the sidewall (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]); and
a dielectric material (140) surrounding the plurality of solder joints (130/132/pad portion of 122) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Kang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the outer portion of the bump structure is between and in contact with the sidewall of the inner portion of the bump structure and the dielectric material.
For support see West, which teaches wherein the outer portion of the bump structure (426) is between and in contact with the sidewall of the inner portion of the bump structure (425) and the dielectric material (air, note: air is known as the most preferred dielectric material) (see west, Fig.4 as shown above and ¶ [0006]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and West to enable the Kang’s sidewall of the outer portion of the bump structure to be in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure and the dielectric material as taught by West in order to prevent IMC-induced cracking.
Regarding Claim 33: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 32 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the plurality of solder joints (130/132/pad portion of 122) are coupled to a die (110/120) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 34: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 32 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the dielectric material (140, Figs.2-3 or 50, Fig.15) is underfill (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and see Liu, Fig.15 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 36: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 32 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the outer portion of the bump structure (138) is a liner partially surrounding the inner portion of the bump structure (pad portion of 122) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 38: Kang discloses an apparatus (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0003]) comprising:
a first component (110) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above);
a second component (120) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above); and
a solder joint (130/132/pad portion of 122) between the first component (110) and the second component (120) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above), the solder joint (130/132/pad portion of 122) comprising:
a solder structure (136) comprising a first metal (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]); and
a bump structure (138/ pad portion of 122) between the solder structure (136) and the second component (120) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]), the bump structure (138/ pad portion of 122) comprising:
an inner portion (pad portion of 122) comprising a second metal, the inner portion (pad portion of 122) having a top surface and a sidewall, the sidewall perpendicular to the top surface of the second component (120), and the sidewall having a length (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]); and
an outer portion (138) comprising an intermetallic compound (IMC) of the first metal and the second metal, the IMC between and in contact with the top surface of the inner portion of the bump structure (pad portion of 122) and the solder structure (136), wherein the IMC (138) extends along the length of the sidewall of the inner portion (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]); and
a dielectric material (140) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Kang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the IMC is between and in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure and the dielectric material.
For support see West, which teaches wherein the IMC (426) is between and in contact with the inner portion (425) of the bump structure and the dielectric material (air, note: air is known as the most preferred dielectric material) (see west, Fig.4 as shown above and ¶ [0006]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and West to enable the IMC to be between and in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure and the dielectric material as taught by West in order to prevent IMC-induced cracking.
Regarding Claim 39: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 38 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the IMC (138) in contact with the second component (120) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 40: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 38 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the solder joint (130/132/pad portion of 122) is surrounded by a dielectric material (140), and the IMC (138) is between the inner portion of the bump structure (pad portion of 122) and the dielectric material (140) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 41: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 32 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the dielectric material (140) is not in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure (pad portion of 122) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 42: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 38 as above. The combination of Kang and West further teaches wherein the solder structure (136) is over and in contact with the top surface of the bump structure (pad portion of 122/138) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Claim(s) 29 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. 2007/0152331, hereinafter refer to Kang) and West et al. (U.S. 2012/0235296 A1, hereinafter refer to West) as applied to claims 21 and 32 above, and further in view of Hsu et al. (U.S. 2024/0063159 A1, hereinafter refer to Hsu).
Regarding Claim 29: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as applied to claim 21 above. The combination of Kang and West is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint is less than 25 microns.
For support see Hsu, which teaches wherein a distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint is less than 25 microns (see Hsu, Fig.1A, ¶ [0030], and ¶ [0038]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang, West, and Hsu to enable distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint of Kang to be less than 25 microns as taught by Hsu in order to obtain a reliability of the electrical connection.
Regarding Claim 37: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as applied to claim 32 above. The combination of Kang and West is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a distance between the first solder joint and a second solder joint of the plurality of solder joints is less than 25 microns.
For support see Hsu, which teaches wherein a distance between the first solder joint and a second solder joint of the plurality of solder joints is less than 25 microns (see Hsu, Fig.1A, ¶ [0030], and ¶ [0038]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang, West, and Hsu to enable distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint of Kang to be less than 25 microns as taught by Hsu in order to obtain a reliability of the electrical connection.
Claim(s) 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. 2007/0152331, hereinafter refer to Kang) and West et al. (U.S. 2012/0235296 A1, hereinafter refer to West) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Hwang (U.S. 2007/0128883 A1, hereinafter refer to Hwang).
Regarding Claim 30: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as applied to claim 21 above. The combination of Kang and West is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the inner portion of the bump structure has a rough outer edge that is in contact with the outer portion of the bump structure.
For support see Hwang, which teaches wherein the inner portion of the bump structure (605/602) has a rough outer edge that is in contact with the outer portion of the bump structure (640) (see Hwang, Figs.6 and ¶ [0034]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang, West, and Hwang to enable the inner portion of the bump structure of Kang to have a rough outer edge that is in contact with the outer portion of the bump structure as taught by Hwang in order to provide a reliable coupling, physically, thermally, or electrically between interconnects as part of an electrical device or a semiconductor device.
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812