DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hosomi et al. (U.S. 2001/0027007 A1, hereinafter refer to Hosomi).
Regarding Claim 21: Hosomi discloses an apparatus (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown below and ¶ [0003]) comprising:
a first component (10) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above);
a second component (20) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above);
a first solder joint between the first component (10) and the second component (20) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above), the first solder joint comprising:
a solder structure (30/21) comprising a first metal (30/21) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above); and
a bump structure (12/40) between the solder structure (30/21) and the second component (20) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above), the bump structure (12/40) comprising:
an inner portion comprising a second metal (12) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above); and
an outer portion comprising an intermetallic compound (IMC) (40) of the first metal (30/21) and the second metal (12), the IMC (40) between and in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure (12) and the solder structure (30/21) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above and ¶ [0033]- ¶ [0034]);
a second solder joint between the first component (10) and the second component (20) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above); and
a dielectric material (50) between the first solder joint and the second solder joint (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above),
wherein the outer portion of the bump structure (40) is between and in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure (12) and the dielectric material (50) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 31: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. Hosomi further teaches wherein the first component (10) comprises an interconnect (14) in contact with the bump structure (12/40), and a width of the interconnect (40) is less than a width of the bump structure (12/40) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 32: Hosomi discloses an apparatus (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above and ¶ [0003]) comprising:
a plurality of solder joints (21/30/40/12) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above), wherein a first solder joint (21/30/40/12) of the plurality of solder joints comprises:
a solder structure (30/21) comprising a first metal (30/21) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above); and
a bump structure (12/40) in contact with the solder structure (30/21) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above), the bump structure (12/40) comprising:
an inner portion comprising a second metal (12) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above); and
an outer portion comprising an intermetallic compound (IMC) (40) of the first metal (30/21) and the second metal (12), the IMC (40) between and in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure (12) and the solder structure (30/21) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above and ¶ [0033]- ¶ [0034]); and
a dielectric material (50) surrounding the plurality of solder joints (21/30/40/12), wherein the outer portion of the bump structure (40) is between and in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure (12) and the dielectric material (50) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 33: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as set forth in claim 32 as above. Hosomi further teaches wherein the plurality of solder joints (21/30/40/12) are coupled to a die (10/20) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 and 26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosomi et al. (U.S. 2001/0027007 A1, hereinafter refer to Hosomi).
Regarding Claim 23: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as applied to claim 21 above. Hosomi embodiment 1, Figs.1-2 is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the first metal is tin.
However, Hosomi, embodiment 2, Figs.8-9 teaches wherein the first metal (121) is tin (see Hosomi, Figs.8-9 as shown below and ¶ [0010]- ¶ [0013]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of embodiment 1 and embodiment 2 of Hosomi to enable the first metal of embodiment 1 to be tin as taught by embodiment 2 of Hosomi in order to from Au-Sn intermetallic compound layer.
Regarding Claim 26: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as applied to claim 21 above. Hosomi embodiment 1, Figs.1-2 is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the inner portion of the bump structure comprise a sidewall, and the outer portion of the bump structure extends along the sidewall of the inner portion of the bump structure.
However, Hosomi, embodiment 2, Figs.8-9 teaches wherein the inner portion of the bump structure (123) comprise a sidewall, and the outer portion of the bump structure (122) extends along the sidewall of the inner portion of the bump structure (123) (see Hosomi, Figs.8-9 as shown above and ¶ [0010]- ¶ [0013]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of embodiment 1 and embodiment 2 of Hosomi to enable the inner portion of the bump structure to comprise a sidewall, and the outer portion of the bump structure extends along the sidewall of the inner portion of the bump structure as taught by embodiment 2 of Hosomi in order to from Au-Sn intermetallic compound layer.
Claim(s) 22, 24-25, 28, 34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosomi et al. (U.S. 2001/0027007 A1, hereinafter refer to Hosomi) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Gandhi (U.S. 2015/0340328 A1, hereinafter refer to Gandhi).
Regarding Claim 22: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as applied to claim 21 above. Hosomi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the bump structure has a rectangular cross-section.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed configuration of bump structure were known in order to improve a method and structure that facilitate the interconnection of semiconductor dice.
For support see Gandhi, which teaches wherein the bump structure (406a/408a/410) has a rectangular cross-section (see Gandhi, Fig.2 as shown below and ¶ [0006]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosomi and Gandhi to enable the Hosomi bump structure to have a rectangular cross-section as taught by Gandhi in order to improve a method and structure that facilitate the interconnection of semiconductor dice.
Regarding Claim 24: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as applied to claim 21 above. Hosomi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the dielectric material between the first solder joint and the second solder joint is an underfill material.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed underfill material were known to be disposed between the first solder joint and the second solder joint in order to improve a method and structure that facilitate the interconnection of semiconductor dice.
For support see Gandhi, which teaches wherein the dielectric material (414) between the first solder joint (406/408/410) and the second solder joint (406/408/410) is an underfill material (see Gandhi, Fig.2 as shown above, ¶ [0006], and ¶ [0042]).
Hosomi discloses the claimed invention except for the material of dielectric material. Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosomi and Gandhi to enable the known underfill dielectric material as taught by Gandhi in order to improve a method and structure that facilitate the interconnection of semiconductor dice, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 25: Hosomi as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 14 as above. Hosomi further teaches wherein the underfill material (414) surrounds the first solder joint and the second solder joint (see Gandhi, Fig.2 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 28: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as applied to claim 21 above. Hosomi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the outer portion of the bump structure is a liner partially surrounding the inner portion of the bump structure.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed configuration of bump structure were known in order to improve a method and structure that facilitate the interconnection of semiconductor dice.
For support see Gandhi, which teaches wherein the outer portion of the bump structure (410) is a liner partially surrounding the inner portion of the bump structure (406/408) (see Gandhi, Fig.2 as shown above and ¶ [0006]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosomi and Gandhi to enable the Hosomi outer portion of the bump structure to have a liner configuration as taught by Gandhi in order to improve a method and structure that facilitate the interconnection of semiconductor dice.
Regarding Claim 34: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as applied to claim 32 above. Hosomi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the dielectric material is underfill.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed underfill material were known to be disposed between the first solder joint and the second solder joint in order to improve a method and structure that facilitate the interconnection of semiconductor dice.
For support see Gandhi, which teaches wherein the dielectric material (414) is underfill (see Gandhi, Fig.2 as shown above, ¶ [0006], and ¶ [0042]).
Hosomi discloses the claimed invention except for the material of dielectric material. Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosomi and Gandhi to enable the known underfill dielectric material as taught by Gandhi in order to improve a method and structure that facilitate the interconnection of semiconductor dice, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 36: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as applied to claim 32 above. Hosomi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the outer portion of the bump structure is a liner partially surrounding the inner portion of the bump structure.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed configuration of bump structure were known in order to improve a method and structure that facilitate the interconnection of semiconductor dice.
For support see Gandhi, which teaches wherein the outer portion of the bump structure (410) is a liner partially surrounding the inner portion of the bump structure (406/408) (see Gandhi, Fig.2 as shown above and ¶ [0006]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosomi and Gandhi to enable the Hosomi outer portion of the bump structure to have a liner configuration as taught by Gandhi in order to improve a method and structure that facilitate the interconnection of semiconductor dice.
Claim(s) 27 and 35 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosomi et al. (U.S. 2001/0027007 A1, hereinafter refer to Hosomi) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (U.S. 2007/0152331 A1, hereinafter refer to Kang).
Regarding Claim 27: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as applied to claim 21 above. Hosomi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the outer portion of the bump structure is in contact with the second component.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed outer portion of the bump structure were known to be in contact with the second component in order to obtain an alloy solder that is capable of increasing reliability of a junction between a semiconductor chip and a substrate.
For support see Kang, which teaches wherein the outer portion of the bump structure (138 or 134) is in contact with the second component (120 or 110) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown below and ¶ [0003]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosomi and Kang to enable the Hosomi outer portion of the bump structure to be in contact with the second component as taught by Kang in order to obtain an alloy solder that is capable of increasing reliability of a junction between a semiconductor chip and a substrate.
Regarding Claim 35: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as applied to claim 32 above. Hosomi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the inner portion of the bump structure comprise a sidewall, and the outer portion of the bump structure extends along the sidewall of the inner portion of the bump structure.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed inner portion of the bump structure to comprise a sidewall, and the outer portion of the bump structure to extend along the sidewall of the inner portion of the bump structure in order to obtain an alloy solder that is capable of increasing reliability of a junction between a semiconductor chip and a substrate.
For support see Kang, which teaches wherein the inner portion of the bump structure (122) comprise a sidewall, and the outer portion of the bump structure (138) extends along the sidewall of the inner portion of the bump structure (122) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0003]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosomi and Kang to enable the Hosomi inner portion of the bump structure to comprise a sidewall, and the outer portion of the bump structure to extend along the sidewall of the inner portion of the bump structure as taught by Kang in order to obtain an alloy solder that is capable of increasing reliability of a junction between a semiconductor chip and a substrate.
Claim(s) 29 and 37 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosomi et al. (U.S. 2001/0027007 A1, hereinafter refer to Hosomi) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Hsu et al. (U.S. 2024/0063159 A1, hereinafter refer to Hsu).
Regarding Claim 29: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as applied to claim 21 above. Hosomi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint is less than 25 microns.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint were known to be less than 25 microns in order to obtain a reliability of the electrical connection.
For support see Hsu, which teaches wherein a distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint is less than 25 microns (see Hsu, Fig.1A, ¶ [0030], and ¶ [0038]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosomi and Hsu to enable distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint Hosomi to be less than 25 microns as taught by Hsu in order to obtain a reliability of the electrical connection.
Regarding Claim 37: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as applied to claim 32 above. Hosomi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a distance between the first solder joint and a second solder joint of the plurality of solder joints is less than 25 microns.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint were known to be less than 25 microns in order to obtain a reliability of the electrical connection.
For support see Hsu, which teaches wherein a distance between the first solder joint and a second solder joint of the plurality of solder joints is less than 25 microns (see Hsu, Fig.1A, ¶ [0030], and ¶ [0038]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosomi and Hsu to enable distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint Hosomi to be less than 25 microns as taught by Hsu in order to obtain a reliability of the electrical connection.
Claim(s) 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosomi et al. (U.S. 2001/0027007 A1, hereinafter refer to Hosomi) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Hwang (U.S. 2007/0128883 A1, hereinafter refer to Hwang).
Regarding Claim 30: Hosomi discloses an apparatus as applied to claim 21 above. Hosomi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the inner portion of the bump structure has a rough outer edge that is in contact with the outer portion of the bump structure.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed inner portion of the bump structure to have a rough outer edge that is in contact with the outer portion of the bump structure in order to provide a reliable coupling, physically, thermally, or electrically between interconnects as part of an electrical device or a semiconductor device.
For support see Hwang, which teaches wherein the inner portion of the bump structure (605/602) has a rough outer edge that is in contact with the outer portion of the bump structure (640) (see Hwang, Figs.6 and ¶ [0034]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosomi and Hwang to enable the inner portion of the bump structure of Hosomi to have a rough outer edge that is in contact with the outer portion of the bump structure as taught by Hwang in order to provide a reliable coupling, physically, thermally, or electrically between interconnects as part of an electrical device or a semiconductor device.
Claim(s) 38 -40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosomi et al. (U.S. 2001/0027007 A1, hereinafter refer to Hosomi) in view of Kang et al. (U.S. 2007/0152331 A1, hereinafter refer to Kang).
Regarding Claim 38: Hosomi discloses an apparatus (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above and ¶ [0003]) comprising:
a first component (10) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above);
a second component (20) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above); and
a solder joint (21/30/40/12) between the first component (10) and the second component (20) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above), the solder joint (21/30/40/12) comprising:
a solder structure (30/21) comprising a first metal (30/21) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above); and
a bump structure (12/40) between the solder structure (30/21) and the second component (20) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above), the bump structure (12/40) comprising:
an inner portion comprising a second metal (12), the inner portion having a top surface and a sidewall (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above); and
an outer portion comprising an intermetallic compound (IMC) (40) of the first metal (21/30) and the second metal (12), the IMC between and in contact with the top surface of the inner portion of the bump structure (12/40) and the solder structure (21/30) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above).
Hosomi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the IMC along the sidewall of the inner portion.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed configuration of IML were known in order to obtain an alloy solder that is capable of increasing reliability of a junction between a semiconductor chip and a substrate.
For support see Kang, which teaches wherein the IMC (138 or 134) along the sidewall of the inner portion (122 or 132) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0003]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hosomi and Kang to enable the Hosomi the IMC to be formed along the sidewall of the inner portion as taught by Kang in order to obtain an alloy solder that is capable of increasing reliability of a junction between a semiconductor chip and a substrate.
Regarding Claim 39: Hosomi as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 38 as above. The combination of Hosomi and Kang further teaches wherein the IMC (134 or 138) extends along the sidewall to the second component (120 or 110) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 40: Hosomi as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 38 as above. The combination of Hosomi and Kang further teaches wherein the solder joint is surrounded by a dielectric material (50), and the IMC (40) is between the inner portion of the bump structure (12) and the dielectric material (50) (see Hosomi, Figs.1-2 as shown above).
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812