CTFR 18/090,879 CTFR 89876 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21, 32, and 38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 38-40 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (U.S. 2007/0152331, hereinafter refer to Kang) . Regarding Claim 38: Kang discloses an apparatus (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown below and ¶ [0003]) comprising: PNG media_image1.png 344 679 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 568 721 media_image2.png Greyscale a first component ( 110 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above); a second component ( 120 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above); and a solder joint ( 130/132/pad portion of 122 ) between the first component ( 110 ) and the second component ( 120 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above), the solder joint ( 130/132/pad portion of 122 ) comprising: a solder structure ( 136 ) comprising a first metal (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]); and a bump structure ( 138/ pad portion of 122 ) between the solder structure ( 136 ) and the second component ( 120 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]), the bump structure ( 138/ pad portion of 122 ) comprising: an inner portion ( pad portion of 122 ) comprising a second metal, the inner portion ( pad portion of 122 ) having a top surface and a sidewall , the sidewall perpendicular to the top surface of the second component ( 120 ) , and the sidewall having a length (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]) ; and an outer portion ( 138 ) comprising an intermetallic compound (IMC) of the first metal and the second metal, the IMC between and in contact with the top surface of the inner portion of the bump structure ( pad portion of 122 ) and the solder structure ( 136 ), wherein the IMC ( 138 ) extends along the length of the sidewall of the inner portion (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]). Regarding Claim 39: Kang discloses an apparatus as set forth in claim 38 as above. Kang further teaches wherein the IMC ( 138 ) in contact with the second component ( 120 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above). Regarding Claim 40: Kang discloses an apparatus as set forth in claim 38 as above. Kang further teaches wherein the solder joint ( 130/132/pad portion of 122 ) is surrounded by a dielectric material ( 140 ), and the IMC ( 138 ) is between the inner portion of the bump structure ( pad portion of 122 ) and the dielectric material ( 140 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above). Regarding Claim 42: Kang discloses an apparatus as set forth in claim 38 as above. Kang further teaches wherein the solder structure ( 136 ) is over and in contact with the top surface of the bump structure ( pad portion of 122/138 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 21-25, 27-28, 31-36, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. 2007/0152331, hereinafter refer to Kang) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. 2002/0129894 A1, hereinafter refer to Liu) . Regarding Claim 21: Kang discloses an apparatus (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0003]) comprising: a first component ( 110 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above); a second component ( 120 ) having a surface (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above) ; a first solder joint ( 130/132/pad portion of 122 ) between the first component ( 110 ) and the surface of the second component ( 120 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above), the first solder joint ( pad portion of 122/130/132 ) comprising: a solder structure ( 136 ) comprising a first metal (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]); and a bump structure ( pad portion of 122/138 ) between the solder structure ( 136 ) and the second component ( 120 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above), the bump structure ( pad portion of 122/138 ) comprising: an inner portion ( pad portion of 122 ) comprising a second metal , the inner portion ( pad portion of 122 ) having a sidewall perpendicular to the surface of the second component ( 120 ) , the sidewall having a length (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]) ; and an outer portion ( 138 ) comprising an intermetallic compound (IMC) of the first metal and the second metal, the IMC between and in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure ( pad portion of 122 ) and the solder structure ( 136 ) , wherein the IMC extends along the length of the sidewall (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]) ; a second solder joint ( pad portion of 122/130/132 ) between the first component ( 110 ) and the second component ( 120 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above); and a dielectric material ( 140 ) between the first solder joint ( pad portion of 122/130/132 ) and the second solder joint ( pad portion of 122/130/132 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above). Kang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein, along the length of the sidewall, the outer portion of the bump structure is between and in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure and the dielectric material. For support see Liu, which teaches wherein , along the length of the sidewall, the outer portion ( 70a ) of the bump structure is between and in contact with the inner portion ( 62 ) of the bump structure and the dielectric material ( 50 ) (see Liu, Fig.15 as shown below, ¶ [0017], and ¶ [0072]). PNG media_image3.png 407 732 media_image3.png Greyscale Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Liu to enable the Kang’s the sidewall of the outer portion of the bump structure to be in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure and the dielectric material as taught by Liu in order to improve the adhesion of the solder joint. Regarding Claim 22: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Kang and Liu further teaches wherein the bump structure ( pad portion of 122/138 ) has a rectangular cross- section (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above). Regarding Claim 23: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Kang and Liu further teaches wherein the first metal is tin (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]). Regarding Claim 24: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Kang and Liu further teaches wherein the dielectric material ( 140, Figs.2-3 or 50, Fig.15 ) between the first solder joint and the second solder joint is an underfill material (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and see Liu, Fig.15 as shown above). Regarding Claim 25: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 24 as above. The combination of Kang and Liu further teaches wherein the underfill material ( 140, Figs.2-3 or 50, Fig.15 ) surrounds the first solder joint and the second solder joint (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and see Liu, Fig.15 as shown above). Regarding Claim 27: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Kang and Liu further teaches wherein the outer portion of the bump structure ( 138 ) is in contact with the second component ( 120 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above). Regarding Claim 28: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Kang and Liu further teaches wherein the outer portion of the bump structure ( 138 ) is a liner partially surrounding the inner portion of the bump structure ( 122 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above). Regarding Claim 31: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Kang and Liu further teaches wherein the first component ( 110 ) comprises an interconnect ( through substrate (120) portion of 122 ) in contact with the bump structure, and a width of the interconnect ( through substrate (120) portion of 122 ) is less than a width of the bump structure ( pad portion of 122/138 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above). Regarding Claim 32: Kang discloses an apparatus (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0003]) comprising: a plurality of solder joints ( 130/132/pad portion of 122 ), wherein a first solder joint of the plurality of solder joints ( 130/132/pad portion of 122 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above) comprises: a solder structure ( 136 ) comprising a first metal (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]); and a bump structure ( pad portion of 122/138 ) in contact with the solder structure ( 136 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above), the bump structure ( pad portion of 122/138 ) comprising: an inner portion ( pad portion of 122 ) comprising a second metal , the inner portion ( pad portion of 122 ) having a sidewall, the sidewall having a length (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]) ; and an outer portion ( 138 ) comprising an intermetallic compound (IMC) of the first metal and the second metal, the IMC between and in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure ( pad portion of 122 ) and the solder structure ( 136 ) , wherein the IMC extends along the length of the sidewall (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and ¶ [0036]) ; and a dielectric material ( 140 ) surrounding the plurality of solder joints ( 130/132/pad portion of 122 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above). Kang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the outer portion of the bump structure is between and in contact with the sidewall of the inner portion of the bump structure and the dielectric material. For support see Liu, which teaches wherein the outer portion of the bump structure ( 70a ) is between and in contact with the sidewall of the inner portion of the bump structure ( 62 ) and the dielectric material ( 50 ) (see Liu, Fig.15 as shown above, ¶ [0017], and ¶ [0072]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Liu to enable the Kang’s the sidewall of the outer portion of the bump structure to be in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure and the dielectric material as taught by Liu in order to improve the adhesion of the solder joint. Regarding Claim 33: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 32 as above. The combination of Kang and Liu further teaches wherein the plurality of solder joints ( 130/132/pad portion of 122 ) are coupled to a die ( 110/120 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above). Regarding Claim 34: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 32 as above. The combination of Kang and Liu further teaches wherein the dielectric material ( 140, Figs.2-3 or 50, Fig.15 ) is underfill (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above and see Liu, Fig.15 as shown above). Regarding Claim 36: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 32 as above. The combination of Kang and Liu further teaches wherein the outer portion of the bump structure ( 138 ) is a liner partially surrounding the inner portion of the bump structure ( pad portion of 122 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above). Regarding Claim 41: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as set forth in claim 32 as above. The combination of Kang and Liu further teaches wherein the dielectric material ( 140 ) is not in contact with the inner portion of the bump structure ( pad portion of 122 ) (see Kang, Figs.2 and 3 as shown above) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 29 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. 2007/0152331, hereinafter refer to Kang) and Liu et al. (U.S. 2002/0129894 A1, hereinafter refer to Liu) as applied to claim s 21 and 32 above, and further in view of Hsu et al. (U.S. 2024/0063159 A1, hereinafter refer to Hsu) . Regarding Claim 29: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as applied to claim 21 above. The combination of Kang and Liu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint is less than 25 microns. For support see Hsu, which teaches wherein a distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint is less than 25 microns (see Hsu, Fig.1A, ¶ [0030], and ¶ [0038]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang, Liu, and Hsu to enable distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint of Kang to be less than 25 microns as taught by Hsu in order to obtain a reliability of the electrical connection. Regarding Claim 37: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as applied to claim 32 above. The combination of Kang and Liu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a distance between the first solder joint and a second solder joint of the plurality of solder joints is less than 25 microns. For support see Hsu, which teaches wherein a distance between the first solder joint and a second solder joint of the plurality of solder joints is less than 25 microns (see Hsu, Fig.1A, ¶ [0030], and ¶ [0038]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang, Liu, and Hsu to enable distance between the first solder joint and the second solder joint of Kang to be less than 25 microns as taught by Hsu in order to obtain a reliability of the electrical connection . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. 2007/0152331, hereinafter refer to Kang) and Liu et al. (U.S. 2002/0129894 A1, hereinafter refer to Liu) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Hwang (U.S. 2007/0128883 A1, hereinafter refer to Hwang) . Regarding Claim 30: Kang as modified teaches an apparatus as applied to claim 21 above. The combination of Kang and Liu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the inner portion of the bump structure has a rough outer edge that is in contact with the outer portion of the bump structure. For support see Hwang, which teaches wherein the inner portion of the bump structure ( 605/602 ) has a rough outer edge that is in contact with the outer portion of the bump structure ( 640 ) (see Hwang, Figs.6 and ¶ [0034]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang, Liu, and Hwang to enable the inner portion of the bump structure of Kang to have a rough outer edge that is in contact with the outer portion of the bump structure as taught by Hwang in order to provide a reliable coupling, physically, thermally, or electrically between interconnects as part of an electrical device or a semiconductor device. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BITEW A DINKE whose telephone number is (571)272-0534. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7 a.m. - 5 p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davienne Monbleau can be reached at (571)272-1945. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/090,879 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/090,879 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/090,879 Page 4 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/090,879 Page 5 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/090,879 Page 6 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/090,879 Page 7 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/090,879 Page 8 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/090,879 Page 9 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/090,879 Page 10 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/090,879 Page 11 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/090,879 Page 12 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/090,879 Page 13 Art Unit: 2812