Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's amendment/arguments filed on 06/02/26 as being acknowledged and entered. By this amendment claims 6, and 11-19 are canceled, claim 26 has been added, and claims 1-5, 7-10, and 20-26 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 23-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ueda et al. (WO 2021/167639).
Claim 1: Ueda teaches (Fig. 10C) three-dimensional (3D) memory, comprising: a stack including alternately stacked first dielectric layers (32) and conductive layers (44); and a channel structure (60) extending through the stack and including a second dielectric layer (44) and a blocking layer (52) disposed in this order from outside to inside that cover vertical surfaces of the first dielectric layers and vertical surfaces of the conductive layers directly, the blocking layer further comprises (Fig. 10C): first blocking portions located on a first portion of the second dielectric layer that covers the vertical surfaces of the first dielectric layers: and second blocking portions located on a second portion of the second dielectric layer that covers the vertical surfaces of the conductive layers. wherein the first blocking portions have a thickness larger than that of the second blocking portions in the direction parallel with the first dielectric layers.
Claim 5: Ueda teaches (Fig. 10C) the second dielectric layer further comprises: first dielectric portions extending in the direction of thickness of the stack; and second dielectric portions extending in the direction parallel with the first dielectric layers, wherein the first dielectric portions are in contact with respective second dielectric portions.
Claim 7: Ueda teaches (Fig. 10C) wherein the channel structure further comprises a storage layer (53), a tunneling layer (56) and a channel layer (60) disposed in this order from outside to inside with the storage layer being located on a surface of the blocking layer away from the second dielectric layer.
Claim 23: Ueda teaches (Fig. 10C) the second dielectric layer further comprises: first dielectric portions extending in the direction of thickness of the stack and second dielectric portions extending in the direction parallel with the first dielectric layers, wherein the first dielectric portions are in contact with respective second dielectric portions.
Claim 24: Ueda teaches (Fig. 10C) wherein the channel structure further comprises a storage layer (53), a tunneling layer (56) and a channel layer (60) disposed in this order from outside to inside with the storage layer being located on a surface of the blocking layer away from the second dielectric layer.
Claim 26: Ueda teaches (Fig. 10C) three-dimensional (3D) memory, comprising: a stack including alternately stacked first dielectric layers and conductive layers; and a channel structure extending through the stack and including a second dielectric layer and a blocking layer disposed in this order from outside to inside that cover vertical surfaces of the first dielectric layers and vertical surfaces of the conductive layers, wherein the blocking layer further comprises: first blocking portions located on a first portion of the second dielectric layer that covers the vertical surfaces of the first dielectric layers; and second blocking portions located on a second portion of the second dielectric layer that covers the vertical surfaces of the conductive layers, wherein the first blocking portions have a thickness larger than that of the second blocking portions in the direction parallel with the first dielectric layers, wherein the channel structure further comprises a storage layer (53), a tunneling layer (56) and a channel layer (60) disposed in this order from outside to inside with the storage layer being located on a surface of the blocking layer away from the second dielectric layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, 20, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda et al. (WO 2021/167639), as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Kai et al. (US PGPub 2021/0335805).
Regarding claims 2 and 20, as described above, Ueda substantially reads on the invention as claimed, except Ueda does not teach the second dielectric layer has a dielectric constant greater than or equal to 3.9. Kai teaches (Fig. 9E) the second dielectric layer has a dielectric constant greater than or equal to 3.9. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute one know element for another known element resulting in the predictable result the appropriate dielectric properties needed for the application (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claims 8 and 25, as described above, Ueda substantially reads on the invention as claimed, except Ueda does not teach the dielectric constant of the second dielectric layer is greater than or equal to 10. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute one know element for another known element resulting in the predictable result the appropriate dielectric properties needed for the application (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda et al. (WO 2021/167639).
Claim 9: Ueda teaches memory system, comprising: the 3D memory of claim 1; and a memory controller coupled to the 3D memory and configured to control the 3D memory. Pairing controllers with memory structures in common in the memory art.
Claim 10: Ueda teaches a solid state drive or a memory card. Solid state drives and memory cards are well known in the memory art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-10 and 20-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814