DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
See the new rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, US 2023/0354599, in view of Lee, US 2011/0092060.
Claim 1: Yang discloses
a semiconductor layer (502);
and an array of memory cells disposed on the semiconductor layer, wherein each of the memory cells comprises:
a semiconductor body (510) extending in a first direction, wherein a first end of the semiconductor body is in contact with the semiconductor layer (FIG. 1);
a word line gate (WL1, WL2) extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction;
a plurality of plate line gates (PL1, PL2) extending in the second direction;
and a dielectric layer (512) disposed between the semiconductor body and the word line gate and the plurality of plate line gates (FIGS 5, 12K):
Yang discloses a peripheral circuit ([0102]). It was known in the art to have memory cells aside (to the side of) the peripheral circuit. See e.g. Lee, FIG. 28 which discloses a peripheral circuit formed to the side of the memory area, and on the same substrate 200.
It would have been obvious to have done so to form a complete device on a semiconductor circuit in a common and known way.
Claim 1 also recites a stairstep connection structure, which is disclosed by Yang. See Yang FIG. 12K, which shows contact structures extending in the first (vertical) direction, wherein the plurality of plate line gates recede from bottom to top to form a staircase structure; and each contact structure of the plurality of contact structures is in contact with one of the plurality of plate line gates:
Claim 2: the plurality of plate line gates comprise a plurality of conductive lines (plate lines PL) extending in the second direction parallel to the word line gate (Yang FIG. 5).
Claim 3: the semiconductor body (silicon) and the semiconductor layer comprise a same semiconductor material (silicon, e.g. silicon-on-insulator) ([0040]-[0043]).
Claim 4: Sukui discloses a bit line (BL) extending in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, wherein a second end of the semiconductor body is in contact with the bit line (FIG. 1).
Claim 5: Yang discloses a contact (522, FIG. 5) disposed between the bit line and the second end of the semiconductor body.
Claim 6: the semiconductor layer comprises a memory area and a peripheral area, the array of memory cells is disposed in the memory area, and the peripheral circuit is disposed in the peripheral area (Lee FIG. 28).
Claim 20: Yang discloses
a semiconductor layer (502);
and an array of memory cells disposed on the semiconductor layer, wherein each of the memory cells comprises:
a semiconductor body (510) extending in a first direction, wherein a first end of the semiconductor body is in contact with the semiconductor layer (FIG. 5);
a word line gate (WL0/WL1) extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction;
a plurality of plate line gates (PL1, PL2) extending in the second direction;
and a dielectric layer (512) disposed between the semiconductor body and the word line gate and the plurality of plate line gates;
and a memory controller ([0102]) coupled to the memory device and configured to control operations of the array of memory cells.
Yang discloses a peripheral circuit ([0102]), stating that the invention. It was known in the art to have memory cells aside (to the side of) the peripheral circuit. See e.g. Lee, which discloses a peripheral circuit formed to the side of the memory area, and on the same substrate 200. It would have been obvious to have done so to form a complete device on a semiconductor circuit in a common way.
Claim 20 also recites a stairstep connection structure, which is disclosed by Yang. See Yang FIG. 12K, which shows contact structures extending in the first (vertical) direction, wherein the plurality of plate line gates recede from bottom to top to form a staircase structure; and each contact structure of the plurality of contact structures is in contact with one of the plurality of plate line gates.
Claim 21: the plurality of plate line gates comprise a plurality of conductive lines extending in the second direction parallel to the word line gate. Yang FIG. 5.
Claim 22: Yang discloses a silicon semiconductor body (“pillar 510 can include a semiconductor material, for example, Si” Yang [0142]). Yang discloses that the semiconductor layer 502 is a silicon ([0141]).
Claim 23: there is a bit line extending in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, wherein a second end of the semiconductor body is in contact with the bit line. Yang FIG. 5, 12K.
Claim 24: there is a contact (Yang 522, FIG. 5) disposed between the bit line and the second end of the semiconductor body.
Claim 25: the semiconductor layer comprises a memory area and a peripheral area, the array of memory cells is disposed in the memory area, and the peripheral circuit is disposed in the peripheral area (Lee FIG. 28).
Conclusion
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897