Applicant's amendment/arguments filed on 1/5/26 as being acknowledged and entered. By this amendment claims 3 and 6 are canceled, claims 21-26 have been added and claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10 and 20-26 are pending and claims 5 and 9-10 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yazawa (US Patent 10,262,936).
Claim 1: Yazawa teaches (Fig. 1B, 14, 16) a three-dimensional (3D) memory device, comprising: a plurality of channel structures (61) in a first region; a plurality of word line pick-up structures (40) in a second region; and a plurality word lines (21) each extending from the first region into at least a portion of the second region, wherein one word line pick-up structure of the plurality of word line pick-up structures comprises multiple sections comprises multiple sections each electrically connected to a single word line, and the multiple sections of the one word line pick-up structure are separated from each other by a first (42) and second slit structures (Column 5 lines 30-36) that are perpendicular to each other, the first and second slit structures extending in a depth direction of the one word line pick-up structure.
Claim 2: Yazawa teaches (Fig. 1B, 14, 16) a multiple sections of the at least one word line pick-up structure are electrically insulated (42) from each other.
Claim 4: Yazawa teaches (Fig. 1B, 14, 16) one of the first and second slit structures (70) (Column 5 lines 30-36) extends from the second region into the first region.
Claim 7: Yazawa teaches (Fig. 1B, 14, 16) the one word line pick-up structure is a first word line pick-up structure of the plurality of word line pick-up structures: the plurality of word line pick-up structures comprises a second word line pick-up structure; and the multiple sections of the second word line pick-up structure are separated from each other by third and fourth slit structures comprise first and second slit structures that are parallel to each other.
Claim 8: Yazawa teaches (Fig. 1B, 14, 16) the multiple sections of the one word line pick-up structure comprises first and second sections electrically connected to first and second word lines, respectively, the first and second word lines being separated from each other by a dielectric layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yazawa (US Patent 10,262,936).
Claim 20: Yazawa teaches (Fig. 1B, 14, 16) (See claim 1)system, comprising: a three-dimensional (3D) memory device configured to store data, the 3D memory device comprising: a plurality of channel structures in a first region; a plurality of word line pick-up structures in a second region; and a plurality of word lines each extending from the first region into at least a portion of the second region, wherein at least one word line pick-up structure of the plurality of word line pick- up structures comprises multiple sections each electrically connected to a single word line, and the multiple sections of the one word line pick-up structure are separated from each other by first and second slit structures that are perpendicular to each other, the first and second slit structures extending in a depth direction of the one word line pick-up structure; and a memory controller electrically connected to the 3D memory device and configured to operate the channel structures through the word lines. Memory controllers are well known in the art for use in conjunction with the memory devices.
Claim 21: Yazawa teaches (Fig. 1B, 14, 16) the multiple sections of the one word line pick-up structure are electrically connected to different word lines.
Claim 22: Yazawa teaches (Fig. 1B, 14, 16) the multiple sections of the one word line pick-up structure are electrically insulated from each other.
Claim 23: Yazawa teaches (Fig. 1B, 14, 16) one of the first and second slit structures extends from the second region into the first region.
Claim 24: Yazawa teaches (Fig. 1B, 14, 16) the one word line pick-up structure is a first word line pick-up structure of the plurality of word line pick-up structures; the plurality of word line pick-up structures includes a second word line pick-up structure; and the multiple sections of the second word line pick-up structure are separated from each other by third and fourth slit structures that are parallel to each other.
Claim 25: Yazawa teaches (Fig. 1B, 14, 16) the multiple sections of the one word line pick-up structure comprises first and second sections electrically connected to first and second word lines, respectively, the first and second word lines being separated from each other by a dielectric layer.
Claim 26: Yazawa teaches (Fig. 1B, 14, 16) the multiple sections of the one word line pick-up structure are electrically connected to different word lines.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814