Election/Restrictions
In response to Election/Restrictions, applicant elected claims 1-9. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/09/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. application # 18091022 (Hereinafter ‘022). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With respect to claim 1: ‘022 discloses:
An electronic package, comprising (Claim 1):
a core, wherein the core comprises glass (Claim 1); and
a through glass via (TGV) through a thickness of the core, wherein the TGV comprises a top surface that is non-planar and includes a symmetric ridge on the non-planar top surface (Claim 1).
With respect to claim 2: ‘022 discloses:
The electronic package of claim 1, wherein the non-planar surface is a dished surface, and wherein the symmetric ridge extends up from the dished surface (Claims 1 & 3).
With respect to claim 3: ‘022 discloses:
The electronic package of claim 1, wherein the symmetric ridge is symmetric about a centerline of the TGV (Claim 1).
With respect to claim 4: ‘022 discloses:
The electronic package of claim 1, wherein the symmetric ridge has a standoff height up to approximately 10µm (Claim 2).
With respect to claim 5: ‘022 discloses:
The electronic package of claim 4, wherein the standoff height is up to approximately 5µm (Claim 2).
With respect to claim 6: ‘022 discloses:
The electronic package of claim 1, wherein the TGV comprises a bottom surface that is non-planar and includes a symmetric ridge on the non-planar bottom surface (Claim 1).
With respect to claim 7: ‘022 discloses:
The electronic package of claim 1, wherein the TGV has sloped sidewalls (Claim 3).
With respect to claim 8: ‘022 discloses:
The electronic package of claim 7, wherein the TGV has an hourglass shaped cross- section (Claim 9).
With respect to claim 9: ‘022 discloses
The electronic package of claim 1, wherein the electronic package is part of a computing system for a personal computer, a server, a mobile device, a tablet, or an automobile (Claim 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a (1) as being anticipated by Budd et al. (US 2017/0047312, hereinafter Budd).
With respect to claim 1, Budd discloses an electronic package (Fig. 4A-B), comprising: a core (430), wherein the core comprises glass (Para 0055 – 430 is fabricated using glass); an a through glass via (TGV) through a thickness of the core (431/434 – Para 0034 and 0055), wherein the TGV comprises a top surface that is non-planar and includes a symmetric ridge on the non-planar top surface (Fig. 4B – top surface of 434 is non-planar and has a symmetric ridge).
With respect to claim 3, Budd discloses wherein the symmetric ridge is symmetric about a centerline of the TGV (Fig. 4B).
With respect to claim 6, Budd discloses wherein the TGV comprises a bottom surface that is non-planar and includes a symmetric ridge on the non-planar bottom surface (434 of Fig. 4B).
With respect to claim 7, Budd discloses wherein the TGV has sloped sidewalls (Fig. 4B – sidewalls of 434).
With respect to claim 9, Budd discloses wherein the electronic package is part of a computing system for a personal computer, a server, a mobile device, a tablet, or an automobile (Para 0072 – server).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budd in view of Uzoh et al. (US 2012/0326326, hereinafter Uzoh).
With respect to claim 2, Budd discloses the electronic package of claim 1.
Budd does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-planar surface is a dished surface, and wherein the symmetric ridge extends up from the dished surface.
In an analogous art, Uzoh discloses wherein the non-planar surface is a dished surface, and wherein the symmetric ridge extends up from the dished surface (para 0029; Fig. 1F &3A-3B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Budd’s disclose invention by having Uzoh’s disclosure in order to accommodate different shapes and needs of the semiconductor devices.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budd in view of Cornejo et al. (US 2012/0048604, hereinafter Cornejo).
With respect to claim 8, Budd discloses the electronic package of claim 7.
Budd does not explicitly disclose wherein the TGV has an hourglass shaped cross- section.
In an analogous art, Cornejo disclose wherein the TGV has an hourglass shaped cross- section (para 0035). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Budd’s disclose invention by having Cornejo’s disclosure in order to accommodate different shapes and needs of the semiconductor devices.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budd in view of Yang (CN 101587293, hereinafter Yang).
With respect to claim 4, Budd discloses the electronic package of claim 1.
Budd does not explicitly disclose wherein the symmetric ridge has a standoff height up to approximately 10µm.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses wherein the symmetric ridge has a standoff height up to approximately 10µm (Page 03; Para 01 – 720nm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Budd’s disclosed invention by having Yang’s disclosure in order to achieve the optimal performance of the semiconductor device by adjusting different heights.
With respect to claim 5, Budd/Pietambaram discloses the electronic package of claim 4.
Budd does not explicitly disclose wherein the standoff height is up to approximately 5µm.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses wherein the standoff height is up to approximately 5µm (Page 03; Para 01 – 720nm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Budd’s disclosed invention by having Yang’s disclosure in order to achieve the optimal performance of the semiconductor device by adjusting different heights.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899