DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending in this application. Claims 4-16 were previously withdrawn as set forth in the office action mailed 10/7/2025.
Drawings
Prior objection to drawings is withdrawn in view of replacement drawings.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the amended specification filed on 1/7/2026, it appears that the applicant has erroneously indicated the wrong paragraphs to be amended. The examiner believes that the paragraphs to be amended are [0113] and [0114], and not [0134] and [0135], as the applicant has indicated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rabkin et al. (US 2020/0203362 A1, newly cited).
Re Claim 1, Rabkin teaches a semiconductor device (Figs. 13A and 13B), comprising:
a stack structure (32+46, Fig. 13A, para [0127]) including alternately stacked dielectric layers (32, para [0042]) and conductive layers (46, para [0127]), the conductive layers including a top select gate layer (top gate electrode in the stack may function as the select gate electrode, para [0047]); and
channel holes (58, Fig. 13A, para [0097]) penetrating through the stack structure (32+46),
wherein the top select gate layer (top 46 layer, Fig. 13A) is provided with a first top select gate isolation structure (72, Figs. 13A and 13B, para [0055]) and a second top select gate isolation structure (marked “2nd isolation structure” in annotated Fig. 13B below), the channel holes (58) being located (see Figs. 13A and 13B) between the first top select gate isolation structure (72) and the second top select gate isolation structure (“2nd isolation structure”), and
the second top select gate isolation structure (“2nd isolation structure”) includes an insulation portion (74, Fig. 13B, para [0120]), the insulation portion being divided into a plurality of second top select gate isolation substructures (marked “74-1” and “74-2”, in annotated Fig. 13B below), with spaces between adjacent ones of the plurality of second top select gate isolation substructures filled with a conductive substance to form a plurality of inter-substructure conductive portions (76A+76B, Fig. 13B, para [0123]).
Re Claim 2, Rabkin teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the insulation portion (74) of the second top select gate isolation structure (“2nd isolation structure”) is divided in a first direction (vertical-axis in Fig. 13B) into a plurality of strip-shaped second top select gate isolation substructures (“74-1” and “74-2”, see annotated Fig. 13B above) extending in a second direction (horizontal-axis in Fig. 13B) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical-axis in Fig. 13B).
Re Claim 3, Rabkin teaches the semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein the plurality of second top select gate isolation substructures (“74-1” and “74-2”, see annotated Fig. 13B above) are distributed side by side in the first direction (vertical-axis in Fig. 13B), and the plurality of second top select gate isolation substructures have the same dimension in the first direction (width of “74-1” and “74-2” along the vertical-axis are same).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabkin et al. (US 2020/0203362 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0363100 A1, of record).
Re Claim 17, Rabkin teaches a memory system, comprising a memory, the memory including a semiconductor device (Figs. 13A and 13B),
wherein the semiconductor device includes a stack structure (32+46, Fig. 13A, para [0127]) and channel holes (58, Fig. 13A, para [0097]),
the stack structure (32+46) includes alternately stacked dielectric layers (32, para [0042]) and conductive layers (46, para [0127]), the conductive layers including a top select gate layer (top gate electrode in the stack may function as the select gate electrode, para [0047]),
the channel holes (58, Fig. 13A, para [0097]) penetrating through the stack structure (32+46),
the top select gate layer (top 46 layer, Fig. 13A) is provided with a first top select gate isolation structure (72, Figs. 13A and 13B, para [0055]) and a second top select gate isolation structure (marked “2nd isolation structure” in annotated Fig. 13B above), the channel holes (58) being located (see Figs. 13A and 13B) between the first top select gate isolation structure (72) and the second top select gate isolation structure (“2nd isolation structure”), and
the second top select gate isolation structure (“2nd isolation structure”) includes an insulation portion (74, Fig. 13B, para [0120]), the insulation portion being divided into a plurality of second top select gate isolation substructures (marked “74-1” and “74-2”, in annotated Fig. 13B above), with spaces between adjacent ones of the plurality of second top select gate isolation substructures filled with a conductive substance to form a plurality of inter-substructure conductive portions (76A+76B, Fig. 13B, para [0123]).
Rabkin is silent about a controller being coupled with the memory.
However, related semiconductor art, Lee, discloses a controller device (1100, Fig. 4, para [0079]) which is configured to control reading, writing, erasing, and background operations of the memory device (para [0081]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, to incorporate a controller into the memory device of Rabkin as disclosed by Lee, because the controller is configured to control reading, writing, erasing, and background operations of the memory device (para [0081], Lee).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898