DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on February 3, 2026 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 3, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 29, 2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al (US Pub 2024/0107903).
In re claim 1, Lin et al discloses a transistor structure, comprising: a source terminal (i.e. 145) and a drain terminal (i.e. 145); a nanoribbon between and coupled to the source terminal and the drain terminal, wherein the nanoribbon comprises a channel layer (i.e. 120b), a first crystalline layer (i.e. 120a), and a second crystalline layer (i.e. 131/130) (i.e. see at least paragraph 0021 disclosing the use of crystalline material for at least layers 120, 130), wherein the channel layer is between the first crystalline layer and the second crystalline layer (i.e. see at least Figure 8), the channel layer comprising a metal and a chalcogen (i.e. see at least paragraph 0043); a gate electrode material (i.e. 154) adjacent the nanoribbon; and a gate insulator layer (i.e. 152) between the nanoribbon and the gate electrode material (i.e. see at least Figure 8).
In re claim 2, Lin et al discloses wherein the channel layer comprises a crystalline material (i.e. see at least paragraph 0021).
In re claim 5, Lin et al discloses wherein the first and second crystalline layers have substantially the same composition and crystalline structure (i.e. see at least paragraphs 0021, 0043).
In re claim 9, Lin et al discloses wherein the metal is at least tungsten or molybdenum and the chalcogen is at least sulfur (i.e. see at least paragraphs 0024, 0026, 0028).
In re claim 10, Lin et al discloses an integrated circuit (IC) device (i.e. see at least Figure 8), comprising: an IC die comprising a transistor (i.e. paragraph 0002 discloses integrated circuit (IC) technology and thus, it would have been implicit/inherent from Lin et al that an IC die would be used in their invention), the transistor comprising: a source terminal (i.e. 145) and a drain terminal (i.e. 145); a plurality of nanoribbons between and coupled to the source terminal and the drain terminal, wherein individual ones of the nanoribbons comprise a channel layer (i.e. 120b) between a first crystalline layer (i.e. 120a) and a second crystalline layer (i.e. 131/130) (i.e. see at least paragraph 0021 disclosing the use of crystalline material for at least layers 120, 130), the channel layer comprising a metal and a chalcogen (i.e. see at least paragraph 0043); a gate electrode (i.e. 154) material between and coupled to individual ones of the nanoribbons (i.e. at least electrically coupled); and a gate insulator layer (i.e. 152) between individual ones of the nanoribbons and the gate electrode material; and a power supply coupled to the IC die (i.e. it would have been inherent/implicit from Lin et al that there would be a power supply as it is well known in the art that a power supply is needed in order for the device to function).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6-8, and 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817