DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-25 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant's submission of the Information Disclosure Statements dated March 1, 2024, May 1, 2024, and February 21, 2025 is acknowledged by the Examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. Copies of the PTOL-1449s initialed and dated by the Examiner are attached to the instant office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities.
The format of the sheet numbering is improper. The figures therefore fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(t), which states “The number of each sheet should be shown by two Arabic numerals placed on either side of an oblique line, with the first being the sheet number and the second being the total number of sheets of drawings, with no other marking.” The word “of” should be replaced by an oblique line on all sheets.
Element 1607 of Figure 16 includes the text, “AND/OF.” Please amend to, “AND/OR.”
Claim Objections
Claims 1-25 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 1 recites, at lines 3-4, “circuitry is to do perform.” This appears to be a typographical error. Applicant may have intended “circuitry is to [[do]] perform.” Claims 12 and 21 include similar language and are similarly objected to.
Claim 1 recites, at line 6, “at least register identifier.” This appears to be a typographical error. Applicant may have intended “at least one register identifier.” Claims 12 and 21 include similar language and are similarly objected to.
Claims 2-11, 13-20, and 22-25 are objected to as depending from objected to base claims and failing to remedy the deficiencies of those claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the Applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, at line 5, “a second of the two bytes of the prefix.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as, “a second of the at least two bytes of the prefix.” Claims 4, 5, 6, 12, 14, 15, 16, 21, and 23 include similar language and are similarly rejected.
Claims 2-11, 13-20, and 22-25 are rejected as depending from rejected base claims and failing to cure the indefiniteness of those base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 21, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2019/0227798 by Plotnikov et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Plotnikov”).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 21, taking claim 1 as representative, Plotnikov discloses:
an apparatus comprising: decoder circuitry to decode an instance of a single instruction, the single instruction to at least include a prefix and an opcode to indicate execution circuitry is to do perform a particular operation, wherein the prefix comprises at least two bytes and a second of the two bytes of the prefix is to provide most significant bits for at least register identifier (Plotnikov discloses, at ¶ [0038], a processor with a decode unit to decode instructions. Plotnikov discloses, at Figure 13A and related description, the instruction includes a prefix of at least two bytes and opcode, wherein the second byte of the prefix includes MSBs to identify registers. Plotnikov also discloses, at ¶ [0067], executing instructions that have been translated between instruction sets and, at ¶ [0058], storing instructions in memory.); and
execution circuitry to execute the decoded instance of the single according to the opcode to perform the particular operation (Plotnikov discloses, at ¶ [0038], the processor includes an execution unit to execute instructions, which discloses performing the operation according to the opcode.).
Regarding claims 2 and 22, taking claim 2 as representative, Plotnikov discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Plotnikov also discloses:
a first byte of the prefix is OxD5 (Plotnikov discloses, at Figure 13A and related description, a prefix having a first byte. The first byte can take any value between 0x00 and 0xFF, which encompasses 0x5D.).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, taking claim 3 as representative, Plotnikov discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Plotnikov also discloses:
the prefix is to be used in a 64-bit mode (Plotnikov discloses, at ¶ [0160], support for 64 bit mode.).
Regarding claims 7, 17, and 24, taking claim 7 as representative, Plotnikov discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Plotnikov also discloses:
the prefix is further to indicate usage of a new data destination by the single instruction (Plotnikov discloses, at ¶ [0150], the prefix provides for a three-operand syntax, which discloses indicating usage of a new data destination.).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, taking claim 8 as representative, Plotnikov discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Plotnikov also discloses:
the prefix comprises four bytes and is to indicate a new data destination (Plotnikov discloses, at Figure 15A and related description, using four bytes for the prefix and, at ¶ [0150], the prefix provides for a three-operand syntax, which discloses indicating usage of a new data destination.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 9, 14-16, 19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plotnikov.
Regarding claims 4, 14, and 23, taking claim 4 as representative, Plotnikov discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Plotnikov also discloses:
bit positions …of the second of the two bytes are to provide most significant bits for a register identifier (Plotnikov discloses, at Figure 13A and related description, the instruction includes a prefix, wherein the second byte of the prefix includes MSBs to identify registers.).
Plotnikov does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned bit positions are 6 and 2. However, the selection of the particular bits represents one of a limited number of possibilities that are obvious alternatives that a person having ordinary skill in the art would consider based on the circumstances. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to use bits 6 and 2.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, taking claim 5 as representative, Plotnikov discloses the elements of claim 4, as discussed above. Plotnikov also discloses:
bit positions … of the second of the two bytes are to provide most significant bits for a register identifier (Plotnikov discloses, at Figure 13A and related description, the instruction includes a prefix, wherein the second byte of the prefix includes MSBs to identify registers.).
Plotnikov does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned bit positions are 5 and 1. However, the selection of the particular bits represents one of a limited number of possibilities that are obvious alternatives that a person having ordinary skill in the art would consider based on the circumstances. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to use bits 5 and 1.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, taking claim 6 as representative, Plotnikov discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Plotnikov also discloses:
the prefix is to indicate an opcode map of the single instruction in …the second of the two bytes of the prefix (Plotnikov discloses, at Figure 13A and related description, the second byte of the prefix indicates an opcode map.).
Plotnikov does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned bit position is 7. However, the selection of the particular bit represents one of a limited number of possibilities that are obvious alternatives that a person having ordinary skill in the art would consider based on the circumstances. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to use bit 7.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, taking claim 9 as representative, Plotnikov discloses the elements of claim 8, as discussed above. Plotnikov also discloses:
… the prefix is to identify a new data destination (Plotnikov discloses, at ¶ [0150], the prefix provides for a three-operand syntax, which discloses indicating usage of a new data destination.).
Plotnikov does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned bit positions are bits 3-6 of a second payload byte. However, the selection of the particular bits represents one of a limited number of possibilities that are obvious alternatives that a person having ordinary skill in the art would consider based on the circumstances. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to use bits 3-6 of a second payload byte.
Claims 10, 11, 20, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plotnikov in view of US Publication No. 2013/0297915 by Combs et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Combs”).
Regarding claim 10, Plotnikov discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Plotnikov also discloses:
the prefix comprises four bytes… (Plotnikov discloses, at Figure 15A and related description, using four bytes for the prefix.).
Plotnikov does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned prefix is to indicate a suppression of flag updates.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processors) Combs discloses:
a prefix that indicates whether to modify flags (Combs discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, a prefix that indicates whether to modify flags, which discloses indicating suppression of flag updates.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Plotnikov to include indication of suppression of flag updates, as disclosed by Combs, in order to improve performance by reducing unnecessary updates and complexity. See Combs, ¶ [0002].
Regarding claims 11, 20, and 25, taking claim 11 as representative, Plotnikov discloses the elements of claim 10, as discussed above. Plotnikov does not explicitly disclose the flags are overflow, carry, parity, adjust, sign, and zero.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processors) Combs discloses:
the flags are overflow, carry, parity, adjust, sign, and zero (Combs discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, “Flags 107 may include a carry flag (CF), an overflow flag (OF), a sign flag (SF), a zero flag (ZF), an auxiliary carry flag (AF), or a parity flag (PF), or a combination thereof.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Plotnikov to include the specific flags mentioned because these flags are widely used in many architectures to communicate state information.
Conclusion
/SHAWN DOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183