DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-14, filed 9/17/2025, with respect to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the claims has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, the claims are rejected in view of Wieland (US PGPub 2024/0321547) and Khursheed (US PGPub 2016/0056011) produced below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wieland (US PGPub 2024/0321547, hereinafter Wieland).
Regarding claim 1, Wieland discloses a charged particle beam chromatic aberration corrector (aberration corrector for individual beams, see paragraph [0077]) comprising:
a plurality of electrical conductors forming a segmented Wien filter including a plurality of Wien filter segments having at least a first Wien filter segment and a second Wien filter segment, wherein the first Wien filter segment is arranged for traversal of a first portion of the charged particle beam, and the second Wien filter segment is arranged for traversal of a second portion of the charged particle beam (Wien filter 430 array having a plurality of Wien filter elements, where each Wien filter element affects a volume 430 through which charged particle beams pass, see Fig. 11 and paragraph [0114]);
the first Wien filter segment arranged at a first distance to a charged particle beam axis and the second Wien filter segment arranged at a second distance to the charged particle beam axis, wherein the first distance is smaller than the second distance (Wien filter elements array 430 arranged around a plurality of beams, see Fig. 11);
wherein the second Wien filter segment is adjacent to the first Wien filter segment (plurality of Wien filter elements are adjacent, see Fig. 11); and
a power supply system configured for generating different electric fields and different magnetic fields for the first Wien filter segment and second Wien filter segment (each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]; power supply is inherent).
Regarding claim 2, Wieland discloses the plurality of Wien filter segments each comprise a first region having a magnetic field, a second region comprising an electric field, wherein the electric field act in an opposite direction as the magnetic field (portion of Wien filter array is depicted in Fig. 12, comprising an electrostatic component and a magnetic component, the electric and magnetic fields are oriented to apply oppositely directed forces to the charged particles, see paragraph [0115]).
Regarding claim 3, Wieland discloses the first region is provided at a different position along an optical axis than the second region (Wien filter elements array 430 arranged around a plurality of beams, see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 4, Wieland discloses a first electric field strength of the first Wien filter segment is different from a second electric field strength of the second Wien filter segment, and wherein a first magnetic field strength of the first Wien filter segment is different from a second magnetic field strength of the second Wien filter segment (each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]).
Regarding claim 5, Wieland discloses the first electric field is perpendicular to the first magnetic field, the first electric field is perpendicular to an axis of the charged particle beam, and the first magnetic field is perpendicular to an axis of the charged particle beam (each Wien filter element is configured to apply perpendicular electric and magnetic fields in a volume 434, see paragraph [0114]; and each Wien filter is perpendicular to the beam axis, see Fig. 11); and
the second electric field is perpendicular to the second magnetic field, the second electric field is perpendicular to an axis of the charged particle beam, and the second magnetic field is perpendicular to an axis of the charged particle beam (each Wien filter element is configured to apply perpendicular electric and magnetic fields in a volume 434, see paragraph [0114]; and each Wien filter is perpendicular to the beam axis, see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 6, Wieland discloses a first opening corresponding to the first Wien filter segment is at a different distance from a center of the corrector than a second opening corresponding to the second Wien filter segment (Wien filter elements array 430 arranged around a plurality of beams where one segment is at a different distance from the center of the corrector, see Fig. 11); and
the first opening is bounded by at least two electrical conductors of the plurality of electrical conductors, which are at different electric potential to each other, and the second opening is bounded by at least two electrical conductors of the plurality of electrical conductors, which are at different electric potential to each other (portion of Wien filter array is depicted in Fig. 12, comprising an electrostatic component and a magnetic component, the electric and magnetic fields are oriented to apply oppositely directed forces to the charged particles, see paragraph [0115]; each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]).
Regarding claim 7, Wieland discloses an electric potential difference or an electric potential difference per distance across the first opening is different or smaller in magnitude than an electric potential difference or an electric potential difference per distance across the second opening; or the first electric field strength is smaller in magnitude than the second electric field (each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]).
Regarding claim 8, Wieland discloses a current in the first Wien filter segment is different or smaller than a current in the second Wien filter segment (each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]; magnetic field generating unit 471 generates a magnetic field by a current flowing in coils around a magnetic core, see paragraph [0115]).
Regarding claim 9, Wieland discloses a charged particle beam chromatic aberration corrector (aberration corrector for individual beams, see paragraph [0077]) comprising:
a first set of wires forming two or more opening including a first opening in a first Wien filter segment and a second opening in a second Wien filter segment, at least the first Wien filter segment and the second Wien filter segment forming a first segmented Wien filter for a charged particle beam, wherein the first opening is arranged for traversal of a first portion of the charged particle beam, and the second opening is arranged for traversal of a second portion of the charged particle beam (Wien filter 430 array having a plurality of Wien filter elements, where each Wien filter element affects a volume 430 through which charged particle beams pass, see Fig. 11 and paragraph [0114]; Wien filter elements comprise wires to form the magnetic field, see paragraph [0115]);
the first Wien filter segment arranged at a first distance to a charged particle beam axis and the second Wien filter segment arranged at a second distance to the charged particle beam axis, wherein the first distance is smaller than the second distance (Wien filter elements array 430 arranged around a plurality of beams, see Fig. 11);
wherein the second Wien filter segment is adjacent to the first Wien filter segment (plurality of Wien filter elements 430 are adjacent, see Fig. 11); and
a first set of current loop forming wires including a first current loop forming wire of the first Wien filter segment and a second current loop forming wire of the second Wien filter segment (Wien filter elements comprise wires to form the magnetic field, see paragraph [0115]).
Regarding claim 10, Wieland discloses a second set of wires and a second set of current loop forming wires, which form a second segmented Wien filter, wherein Wien filter segments of the first segmented Wien filter are configured to generate a dispersion in a first direction and Wien filter segments of the second segmented Wien filter are configured to generate dispersion in a second direction different than the first direction (Wien filter elements comprise wires to form the magnetic field to deflect the beam passing through the volume 434, see paragraph [0115]).
Regarding claim 11, Wieland discloses the first opening is at a different or smaller distance from a center of the corrector than the second opening or wherein the first opening is bounded by at least two wires of the first set of wires (Wien filter elements array 430 arranged around a plurality of beams where one segment is at a different distance from the center of the corrector, see Fig. 11; Wien filter elements comprise wires to form the magnetic field, see paragraph [0115]), which are at different electric potential to each other, and the second opening is bounded by at least two wires of the first set of wires, which are at different electric potential to each other (portion of Wien filter array is depicted in Fig. 12, comprising an electrostatic component and a magnetic component, the electric and magnetic fields are oriented to apply oppositely directed forces to the charged particles, see paragraph [0115]; each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]).
Regarding claim 12, Wieland discloses the first Wien filter segment and the second Wien filter segment have different electric field strengths and different magnetic field strengths, or wherein a wire of the first Wien filter segment is at a less positive potential than a wire of the second Wien filter segment (portion of Wien filter array is depicted in Fig. 12, comprising an electrostatic component and a magnetic component, the electric and magnetic fields are oriented to apply oppositely directed forces to the charged particles, see paragraph [0115]; each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]; Wien filter elements comprise wires to form the magnetic field, see paragraph [0115]).
Regarding claim 13, Wieland discloses a charged particle beam chromatic aberration corrector (aberration corrector for individual beams, see paragraph [0077]) comprising:
a plurality of electrical conductors forming two or more openings including a first opening in a first Wien filter segment and a second opening in a second Wien filter segment (Wien filter 430 array having a plurality of Wien filter elements, where each Wien filter element affects a volume 430 through which charged particle beams pass, see Fig. 11 and paragraph [0114]);
wherein a first electrical conductor and a second electrical conductor of the plurality of electrical conductors extend in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the first opening and the second opening (Wien filter elements array 430 arranged around a plurality of beams, see Fig. 11);
wherein the first Wien filter segment is arranged for traversal of a first portion of a charged particle beam through the first opening and the second Wien filter segment is arranged for traversal of a second portion of the charged particle beam through the second opening (Wien filter elements array 430 arranged around a plurality of beams, see Fig. 11);
the first Wien filter segment arranged at a first distance to a charged particle beam axis and the second Wien filter segment arranged at a second distance to the charged particle beam axis, wherein the first distance is smaller than the second distance (Wien filter elements array 430 arranged around a plurality of beams, see Fig. 11);
wherein the second Wien filter segment is adjacent to the first Wien filter segment (plurality of Wien filter elements are adjacent, see Fig. 11); and
wherein the first electrical conductor bounds the first opening and the second electrical conductor bounds the second opening (plurality of Wien filter elements 340 are made of electrostatic component and magnetic components, see paragraph [0115]).
Regarding claim 14, Wieland discloses further comprising a central opening (see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 15, Wieland discloses the first opening is at a different radial position than the second opening (see Fig. 11); and the first opening is bounded by at least two electrical conductors of the plurality of electrical conductors and the second opening is bounded by at least two electrical conductors of the plurality of electrical conductors, which are at different electric potential to each other (each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]);
an electric potential difference or an electric potential difference per distance across the first opening is different or smaller in magnitude than an electric potential difference or an electric potential difference per distance across the second opening; or the first electric field strength is smaller in magnitude than the second electric field (each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]); and
a current in the first electrical conductor is different or smaller than a current in the second electrical conductor or a first magnetic field across the first opening is different or weaker than a second magnetic field across the second opening (each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]; magnetic field generating unit 471 generates a magnetic field by a current flowing in coils around a magnetic core, see paragraph [0115]).
Regarding claim 16, Wieland discloses a first magnetic field is formed in the first opening by at least a first current in the first electrical conductor, and a first electric field is formed in the first opening by at least the first electrical conductor bounding the first opening being at a positive electric potential and a first magnetic field force on the first portion of the charged particle beam is in an opposite direction to a first electric field force on the first portion of the charged particle beam (portion of Wien filter array is depicted in Fig. 12, comprising an electrostatic component and a magnetic component, the electric and magnetic fields are oriented to apply oppositely directed forces to the charged particles, see paragraph [0115]; each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]); and
a second magnetic field is formed in the second opening by at least a second current in the second electrical conductor, and a second electric field is formed in the second opening by at least an electric potential difference between at least two electrical conductors of the plurality of electrical conductors bounding the second opening and a second magnetic field force on the second portion of the charged particle beam is in an opposite direction to a second electric field force on the second portion of the charged particle beam (portion of Wien filter array is depicted in Fig. 12, comprising an electrostatic component and a magnetic component, the electric and magnetic fields are oriented to apply oppositely directed forces to the charged particles, see paragraph [0115]; each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]).
Regarding claim 17, Wieland discloses the first Wien filter segment and the second Wien filter segment have different electric field strength and different magnetic field strength, or wherein a conductor of the first Wien filter segment is at a less positive potential than a conductor of the second Wien filter segment (each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]).
Regarding claim 18, Wieland discloses the corrector is configured for exerting a first magnetic field force on the first portion of the charged particle beam is in a radially inwards direction and the corrector is configured for exerting a second magnetic field force on the second portion of the charged particle beam is in a radially inwards direction (each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]).
Regarding claim 19, Wieland discloses generating a respective one of a plurality of electric fields and a respective one a plurality of magnetic fields in each of the two or more openings (each Wien filter element is configured to apply electric and magnetic fields to a volume 434 where electric and magnetic fields may be applied in different portions of the volume, see paragraph [0114]); and
guiding the charged particle beam through the two or more openings (Wien filter elements apply an electric and magnetic field to the volume 434 through which a particle beam passes for deflection, see paragraph [0114]).
Claims 1, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khursheed (US PGPub 2016/0056011, hereinafter Kursheed) as evidenced by Wieland.
Regarding claim 1, Khursheed discloses a charged particle beam chromatic aberration corrector (aberration correction apparatus, see abstract) comprising:
a plurality of electrical conductors forming a segmented Wien filter including a plurality of Wien filter segments having at least a first Wien filter segment and a second Wien filter segment, wherein the first Wien filter segment is arranged for traversal of a first portion of the charged particle beam, and the second Wien filter segment is arranged for traversal of a second portion of the charged particle beam (aberration correction apparatus 200 includes a first conductive element 212, and a second conductive element 214 arranged rotationally symmetrical about the first conductive element to apply a magnetic and electric field force to the space between the conductive elements 212 and 214, see paragraph [0052]; first and second segments (e.g. spaces where annular beams 204 travel) are shown in Fig. 2A between conductive elements 214 and 212. While Khursheed does not explicitly label this arrangement as a Wien filter, a similar arrangement of conductive elements is disclosed as a Wien filter to apply a magnetic and electric field force as evidenced by Wieland, see paragraph [0115]);
the first Wien filter segment arranged at a first distance to a charged particle beam axis and the second Wien filter segment arranged at a second distance to the charged particle beam axis, wherein the first distance is smaller than the second distance (conductive elements 214 and 212 are arranged around a plurality of beams 204, see Fig. 2A);
wherein the second Wien filter segment is adjacent to the first Wien filter segment (plurality of spaces between conductive elements 214 and 212 allow multiple annular beams 204 to travel, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0052]); and
a power supply system configured for generating different electric fields and different magnetic fields for the first Wien filter segment and second Wien filter segment (aberration correction unit 210 generates a magnetic field force between the first conductive element 212 and a second conductive element 214 in response to a current, see paragraph [0059]; magnetic field forces 216a are opposed to each other (opposite directions are different), see Fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 19, Khursheed discloses generating a respective one of a plurality of electric fields and a respective one a plurality of magnetic fields in each of the two or more openings (aberration correction apparatus 200 includes a first conductive element 212, and a second conductive element 214 arranged rotationally symmetrical about the first conductive element to apply a magnetic and electric field force to the space between the conductive elements 212 and 214, see paragraph [0052]); and
guiding the charged particle beam through the two or more openings (first and second conductive elements 212 and 214 generate a magnetic field force and an electric field force directed in opposite directions and superimposed on each other to act on the charged particles 206, see paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 20, Khursheed discloses reducing a spot size of the charged particle beam by adjusting a first current to change a first magnetic field strength and adjusting a second current to change a second magnetic field strength (aberration correction apparatus 200 includes a first conductive element 212, and a second conductive element 214 arranged rotationally symmetrical about the first conductive element to apply a magnetic and electric field force to the space between the conductive elements 212 and 214, see paragraph [0052]; strengths of the fields in the chromatic aberration unit may be gradually increased, carefully monitoring the effect on the final spot size, see paragraph [0167]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Hanway Chang
/HC/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881