DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show subject matter of claims 2, 5 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D0 US 20190051762 A1.
Regarding claim 1 D0 teaches
(Currently Amended) An optical module, comprising:
an emitter;[0013]
a first light-receiving region; [0013]
a first pre-formed transparent element(52 fig. 12F) disposed over the emitter and the first light- receiving region(in combination with fig. 10 ), configured to provide an optical guiding path within the optical module;(light comes out of 52 and then back to receiver)
a wire(4) electrically connected between a carrier(61) and a surface of the emitter facing away from the carrier;(fig. 12a-d) and
a first adhesive material(8) disposed between the emitter and the first pre-formed transparent element and covering a part of the wire(fig. 12 A), wherein the first adhesive material is configured to enhance light collection from the emitter. [0474](by absorbing wavelength out of desired it increases signal to noise and hence enhance the light collection of desired spectrum)
15 wherein the first adhesive material is transparent to a light beam from the emitter[0684](clear encapsulation material)
18(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 17[[15]], wherein a width of the first adhesive material at an elevation contacting the first pre-formed transparent element is greater than a width of an emitting region of the emitter. (fig. 10)
19(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 1[[15]], further comprising: afirst light blocking layer conformal to a plurality of external surfaces of the first pre- formed transparent element . (fig. 12f)
20(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 19, wherein a part of the first light blocking layer is between the emitter and the first pre-formed transparent element(fig. 12f)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and claims bellow is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D0 in view of D1 20050180698.
Regarding Claim 2 D0 teaches
an electronic device having the first light-receiving region and a second light-receiving region,(fig. 10 and [0013])
does not teach but D1 teaches
2(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein a first percentage of a light beam from the emitter is guided by the first pre- formed transparent element toward the first light-receiving region, and a second percentage of the light beam is reflected by an external target toward the second light-receiving region. (fig. 3)
3(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 2, wherein the electronic device is configured to control the emitter based on one or more properties of the first percentage of the light beam.( D1 [0013] compensating based on monitor)
4(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 2[[1]], further comprising: a first light blocking layer conformal to one or more external surfaces of the first pre- formed transparent element and defining a first aperture exposing the first pre-formed transparent element, wherein the first aperture and the first light-receiving region are non- overlapped in a direction substantially perpendicular to a surface of the electronic device facing away from the carrier. (D0 fig. 10 receiver does not face emitter window)
5(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 4, further comprising: a second pre-formed transparent element separated from the first pre-formed transparent element and disposed over the second light-receiving region; and a second light blocking layer conformal to one or more external surfaces of the second pre-formed transparent element and defining a second aperture exposing the second pre- formed transparent element, wherein the second aperture is configured to receive the second percentage of the light beam. (fig. 10)
It will be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify teachings taught by D0 with teachings by D1 in order to provide reference beam for the system and compensation for the different effects.
6(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 5, further comprising: an encapsulant covering the emitter, the electronic device, the first pre-formed transparent element, and the second pre-formed transparent element, wherein the encapsulant is partially disposed between the emitter and the electronic device, the emitter and the first pre-formed transparent element, the electronic device and the second pre- formed transparent element, and the first pre-formed transparent element and the second pre-formed transparent element. (D0 further teaches fig. 5C multiple elements 2 which can be receivers transmitters electronic device which are encapsulated by encapsulant and fig. 12b wiring+ emitter or receiver can be considered electronic device)
7(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 6, wherein the encapsulant contacts a lateral surface of the emitter, a lateral surface and a top surface of the electronic device, a lateral surface and a top surface of first light blocking layer, and a lateral surface and a top surface of second light blocking layer.( D0 Fig. 12b )
8(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 7, wherein the encapsulant(8) is spaced apart from a bottom surface and a top surface of the emitter, and a bottom surface of the electronic device. (fig. 12b)
9(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 8, wherein the first light blocking layer has a first protruding portion constituting a sidewall of the first aperture, wherein the encapsulant is spaced apart from a top surface of the first protruding portion.(fig. 12b)
10(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 9, wherein the second light blocking layer has a second protruding portion constituting a sidewall of the second aperture, wherein the encapsulant is spaced apart from a top surface of the second protruding portion. (combinationfig. 10 and fig. 12b)
(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 9, further comprising: a light transmissive material contacting a top surface of the first pre-formed transparent element and the first protruding portion. (fig. 12f 52)
12(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 5[[8]], further comprising: a second adhesive material disposed between the second light-receiving region and the second pre-formed transparent element. (7 with just second cell )
13(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 12, wherein the first adhesive material contacts the emitter and the first pre-formed transparent element, and the second adhesive material contacts the second light-receiving region and the second pre- formed transparent element.(fig. 10 multiple cells with similar properties)
Claim(s) 14 claims bellow is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D0 in view of D1 20050180698 further in view of D2 US 20040169929 A1.
Although D0 does not teach
14(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 12, wherein the first adhesive material and the second adhesive material are configured to compensate a thickness difference between the emitter and the electronic device.
D0 teaches filling with material 8 which includes adhesive between receiver and aperture similarly between the emitter and aperture
D2 teaches different height positioning of the emitter and receiver.(fig. 1)
16(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 15, wherein a width of the first adhesive material is greater than a width of a light emitting region of the emitter.
It will be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify teachings taught by D0 with teachings by D2 in order to ad it is just matter of design choice where to place the emitter and receiver.
Claim(s) 17 and claims bellow is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D0.
17(Currently Amended) The optical module of claim 1[[16]], wherein a shape of the first adhesive material is configured to enhance light collection from the emitter. (Obvious design choice well known as evidences by US 20030094566 A1 )
Although D0 does not explicitly teach it is just matter of the obvious design modification in order to reduce amount of lost light and hence heating of the equipment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645