Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/25/2015 has been entered. Claims 5 and 18 have been canceled. Claims 1-2, 6, 8, 14-15 and 19 has been amended. Claims 1-4, 6-17 and 19-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 09/12/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-17 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et al. (US 20220030504 A1) in view of Tao et al. (US 20230254801 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shrestha teaches a method (method of Fig. 3-5), comprising:
initiating, by a processor of a user equipment (UE), a procedure in a satellite-accessing cell of a selected public land mobile network (PLMN) (The UE 402 may transmit a connection request message to a core network to perform a registration update or to enter a connected mode. For example, the UE 402 may transmit a connection request for cell 1, [0070]; For example, cell 1 corresponds to a first PLMN ID (e.g., PLMN1), [0056]; The satellite 302 provides coverage via two different cells (shown as cell 1 and cell 2), [0049]); and
selecting, by the processor, a tracking area code (TAC) from a plurality of TACs (UE 304 selects one of the multiple TACs, [0052]) broadcast by the satellite-accessing cell for the selected PLMN (a cell may broadcast multiple tracking area codes (e.g., tracking area identities) when it covers multiple tracking areas, [0052]) such that a tracking area identifier (TAI), constructed from the current TAC and a PLMN identifier (PLMN ID) of the selected PLMN (cell global identity may be a function of the PLMN ID, the tracking area code, the cell ID, and/or other elements, [0057]), is a current TAI associated with a geographical area in which the UE is located (UE may determine its location and derive a tracking area code (TAC) based on the UE's determined location, [0054]; UE may determine a tracking area identity (e.g., tracking area code) to select based on its location. In the current description, the tracking area code may be referred to as the tracking area identity, [0055], UE 402 determines its geo-location based on one or more location sensors. From the determined location, the UE 402 determines it is in TA1, [0060]).
However, Shrestha does not clearly teach wherein the selecting comprises considering each TAI corresponding to the plurality of TACs as equally current until a successful completion of the procedure; and upon the successful completion of the procedure, selecting one of the candidate TAIs as the current TAI in accordance with a TAI that best represents the geographical location of the UE.
In an analogous art, Tao teaches wherein the selecting comprises considering each TAI corresponding to the plurality of TACs as equally current until a successful completion of the procedure (UE.sub.3 determines whether it is switched from cell C.sub.2 to cell C′.sub.1 depending on whether the TAC broadcasted in cell C′.sub.1 is equal to or different from the TAC to which the UE.sub.3 is registered, and/or depending on whether the TAC broadcasted in cell C.sub.2 is equal to or different from the TAC to which the UE.sub.3 is registered, [0190]); and upon the successful completion of the procedure, selecting one of the candidate TAIs as the current TAI in accordance with a TAI that best represents the geographical location of the UE (UE.sub.1 may report its location, for instance, in the framework of a periodic TAU procedure, [0202]; AMF may assign TA.sub.A and TA.sub.B to UE.sub.1 in a case where the reported position is within a certain threshold distance from a boundary between TA.sub.A and TA.sub.B, [0203]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the store and forward method of Shrestha with the Tac of Tao Kumar to provide a method to save UE power and/or reduce signaling overhead in a wireless communication network as suggested, Tao [0005].
Regarding claim 2, Shrestha as modified by Tao teaches the method of Claim 1, further comprising: considering the current TAI as a last visited registered TAI upon a successful completion of the procedure (The UE 402 may select a cell if a tracking area identity corresponding to the first CGI matches a last used or registered tracking area identity, [0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Shrestha as modified by Tao teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the selecting comprises selecting one of the plurality of TACs of the selected PLMN from a first, a last or another specific place in a listing the plurality of TACs (Additionally, at time t1, the UE 304 is located within cell 2. Because cell 2 only broadcasts TAC2 at time t1, the UE 304 selects TAC2, [0051]), and wherein the selected one of the plurality of TACs from the first, last or another specific place in the listing of the plurality of TACs is considered as a TAC corresponding to a current geographical location of the UE (Additionally, at time t1, the UE 304 is located within cell 2. Because cell 2 only broadcasts TAC2 at time t1, the UE 304 selects TAC2, [0051]; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Shrestha as modified by Tao teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the selecting comprises: considering each TAI of the selected PLMN of a plurality of candidate TAIs corresponding to the plurality of TACs of the selected PLMN as being equally current (a cell may broadcast a list of tracking area identities for current cell coverage and future cell coverage. Alternatively, the cell broadcasts a list of tracking area identities (e.g., including past, current, and future) and updates the list only when the UE 402 enters a new tracking area, which is not in the list. The cell provides an indication that one or multiple target area codes belong to the current cell, [0074]);
completing the procedure (the UE 402 enters a connected mode, [0073]); and at the a successful completion of the procedure, selecting one of a plurality of the TAIs as the current TAI and considering the current TAI as a last visited registered TAI (The UE 402 may select a cell if a tracking area identity corresponding to the first CGI matches a last used or registered tracking area identity, [0061]).
Regarding claim 7, Shrestha as modified by Tao the method of Claim 1, wherein the procedure comprises an ATTACH procedure, a TRACKING AREA UPDATE procedure, or a REGISTRATION procedure (The UE 402 may transmit a connection request message to a core network to perform a registration update or to enter a connected mode, [0070]).
Regarding claim 8, Shrestha teaches a method (method of Fig. 3-5 using UE of Fig. 2), comprising:
initiating, by a processor of a user equipment (UE)(processor 280), a non-access stratum (NAS) procedure in a satellite-accessing cell of a selected public land mobile network (PLMN)( The UE 402 may transmit a connection request message to a core network to perform a registration update or to enter a connected mode. For example, the UE 402 may transmit a connection request for cell 1, [0070]; For example, cell 1 corresponds to a first PLMN ID (e.g., PLMN1), [0056]; The satellite 302 provides coverage via two different cells (shown as cell 1 and cell 2), [0049]);
receiving, by the processor, assistance information from the selected PLMN (Additionally, at time t2, the UE 304 is now located within cell 1, which broadcasts TAC1 and TAC2, [0052]); and
selecting, by the processor with the assistance information, a tracking area code (TAC) from a plurality of TACs (UE 304 selects one of the multiple TACs, [0052]) of the selected PLMN broadcast by the cell as a current TAC (a cell may broadcast multiple tracking area codes (e.g., tracking area identities) when it covers multiple tracking areas, [0052]) such that a tracking area identifier (TAI), constructed from the current TAC and a PLMN identifier (PLMN ID) of the selected PLMN (cell global identity may be a function of the PLMN ID, the tracking area code, the cell ID, and/or other elements, [0057]), is a current TAI associated with a geographical area in which the UE is located (UE may determine its location and derive a tracking area code (TAC) based on the UE's determined location, [0054]; UE may determine a tracking area identity (e.g., tracking area code) to select based on its location. In the current description, the tracking area code may be referred to as the tracking area identity, [0055], UE 402 determines its geo-location based on one or more location sensors. From the determined location, the UE 402 determines it is in TA1, [0060]).
However, Shrestha does not clearly teach wherein the selecting comprises considering each TAI corresponding to the plurality of TACs as equally current until a successful completion of the procedure; and upon the successful completion of the procedure, selecting one of the candidate TAIs as the current TAI in accordance with a TAI that best represents the geographical location of the UE.
In an analogous art, Tao teaches wherein the selecting comprises considering each TAI corresponding to the plurality of TACs as equally current until a successful completion of the procedure (UE.sub.3 determines whether it is switched from cell C.sub.2 to cell C′.sub.1 depending on whether the TAC broadcasted in cell C′.sub.1 is equal to or different from the TAC to which the UE.sub.3 is registered, and/or depending on whether the TAC broadcasted in cell C.sub.2 is equal to or different from the TAC to which the UE.sub.3 is registered, [0190]); and upon the successful completion of the procedure, selecting one of the candidate TAIs as the current TAI in accordance with a TAI that best represents the geographical location of the UE (UE.sub.1 may report its location, for instance, in the framework of a periodic TAU procedure, [0202]; AMF may assign TA.sub.A and TA.sub.B to UE.sub.1 in a case where the reported position is within a certain threshold distance from a boundary between TA.sub.A and TA.sub.B, [0203]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the store and forward method of Shrestha with the Tac of Tao Kumar to provide a method to save UE power and/or reduce signaling overhead in a wireless communication network as suggested, Tao [0005].
Regarding claim 9, Shrestha as modified by Tao teaches the method of Claim 8, wherein the receiving of the assistance information comprises receiving system information broadcast by the cell indicating that one of the plurality of TACs of the selected PLMN or a plurality of TAls correlates to a geographical location of the cell or the UE (TABLE 1 provides an example of information elements that may be provided as system information, such as in a system information block (SIB) or SIB1, broadcast to the UE 402, [0075], Table 1), and wherein the selecting comprises selecting the indicated one of the plurality of TACs as the current TAI (The tracking area module 140 may also determine a current tracking area identity of the UE from a number of tracking area identities of the cell based on a predefined or preconfigured rule, [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Shrestha as modified by Tao teaches the method of Claim 8, wherein the receiving of the assistance information comprises receiving an access stratum (AS) signaling from the cell indicating that one of the plurality of TACs based on which the UE constructs the current TAI (For example, the base station 110 may configure a UE 120 via downlink control information (DCI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC-CE) or via system information (e.g., a system information block (SIB), [0038]; Additionally, at time t2, the UE 304 is now located within cell 1, which broadcasts TAC1 and TAC2, [0052] and The list of allowed tracking area codes may be stored by the UE 402, [0065]).
Regarding claim 11, Shrestha as modified by Tao teaches the method of Claim 10, wherein the receiving of the AS signaling comprises receiving a downlink (DL) radio resource control (RRC) message (For example, the base station 110 may configure a UE 120 via downlink control information (DCI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC-CE) or via system information (e.g., a system information block (SIB), [0038]).
Regarding claim 12, Shrestha as modified by Tao teaches the method of Claim 8, wherein the receiving of the assistance information comprises receiving, responsive to initiating the NAS procedure, a response message from the network indicating that one of the plurality of TACs is the current TAI (when the UE 402 cannot determine a unique mapping between the CGI (e.g., tracking area code) and the UE's geo-location, the UE 402 enters a connected mode, and a radio access network (RAN) determines the UE's location (e.g., based on the UE's reported position or network based positioning procedure). The network may then provide the UE 402 with the mapping information between the CGI and the UE's geo-location, [0073]).
Regarding claim 13, Shrestha as modified by Tao teaches the method of Claim 8, wherein the NAS procedure comprises an ATTACH procedure, a TRACKING AREA UPDATE procedure, or a REGISTRATION procedure (The UE 402 may indicate its current tracking area (e.g., TA1), or CGI (e.g., CGI1), in a non-access stratum (NAS) registration update message, [0072]).
Regarding claim 14, Shrestha teaches un apparatus implementable in a user equipment (UE)(UE 120 of Fig. 2), comprising:
a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly with a selected public land mobile network (PLMN)(receive processor 258); and
a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations comprising (processor 280):
initiating, via the transceiver, a procedure in a satellite-accessing cell of the network (The UE 402 may transmit a connection request message to a core network to perform a registration update or to enter a connected mode. For example, the UE 402 may transmit a connection request for cell 1, [0070]; For example, cell 1 corresponds to a first PLMN ID (e.g., PLMN1), [0056]; The satellite 302 provides coverage via two different cells (shown as cell 1 and cell 2), [0049]); and
selecting, by the processor, a tracking area code (TAC) from a plurality of TACs (UE 304 selects one of the multiple TACs, [0052]) of the selected PLMN broadcast by the cell as a current TAC such that a tracking area identifier (TAI) TAC (a cell may broadcast multiple tracking area codes (e.g., tracking area identities) when it covers multiple tracking areas, [0052]) such that a tracking area identifier (TAI), constructed from the current TAC and a PLMN identifier (PLMN ID) of the selected PLMN (cell global identity may be a function of the PLMN ID, the tracking area code, the cell ID, and/or other elements, [0057]), is a current TAI associated with a geographical area in which the UE is located (UE may determine its location and derive a tracking area code (TAC) based on the UE's determined location, [0054]; UE may determine a tracking area identity (e.g., tracking area code) to select based on its location. In the current description, the tracking area code may be referred to as the tracking area identity, [0055], UE 402 determines its geo-location based on one or more location sensors. From the determined location, the UE 402 determines it is in TA1, [0060]).
However, Shrestha does not clearly teach wherein the selecting comprises considering each TAI corresponding to the plurality of TACs as equally current until a successful completion of the procedure; and upon the successful completion of the procedure, selecting one of the candidate TAIs as the current TAI in accordance with a TAI that best represents the geographical location of the UE.
In an analogous art, Tao teaches wherein the selecting comprises considering each TAI corresponding to the plurality of TACs as equally current until a successful completion of the procedure (UE.sub.3 determines whether it is switched from cell C.sub.2 to cell C′.sub.1 depending on whether the TAC broadcasted in cell C′.sub.1 is equal to or different from the TAC to which the UE.sub.3 is registered, and/or depending on whether the TAC broadcasted in cell C.sub.2 is equal to or different from the TAC to which the UE.sub.3 is registered, [0190]); and upon the successful completion of the procedure, selecting one of the candidate TAIs as the current TAI in accordance with a TAI that best represents the geographical location of the UE (UE.sub.1 may report its location, for instance, in the framework of a periodic TAU procedure, [0202]; AMF may assign TA.sub.A and TA.sub.B to UE.sub.1 in a case where the reported position is within a certain threshold distance from a boundary between TA.sub.A and TA.sub.B, [0203]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the store and forward method of Shrestha with the Tac of Tao Kumar to provide a method to save UE power and/or reduce signaling overhead in a wireless communication network as suggested, Tao [0005].
Regarding claim 15, Shrestha as modified by Tao teaches the apparatus of Claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to consider the current TAI as a last visited registered TAI at the a successful completion of the procedure. at successful completion of the procedure considering the current TAI as the last visited registered TAI (The UE 402 may select a cell if a tracking area identity corresponding to the first CGI matches a last used or registered tracking area identity, [0061]).
Regarding claim 16, Shrestha as modified by Tao teaches the apparatus of Claim 14, wherein the selecting comprises selecting one of the plurality of TACs of the selected PLMN from a first, a last or another specific place in a listing of the plurality of TACs (Additionally, at time t1, the UE 304 is located within cell 2. Because cell 2 only broadcasts TAC2 at time t1, the UE 304 selects TAC2, [0051]), and wherein the selected one of the plurality of TACs from the first, last or another specific place in the listing of the plurality of TACs is considered as a TAC corresponding to a current geographical location of the UE (Additionally, at time t1, the UE 304 is located within cell 2. Because cell 2 only broadcasts TAC2 at time t1, the UE 304 selects TAC2, [0051]; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Shrestha as modified by Tao teaches the apparatus of Claim 14, wherein the selecting comprises: considering each TAI of the selected PLMN of a plurality of candidate TAls corresponding to the plurality of TACs of the selected PLMN as being equally current (a cell may broadcast a list of tracking area identities for current cell coverage and future cell coverage. Alternatively, the cell broadcasts a list of tracking area identities (e.g., including past, current, and future) and updates the list only when the UE 402 enters a new tracking area, which is not in the list. The cell provides an indication that one or multiple target area codes belong to the current cell, [0074]); completing the procedure (the UE 402 enters a connected mode, [0073]); and at the a successful completion of the procedure, selecting one of the plurality of the TAls as the current TAI and considering the current TAI as a last visited registered TAI (The UE 402 may select a cell if a tracking area identity corresponding to the first CGI matches a last used or registered tracking area identity, [0061]).
Regarding claim 20, Shrestha as modified by Tao the apparatus of Claim 14, wherein the procedure comprises an ATTACH procedure, a TRACKING AREA UPDATE procedure, or a REGISTRATION procedure (The UE 402 may transmit a connection request message to a core network to perform a registration update or to enter a connected mode, [0070]).
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et al. (US 20220030504 A1) in view of Tao and further in view of Kumar et al. (US 20230068504 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Shrestha as modified by Tao teaches the method of Claim 3.
However, Shrestha and Tao do not clearly teach wherein the listing of the plurality of TACs is provided by an access stratum (AS) layer to a non-access stratum (NAS) layer in a same or different order as the plurality of TACs broadcast by the cell, and wherein an order of TACs in the listing of the plurality of TACs is predefined.
In an analogous art, Kumar teaches wherein the listing of the plurality of TACs is provided by an access stratum (AS) layer to a non-access stratum (NAS) layer in a same or different order as the plurality of TACs broadcast by the cell, and wherein an order of TACs in the listing of the plurality of TACs is predefined (A UE may also include various information as part of CGI information include in the logged MDT. Such information may include, for example, a list of TAC selected in order and duration of each TAC, [0102] and UE may indicate availability of TN and NTN SON and logged MDT reports separately, for example, in the RRCReconfigurationComplete, RRCSetupComplete, RRCReastablishmentComplete, and RRCResumeComplete messages, [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the store and forward method of Shrestha and Tao with the Tac order of Kumar to provide a method for data collection reporting in non-terrestrial networks to better serve the user as suggested, Kumar [0001].
Regarding claim 17, Shrestha as modified by Tao teaches the apparatus of Claim 15.
However, Shrestha and Tao do not clearly teach wherein the listing of the plurality of TACs is provided by an access stratum (AS) layer to a non-access stratum (NAS) layer in a same or different order as the plurality of TACs broadcast by the cell, and wherein an order of TACs in the listing of the plurality of TACs is predefined.
In an analogous art, Kumar teaches wherein the listing of the plurality of TACs is provided by an access stratum (AS) layer to a non-access stratum (NAS) layer in a same or different order as the plurality of TACs broadcast by the cell, and wherein an order of TACs in the listing of the plurality of TACs is predefined (A UE may also include various information as part of CGI information include in the logged MDT. Such information may include, for example, a list of TAC selected in order and duration of each TAC, [0102] and UE may indicate availability of TN and NTN SON and logged MDT reports separately, for example, in the RRCReconfigurationComplete, RRCSetupComplete, RRCReastablishmentComplete, and RRCResumeComplete messages, [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the store and forward method of Shrestha and Tao with the Tac order of Kumar to provide a method for data collection reporting in non-terrestrial networks to better serve the user as suggested, Kumar [0001].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Niemi (US 20230224847 A1): Examples pertaining to handling of multiple tracking area identifiers (TAIs) in satellite access in mobile communications are described. A user equipment (UE) initiates a procedure with a satellite-accessing cell of a network. The UE constructs a TAI or a plurality of TAIs, as a list of TAIs, of the cell depending on whether the broadcasts one or more than one tracking area codes (TACs) per public land mobile network (PLMN). The UE receives either a reject message or an accept message from the network responsive to initiating the procedure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641