DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The Examiner acknowledges that the cancellation of claims 12-14 renders the previous rejections of claims 12-14 under 35 USC 112(b) moot. Therefore, the previous rejections of claims 12-14 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xue et al. (US 2022/0352259) hereinafter “Xue”.
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 18 of Xue teaches a display device (Paragraph 0001) comprising: a substrate (Item 10); and a plurality of first pixels (Items 01), a plurality of second pixels (Items 03), and a plurality of third pixels (Items 02), positioned on the substrate (Item 10), wherein two adjacent first pixels of the plurality of first pixels (Items 01) and two adjacent third pixels of the plurality of third pixels (Items 02) are disposed at corners of a virtual first quadrangle that is a rectangle (Top right quadrant of Item 10), four adjacent second pixels of the plurality of second pixels (Items 03) are disposed at corners of a virtual second quadrangle that is a trapezoid having a short side (Side between two 91.27 degree angles) and a long side (Side between two 88.73 degree angles), one of the four adjacent second pixels (Items 03) is disposed within the virtual first quadrangle, and a center of the virtual first quadrangle does not overlap (Where the centers of all four quadrangles is the same in each respective quadrangle and the center each of the respective second pixels is different because of their respective shape and therefore at least one (if not all) of the centers of the second pixels will not overlap with a center of the virtual quadrangle) a center of the one of the four adjacent second pixels (Item 03).
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 18 of Xue further teaches wherein the plurality of first pixels (Items 01) and the plurality of third pixels (Items 02) are alternately disposed one by one along a first direction (Up and down across the page), and the plurality of first pixels (Items 01) and the plurality of third pixels (Items 02) are alternately disposed one by one along a second direction (Left to right across the page) perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 18 of Xue further teaches wherein the plurality of second pixels (Items 03) include a first-second pixel, a second-second pixel, and a third-second pixel that are sequentially disposed on a same line (a line that extends up and down the page), and a distance between the first-second pixel and the second-second pixel adjacent to each other is different from a distance between the second-second pixel and the third-second pixel adjacent to each other (due to the angles in the virtual trapezoid the distance between the first, second and third second pixels will be different from each other).
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 18 of Xue further teaches (when extrapolated out to the full display of Huang as would be seen in Fig. 3 if Fig. 3 showed a display with the pixel pattern from Fig. 18) wherein the plurality of first pixels include a first-first pixel, the plurality of third pixels include a first-third pixel and a second-third pixel, the first-third pixel, the first-first pixel, and the second-third pixel are sequentially disposed on a same line.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 18 of Xue further teaches (when extrapolated out to the full display of Hung as would be seen in Fig. 3 if Fig. 3 showed a display with the pixel pattern from Fig. 18) wherein the plurality of first pixels (Items 01) and the plurality of third pixels (Items 02) are alternately disposed one by one along a first direction (Up and down across the page), a minimum distance and a maximum distance among distances between the plurality of first pixels and the plurality of third pixels in the first direction are alternately repeated, and a minimum distance and a maximum distance among distances between the plurality of second pixels (Items 03) adjacent in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction are alternately repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2023/0006003) hereinafter “Huang”.
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 10 of Huang (when extrapolated out to the full display of Huang as would be seen in Fig. 6 if Fig. 6 showed a display with the pixel pattern from Fig. 10) teaches a display device (Paragraph 0003) comprising: a substrate (Item 8); and a plurality of first pixels (Items 6), a plurality of second pixels (Items 5), and a plurality of third pixels (Items 7), disposed on the substrate (Item 8), wherein four of the plurality of second pixels (Items 5) are disposed at corners of a virtual first trapezoid, four of the plurality of second pixels (Items 5) are disposed at corners of a virtual second trapezoid, a long side of the virtual first trapezoid and a long side of the virtual second trapezoid overlap each other, each of the plurality of first pixels (Items 6) is disposed within and near the virtual first trapezoid, and each of the plurality of third pixels (Items 7) is disposed within and near a center of the virtual second trapezoid.
Huang does not explicitly teach where each of the first pixels is disposed at a center of the first virtual trapezoid nor where each of the third pixels is disposed at a center of the second virtual trapezoid.
However, Huang further teaches where the location of the respective first pixel (Item 6) or third pixel (Item 7) may be altered such that the respective first pixel and third pixel may be placed within the virtual trapezoid at any number of locations (Paragraph 0070).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the first pixels be disposed at a center of the first virtual trapezoid and each of the second pixels be disposed at a center of the second virtual trapezoid because this achieves a close arrangement of pixels while avoiding the problem of color mixing between pixels cause by evaporation (Huang Paragraphs 0070 and 0071).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s REMARKS, filed 06/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Xue.
Applicant's arguments, with regard to claim 8, filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, the Applicant argues that the Examiner is using the overall diagram of Fig. 6 of Huang to disclose the arrangement of claim 8 and the features of claim 8 are not disclosed in Fig. 6 of Huang, thus Huang does not read on claim 8. While the Examiner agrees that Fig. 6 of Huang does not read on the features of the Applicant’s claim 8, the Examiner did not, and currently does not, rely on the features of Huang Fig. 6 to read on the features recited in claim 8. Instead, in the previous and current rejection of claim 8, the Examiner relies on the disclosure in Fig. 10 of Huang to teach the features of claim 8. In the rejection the Examiner recites “Fig. 10 of Huang (when extrapolated out to the full display of Huang as would be seen in Fig. 6 if Fig. 6 showed a display with the pixel pattern from Fig. 10). This means that the Examiner is referring to a larger scope of a display which is made up of multiple units having the orientation of the unit shown in Fig. 10 versus merely the single unit shown in Fig. 10. The language recited previously and currently does not suggest the Examiner is relying on the subpixel pattern shown in Fig. 6 of Huang. As such, the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the Examiner maintains the reliance upon Huang to reject claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891