Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/03/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 12, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Synthesis Of Molybdenum Containing Thin Films Using Organic Reducing Agents And Synthesis Of Magnesium Silyl Intermediate Complexes For Use In Atomic Layer Deposition” to Overbeek in view of WO 2021-035236 to Blakeney in view of US 2014/0273530 to Nguyen.
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 21:
Overbeek teaches depositing a molybdenum film directly on a substrate surface (Fig. 45) by subjecting the substrate to a molybdenum precursor (MoCl5) and an organosilane reducing agent (compound 1; 2-methyl-1,4-bis(trimethylsilyl)-2,5- cyclohexadiene
) at a temperature of 385°C using ALD (pg. 54-55). The resulting film has molybdenum-carbon bonds (pg. 53) and is grown directly on a SiO2 substrate (Fig. 47). The molybdenum precursor was supplied using a Picosolid booster (i.e., first ampoule) at 120°C and compound 1 was supplied using a Picosoild booster (i.e., second ampoule) at 65°C (pg. 69). Overbeek does also describe the other molybdenum precursors including MoF6 (Fig. 10).
Overbeek does not teach an additional step for plasma treatment to remove carbon from the molybdenum film. However, Blakeney teaches a method form forming a substantially carbon free molybdenum film wherein the deposited molybdenum film is subjected to plasma post-treatment, resulting in a substantial decrease in film resistivity (pg. 16). The plasma post treatment includes remote plasma of nitrogen and silane (pg. 14). It would have been understood that this decrease in resistivity is due to removal of carbon from the film. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Overbeek and further subject to the film to plasma post-treatment in order to reduce the resistivity of the film. Blakeney teaches such a plasma post-treatment, and the combination amounts to the use of known steps for their intended use in a known environment to accomplish an expected result.
Overbeek and Blakeney do not specify a particular plasma source. However, Nguyen teaches CCP, ICP and microwave plasma sources [0037] for vapor deposition generally and plasma post treatment specifically [0030]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use CCP, ICP, or microwave as the plasma source because Nguyen establishes these are suitable plasma sources known in vapor deposition.
Claim 8:
Temperature is addressed above, the ALD reactor was maintained at 7-10 mbar (Overbeek; pg. 69 referencing pg. 51).
Claim 12:
Blakeney teaches H2 plasma that can either be direct (in situ) or remote (ex situ) (pg. 14).
Claims 23-24:
Overbeek also teaches the nitrogen containing version of the reducing agent (DHP) (Fig. 12).
Claim(s) 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Synthesis Of Molybdenum Containing Thin Films Using Organic Reducing Agents And Synthesis Of Magnesium Silyl Intermediate Complexes For Use In Atomic Layer Deposition” to Overbeek in view of WO 2021-035236 to Blakeney in view of US 2014/0273530 to Nguyen in view of US 2015/0004315 to Winter.
Previously cited prior art does not teach the reducing agent of formula (III). However, Winter teaches reducing agents for ALD including those illustrated in Fig. 2. This includes those having a carbon ring structure (top left), nitrogen substituted ring structure (center), and double ring structures (bottom). The double ring structures are analogous to claimed formula (III). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the reducing agents of Overbeek with the reducing agents of Winter. This predictably results in the reduction of molybdenum to form a molybdenum film [0053].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/1/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of co-filed claim amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of further review of the art and further search.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759