DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-11, 13, 14, 22, 24 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatogawa (US 2020/0142449) in view of Yin et al. (US 2024/0038153).
In regard to claim 1, Nakatogawa teaches a display panel comprising: a substrate (element 12) including a main display area (fig. 4 MDA) and a first strip portion extending from the main display area in a first direction (fig. 4 see elements P3 on each side); a plurality of main pixel circuits arranged in a matrix in the main display area, wherein all of the main pixel circuits arranged in a first column among the plurality of main pixel circuits are defined as first main pixel circuits, and all of the main pixel circuits arranged in a second column among the plurality of main pixel circuits are defined as second main pixel circuits; (element 50 and paragraph 41); a plurality of first auxiliary pixel circuits arranged in a line in the first direction in the first strip portion, the plurality of first auxiliary pixel circuits including (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 6 element 52 and paragraph 41); a first data line connected to all of the first main pixel circuits and (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits; a second data line connected to all of the second main pixel circuits and (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 14, the data line is connected to circuits in P3’ and the main display area 50. Each data line in the device is connected to every other structure in the device); and a first scan line electrically connected to one of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and one of the (1- 2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (figs. 2 and 12. The scan lines are connected to each row of pixel circuits) but does not teach a first data line electrically connected to all of the first main pixel circuits and (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits; a second data line electrically connected to all of the second main pixel circuits and (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (Fig. 14 of Nakatogawa shows the data line being in both the main and auxiliary areas. Nakatogawa does not specifically teach the data line in the main area being connected to any pixels).
Yin et al. teach a first data line electrically connected to all of the first main pixel circuits and (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits; a second data line electrically connected to all of the second main pixel circuits and (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (Fig. 5, (n-2), (n-1) and (n) are data lines that are used for both the main area 111 and the pixel islands 151 and 152).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Nakatogawa with the data lines being used for multiple display areas as shown in Yin et al. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Nakatogawa with the data lines being used for multiple display areas as shown in Yin et al. because the device of Yin et al. shows that is known to use a single data line for multiple displays areas in different columns. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using the data line of Yin et al. would work predictably in the apparatus of Nakatogawa and would allow for the use of fewer data lines.
In regard to claim 2, Nakatogawa teaches wherein the substrate further includes a second strip portion extending from the main display area in a second direction intersecting with the first direction, all of the main pixel circuits arranged in a third column among the plurality of main pixel circuits are defined as third main pixel circuits ,all of the main pixel circuits arranged in a fourth column among the plurality of main pixel circuits are defined as fourth main pixel circuits (fig. 4 and paragraph 39, Nakatogawa teaches the second side S2 being on both sides of the display area), and the display panel further comprises: a plurality of second auxiliary pixel circuits arranged in a line in the second direction in the second strip portion, the plurality of second auxiliary pixel circuits including (2- 1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and (2-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits; a third data line connected to all of the third main pixel circuits and (2-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits; a fourth data line connected to all of the fourth main pixel circuits and (2-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits; and a second scan line electrically connected to one of the (2-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and one of the (2-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (figs. 4, 12 and 14. The display of Nakatogawa is symmetrical. The first corner portion angles to the top and right and the second corner portion angles to the top and left. The data lines and scan lines are each connected to all over circuits and lines in the device).
Yin et al. teach the data lines electrically connected to the third and fourth main pixel (2-1)th and (2-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 5)
In regard to claim 3, Nakatogawa teaches wherein the first scan line is configured to transmit a first scan signal, and the second scan line is configured to transmit a second scan signal that is substantially synchronized with the first scan signal or is later than the first scan signal by "n" horizontal scan periods, where "n" is a natural number (fig. 8 and paragraph 52. Each of the first, second and third areas are scanned in sequence).
In regard to claim 5, Nakatogawa teaches wherein the substrate further includes a corner display area adjacent to a corner of the main display area, and the first strip portion is arranged in the corner display area and extends from the corner of the main display area in the first direction (fig. 4 element P3 and fig. 6).
In regard to claim 7, Nakatogawa teaches wherein the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits are alternately arranged in the first direction (fig. 6).
In regard to claim 8, Nakatogawa teaches a second scan line electrically connected to another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits, wherein the first scan line is configured to transmit a first scan signal, and the second scan line is configured to transmit a second scan signal that is later than the first scan signal by one horizontal scan period (see figs. 8 and 12. The scan and data lines are connected in a grid like manner. Each column of data lines is connected to different scan lines in each row).
In regard to claims 9, 10, 13 and 22, Nakatogawa teaches a first color and a second color different from the first color connected to the pixel circuits (paragraph 27) but does not teach the light emitting elements in the strip portion.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Nakatogawa with the claimed colored light emitting elements in the strip portion. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Nakatogawa with the claimed colored light emitting elements in the strip portion because colored light emitting elements are notoriously well-known. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize adding the colored light emitting elements of the main portion of Nakatogawa into the strip portion would work predictably and would provide a better interface for the user.
In regard to claim 11, Nakatogawa teaches a second scan line electrically connected to another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits; and a plurality of auxiliary display elements electrically connected to the one and the another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and the one and the another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits and emitting light of a first color (paragraph 6, Nakatogawa teaches outputting an image which must contain at least one color), wherein the first scan line is configured to transmit a first scan signal, and the second scan line is configured to transmit a second scan signal that is later than the first scan signal by two horizontal scan periods (see fig. 12. The third scan line in the corner area is two scan periods after the first scan line).
In regard to claim 14, Nakatogawa teaches wherein all of the main pixel circuits arranged in a third column among the plurality of main pixel circuits are defined as third main pixel circuits, the plurality of first auxiliary pixel circuits further includes (1-3)th auxiliary pixel circuits ,the display panel further comprises a third data line connected to all of the third main pixel circuits and the (1-3)th auxiliary pixel circuits, and the first scan line is electrically connected to one of the (1-3)th auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 14, Nakatogawa teaches 4 data lines in the corner and main display areas. Nakatogawa teaches multiple columns of scan lines in fig. 8. All of the lines and circuits in the device are connected together).
Yin et al. teach a third data line electrically connected to auxiliary and main pixel circuits (fig. 5).
In regard to claim 24, Nakatogawa teaches wherein the first data line is connected to at least two of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits, and the second data line is connected to at least two of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 4, the main area and peripheral areas are all connected together in the same device).
In regard to claim 26, Nakatogawa teaches a display panel comprising: a substrate including a main display area and a first strip portion extending from the main display area in a first direction (fig. 4); a plurality of main pixel circuits arranged in a matrix in the main display area, the plurality of main pixel circuits including first main pixel circuits arranged in a first column of the matrix and second main pixel circuits arranged in a second column of the matrix (fig. 6 see the pixels PX arranged in columns); a plurality of first auxiliary pixel circuits arranged in a line in the first strip portion, the plurality of first auxiliary pixel circuits including (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 6, pixels arranged in area z); a first scan line electrically connected to one of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and one of the (1- 2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 8 GL3); a second scan line electrically connected to another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 8, see gate lines below GL3, each gate line is connected to multiple pixel circuits); a first data line connected to the first main pixel circuits, the one of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits, and the another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits (see data lines in fig. 8. The entire device is connected together and any data line is connected to all the pixels in the device); and a second data line connected to the second main pixel circuits, the one of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits, and the another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits, wherein the one of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits, the another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits, the one of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits, and the another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuit are arranged in a line in the first direction in the first strip portion (see data lines in fig. 8. The entire device is connected together and any data line is connected to all the pixels in the device).
Yin et al. teach a first data line electrically connected to all of the first main pixel circuits, the one of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits, and another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits; a second data line electrically connected to all of the second main pixel circuits, the one of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits, and another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (Fig. 5, (n-2), (n-1) and (n) are data lines that are used for both the main area 111 and the pixel islands 151 and 152).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatogawa in view of Yin et al. further considered with Yamada et al. (US 2021/0027716).
In regard to claim 6, Nakatogawa teaches a second scan line electrically connected to another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (see fig. 12 where there are multiple scan lines GL3’) but does not teach an emission control line electrically connected to the one and the another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and the one and the another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits.
Yamada et al. teach an emission control line electrically connected to the one and the another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and the one and the another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 2 EM in areas 15B and 15A).
The three are analogous art because they all deal with the same field of invention of flexible displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Nakatogawa and Yin et al. with the emission lines of Yamada et al. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Nakatogawa and Yin et al. with the emission lines of Yamada et al. because the use of emission lines is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art. The use of emission lines would provide predictable results and would allow for efficient control of the light emitting operation.
Claim(s) 15-21, 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatogawa in view of Yin et al. further considered with Ko (US 2021/0201842).
In regard to claim 15, Nakatogawa teaches all the elements of claim 15 (see claim 1 rejection above) including a display panel comprising a main display area and a first strip portion extending from a corner of the main display area in a first direction and bent with a preset first curvature radius (paragraph 40, portions P1, P2 and P3 are bent with an obtuse angle) but does not teach a cover window having a shape corresponding to a shape of the display panel and covering the display panel.
Ko teaches a cover window having a shape corresponding to a shape of the display panel and covering the display panel (figs. 3A and 3B, the cover window, 113, of Ko matches the bent angle of the display, 112).
The three are analogous art because they all deal with the same field of invention of flexible displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Nakatogawa and Yin et al. with the cover window of Ko. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Nakatogawa and Yin et al. with the cover window of Ko because the cover window of Ko would prevent damage to the display elements.
In regard to claim 16, Nakatogawa teaches all of the elements of claim 16 (see claim 2 rejection above) including wherein the display panel further comprises: a second strip portion extending from the corner of the main display area in a second direction intersecting with the first direction and bent with a preset second curvature radius (fig. 4 and paragraph 39, Nakatogawa teaches the second side S2 being on both sides of the display area).
In regard to claim 17, Nakatogawa teaches wherein the first scan line is configured to transmit a first scan signal, and the second scan line is configured to transmit a second scan signal substantially synchronized with the first scan signal is later than the first scan signal by "n" horizontal scan periods, where "n" is a natural number (fig. 8 and paragraph 52. Each of the first, second and third areas are scanned in sequence).
auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 2, the emission control line CSL is connected to the entire device).
In regard to claim 20, Nakatogawa teaches wherein the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits are alternately arranged in the first direction (fig. 6).
In regard to claim 21, Nakatogawa teaches a second scan line electrically connected to another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits, wherein the first scan line is configured to transmit a first scan signal, and the second scan line is configured to transmit a second scan signal that is later than the first scan signal by one horizontal scan period or two horizontal scan periods (see fig. 12. Each consecutive scan line is one scan period after the other).
In regard to claim 23, Nakatogawa teaches wherein all of the main pixel circuits arranged in a third column among the plurality of main pixel circuits are defined as third main pixel circuits, the plurality of first auxiliary pixel circuits further includes (1-3)th auxiliary pixel circuits, the display panel further comprises a third data line connected to all of the third main pixel circuits and the (1-3)th auxiliary pixel circuits, and the first scan line is electrically connected to one of the (1-3)th auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 14, Nakatogawa teaches 4 data lines in the corner and main display areas).
Yin et al. teach a third data line electrically connected to auxiliary and main pixel circuits (fig. 5).
In regard to claim 25, Nakatogawa teaches wherein the first data line is connected to at least two of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits, and the second data line is connected to at least two of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 4, the main area and peripheral areas are all connected together in the same device).
Yin et al. teach the data lines being connected to at least two auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 15).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatogawa in view of Yin et al. further considered with Ko and Yamada et al. (US 2021/0027716).
In regard to claim 19, Nakatogawa teaches a second scan line electrically connected to another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (see fig. 12 where there are multiple scan lines GL3’) but does not teach an emission control line electrically connected to the one and the another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and the one and the another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits.
Yamada et al. teach an emission control line electrically connected to the one and the another of the (1-1)th auxiliary pixel circuits and the one and the another of the (1-2)th auxiliary pixel circuits (fig. 2 EM in areas 15B and 15A).
The four are analogous art because they all deal with the same field of invention of flexible displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Nakatogawa, Yin et al. and Ko with the emission lines of Yamada et al. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Nakatogawa, Yin et al. and Ko with the emission lines of Yamada et al. because the use of emission lines is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art. The use of emission lines would provide predictable results and would allow for efficient control of the light emitting operation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH R HALEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621