DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-14 and 16, in the reply filed on 08/28/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/28/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “the gas-generating compound… includes one or more of… and ammonium bioxalate” in lines 2-4 is in improper alternative form. See MPEP 2117 (I). For the purpose of this Office Action, the noted limitation has been interpreted as “the gas-generating compound … includes one or more of … [[and]] or ammonium bioxalate” (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “the electrically conductive agent includes one or more of … and carbon fibers; and the polymer binder includes one or more of … and polyurethane” in lines 2-6 is in improper alternative form. See MPEP 2117 (I). For the purpose of this Office Action, the noted limitation has been interpreted as “the electrically conductive agent includes one or more of … [[and]] or carbon fibers; and the polymer binder includes one or more of … [[and]] or polyurethane”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the recitation: “the functional coating layer consists of a gas-generating compound” in lines 2 and 3 is indefinite because it is unclear if this compound is intended to be the same as or different than claim 1’s “gas-generating compound”.
Instant specification [0013] appears to describe embodiments 1) where the functional layer comprises the gas-generating compound and 2) where the functional layer consists of the gas-generating compound and optionally a conductive agent and/or binder. Thus, for this Office Action, claim 11’s “gas-generating compound” will be interpreted to reference claim 1’s compound and merely further limit the functional layer’s other components, consistent with [0013].
Regarding claim 12 the recitation: “the polymer binder includes …” in lines 3 and 4 is indefinite since parent claim 10 does not require a polymer binder—and many inorganic and/or non-polymeric binders are well known in the art—it is unclear if “the polymer binder” is meant to reference and further limit claim 10’s “binder” or introduce a new binder.
Instant specification [0018] notes that, in some embodiments, the binder is a polymer binder (selected from claim 12’s Markush group). Thus, for this Office Action claim 12’s “polymer binder” will be interpreted to further limit claim 10’s “binder” to include one or more polymers from the recited group, consistent with [0018].
Regarding claim 14, the claim limitation “An electrode sheet… is prepared using the current collector…” is indefinite because it is unclear if the “prepared using…” limitation is meant to be a product-by-process of making limitation, a product that has an intended use limitation, etc.. It is noted that the claim does not seem to include any actual steps that elaborate on the step of using. Additionally, the scope of the claim is unclear as to if the “using” is in the capacity of an intermediate product where it loses its identify in the finished product or if it is simply added as an additional structure that retains its identify in the final product (i.e. interpreted as “comprising”). For the purpose of this Office action, this limitation has been broadly and reasonably interpreted as best as possible in light of [0058] of the instant specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell et al. (US 20110206992).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 9, 14, and 16, Campbell discloses a lithium ion battery (Li-S battery, e.g., [0027] and exs.) comprising an electrode sheet prepared using a current collector having a pore-forming functional coating layer (sulfur cathode including aluminum foil collector with pore-forming primer/porous support, e.g., Ex. 5, [0181–0186]), reading on claims 1 and 9, the current collector comprising an electrically conductive substrate layer (Al substrate, [0186]) and a functional coating layer applied on at least one surface of the substrate layer (pore-forming primer, [0181–0184]), wherein the functional coating layer comprises a gas-generating compound having a decomposition temperature of 250° or less and capable of producing gas (ammonium bicarbonate of [0181–0184]), reading on claims 1 and 3, which, as a blowing agent ([0181]), inherently produces gas bubbles upon decomposition (as implied in [0082] and [0186] and evidenced in instant spec.’s exs.) and inherently has a decomposition temp. ≤ 250°C, as further evidenced in instant spec. [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Campbell discloses the current collector having a pore-forming functional coating layer according to claim 1.
The limitation “wherein the gas-generating compound decomposes to form bubbles during drying a positive electrode slurry or negative electrode slurry applied on the current collector having a pore-forming functional coating layer, thereby building through holes extending from bottom to top through an active material coating layer formed by drying the positive electrode slurry or negative electrode slurry” is a functional limitation. As claim 2 is to a product, the pore-forming layer need only be capable of performing as recited (MPEP 2114 (II)). In this case, because Campbell discloses a substantially similar composition as the pore-forming layer, including the instant gas-generating compound of ammonium bicarbonate, Campbell’s gas-generating compound would necessarily be capable of decomposing to form bubbles when drying a respective electrode slurry applied on the collector and pore-forming layer to create through holes extending from bottom to top through an active material coating layer formed upon drying the respective electrode slurry, absent additional evidence (MPEP 2112.01 (I)).
Regarding claims 10–12, Campbell discloses the current collector having a pore-forming functional coating layer according to claim 1, wherein the functional coating layer consists of [the] gas-generating compound, an electrically conductive agent, and a binder (ammonium bicarbonate as gas generator; Vulcan carbon, graphite, and carbon fibers as conductor; and PVA as binder, Ex. 5, [0181] (note solvents volatilized in [0182])), wherein the electrically conductive agent includes carbon black (Vulcan carbon), graphite, and carbon fibers; and the polymer binder includes polyvinyl alcohol ([0181]).
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (CN 105762366A).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 9, 14, and 16, Zhou discloses a lithium ion battery ([0002]) comprising an electrode sheet (e.g., [0009]) prepared using a current collector having a pore-forming functional coating layer ([0009]), the current collector comprising an electrically conductive substrate layer (Al foil, e.g., Ex. 1, [0047]), reading on claims 1 and 9, and a functional coating layer applied on at least one surface of the substrate layer (double coating of Ex. 1, [0041–0047]), wherein the functional coating layer comprises a gas-generating compound having a decomposition temperature of 250°C or less and capable of producing gas (ammonium bicarbonate (Ex. 1, [0045]), reading on claims 1 and 3, which, as a foaming agent ([0030]), is understood to produce gas from decomposition at ≤ 250°C, as implied in [0035] and instant spec.’s [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses the current collector having a pore-forming functional coating layer according to claim 1.
The limitation “wherein the gas-generating compound decomposes to form bubbles during drying a positive electrode slurry or negative electrode slurry applied on the current collector having a pore-forming functional coating layer, thereby building through holes extending from bottom to top through an active material coating layer formed by drying the positive electrode slurry or negative electrode slurry” is a functional limitation. As claim 2 is to a product, the pore-forming layer need only be capable of performing as recited (MPEP 2114 (II)). In this case, because Zhou discloses a substantially similar composition as the pore-forming layer, including the instant gas-generating compound of ammonium bicarbonate, Zhou’s gas-generating compound would necessarily be capable of decomposing to form bubbles when drying a respective electrode slurry applied on the collector and pore-forming layer to create through holes extending from bottom to top through an active material coating layer formed upon drying the respective electrode slurry, absent additional evidence (MPEP 2112.01 (I)).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou discloses the current collector having a pore-forming functional coating layer according to claim 1, wherein the functional coating layer is free of a positive electrode active material and a negative electrode active material (by being separate from active material, as seen in Ex. 1, [0041–0047]).
Regarding claims 10–12, Zhou discloses the current collector having a pore-forming functional coating layer according to claim 1, wherein the functional coating layer consists of [the] gas-generating compound, an electrically conductive agent, and a binder (ammonium bicarbonate, graphene plus carbon nanotubes, and polyvinylidene fluoride, respectively, in double coating of Ex. 1; note that NMP solvent would volatilize upon drying in Ex. 1, as in [0047]), wherein the electrically conductive agent includes carbon nanotubes; and the polymer binder includes polyvinylidene fluoride (Id.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (CN 105762366A), as applied to claims 1 and 10 above.
Regarding claims 5–8, Zhou discloses the current collector having a pore-forming functional coating layer according to claim 1 yet, in appearing unconcerned with the specific concentration of the gas-generating compound relative to the current collector’s area outside exemplifying 0.5–9% foaming agent in the upper coating of the functional layer ([0013]), fails to explicitly disclose a coating amount D of the gas-generating compound per unit area of the current collector of 0 < D ≤ 60 g/m2 (claim 5), 0 < D ≤ 35 g/m2 (claim 6), 10 ≤ D≤ 35 g/m2 (claim 7), or 20 ≤ D ≤ 35 g/m2 (claim 8).
As mentioned above, however, Zhou discloses that the foaming agent/gas generator forms pores, which appears to contribute to the advantageous double contact area with the active material to improve adhesion between the collector and active material ([0035]). The skilled artisan, therefore, would recognize that the ammonium bicarbonate’s concentration would control the pore formation and, thus, contact area, meaning the porosity and foaming agent concentration must be high enough to achieve this effect, but the artisan would further recognize that making the coating too porous would necessarily degrade the coating’s mechanical integrity by removing too much material.
In ensuring sufficient pore formation for active-material contact area while maintaining the coating’s mechanical integrity, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the claimed invention’s effective filing date, to arrive at the recited coating amounts D by routinely optimizing the foaming agent/gas-generating compound’s concentration/coating amount (MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou discloses the current collector having a pore-forming functional coating layer according to claim 10 yet, in appearing unconcerned with the specific concentrations of the conductive agent and binder relative to the current collector’s area outside exemplifying mostly conductive agent and little binder in each layer of the double coating ([0013]), Zhou fails to explicitly disclose that the coating amount D1 of the electrically conductive agent per unit area of the current collector satisfies 0 < D1 ≤ 2 g/m2; and the coating amount D2 of the binder per unit area of the current collector satisfies 0 < D2 ≤ 2 g/m2.
The skilled artisan would recognize, however, that Zhou’s conductive agent imparts electrical conductivity, while the binder bonds components to the current collector (as implied in [0009]). Further, Zhou discloses that the foaming agent/gas generator forms pores, which appears to contribute to the advantageous double contact area with the active material to improve adhesion between the collector and active material ([0035]). The artisan would recognize that each of these components must be present at contents suitable to achieve its respective effect without detracting from the other components’ effects. To balance proper conductivity, adhesion, and pore formation/active-material contact area, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrive at the recited range by routinely optimizing the conductive agent and binder’s concentrations/coating amounts (MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220149384 A1: conductive underlayer on current collector substrate and including inorganic compound thermally decomposed at 100–800°C, including monovalent bicarbonates.
US 20240087777 A1: thermistor layer atop current collector and containing temperature-sensitive particles comprising foaming agents like sodium bicarbonate.
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 4/3/2026