Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 21-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leobandung (Patent No.: US 10446490) in view of Clevenger (Patent No.: US 9837309).
Re claim 1, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches an interconnect structure, comprising:
a first metal via [FMV] disposed on a first metal line (402) of a first metallization layer disposed in a dielectric layer (200), wherein a portion of the first metal via extends above the dielectric layer;
a first liner layer (208+404) disposed on the dielectric layer (200) and on the sidewalls of the first metal via [SP] extending above the dielectric layer; and
a second metallization layer (406) comprising a first metal line (404) disposed on the first liner layer (208+404) disposed on the dielectric layer (200) and the top surface of the first metal via [FMV] extending above the dielectric layer.
Leobandung fails to teach a first liner layer disposed on a top surface of the first metal via; and a second metallization layer disposed on the sidewalls of the first metal via.
Clevenger teaches a first liner layer (30/26, FIG. 4, col. 4, lines 40-50) disposed on a top surface of the first metal via (22); and a second metallization layer (18) disposed on the sidewalls of the first metal via (22).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of preventing electromigration of the via material as taught by Clevenger, BACKGROUND.
Re claim 2, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 1, wherein the first metal via comprises a first portion [FP] extending from the first metal line (402) of the first metallization layer to a top surface of the dielectric layer (200) and a second portion [SP] extending above the top surface of the dielectric layer and within the first metal line (404) of the second metallization layer.
Re claim 3, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 1, wherein the first metal via comprises a first conductive metal (material of 406) and the first metal line (404) of the second metallization layer comprises a second conductive metal.
Re claim 4, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 3, wherein the first conductive metal is the same as the second conductive metal (said tungsten material of 406 and 404, col. 6, lines 13-27).
Re claim 5 Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 3, wherein the first conductive metal is different than the second conductive metal (said tungsten material of 406 and ruthenium material of 404, col. 6, lines 13-27).
Re claim 6, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 1, wherein the first liner layer comprises a single layer (208).
Re claim 7, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 1, wherein the first liner layer comprises a plurality of layers (208/404).
Re claim 8, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 1, wherein the first liner layer comprises a plurality of layers each of a different conductive liner material (400/404).
Re claim 21, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches an integrated circuit comprising one or more interconnect structures, wherein at least one of the one or more interconnect structures comprises:
a first metal via [FMV] disposed on a first metal line (402) of a first metallization layer disposed in a dielectric layer (200), wherein a portion of the first metal via extends above the dielectric layer (200);
a first liner layer (208) disposed on the dielectric layer and on the sidewalls of the first metal via extending above the dielectric layer; and
a second metallization layer comprising a first metal line (404) disposed on the first liner layer disposed on the dielectric layer (200) and the top surface of the first metal via [FMV] extending above the dielectric layer.
Leobandung fails to teach a first liner layer disposed on a top surface of the first metal via; and a second metallization layer disposed on the sidewalls of the first metal via.
Clevenger teaches a first liner layer (30/26, FIG. 4, col. 4, lines 40-50) disposed on a top surface of the first metal via (22); and a second metallization layer (18) disposed on the sidewalls of the first metal via (22).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of preventing electromigration of the via material as taught by Clevenger, BACKGROUND.
Re claim 22, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the first metal via [FMV] comprises a first portion [FP] extending from the first metal line of the first metallization layer to a top surface of the dielectric layer (200) and a second portion [SP] extending above the top surface of the dielectric layer and within the first metal line (404) of the second metallization layer.
Re claim 23, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the first metal via comprises a first conductive metal (material of 406) and the first metal line (404) of the second metallization layer comprises a second conductive metal.
Re claim 24, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 23, wherein the first conductive metal is the same as the second conductive metal (said tungsten material of 406 and 404, col. 6, lines 13-27).
Re claim 25, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 23, wherein the first conductive metal is different than the second conductive metal (said tungsten material of 406 and ruthenium material of 404, col. 6, lines 13-27).
Re claim 26, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the first liner layer comprises a single layer (208).
Re claim 27, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the first liner layer comprises a plurality of layers (208/404).
Re claim 28, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the first liner layer comprises a plurality of layers each of a different conductive liner material (400/404).
Re claim 29, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the first liner layer (208/404) is disposed on sidewalls of the first metal via [FMV].
Re claim 30, Leobandung, FIG. 4G teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the at least one of the one or more interconnect structures further comprises:
a second metal via (406) disposed on a second metal line (400/404) of the first metallization layer;
a second liner layer (208) disposed on the dielectric layer (200) and the second metal via; and
a second metal line (404) of the second metallization layer disposed on the second liner layer (400/404).
Claim(s) 1-10 and 21-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (Patent No.: US 10714379) filed in the IDS on 01/05/2023 in view of Clevenger.
Re claim 1, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches an interconnect structure, comprising:
a first metal via ([FMV]/40) disposed on a first metal line (20) of a first metallization layer disposed in a dielectric layer (25); wherein a portion of the first metal via [FMV] extends above the dielectric layer (25);
a first liner layer (15b+30 or (15b/30/35) for claims 7-8) disposed on the dielectric layer and on the sidewalls of the first metal via [FMV] extending above the dielectric layer (25);
a second metallization layer (45/30/35) comprising a first metal line (20/30) disposed on the first liner layer (15b) disposed on the dielectric layer (25) and the top surface of the first metal via [FMV] extending above the dielectric layer.
Murray fails to teach a first liner layer disposed on a top surface of the first metal via; and a second metallization layer disposed on the sidewalls of the first metal via.
Clevenger teaches a first liner layer (30/26, FIG. 4, col. 4, lines 40-50) disposed on a top surface of the first metal via (22); and a second metallization layer (18) disposed on the sidewalls of the first metal via (22).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of preventing electromigration of the via material as taught by Clevenger, BACKGROUND.
Re claim 2, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 1, wherein the first metal via comprises a first portion [FP] extending from the first metal line (20) of the first metallization layer to a top surface of the dielectric layer (25) and a second portion [SP] extending above the top surface of the dielectric layer (25) and within the first metal line of the second metallization layer (45).
Re claim 3, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 1, wherein the first metal via [FMV] comprises a first conductive metal (20) and the first metal line (20/30) of the second metallization layer comprises a second conductive metal (30).
Re claim 4, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 3, wherein the first conductive metal (said Cu or Al material of 20, col. 4, lines 10-17) is the same as the second conductive metal (said copper or silver material of 45, col. 9, lines 1-17).
Re claim 5, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 3, wherein the first conductive metal [FMV] is different than the second conductive metal (30).
Re claim 6, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 1, wherein the first liner layer comprises a single layer (15b).
Re claim 7, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 1, wherein the first liner layer (15b/30/35) comprises a plurality of layers.
Re claim 8, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 1, wherein the first liner layer comprises a plurality of layers each of a different conductive liner material (15b/30/35).
Re claim 9, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 1, wherein the first liner layer (15b) is disposed on sidewalls of the first metal via [FMV].
Re claim 10, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the interconnect structure according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second metal via (45) disposed on a second metal line (30) of the first metallization layer;
a second liner layer (15a) disposed on the dielectric layer (25) and the second metal via (45); and
a second metal line (35) of the second metallization layer (45/30/35) disposed on the second liner layer (30).
Re claim 21, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches an integrated circuit comprising one or more interconnect structures, wherein at least one of the one or more interconnect structures comprises:
a first metal via [FMV] disposed on a first metal line (20/30) of a first metallization layer disposed in a dielectric layer (25), wherein a portion of the first metal via extends above the dielectric layer;
a first liner layer (15b+30 or (15b/30/35) for claims 27-28) disposed on the dielectric layer (25) and on the sidewalls the first metal via [FMV] extending above the dielectric layer (25); and
a second metallization layer (45/30/35) comprising a first metal line (30) disposed on the first liner layer (15b) disposed on the dielectric layer (25) and the top surface of the first metal via [FMV] extending above the dielectric layer.
Murray fails to teach a first liner layer disposed on a top surface of the first metal via; and a second metallization layer disposed on the sidewalls of the first metal via.
Clevenger teaches a first liner layer (30/26, FIG. 4, col. 4, lines 40-50) disposed on a top surface of the first metal via (22); and a second metallization layer (18) disposed on the sidewalls of the first metal via (22).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of preventing electromigration of the via material as taught by Clevenger, BACKGROUND.
Re claim 22, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the first metal via [FMV] comprises a first portion [FP] extending from the first metal line of the first metallization layer to a top surface of the dielectric layer (25) and a second portion [SP] extending above the top surface of the dielectric layer and within the first metal line of the second metallization layer (45/30/35).
Re claim 23, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the first metal via comprises a first conductive metal [FMV] and the first metal line (20/30) of the second metallization layer comprises a second conductive metal.
Re claim 24, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 23, wherein the first conductive metal (said copper or silver material of 45, col. 9, lines 1-17) is the same as the second conductive metal (said Cu or Al material of 20, col. 4, lines 10-17).
Re claim 25, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 23, wherein the first conductive metal [FMV] is different than the second conductive metal (30).
Re claim 26, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the first liner layer comprises a single layer (15b).
Re claim 27, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the first liner layer comprises a plurality of layers.
Re claim 28, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the first liner layer comprises a plurality of layers each of a different conductive liner material (15b/30/35).
Re claim 29, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the first liner layer is disposed on sidewalls of the first metal via [FMV].
Re claim 30, Murray, FIG. 6 [as shown above] teaches the integrated circuit according to claim 21, wherein the at least one of the one or more interconnect structures further comprises:
a second metal via (45) disposed on a second metal line (20/30) of the first metallization layer;
a second liner layer (15b) disposed on the dielectric layer (25) and the second metal via [FMV]; and
a second metal line (20/30) of the second metallization layer disposed on the second liner layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-10 and 21-30 on the remarks filed on 01/23/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893