DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
Applicant's response of 08/27/2026has been acknowledged. Claims 1, 7, 14-16, 20 and 21 have been amended. Claims 2 and 19 have been cancelled. No new matter has been added.
This office action considers claims 1, 3-18, 20, and 21 pending for prosecution and are examined on their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/27/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3-18, 20, and 21 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Notes: when present, hyphen separated fields within the hyphens (- -) represent, for example, as (30A - Fig 2B - [0128]) = (element 30A - Figure No. 2B - Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The same conventions apply to Column and Sentence, for example (19:14-20) = (column19:sentences 14-20). These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe et al. (US 20210257579 A1 – hereinafter Okabe) in view of Liu (US 20230403893 A1) and Oh et al. (US 20180061897 A1 – hereinafter Oh).
Regarding independent claim 1, Okabe teaches
(Currently Amended) A display panel (50a – Fig. – 3 – [0025] – “organic
EL display device 50a”) comprising:
a substrate (10 Fig. 3 – [0029] – “substrate layer 10”);
a signal line (18h – Fig. 6 – [0049] – “frame wire 18h is electrically connected to
a terminal receiving a low power-supply voltage (ELVSS)” – this is a signal line) on the substrate (10) and extending in a first direction (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘DR2’) correct this ;
an organic insulating film (19a, b, c – Fig. 6 – {[0037] – “planarization film 19a
is made of such an organic resin”}, {[0051] – “planarization films 19b and 19c”})
on and overlapping a first part (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘P1’)
of the signal line (18h) and not overlapping a second part (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘P2’)
of the signal line (18h), the second part (Fig. 11 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘P2’) extending from the first part in the first direction (Fig. 11 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘DR2’) ;
a pixel (Fig. 3 – [0038] – “organic EL element 25 includes: a plurality of first electrodes 21a; an edge cover 22a; a plurality of organic EL layers 23; and a second electrode 24” – this is a pixel) electrically connected to the signal line (18h – [0051] – “second conductive layer 21b is electrically connected to the second electrode 24”) and comprising a transistor (Fig. 3 annotated, see below – [0012] – “thin-film transistor (TFT)” – hereainafter ‘TFT’) and a light emitting element (25 – Fig. 3 – [0038] – “organic EL element 25 includes: a plurality of first electrodes 21a; an edge cover 22a; a plurality of organic EL layers 23; and a second electrode 24”), the light emitting (25) element comprising a pixel electrode (21a – Fig. 3 – [0038] – “organic EL element 25 includes: a plurality of first electrodes 21a; an edge cover 22a; a plurality of organic EL layers 23; and a second electrode 24”) on the organic insulating film (19a – Fig. 3 shows this); and
a conductive pattern (21b – Fig. 3 – [0025] – “conductive layer 21b”),
wherein the second part comprises a plurality of edges extending in the first direction and opposing each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction,
wherein, in a cross-sectional view viewed in the first direction, the conductive pattern directly covers at least a portion of each of the plurality of edges,
wherein, in a plan view viewed in a third direction perpendicular to a plane defined by the first direction and the second direction, a width of the conductive pattern in the second direction is greater than a width of the second part in the second direction,
wherein the third direction is a thickness direction of the display panel, and
wherein at least a portion of the conductive pattern (21b) is at the same layer as the pixel electrode (21a).
Okabe does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Liu teaches
wherein the second part (Fig. 3 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘P2’) comprises a plurality of edges (Fig. 3 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘EG’) extending in the first direction (Fig. 3 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘DR2’) and opposing each other in a second direction (Fig. 3 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘DR1’) intersecting the first direction (DR2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the second part structure as taught by Liu into Okabe.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Liu in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result to [0004] – “provides a display panel and a display device to solve technical problems of display failure and poor display caused by metal wirings being prone to be over etched on sides and water vapor being prone to intrude the display area along the gaps formed by the sides of the metal wirings.”
Okabe and Liu do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Oh teaches
wherein, in a cross-sectional view viewed in the first direction (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘DR2’), the conductive pattern (156c – Fig. 4C – [0059] – “third routing layer 156c is formed of a third conductive layer including a transparent conductive film, such as ITO, IZO, ZnO, IGZO or ITO/Ag/ITO, or a conductive polymer” – this is a conductive pattern)
directly covers at least a portion of each of the plurality of edges (Fig. 4C annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘EG’),
wherein, in a plan view viewed in a third direction (Fig. 2 insert annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘DR3’) perpendicular to a plane defined by the first direction (DR2) and the second direction (Fig. 2 insert annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘DR1’), a width (Fig. 2 insert annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘W2’) of the conductive pattern (156b) in the second direction (DR1) is greater than a width (Fig. 2 insert annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘W1’ – [0061] – “the second routing layer 156b is formed on the first routing layer 156a to have a greater line width than that of the first routing layer 156a so as to cover the side and upper surfaces of the first routing layer 156a”) of the second part (Fig. 2 insert annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘P2’) in the second direction (DR1),
wherein the third direction (Fig. 4C annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘DR3’) is a thickness direction of the display panel ([0034] – “organic light emitting display shown in FIG. 1” – hereinafter ‘DP’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive pattern structure as taught by Oh into Okabe and Liu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Oh in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result to prevent issues [0004] – “In general, a touchscreen is attached to the front surface of a display panel, such as a liquid crystal display panel or an organic electroluminescent display panel, by an adhesive. In this case, since the touchscreen is separately manufactured and then attached to the front surface of the display panel, an attachment process is additionally carried out and thus the overall fabrication process becomes complicated and manufacturing costs are raised.”
Regarding claim 3, Okabe as modified by Liu and Oh, teaches claim 1 from which claim 3 depends. Okabe and Oh do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 3.
However, in an analogous art, Liu teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 1, wherein one end of the conductive
pattern (101 – Fig. 3 – [0049] – “signal connecting section 101 includes a third side c” – this is a conductive pattern) comprises a plurality of protruding parts (103 and 104 – Fig. 3 – [0075] – “protruding direction of the convex parts 103”) this is a plurality) arranged along the first direction (Fig. 3 annotated, see below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive pattern structure as taught by Liu into Okabe and Oh.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Liu in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Okabe as modified by Liu and Oh, teaches claim 1 from which claim 4 depends. Okabe and Liu do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 4.
However, in an analogous art, Oh teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 1, wherein the conductive pattern
(156c) comprises a material ([0059] – “third routing layer 156c is formed of a third conductive layer including a transparent conductive film, such as ITO, IZO, ZnO, IGZO or ITO/Ag/ITO, or a conductive polymer”) different from that of the signal line (156a – Fig. 4A – [0058] – “the first routing layer 156a formed of the first opaque conductive layer” – this is corresponds to a signal line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive pattern structure as taught by Oh into Okabe and Liu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Oh in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Okabe as modified by Liu and Oh, teaches claim 1 from which claim 5 depends. Okabe further teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 1, wherein the conductive
pattern (21b) comprises a same material as the pixel electrode (21a – [0051] – “that the second conductive layer 21b is formed of the same material and in the same layer as the first electrodes 21a”).
Regarding claim 7, Okabe as modified by Liu and Oh, teaches claim 1 from which claim 7 depends. Okabe further teaches
(Currently Amended) The display panel of claim 1, further comprising
at least one dam (Wa – Fig. 6 – [0051] – “dam wall Wa”) extending in [[a]] the second direction (DR2) (P2) of the signal line (18h),
wherein the at least one dam (Wa) is spaced apart from the organic insulating film (22b – {[0053] – “photo spacers 22b and 22c are formed of the same material and in the same layer as the edge cover 22a”}, {[0040] – “materials for the edge cover 22a include such positive photosensitive resins as polyimide resin, acrylic resin, polysiloxane resin, and novolak resin”} – these are organic resins, Fig. 6 annotated shows this).
Regarding claim 8, Okabe as modified by Liu and Oh, teaches claim 7 from which claim 8 depends. Okabe further teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 7, wherein the at least one dam
(Wa) comprises:
a first sub-dam (19b – Fig. 6 – [0055] – “dam wall Wa includes: the planarization film 19b formed in the same layer and of the same material as the planarization film 19a; the second conductive layer 21b; and a resin layer 22d, all of which are stacked in this order”) on the second part (P2) of the signal line (18h); and
a second sub-dam (22d – Fig. 6 – [0055] – “dam wall Wa includes: the planarization film 19b formed in the same layer and of the same material as the planarization film 19a; the second conductive layer 21b; and a resin layer 22d, all of which are stacked in this order”) on the first sub-dam (19b),
wherein at least one of the first sub-dam (19b) or the second sub-dam (19c – Fig. 6 – [0056] – “second dam wall Wb includes: the planarization film 19c formed in the same layer and of the same material as the planarization film 19a; the second conductive layer 21b; and a resin layer 22e, all of which are stacked in this order”) comprises a same material as the organic insulating film (19a – Fig. 6 – {[0037] – “planarization film 19a is made of such an organic resin”}, {[0055] – “dam wall Wa includes: the planarization film 19b formed in the same layer and of the same material as the planarization film 19a”}).
Regarding claim 9, Okabe as modified by Liu and Oh, teaches claim 8 from which claim 9 depends. Okabe further teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 8, wherein a portion of the
conductive pattern (21b) is between (Fig 6 shows this) the first sub-dam (Wa) and the second sub-dam (Wb).
Regarding claim 10, Okabe as modified by Liu and Oh, teaches claim 7 from which claim 10 depends. Okabe further teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 7, wherein the at least one dam
(Wa) is on (Fig. 6 shows this) the conductive pattern (21b).
Regarding claim 11, Okabe as modified by Liu and Oh, teaches claim 7 from which claim 11 depends. Okabe further teaches
(Previously Presented) The display panel of claim 7, wherein the dam
is provided in a plurality, and the plurality of dams are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (Fig 6 shows this).
Regarding claim 12, Okabe as modified by Liu and Oh, teaches claim 11 from which claim 12 depends. Okabe further teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 11, further comprising an
encapsulation layer (30 – Fig. 6 – [0048] – “sealing film 30”) on the light emitting element (25 – Fig. 3 – [0046] – “organic EL element 25”), and including a plurality of inorganic layers ([0048] – “sealing film 30 includes: a first inorganic film 26 provided to cover the second electrode 24; an organic film 27 provided on the first inorganic film 26; and a second inorganic film 28”) and at least one organic layer (27 – Fig. 6 - [0048] – “sealing film 30 includes: a first inorganic film 26 provided to cover the second electrode 24; an organic film 27 provided on the first inorganic film 26; and a second inorganic film 28”) between the plurality of inorganic layers ([0048] – “sealing film 30 includes: a first inorganic film 26 provided to cover the second electrode 24; an organic film 27 provided on the first inorganic film 26; and a second inorganic film 28”),
wherein at least one of the plurality of dams (Wb) is spaced apart from the organic layer (27 – Fig. 6 shows this).
Regarding claim 13, Okabe as modified by Liu and Oh, teaches claim 12 from which claim 13 depends. Okabe further teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 12, wherein the plurality of
inorganic layers (28 and 36 – Fig. 6 – [0048] – “sealing film 30 includes: a first inorganic film 26 provided to cover the second electrode 24; an organic film 27 provided on the first inorganic film 26; and a second inorganic film 28”) cover the conductive pattern (18h).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe in view of Liu, Oh, and Lee et al. (US 20200395389 A1 – hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 6, Okabe as modified by Liu and Oh, teaches claim 1 from which claim 6 depends. Okabe and Liu do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 6.
However, in an analogous art, Oh teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 1, wherein the signal line comprises a
plurality of conductive layers that are sequentially stacked,
wherein the conductive pattern (156c) covers each side surface ([0060] – “the third routing layer 156c may be formed on the second routing layer 156b to have a greater line width than that of the second routing layer 156b so as to cover the side and upper surfaces of the second routing layer 156b, as exemplarily shown in FIG. 4C”) of the plurality of conductive layers (156a and 156b – [0058] – “the first routing layer 156a formed of the first opaque conductive layer, the second routing layer 156b formed of the second transparent conductive layer” – Fig. 4C shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive pattern structure as taught by Oh into Okabe and Liu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Oh in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Okabe, Liu, and Oh do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 6.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches
the signal line (G1 – Fig. 4A – [0052] – “signal lines G1”) comprises a plurality
of conductive layers (L1, L2, L3, and L4 – Fig. 4A – [0101] – “line G1 may include a first layer L1, a second layer L2, a third layer L3, and a fourth layer (e.g., first, second, third, and fourth layers L1, L2, L3, and L4). The first, second, third, and fourth layers L1, L2, L3, and L4 may be sequentially stacked”) that are sequentially stacked.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive pattern structure as taught by Lee into Okabe and Liu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0025] – “visibility of the signal line which is caused by the reflection of the external light, may be reduced. Thus, the reflectance of the external light of the display panel including such signal line may be reduced, and the process reliability of the display panel including such signal line may be improved.”
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe in view of Liu, Oh, and Liu et al. (US 20240049507 A1 – hereinafter Liu-507).
Regarding claim 14, Okabe as modified by Liu and Oh, teaches claim 1 from which claim 14 depends. Okabe further teaches
the signal line (18h – Fig. 6 – [0049] – “frame wire 18h is electrically
connected to a terminal receiving a low power-supply voltage (ELVSS)” – this is a signal line).
Okabe, Liu, and Oh do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 14.
However, in an analogous art, Liu-507 teaches
(Currently Amended) The display panel of claim 1, wherein the signal line
comprises a data line ([0071] – “signal lines comprise a data line VDATA, a scanning signal line SCAN, a first voltage line (DC power supply signal line VDD), a control signal line EM, a reset signal line RESET, an initialization signal line VI, a second voltage line (DC low voltage signal line VSS, usually grounded), etc.”) providing a data voltage to the pixel [[and]] or a power line configured to provide a power supply voltage to the pixel ([0071] – “signal lines comprise a data line VDATA, a scanning signal line SCAN, a first voltage line (DC power supply signal line VDD), a control signal line EM, a reset signal line RESET, an initialization signal line VI, a second voltage line (DC low voltage signal line VSS, usually grounded), etc.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the signal line structure as taught by Liu-507 into Okabe, Liu, and Oh.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Liu-507 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of providing data
voltage to the display's transistor structure.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe in view of Oh and Kim (US 20190214446 A1 – hereinafter Kim).
Regarding independent claim 15, Okabe teaches:
(Currently Amended) A display panel comprising:
a substrate (10 – Fig. 3 – [0029] – “substrate layer 10”) having a display area
(D – Fig. 3 – [0026] – “display area D”) and a non-display area (F – Fig. 3 – [0025] – “frame area F” – this is a non-display area);
a pixel (P – Fig. 2 – [0027] – “display area D includes a plurality of sub pixels P”)
on the display area (D) and comprising a pixel electrode (21a – Fig. 3 – [0038] – “first electrodes 21a” – this corresponds to a pixel electrode) and a light emitting element (25 – Fig. 3 – [0038] – “organic EL element 25”);
a signal line on the substrate, electrically connected to the pixel, and extending in
a first direction from the display area to the non-display area;
an organic insulating film (19a, b, c – Fig. 6 – {[0037] – “planarization film 19a is made of such an organic resin”}, {[0051] – “planarization films 19b and 19c”}) on the signal line (18h) and exposing a portion of the signal line (18h – Fig. 6 shows this);
a conductive pattern (21b – Fig. 3 – [0025] – “conductive layer 21b”) on the non-display area (F) ; and
at least one dam (Wa – Fig. 6 – [0051] – “dam wall Wa”) overlapping the conductive pattern (21b) and crossing the signal line (18h),
wherein the portion of the signal line comprises a plurality of edges extending in the first direction and opposing each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction,
wherein, in a cross-sectional view viewed in the first direction, the conductive pattern directly covers at least a portion of each of the plurality of edges,
wherein, in a plan view viewed in a third direction perpendicular to a plane defined by the first direction and the second direction, a width of the conductive pattern in the second direction is greater than a width of the portion of the signal line in the second direction,
wherein the third direction is a thickness direction of the display panel, and
wherein at least a portion of the conductive pattern (21b – Fig. 3 – [0025] – “conductive layer 21b”) is at the same layer as the pixel electrode (21a – Fig. 3 – [0039] – “first electrodes 21a corresponds to one of the sub pixels P”).
Okabe does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 15.
However, in an analogous art, Oh teaches
wherein the portion of the signal line (156a – Fig. 4A – [0058] – “the first routing layer 156a formed of the first opaque conductive layer” – this is corresponds to a signal line) comprises a plurality of edges (Fig. 2 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘EG’) extending in the first direction (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘DR2’)
and opposing each other in a second direction (Fig. 2 insert annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘DR1’) intersecting the first direction (DR2),
wherein, in a cross-sectional view viewed in the first direction (DR2), the conductive pattern (156c) directly covers at least a portion of each of the plurality of edges (EG – Fig. 4C annotated, see below, shows this),
wherein, in a plan view viewed in a third direction (Fig. 2 insert annotated, see above – hereinafter ‘DR3’) perpendicular to a plane defined by the first direction (DR2) and the second direction (DR1), a width (Fig. 2 insert annotated, see above – hereinafter ‘W2’) of the conductive pattern in the second direction (DR1) is greater than a width (Fig. 2 insert annotated, see above – hereinafter ‘W1’ – [0061] – “the second routing layer 156b is formed on the first routing layer 156a to have a greater line width than that of the first routing layer 156a so as to cover the side and upper surfaces of the first routing layer 156a”) of the portion of the signal line (156a) in the second direction (DR1),
wherein the third direction (DR1) is a thickness direction of the display panel [0008] – “an organic light emitting display includes a light emitting device disposed in an active area of a substrate that displays images” – this describes a display panel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive pattern structure as taught by Oh into Okabe.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Oh in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Okabe and Oh do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 15.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
a signal line (E-CNT – Fig. 2B – [0072] – “The conductive patterns E-VSS, E-
CNT, VIN, and CL may include a power supplying line E-VSS, a connection electrode E-CNT, an initializing voltage line VIN, and a signal line CL” – E-CNT is a signal line) on the substrate (BS – Fig. 2B – [0043] – “substrate BS”), electrically connected to the pixel (PX – Fig. 2B – [0044] – “pixels PX”), and extending in [[one]] a first
direction (DR1 – Fig. 2B – [0046] – “first direction DR1”) from the display area (DA – Fig. 2B – [0044] – “display region DA”) to the non-display area (NDA – Fig. 2B – [0044] – “peripheral region NDA” – Fig. 2B shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the signal line structure as taught by Kim into Okabe and Oh.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0004] – “a display panel, whose usage reliability and process reliability are improved, and a method of fabricating the display panel. In addition, an aspect according to an embodiment of the inventive concept is directed toward a display panel with a reduced bezel region and a method of fabricating the display panel.”
Regarding claim 16, Okabe as modified by Oh and Kim, teaches claim 15 from which claim 16 depends. Okabe further teaches
(Currently Amended) The display panel of claim 15, wherein the light
emitting element comprises (25) element comprising a pixel electrode (21a – Fig. 3 – [0038] – “organic EL element 25 includes: a plurality of first electrodes 21a; an edge cover 22a; a plurality of organic EL layers 23; and a second electrode 24”) on the organic insulating film (19a – Fig. 3 shows this);
[[a]] the counter electrode (24 – Fig. 3 – [0038] – “second electrode 24”) on the pixel electrode (21a – Fig. 3 – [0038] – “organic EL element 25 includes: a plurality of first electrodes 21a; an edge cover 22a; a plurality of organic EL layers 23; and a second electrode 24”); and
a light emitting layer (23 – Fig. 3 – [0038] – “organic EL element 25 includes: a plurality of first electrodes 21a; an edge cover 22a; a plurality of organic EL layers 23; and a second electrode 24”) between the pixel electrode (21a) and the counter electrode (24 – Fig. 3 shows this),
wherein the conductive pattern (21b) is spaced apart from the pixel electrode (21a – fig. 3 shows this).
Regarding claim 17, Okabe as modified by Oh and Kim, teaches claim 15 from which claim 17 depends. Okabe further teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 15, wherein the conductive
pattern (21b) comprises a same material as the pixel electrode (21a – [0051] – “that the second conductive layer 21b is formed of the same material and in the same layer as the first electrodes 21a”).
Regarding claim 18, Okabe as modified by Oh and Kim, teaches claim 15 from which claim 18 depends. Okabe and Kim do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 18.
However, in an analogous art, Oh teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 15, wherein the signal line (156a – Fig.
4A – [0058] – “the first routing layer 156a formed of the first opaque conductive layer” – this is corresponds to a signal line) comprises a material different from that of the conductive pattern ([0059] – “third routing layer 156c is formed of a third conductive layer including a transparent conductive film, such as ITO, IZO, ZnO, IGZO or ITO/Ag/ITO, or a conductive polymer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive pattern structure as taught by Oh into Okabe and Kim.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Oh in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe in view of Oh, Kim, and Liu-507.
Regarding claim 20, Okabe as modified by Oh and Kim, teaches claim 15 from which claim 20 depends. Okabe further teaches
(Currently Amended) The display panel of claim 15, wherein the
signal line (18h – Fig. 6 – [0049] – “frame wire 18h is electrically connected to a terminal receiving a low power-supply voltage (ELVSS)” – this is a signal line) comprises:
data lines extending in the first direction (Fig. 3 annotated, see below –
hereinafter ‘DR1’), arranged along [[a]] the second direction (DR2) (P); [[and]] or
at least one power line (18g – Fig. 3 – [0031] – “power source lines 18g”) extending in the first direction (DR1) and configured to apply a power supply voltage to the pixel (25 – [0057] – “the gate voltage of the second TFT 9b, a current is defined in accordance with a gate voltage of the second TFT 9b and supplied from the power source line 18g to the organic EL layer 23”).
Okabe, Oh, and Kim do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 20.
However, in an analogous art, Liu-507 teaches
data lines ([0071] – “signal lines comprise a data line VDATA, a scanning signal
line SCAN, a first voltage line (DC power supply signal line VDD), a control signal line EM, a reset signal line RESET, an initialization signal line VI, a second voltage line (DC low voltage signal line VSS, usually grounded), etc.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the signal line structure as taught by Liu-507 into Okabe, Oh, and Kim.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Liu-507 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 14.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe in view of Oh, Kim, and Liu.
Regarding claim 21, Okabe as modified by Oh and Kim, teaches claim 15 from which claim 2depends. Okabe, Oh, and Kim do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 21.
However, in an analogous art, Liu teaches
(Currently Amended) The display panel of claim 15, wherein one end of the
conductive pattern (101 – Fig. 4 – [0049] – “signal connecting section 101 includes a third side c” – this is a conductive pattern) comprises a plurality of protruding parts (103 and 104 – Fig. 4 – [0075] – “protruding direction of the convex parts 103”) this is a plurality) arranged along the first direction (Fig. 4 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘DR1’)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive pattern structure as taught by Liu into Okabe and Oh.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Liu in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US 20210328110 A1 is cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. These references fail to disclose the combination of limitations including "conductive pattern".
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to GARY ABEL whose telephone number is (571) 272-0246. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm (Eastern).
/GRA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897