Remarks
Applicants elect Group I without traverse. Claims 21-24 are newly added.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foegelle (2018/0027434).
Regarding Claim 1, Foegelle (2018/0027434) discloses a measurement device for performing measurements of a first antenna (19), comprising: at least one positioner (positioner 20a, paragraph [0054]) configured to move (“positioner to move a probe antenna around the device and probe the radiation pattern thus produced for each chosen relative orientation of the DUT 1 and communication endpoint”, paragraph [0068]) the first antenna for measuring a main lobe and a back lobe (“evaluated by desired metric such as side lobe levels, front to back ratio…”, paragraph [0052]) of an electromagnetic wave (measuring radiation, paragraph [0052]) radiated from the first antenna (19) (paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 2, Foegelle discloses the measurement device of claim 1, wherein the at least one positioner is configured to adjust an orientation of the first antenna (“cause it to adapt its antenna configuration (e.g. beamforming) to the desired orientation and polarization by moving the positioner 20a and antenna 19a to a chosen position and orientation relative to the DUT 1”, paragraph [0054]).
Regarding Claim 3, Foegelle discloses the measurement device of claim 2, wherein the at least one positioner is configured to move the first antenna for measuring a side lobe (“evaluated by desired metric such as side lobe levels, front to back ratio…”, paragraph [0052]) of the electromagnetic wave radiated from the first antenna (“polarization by moving the positioner 20a and antenna 19a to a chosen position and orientation relative to the DUT 1”, paragraph [0054]; “positioner to move a probe antenna around the device and probe the radiation pattern”, paragraph [0068]).
Regarding Claim 4, Foegelle discloses the measurement device of claim 2, wherein the at least one positioner is configured to rotate the first antenna for performing a spherical scanning of the first antenna to generate a radiation pattern of the first antenna (“Traditional antenna pattern measurement techniques utilize spherical scanning systems using mechanical or electronic positioning”, paragraph [0003]; “The positioner 20 may be configured for any other desired scanning approach to cover the desired portion of the radiation pattern for the DUT 1, as shown, for example, in FIG. 7”, paragraph [0048]).
Regarding Claim 5, Foegelle discloses the measurement device of claim 1, wherein the back lobe of the electromagnetic wave is measured under a near-field range or under a compact range (around the perimeter of the test range, range length is fixed for a given test implementation, paragraph [0003]. The test range and fixed range length is considered a compact range).
Regarding Claim 6, Foegelle discloses the measurement device of claim 5, further comprising: a second antenna (“A second probe antenna may then be used to passively monitor the beam pattern produced by the DUT to determine how well the DUT is beamforming and what the beam pattern looks like. By monitoring the power at the communication endpoint, any variation in the beam pattern during the probing process can be detected”, paragraph [0040]) configured to receive the main lobe and the back lobe of the electromagnetic wave radiated from the first antenna (paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 7, Foegelle discloses the measurement device of claim 6, further comprising: a reflector (hemisphere 70) (fig. 4) configured to transform the electromagnetic wave to a plane wave, wherein the second antenna is configured to receive the electromagnetic wave indirectly via the reflector (hemisphere) (Figs. 12 and 13 show second antenna receives signal from the first antenna. Since the second antenna communicates with first antenna with reflector, therefore the second antenna receive signal (e.g. electromagnetic wave) indirectly via the reflector).
Regarding Claim 8, Foegelle discloses the measurement device of claim 7, wherein the at least one positioner (20) is further configured to move both a first surface and a second surface (surfaces of 1 and 28 facing reflector) opposite to the first surface (facing back of reflector) of the first antenna to face the reflector (70) (annotated below).
Regarding Claim 9, Foegelle discloses the measurement device of claim 1, further comprising: a calculating unit configured to calculate a radiation pattern based on the electromagnetic wave radiated from the first antenna (“the DUT 1 is directed to transmit full power to the first antenna and the resultant pattern may be evaluated”, paragraph [0124]. It is noted that evaluating pattern involves calculations or analysis).
Regarding Claim 10, Foegelle discloses the measurement device of claim 1, wherein the at least one positioner comprises a first positioner and a second positioner (“a system includes a first positioner having a first antenna and a second positioner having a second antenna”, abstract) and the at least one positioner adjusts an orientation of the first antenna using the first positioner and the second positioner (“By rotating the DUT relative to the first and second positioners, all desired degrees of freedom can be evaluated. At each relative orientation, the signal can be lowered or the interference can be increased to monitor the reaction of the DUT to the signal plus interference”, paragraph [0041]).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 11-16, 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foegelle (2018/0027434).
Regarding Claim 11, as discussed above, Foegelle essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the measurement device of claim 10, wherein the first positioner is configured to move the first antenna around a first rotation axis, the second positioner is configured to move the first antenna around a second rotation axis substantially perpendicular to the first rotation axis.
Foegelle teaches that the DUT 1 may be mounted on a positioning system 28 to provide rotation in one or more axes to provide additional relative positioning between the DUT 1 and measurement antenna (MA) (paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have moved the first antenna around a second rotation axis substantially perpendicular to the first rotation axis in order to meet the desired electromagnetic range or transmitting/receiving angle of signal.
Regarding Claim 12, as discussed above, Foegelle essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the measurement device of claim 1:
wherein the at least one positioner comprises a first positioner configured to move the first antenna around a first rotation axis along a first axis and a second positioner configured to hold the first antenna and configured to adjust an angle between a normal direction of a first surface of the first antenna and the first axis.
Foegelle teaches that the DUT 1 may be mounted on a positioning system 28 to provide rotation in one or more axes to provide additional relative positioning between the DUT 1 and measurement antenna (MA) (paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have moved the first antenna around a first rotation axis along a first axis and a second positioner configured to hold the first antenna and configured to adjust an angle between a normal direction of a first surface of the first antenna and the first axis in order to meet the desired electromagnetic range or transmitting/receiving angle of signal.
Regarding Claim 13, as discussed above, Foegelle essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the measurement device of claim 12, wherein the second positioner is configured to move the first antenna in an orientation in which the back lobe of the electromagnetic wave radiated from the first antenna to face away from the first positioner.
Foegelle teaches that by rotating the DUT relative to the first and second positioners, all desired degrees of freedom can be evaluated. At each relative orientation, the signal can be lowered or the interference can be increased to monitor the reaction of the DUT to the signal plus interference (paragraph [0041]). The second positioner 20b may be configured for power measurement of the signals produced by the DUT 1. The first positioner 20a and communication test system may be used to establish a link to the DUT 1 and cause it to adapt its antenna configuration (e.g. beamforming) to the desired orientation and polarization by moving the positioner 20a and antenna 19a to a chosen position and orientation relative to the DUT 1 (paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have moved the first antenna in an orientation in which the back lobe of the electromagnetic wave radiated from the first antenna to face away from the first positioner in order to adapt its antenna configuration to the desired orientation and polarization.
Regarding Claim 14, as discussed above, Foegelle essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not essentially disclose the measurement device of claim 12, wherein the first positioner is configured to rotate the second positioner around the first rotation axis.
Foegelle teaches that the X-Y positioners may be manually positioned or driven by motors, as may be implemented by persons of ordinary skill in the art of, for example, robotics. Combining a single linear Z-axis positioner with the DUT 1 on a turntable gives cylindrical scanning (paragraph [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have rotate the second positioner (X or Y positioner) around a first rotation axis in order to the desired electromagnetic range or desired angle of signal.
Regarding Claim 15, Foegelle discloses the measurement device of claim 14, wherein the first positioner comprises a first extender (annotated below) configured to determine a position of the second positioner.
Regarding Claim 16, Foegelle discloses the measurement device of claim 12, wherein a range of the angle is equal to or greater than 0 and less than or equal to 360 degrees (“Note that a motor axis controller may be provided for each of six degrees of freedom of the positioner 20”, paragraph [0076]); “a mechanical rotator can be used to rotate a single antenna element by ninety degrees”, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding Claim 21, Foegelle discloses the measurement device of claim 15, wherein the second positioner comprises a second extender connected to an end of the first extender (annotated below).
Regarding Claim 22, Foegelle discloses the measurement device of claim 21, wherein the second extender has a first terminal abutting the first extender and a second terminal configured to be removably coupled to the first antenna (annotated above).
Regarding Claim 23, as discussed above, Foegelle essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the measurement device of claim 21, wherein an extending direction of the second extender is substantially perpendicular to the normal direction of the first surface of the first antenna.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have moved or actuated the second extender to any desired direction (normal direction) of the antenna in order to obtain the desired or corrected position of transmitting/receiving electromagnetic wave and signal.
Regarding Claim 24, as discussed above, Foegelle essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the measurement device of claim 15, wherein the first positioner is configured to not change a geometry center of an orientation of the first antenna when the first antenna is moved by the first positioner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have moved or actuated the extenders and positioners to not change a orientation of the antenna in order to obtain the desired or corrected position of transmitting/receiving electromagnetic wave and signal.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844