DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 01/26/2026.
Claims 1-16 are pending and presented for examination. No claims are amended, added, or cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,581,975. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the current application are the same as claims of the parent case, 16/902,785 except for word variations.
Instant App. 18/094,674
16/902,785 (PAT 11,581,975)
16/374,497 (PAT 10,721,014)
15/101,546 (PAT 10,248,329)
1. A method performed by a wireless device for performing an uplink control channel transmission in a serving cell in a wireless communications network when the wireless device is configured with a set of serving cells based on Radio Resource Control, RRC, and Medium Access Control Elements, MAC CE, signalling, comprising said serving cell, wherein the set of serving cells comprises the serving cell, in the wireless communications network,
the method comprising: performing the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell by using an uplink control channel format from a set of uplink control channel formats based on a number of serving cells that the wireless device has been scheduled on by a dynamic scheduling signaling from a network node.
1. A method performed by a wireless device for performing an uplink control channel transmission in a serving cell in a wireless communications network when the wireless device is configured with a set of serving cells based on Radio Resource Control (RRC) and Medium Access Control Elements (MAC CE) signalling, comprising the serving cell, in the wireless communications network,
the method comprising:
determining a number of serving cells of the set of serving cells being the number of serving cells that the wireless device has been scheduled on based on at least one of the group consisting of: a received Downlink assignment from a network node, a semi-persistent scheduling configuration, and a dynamic scheduling signaling from the network node;
selecting an uplink control channel format from a set of uplink control channel formats for uplink control channel transmissions based on the determined number of serving cells; and
performing the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell using the selected uplink control channel format
1. A method performed by a wireless device for performing an uplink control channel transmission in a serving cell in a wireless communications network when the wireless device is configured with a set of serving cells in the wireless communications network comprising the serving cell, the method comprising
determining a number of serving cells of the set of serving cells that are relevant to consider when performing the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell, wherein the set of serving cells comprises at least one serving cell which is autonomously de-activated by the wireless device and which is not included in the number of serving cells that are relevant to consider;
selecting an uplink control channel format from a set of uplink control channel formats for the uplink control channel transmission based on the determined number of serving cells; and
performing the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell using the selected uplink control channel format; wherein the number of serving cells that are relevant to consider when performing the uplink control channel transmission is determined based on one or more of the group consisting of: the number of serving cells in the set of serving cells that the wireless device has been scheduled on; and the serving cell in which the uplink control channel transmission is to be performed and one or more serving cells that are mapped to the serving cell in which the uplink control channel transmission into be performed.
1. A method performed by a wireless device for performing an uplink control channel transmission in a serving cell in a wireless communications network when the wireless device is configured with a set of serving cell(s) in the wireless communications network, the method comprising
determining a number of serving cells of the set of serving cell(s) that are relevant to consider when performing the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell;
selecting an uplink control channel format from a set of uplink control channel formats for uplink control channel transmissions based on: the determined number of serving cells, one or more threshold values for the determined number of serving cells, and an existence of and/or a length of a periodic Channel State Information, CSI, in the wireless device; and
performing the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell using the selected uplink control channel format.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the number of serving cells of the set of serving cells being the number of serving cells that the wireless device has been scheduled on within a configured time period.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the number of serving cells of the set of serving cells is the number of serving cells that the wireless device has been scheduled on within a configured time period.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the number of serving cells that are relevant to consider when performing the uplink control channel transmission is determined to be one or more of the following: the number of serving cells in the set of serving cell(s) that are currently activated in the wireless device, the number of serving cells in the set of serving cell(s) that have been indicated to be activated by a network node in the wireless communications network, the number of serving cells in the set of serving cell(s) that have been added, or configured, for the wireless device by a network node in the wireless communications network, the number of serving cells in the set of serving cell(s) that the wireless device have been scheduled on, the number of serving cells in the set of serving cell(s) that the wireless device have been scheduled on within a determined period of time, and the serving cell in which the uplink control channel transmission is to be performed and one or more serving cells that are mapped to the serving cell in which the uplink control channel transmission is to be performed.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the uplink control channel format for the uplink control channel transmission is selected from the set of uplink control channel formats based on one or more threshold values for the determined number of serving cells.
3. The method according to claim 2, wherein the uplink control channel format for the uplink control channel transmission is selected from the set of uplink control channel formats based on one or more threshold values for the determined number of serving cells.
2. The method according to claim 1 wherein the uplink control channel format for the uplink control channel transmission is selected from the set of uplink control channel formats based on one or more threshold values for the determined number of serving cells.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell using the selected uplink control channel format is performed according to one or more of the following: at the beginning of the next subsequent subframe in the wireless communications network, at the beginning of the next subsequent radio frame in the wireless communications network, according to information received from a network node in the wireless communications network, upon or after the expiry of a timer for switching the uplink control channel format for uplink control channel transmissions, and at a fixed or predetermined time instant.
4. The method according to claim 3, wherein the uplink control channel format for the uplink control channel transmission is selected from the set of uplink control channel formats further based on one or more of: existence of a periodic Channel State Information, CSI, in the wireless device; and the length of the periodic CSI.
4. The method according to claim 3, wherein the uplink control channel format for the uplink control channel transmission is selected from the set of uplink control channel formats further based on the existence of and/or the length of a periodic Channel State Information (CSI) in the wireless device.
3. The method according to claim 2 wherein the uplink control channel format for the uplink control channel transmission is selected from the set of uplink control channel formats further based on the existence of and/or the length of a periodic Channel State Information, CSI, in the wireless device.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell using the selected uplink control channel format is performed according to one or more of the following:
- at the beginning of the next subsequent subframe in the wireless communications network,
- at the beginning of the next subsequent radio frame in the wireless communications network,
- according to information received from a network node in the wireless communications network,
- upon or after the expiry of a timer for switching the uplink control channel format for uplink control channel transmissions, and
- at a fixed or predetermined time instant.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell using the selected uplink control channel format is performed according to at least one of the group consisting of: - at the beginning of a next subsequent subframe in the wireless communications network,
- at the beginning of a next subsequent radio frame in the wireless communications network,
- according to information received from the network node in the wireless communications network,
- upon or after the expiry of a timer for switching the uplink control channel format for the uplink control channel transmissions, and
- at a fixed or predetermined time instant.
4. The method according to claim 1 wherein the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell using the selected uplink control channel format is performed according to one or more of the group consisting of: at the beginning of a next subsequent subframe in the wireless communications network; at the beginning of a next subsequent radio frame in the wireless communications network; according to information received from a network node in the wireless communications network; upon or after the expiry of a timer for switching the uplink control channel format for the uplink control channel transmission; and at a fixed or predetermined time instant.
6. The method according to claim 5, wherein the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell using the selected uplink control channel format is performed based on the configuration of the serving cell.
6. The method according to claim 5, wherein the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell using the selected uplink control channel format is performed based on a configuration of the serving cell.
5. The method of claim 1 wherein the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell using the selected uplink control channel format is performed based on a configuration of the serving cell
4. The method according to claim 1, wherein the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell using the selected uplink control channel format is performed based on the configuration of the serving cell.
7. The method according to claim 1, further comprising receiving information indicating the set of uplink control channel formats for uplink control channel transmissions from a network node in the wireless communications network.
7. The method according to claim 6, further comprising receiving information indicating the set of uplink control channel formats for the uplink control channel transmissions from the network node in the wireless communications network.
6. The method of claim 1 further comprising: receiving information indicating the set of uplink control channel formats for the uplink control channel transmission from a network node in the wireless communications network.
5. The method according to claim 1, further comprising receiving information indicating the set of uplink control channel formats for uplink control channel transmissions from a network node in the wireless communications network.
8. The method according to claim 7, wherein the information is received in a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message.
8. The method according to claim 7, wherein the information is received in an RRC message.
7. The method according to claim 6 wherein the information is received in a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message.
6. The method according to claim 5, wherein the information is received in a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message.
Method claims 1-8 contain the same limitations as the apparatus claims of 9-16 and therefore rejected for the reasons state above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the current application are the same as claims of the parent case, 16/902,785 except for word variations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Lee ( US 20160295573 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
RE Claim 9, 1, Lee discloses a device or method for performing:
A wireless device for performing an uplink control channel transmission in a serving cell in a wireless communications network (¶0019, Fig. 1) when the wireless device is configured with a set of serving cells based on Radio Resource Control, RRC (The base station 110 may provide services with serving cells P and S_1 to S_n, but it is also feasible if the serving cells P and S_1 to S_n are served by the base station 110 in addition to some other base stations together. Basically, a radio Resource Control (RRC) connection is only handled by a primary serving cell (i.e., the serving cell P). ¶0019, Fig. 1; Serving cells P and S_1 to S_n may be separated into different groups by the network node according to RRC signal, configuration of wireless device. ¶0019), and Medium Access Control Elements, MAC CE (MAC CEs, e.g. configuration of a wireless device with Serving Cell Information containing a list of active serving cells, are known per 3GPP standard per a person with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.) , signalling, wherein the set of serving cells comprises the serving cell (The primary serving cell, used for RRC signaling, is the serving cell P. ¶0019; A base station configured with more than one serving cells P, and S_1 to S_n (i.e. the first Group G1, a number of serving cells, and the second Group G2, a number of serving cells,). Different PUCCH formats such as PUCCH format 2, 2a, 2b, and 3 which can be configured for different groups of the base station. ¶0021), in the wireless communications network (¶0019, Fig. 1), the wireless device comprising a processor and a memory (¶0024, Fig. 2), said memory containing instructions executable by said processor(¶0024, Fig. 2), wherein the wireless device is operative to:
perform the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell by using an uplink control channel format from a set of uplink control channel formats based on a number of serving cells that the wireless device has been scheduled on by a dynamic scheduling signalling from a network node (Transmit the first CSI subset on the first PUCCH with the first PUCCH format. ¶0035, Fig. 3: 312; Transmit the second CSI subset on the second PUCCH with the second PUCCH format. ¶0036, Fig. 3:314; CSI Reports are transmitted on a first PUCCH with a first PUCHH format and/or a second PUCCH with a second PUCHH format. The first and second PUCCHs are associated with the serving cells P, and S_1 to S_k. ¶0020; A base station configured with more than one serving cells P, and S_1 to S_n (i.e. the first Group G1, a number of serving cells, and the second Group G2, a number of serving cells,). Different PUCCH formats such as PUCCH format 2, 2a, 2b, and 3 which can be configured for different groups, G1 and G2, of the base station. In some cases, the first PUCCH format may be the same as the second PUCCH format. ¶0021; At a time instant, serving cells P and S of the Group G1 have scheduled CSI reports constituting first CSI set S1_1. The serving cells S_(k+1) and S_n of the second Group G2 have scheduled CSI reports constituting second CSI set S2_1. ¶0040. Dynamic scheduling of CSI reports across different serving cells based on priorities of serving cell index. ¶0041. Fig. 4).
RE Claim 10, 2, Lee discloses a device or method for performing:
The wireless device, wherein the number of serving cells of the set of serving cells being the number of serving cells that the wireless device has been scheduled on within a configured time period (CSI reporting from communication device to base station at predetermined instants, a schedule for a configured time period, for the device. At time instant T1, serving cells of the first group, G1, send CSI reports, a number of serving cells. Fig. 4: 401a-d. A second group of serving cells, G2, may have CSI reports scheduled, a number of serving cells. Fig. 4: 401e-f. ¶0040, Fig. 4).
RE Claim 11, 3, Lee discloses a device or method for performing:.
The wireless device wherein the uplink control channel format for the uplink control channel transmission is selected from the set of uplink control channel formats based on one or more threshold values for the determined number of serving cells (Serving cell groups, G1 and G2, each group with a number of serving cells, may have different maximum payload sizes for different groups having different serving cells. The first PUCCH may be same or different than second PUCCH. First PUCCH format maybe format X with a configurable maximum payload size, based on thresholds of payload sizes, a selection of an uplink control channel format that supports the payload size. ¶¶0020-0021).
RE Claim 12, 4, Lee discloses a device or method for performing:
The wireless device, wherein the uplink control channel format for the uplink control channel transmission is selected from the set of uplink control channel formats further based on one or more of: the existence of periodic Channel State Information, CSI, in the wireless device; and the length of the periodic CSI. (Serving cell groups, G1 and G2, each group with a number of serving cells, may have different maximum payload sizes for different groups having different serving cells. The first PUCCH may be same or different than second PUCCH. First PUCCH format maybe format X with a configurable maximum payload size, based on thresholds of payload sizes, a selection of an uplink control channel format that supports the payload size. ¶¶0020-0021; First CSI subset corresponds to the first group of serving cells, G1, and the first PUCCH format is associated with a first group of serving cells, G1. ¶0011; CSI reporting from communication device to base station at predetermined instants, a schedule for a configured time period, for the device. At time instant T1, serving cells of the first group, G1, send CSI reports, a number of serving cells. Fig. 4: 401a-d. A second group of serving cells, G2, may have CSI reports scheduled, a number of serving cells. Fig. 4: 401e-f. ¶0040, Fig. 4).
RE Claim 13, 5, Lee discloses a device or method for performing:
The wireless device, wherein the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell using the selected uplink control channel format is performed according to one or more of the following:
- at the beginning of the next subsequent subframe in the wireless communications network,
- at the beginning of the next subsequent radio frame in the wireless communications network,
- according to information received from a network node in the wireless communications network (Transmit the first CSI subset on the first PUCCH with the first PUCCH format. ¶0035, Fig. 3: 312; Transmit the second CSI subset on the second PUCCH with the second PUCCH format. ¶0036, Fig. 3:314; CSI Reports are transmitted on a first PUCCH with a first PUCCH format and/or a second PUCCH with a second PUCHH format. The first and second PUCCHs are associated with the serving cells P, and S_1 to S_k. ¶0020; A base station configured with more than one serving cells P, and S_1 to S_n (i.e. the first Group G1, a number of serving cells, and the second Group G2, a number of serving cells,). Different PUCCH formats such as PUCCH format 2, 2a, 2b, and 3 which can be configured for different groups, G1 and G2, of the base station. In some cases, the first PUCCH format may be the same as the second PUCCH format. ¶0021; At a time instant, serving cells P and S of the Group G1 have scheduled CSI reports constituting first CSI set S1_1. The serving cells S_(k+1) and S_n of the second Group G2 have scheduled CSI reports constituting second CSI set S2_1. ¶0040. Dynamic scheduling of CSI reports across different serving cells based on priorities of serving cell index. ¶0041. Fig. 4),
- upon or after the expiry of a timer for switching the uplink control channel format for uplink control channel transmissions, and
- at a fixed or predetermined time instant (Element is optional with inclusion of the above elements.).
RE Claim 14, 6, Lee discloses a device or method for performing:
The wireless device, wherein the uplink control channel transmission in the serving cell using the selected uplink control channel format is performed based on the configuration of the serving cell (A base station configured with more than one serving cells P, and S_1 to S_n (i.e. the first Group G1, a number of serving cells, and the second Group G2, a number of serving cells,). Different PUCCH formats such as PUCCH format 2, 2a, 2b, and 3 which can be configured for different groups of the base station. ¶0021).
RE Claim 15, 7, Lee discloses a device or method for performing:
The wireless device, further comprising receiving information indicating the set of uplink control channel formats for uplink control channel transmissions from a network node in the wireless communications network (The base station 110 may provide services with serving cells P and S_1 to S_n, but it is also feasible if the serving cells P and S_1 to S_n are served by the base station 110 in addition to some other base stations together. Basically, a radio Resource Control (RRC) connection is only handled by a primary serving cell (i.e., the serving cell P). ¶0019, Fig. 1; Serving cells P and S_1 to S_n may be separated into different groups by the network node according to RRC signal, configuration of wireless device. ¶0019; A base station configured with more than one serving cells P, and S_1 to S_n (i.e. the first Group G1, a number of serving cells, and the second Group G2, a number of serving cells,). Different PUCCH formats such as PUCCH format 2, 2a, 2b, and 3 which can be configured for different groups of the base station. ¶0021).
RE Claim 16, 8, Lee discloses a device or method for performing:
The wireless device, wherein the information is received in a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message (The base station 110 may provide services with serving cells P and S_1 to S_n, but it is also feasible if the serving cells P and S_1 to S_n are served by the base station 110 in addition to some other base stations together. Basically, a radio Resource Control (RRC) connection is only handled by a primary serving cell (i.e., the serving cell P). ¶0019, Fig. 1; Serving cells P and S_1 to S_n may be separated into different groups by the network node according to RRC signal, configuration of wireless device. ¶0019; A base station configured with more than one serving cells P, and S_1 to S_n (i.e. the first Group G1, a number of serving cells, and the second Group G2, a number of serving cells,). Different PUCCH formats such as PUCCH format 2, 2a, 2b, and 3 which can be configured for different groups of the base station. ¶0021).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/26/2026 were responded to by the examiner in the Advisory filed 02/18/2026. The response is included here in its entirety.
“Applicant's first argument is directed to claim 1. Applicants submits that "Lee does not show the number of scheduled cells. As such, Lee does not show using 'a number of serving cells that the wireless device has been scheduled on' to determine 'an uplink control channel format' to use." Applicant's emphasis.”
“Examiner respectfully disagrees. In a review of paragraphs 0068-0069 of Lee, the subject matter is disclosed. "In the prior art, there is only one single PUCCH on a primary CC, and only one CSI reports can be transmitted over the PUCCH. However, as 3GPP approves to extend CA up to 32 CCs in Rel-13 standard, there could be more than one CSI reports scheduled to be transmitted. This requires a considerably large payload, which the current PUCCH format with a fixed and limited payload size cannot satisfy.", para 0068. "And the final number of the multiple CSI reports to be transmitted is determined by the communication device according to their reporting types, their dropping numbers and/or their total bit length. Moreover, to support larger payload, the first PUCCH format, which may be the same as or different from the second PUCCH format, may be a PUCCH format X with a configurable maximum payload size.", para 0069. In addition, the Office Action cited para 0020 in rejection of this limitation of claim 1. Paragraph 0020 also discloses "Moreover, to support different maximum payload sizes for different groups having serving cells of different numbers, the first PUCCH format, which may be the same as or different from the second PUCCH format, may be a PUCCH format X with a configurable maximum payload size." The rejection stands.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US-20120113827-A1 Yamada et al.
A user equipment (UE) 204 that supports up to four ACK/NACK bits can use physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) Format 1a/1b with channel selection for transmission of the HARQ-ACK 240a. A user equipment (UE) 204 that supports more than four ACK/NACK bits is configured by higher layer 118 signaling to use either physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) Format 1a/1b with channel selection or physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) Format 3 for transmission of the HARQ-ACK 240a. A user equipment (UE) 204 may determine the number of HARQ-ACK 240a bits based on the number of configured serving cells and the downlink transmission modes configured for each serving cell. A user equipment (UE) 204 may use two HARQ-ACK 240a bits for a serving cell configured with a downlink transmission mode that supports up to two transport blocks and one HARQ-ACK 240a bit otherwise. ¶0087
US 20180191460 A1 Chen et al.
Techniques for reporting channel state information (CSI) for multiple cells (e.g., carriers) using multiple control channel formats are disclosed. A user equipment (UE) may be configured for operation on a plurality of cells. The UE may be configured to periodically report CSI for the plurality of cells and may also report CSI whenever requested. The UE may be configured with a plurality of control channel formats for sending CSI and possibly other control information in different subframes. The plurality of control channel formats may be associated with at least two different capacities. The UE may report CSI for the plurality of cells in the plurality of subframes based on the plurality of control channel formats.
US 20160295561 A1 Papasakellariou
As accommodating large HARQ-ACK payloads requires more UL resources or higher transmission power, thereby increasing an associated overhead, or interference and UE power consumption, it is beneficial for a UE to be provided a capability to dynamically determine a HARQ-ACK payload, and accordingly select a PUCCH format or resources according to a predetermined association with the UCI payload instead of semi-statically determine the HARQ-ACK payload based on a number of configured DL cells and a configured PDSCH TM per each configured DL cell (see also REF 2 and REF 3). This can also be beneficial for reducing a resource overhead required for multiplexing HARQ-ACK in a PUSCH.
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409