Attorney Docket number: 3748-0146PUS1
Filling Date: 1/10/23
Inventor: Lin et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al (US 2018/0082994 A1) in view of Chuang et al (US 2012/0012973 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses an electrostatic discharge (ESD) protection device (Fig. 2, see annotated figure) comprising: an N-type semiconductor substrate 115; a P-type semiconductor layer 110 formed on the N-type semiconductor substrate 115; a first N-type well 150 (where emitter connected, middle), a P-type well 135 (where collector connected, left), and a second N-type well 150, 160 (where base connected, right) formed in the P-type semiconductor layer 110, wherein the second N-type well 150, 160 (right) directly touches the N-type semiconductor substrate 115; a first P-type heavily-doped area 130 formed in the first N-type well 150.
Han does not explicitly disclose N-type substrate; a first N-type heavily-doped area and a second P-type heavily-doped area formed in the P-type well, wherein the second P-type heavily-doped area is coupled to the second N-type well through an external conductive wire; wherein the second P-type heavily-doped area is directly coupled to the external conductive wire.
However, Chuang discloses a first N-type heavily-doped area 36 (Fig. 3, see annotated figure) and a second P-type heavily-doped area 32 formed in the P-type well 38, wherein the second P-type heavily-doped area 32 is coupled (coupled through element 20, 24) to the second N-type well 30 through an external conductive wire (element GND); wherein the second P-type heavily-doped area 32 is directly coupled to the external conductive wire (element GND).
Chuang teaches the above modification is used to connect GND to two wells of the device (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han structure with Chuang wire as suggested above to connect GND to two wells of the device (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Han further discloses the ESD protection device according to claim 1, wherein the second N-type well 150, 160 is an N-type heavily-doped well (claim does not specify the number of doping level).
Regarding claim 3, Chuang further discloses the ESD protection device according to claim 1, further comprising an N-type heavily-doped area 28 (Fig. 3) formed in the second N-type well 30.
Regarding claim 4, Chuang further discloses the ESD protection device according to claim 1, further comprising a second N-type heavily-doped area 62 (Fig. 6, paras. 20-32, see annotated figure below) formed in the first N-type well (left most one, see annotated figure).
Regarding claim 5, Chuang further discloses the ESD protection device according to claim 4, wherein the first N-type heavily-doped area 68 (Fig. 6), the first P-type heavily-doped area 66, and the second N-type heavily-doped area 62 are coupled (coupled through layers 46, 70) to a first pin (see annotated figure 6) and the N-type semiconductor substrate (see annotated figure 6) is coupled to a second pin (see annotated figure).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue:
The amended part of claim 1 does not disclose the cited two references.
Examiner responds:
However, examiner respectfully disagrees about the above arguments. The cited two references disclose the amended part and other limitations of claim 1. See above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817