DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment received on April 20, 2026. Claims 1-6 and 13-20 were amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
The rejection of claims 1-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0104681 A1) in view of Hong et al. (US 2020/0058885 A1) is withdrawn due to the amendment dated April 20, 2026.
The rejection of claims 14-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0058885 A1) is withdrawn due to the amendment dated April 20, 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 14-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/787,326 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US ‘326 also recites boron and nitrogen containing heteroaromatic compounds according to Formula 1 in claim 1 where both the Ar1 and the Ar2 are a formula 2, which is spirobifluorene group. Each of CY1 to CY3 rings may be a benzene group per the instant formula 1 core. See at least specific #5 compound recited in ‘326:
.
Compounds recited within US ‘326 claims encompass compounds as instantly claimed. Therefore, given the overlap between the present claims and the copending claims, it would have been within the skill level of, as well as obvious to, one of ordinary skill in the art to form compounds which are both disclosed by copending Application No. 18/787,326 and encompassed by the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the present invention
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0104681 A1) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (US 2018/0069182; listed on 12/31/2025 I.D.S.).
Regarding a device of independent claim 1, Kim et al. teaches organic electroluminescent devices comprising an emission layer with a first, second, third, and fourth compound (see abstract).
Kim et al. first compound is of Formula 1 per instant “second compound” (see par. 65, 69-190, 207, 210):
.
Kim et al. second compound is of Formula 10 per instant “third compound” (see par. 66, 69-190, 208, 210):
.
Kim et al. third compound is of Formula 3D complexed to a central metal such as Pt per instant “fourth compound” (see at least par. 68, 69-190, especially par. 86, and 209-210):
.
Per instant formula 1 of claims 1 and 14, Kim et al. fourth compound is a heteroaromatic compound of formula 4 comprising a boron X41 and nitrogen-containing core that may be substituted with groups such as aryl (par. 68, 98-99 and see Group IV beginning on page 23) where k41 can be zero,
but it is not seen where the heteroaromatic core compound nitrogens Y42 and Y43 as N(R45) are specifically shown to be substituted with aryls selected as spirobifluorene groups (per instant Formula 1 compounds).
In analogous art, Hatakeyama et al. teaches bridged heterocyclic compounds comprising boron and nitrogen as dopant for an EL device (see abstract; see Y1 as boron of par. 65 and X1/X2 as N-R in par. 66 and 87 with R as aryl). Hatakeyama et al. specifically teaches aryl groups (encompassing a bonding location at any bonding site of the aryl group) may include spiro-bonded fluorene groups (see Hatakeyama et al. par. 74 and see spibifluorene group as aryl within compound 1-254 on page 43).
With respect to claims 13 and 20, specific instant formula 1 compounds, a Kim et al. compound D-11 of formula 4 is the same as at least instant compound #27 where the aryl bonded to a nitrogen of the core group is selected as aryl group spirobifluorene as taught by Hatakeyama et al. in place of phenyl (see circled groups below) as the aryl of group N-R.
Kim D-11 on page 24 (annotated):
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
.
Instant Compound #27 (shown in instant claims 13 and 20):
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a boron-nitrogen derivative dopant including an aryl spirofluorene group as an aryl as taught by Hatakeyama et al. within a compound according to Kim et al. formula 4, because Kim et al. teaches aryl groups as suitable for groups upon nitrogens of a Formula 4 core. One would expect to achieve a boron-nitrogen derivative for an EL device as taught by Kim et al. and Hatakeyama et al. with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a boron-nitrogen derivative dopant as taught by Kim et al. in view of Hatakeyama et al. as an emitting dopant in a device structure according to Kim et al., because one would expect the Kim et al. in view of Hatakeyama et al. compounds to be useful for the purpose of light emission in a Kim et al. device structure. One would expect to achieve an operational device comprising materials as taught by Kim et al. and Hatakeyama et al. with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 1-6 and 14-19, the above described compound with respect to Kim et al. in view of Hatakeyama et al. which is the same as instant #27 meets the requirements of an instant Formula 1 compound.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, primary reference Kim et al. teaches first, second, third and fourth compounds for an emission layer as discussed above (see abstract).
Regarding claim 9, note that primary reference Kim et al. teaches fourth compound boron-nitrogen derivative dopant may be a delayed fluorescence emitter within an emitting layer (see par. 216-217). Further, since a same compound is rendered obvious as instant #27 as discussed above, the properties of fluorescence are expected to be inherently the same.
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al. formula 4 compounds are described as emitting blue light (see par. 220). See also Kim et al. par. 313.
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al. first and second compounds respectively correspond to instant second and third compounds as discussed above. Kim et al. teaches the amount of first compound in the emission layer may be 10 wt. to about 90 wt. percent of the total of the emission layer and the amount of second compound in the emission layer may be 10 wt. to about 90 wt. percent of the total of the emission layer (see par. 231-232). Accordingly, the first and second compounds may be selected in amounts the same as the range as recited in claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Kim et al. teaches a hole transport region of a device may include monoamino compounds per instant H-1 compounds of instant claim 12 (see par. 299).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWN L GARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786