DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed on January 22, 2026, which has been entered. Claims 1-23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7-14, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo et al (US 2020/0084532 A1) in view of Uchikawa et al (US 7,641,501 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Lo et al teaches: A case device (100, Figs. 1-5), comprising: a main housing (6) comprising a charging opening (63), the charging opening extending longitudinally with a first length in a longitudinal direction (see Figs. 1 & 4); a rechargeable battery arranged (4) within the main housing; a charging port (55) electrically connected to the rechargeable battery to allow for recharging of the rechargeable battery (see para. 0037); and a first circuit board (5) in the main housing, wherein the charging port is electrically connected to the first circuit board (see Figs. 3 & 4, and para. 0037).
Lo et al does not specifically teach: wherein the case device comprises a clamping device attached to the first circuit board, the clamping device configured to clamp the charging port onto the first circuit board.
Uchikawa et al teaches a case device (80, Fig. 1), comprising a main housing (81) comprising a charge opening (see Figs. 1 & 2), a charging port (60), a first circuit board (82), wherein the case device comprises a clamping device (30) attached (via 89) to the first circuit board (82), the clamping device configured to clamp the charging port onto the first circuit board (see Figs. 1 & 2 and col. 6, lines 21-36).
In view of Uchkikawa et al’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the case device of Lo et al, wherein the case device comprises a clamping device attached to the first circuit board, the clamping device configured to clamp the charging port onto the first circuit board, in order to help prevent the charging port connector from being damaged (see col. 3, lines 35-41, of Uchikawa et al).
Regarding claim 4, Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al teaches: The case device according to claim 1, wherein the charging port (55) comprises a first port side facing the first circuit board (see Fig. 3), and wherein the charging port comprises a second port side opposite the first port side (see Fig. 3), and wherein the clamping device extends over the second port side and exerts a clamping force onto the second port side towards the first port side (the combination of Uchikawa et al’s clamping device 30 with the charging connector 55 of Lo et al, would result in the clamping device 30 exerting a clamping force between the charging port 55 and the circuit board 5).
Regarding claim 5, Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al teaches: The case device according to claim 1, wherein the first circuit board comprises an attachment interface for connecting the first circuit board to the main housing (as shown in Figs. 3-5, circuit board 5 is connected between earbud holder 1 and bracket 3 using fixing components 91, then connected to main housing 6). Also see para. 0035-0038).
Regarding claim 7, Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al teaches: The case device according to claim 1, further comprising a second circuit board (52 or 54) in the main housing (6) (see Fig. 3 and para. 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 8, Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al teaches: The case device according to claim 7, wherein the second circuit board (52 or 54) is separate from the first circuit board (5) (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al teaches: The case device according to claim 7, wherein the rechargeable battery (5) is attached to the second circuit board (as shown in Figs. 3-5, the battery 5 is attached to the circuit board 52 or 54 electrically and mechanically between bracket 3 and holder 1).
Regarding claim 10, Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al teaches: The case device according to claim 7, further comprising a third circuit board (the other of 52 or 54), wherein the first circuit board (5) is electrically connected to the second circuit board (52 or 54) by the third circuit board (the other of 52 or 54), and wherein the third circuit board is a flexible circuit board (52 and 54 are both flexible circuit boards, see para. 0036-0037).
Regarding claims 11 and 12: The teachings of Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al have been discussed above.
Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al does not specifically teach: (re claim 11) wherein the main housing is formed from a polymer material with a glass transition temperature below 130°C, and (re claim 12) wherein the main housing is formed from a polymer material with an ignition temperature above 550°C.
However, it is noted that applicant’s specification states that the main housing may be formed of a PC/ABS polymer material having the claimed glass transition temperatures and ignition temperatures (see para. 0075).
Prior to the effective filing date, PC/ABS polymer materials were well known to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to include, with the case device of Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al, (re claim 11) wherein the main housing is formed from a polymer material with a glass transition temperature below 130°C, and (re claim 12) wherein the main housing is formed from a polymer material with an ignition temperature above 550°C, in order to provide a main housing having the desired properties. Furthermore, the desired glass transition temperature and ignition temperature of the material for the main housing can be determined through routine experimentation for the intended use.
Regarding claim 13, Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al teaches: The case device according to claim 1, wherein the first circuit board (5) extends longitudinally with a second length in the longitudinal direction (see Figs. 3 & 4), wherein the second length is larger than the first length (as shown in Figs. 3 & 4, the circuit board 5 extends a second length that is larger than the length of the charging connector 55).
Regarding claim 14, Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al teaches: The case device according to claim 13, wherein the second length is more than one and a half times larger than the first length (as shown in Figs. 3 & 4, the circuit board 5 extends a second length that is more than one and a half times larger than the length of the charging connector 55).
Regarding claim 19, Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al teaches: The case device according to claim 1, wherein the main housing (6) is configured to store one or more hearing devices (earbuds), and wherein the rechargeable battery is configured to charge the one or more hearing devices stored by the case device (see para. 0035).
Regarding claim 20, Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al teaches: The case device according to claim 1, wherein the charging port (55) is accessible by a user of the case device via the charging opening (63) (see Fig. 1 and para. 0039).
Claim(s) 2, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo et al (US 2020/0084532 A1) in view of Uchikawa et al (US 7,641,501 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 9,620,844 B2).
The teachings of Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al have been discussed above.
Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al does not specifically teach: (re claim 2) wherein the clamping device is attached to the first circuit board by a snap-fit connector, and wherein the snap-fit connector is part of the clamping device; (re claim 22) wherein the clamping device comprises a first hook and a second hook; (re claim 23) wherein the clamping device is configured to exert a clamping force towards the charging port by undergoing deformation.
Kim et al teaches (see Figs. 1 and 4A-5C) a device including a circuit board (hardware board 400 & printed circuit board 410), a charging port (connector joint 200) electrically connected to the circuit board and a clamping device (bracket 100) attached to the circuit board, the clamping device configured to clamp the charging port onto the circuit board (see Figs. 1, 4A & 4B, col. 5, lines 7–61); (re claim 2) wherein the clamping device (100) is attached to the first circuit board (400 & 410) by a snap-fit connector (the boss holes 124A & 124B, extraction holes 125A & 125B and catching portions 123A & 123B form a snap-fit connector to engage with bosses 300; see Fig. 5A and col. 6, line 38 – col. 7, line 67), and wherein the snap-fit connector is part of the clamping device (see Fig. 5A); (re claim 22) wherein the clamping device comprises a first hook and a second hook (catching portions 123A & 123B for first and second hoods, see Fig. 5A and col. 6, line 38 – col. 7, line 67); (re claim 23) wherein the clamping device is configured to exert a clamping force towards the charging port by undergoing deformation (the bracket can be formed of a resilient material, which, when hook-coupled to bosses 300, will result in exerting a clamping force towards the charging port by undergoing deformation; see Figs. 1, 4A & 4B and col. 5, lines 53-61).
In view of Kim et al’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to include, with the case device of Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al, (re claim 2) wherein the clamping device is attached to the first circuit board by a snap-fit connector, and wherein the snap-fit connector is part of the clamping device; (re claim 22) wherein the clamping device comprises a first hook and a second hook; (re claim 23) wherein the clamping device is configured to exert a clamping force towards the charging port by undergoing deformation; since this would provide a simple method of assembly and the hook-coupling can provide effects such as strength (see col. 7, line 64 – col. 8, line 2).
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo et al (US 2020/0084532 A1) in view of Uchikawa et al (US 7,641,501 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hideyo (JP 2011-103258 A).
The teachings of Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al have been discussed above.
Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al does not specifically teach: (re claim 15) a thermally insulating material insulating the charging port from the rechargeable battery; (re claim 16) wherein the thermally insulating material forms a thermal chamber with the first circuit board and the main housing, and wherein the charging port is arranged within the thermal chamber.
Hideyo teaches a case (2A & 2B, see Figs. 6 & 7) device including a thermally insulating material (insulating holder 3) insulating a charging port (power connector 5) from a rechargeable battery (batteries 1); wherein the thermally insulating material (insulating holder 3) forms a thermal chamber with a first circuit board (circuit board 4) and the main housing (2A & 2B), and wherein the charging port is arranged within the thermal chamber (see Figs. 6 & 7, which show the insulating holder 3 creates a thermal chamber with case 2A & 2B that includes power connector 5 and circuit board 4).
In view of Hideyo’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to include, with the case device of Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al, (re claim 15) a thermally insulating material insulating the charging port from the rechargeable battery; (re claim 16) wherein the thermally insulating material forms a thermal chamber with the first circuit board and the main housing, and wherein the charging port is arranged within the thermal chamber, since this would help to prevent excessive temperatures from reaching sensitive components.
Regarding claim 17, the teachings of Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al and Hideyo have been discussed above.
Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al and Hideyo does not specifically teach: wherein the thermally insulating material has a thickness that is anywhere from 1mm to 5mm.
However, Hideyo shows that the thermally insulating material (insulating holder 3 has a thickness. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular thickness can be varied based on the overall shape/size of the case device, as well as the design parameters in order to achieve the desired performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to include, with the case device of Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al and Hideyo, wherein the thermally insulating material has a thickness that is anywhere from 1mm to 5mm, in order to provide an effective insulating material for the desired performance. Furthermore, the particular thickness can be determined through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 18, the teachings of Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al and Hideyo have been discussed above.
Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al and Hideyo does not specifically teach: wherein the thermally insulating material comprises ceramic fibers.
However, thermally insulating material comprising ceramic fibers was well known to those of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to include, with the case device of Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al and Hideyo, wherein the thermally insulating material comprises ceramic fibers, in order to provide the insulating material with the desired strength and performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record does not teach the snap-fit connector of the clamping device is configured for being inserted through the attachment through-going hole, in combination with the other recited limitations as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record does not teach the first circuit board comprises a through-going hole arranged in-between the charging port and the attachment interface, as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art of record does not teach wherein the clamping device is in a form of a wire.
Without the benefit of applicant’s teachings, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the various teachings from the prior art in a manner so as to create the claimed invention, as recited in claims 3 and 21.
Response to Arguments
The amendments to claims 6, 14 and 16 have corrected the issues noted in the previous claim objections. Thus, the claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed January 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument against the rejection of claim 1, on pages 7-8 of the remarks, that Uchikawa et al’s clamping device 30 does not, and cannot, clamp the port 60 onto PCB 82, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Uchikawa et al states, “The connector holding clamp 30 supports the inserting hole 33 (surrounding section) at a fixed position with respect to the PCB 82 (FIG. 1), preventing the shell 61 from being folded over in all directions therearound, and from being damaged by the tip opening thereof being opened up.” (see col. 9, line 65 – col. 10, line 2). Since the connector holding clamp 30 prevents the shell 61, of port 60, from being folded over, and prevents movement of the port 60 with respect to the PCB 82, this meets the claim limitation of the clamping device being configured to clamp the charging port onto the first circuit board.
It is noted that claim 1 does not recite any particular structure of the clamping device, only that it is “configured” to clamp the charging port onto the first circuit board. The claim also does not specify how the clamping of the port is performed. Thus, the claim is broad enough to cover any structure of clamping device and any way of clamping. As stated above, Uchikawa et al’s clamp 30 fixes the port 60 at a specific location on the PCB 82 and prevents movement of the port 60 with respect to the PCB 82. Thus, Uchikawa et al’s clamp 30 is configured to clamp the port 60 onto the PCB 82 and meets this claimed limtation.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-12 of the remarks, filed January 22, 2026, with respect to Lo et al as modified by Uchikawa et al failing to teach the limitation of claim 6 (together with base claim 5), that the first circuit board comprises a through-going hole arranged in-between the charging port and the attachment interface, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The prior art rejection of claim 6 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-14 of the remarks, filed January 22, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2 and 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Lo et al, Uchikawa et al and Mao have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection of claim 2 is made in view of Lo et al, Uchikawa et al and Kim et al (see above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Suto (US 6,582,240 B2) teaches a connector jack attaching structure, including a reinforcing member (134) configured to clamp a connector (44) onto a circuit board (130) (see the abstract, Figs. 8-10 and col. 5, line 54 – col. 6, line 52).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED FUREMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859