DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner notes the following amendments made to the drawings:
Examiner notes the following amendments made to the claims:
Claim 1 amended to include the limitations of previously presented claims 2-5
Claims 2-5 cancelled
Claims 6-9 amended to match amendments made to claim 1
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/10/2026, with respect to the objection to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/10/2026 with the regards to the rejection of claims 1-9 under 35 USC 102 and 10 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner will respond to applicant arguments in order.
First, applicant argues that amended claim 1 is allowable because Liu does not disclose the first transfer sheet is located between the first tab and the third tab. Applicant cites that the first adapter sheet has opposite first and second surfaces, Stop and Sbottom, and states that Liu does not explicitly disclose that the tabs are respectively located on two surfaces of terminals 42 and 42. Examiner does not find this persuasive. Specifically, the arguments presented by applicant related to the figures provided in the specification and requiring the two surfaces to be explicitly a top and a bottom surface, where the tabs are connected on opposite sides on a vertical plane. However, this is not specified in the claims, where all that is required is the tabs being connected to two surfaces and being opposite to one another. Applicant specifically argues that Liu fails to teach a “situation where the tabs are respectively located on the upper surface and the lower surface of the terminal 40.” However, the claims to not specify that there is an upper and a lower surface of the terminal. In order to overcome the previously applied prior art and move forward with prosecution, applicant would be required to amend the claims to more clearly define the scope of the invention in order to capture the differences described in the arguments.
Applicant then argues that the combination of Liu or Wang fails to disclose part or all of the first tab located on the first surface of the first transfer sheet and part or all of the second surface of the first transfer sheet. This is no different in eyes of examiner than the previous argument, and is found to not be persuasive for the same reasons. Applicant could amend the claims to specify that it is referring to an upper and lower surface in order to overcome the teachings of the prior art. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 is upheld in view of the amendments made, and the previously cited art is still considered to teach all of the limitations.
Lastly, applicant argues that Wang fails to teach the additional limitations of dependent claim 10, which requires multiple cells sharing one transfer sheet. Examiner does not find this persuasive, as Wang figure 1 clearly depicts four cells sharing one transfer sheet. Examiner also finds that the combination of Wang figures 1, 2, and 3 would include tabs being connected to both an upper and lower portion of the transfer sheet.
In conclusion, since no amendments were made to specify that the tabs are specifically welded to an upper and lower surface of the transfer sheet, or that by “opposite” applicant is referring to a vertical plane, the arguments made are not considered to be persuasive, and the claims remain rejected. There is currently not considered to be any allowable subject matter in the claims. Examiner once again points out that if an amendment were made to specify an upper and lower surface of the transfer sheet, the previously applied prior art would likely be overcome and further search and consideration would be required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 20210083256 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches all of the following elements:
A secondary battery, comprising a top cover, (cover plate 30, Liu figure 5)
a pole, (insulating spacer 50, Liu figure 5)
a cell (poles 10 and 11, Liu figure 5)
and a transfer sheet, (Terminal 40/41/42, Liu figure 2)
wherein the pole comprising a first pole, which is provided in the top cover; (insulating spacer 50, Liu figure 5 is clearly within/underneath the cover plate 30.)
the cell comprising a first cell, (poles 10 and 11, Liu figure 5. The battery of Liu clearly comprises a first and second cell. See below for comparison of Liu battery structure to instant battery structure)
and a second cell (Liu second pole 11, comprises a positive and negative tab as well—see Liu figure 2)
the first cell leading out a first tab and a second tab with opposite polarity; (first and second tabs 211 and 212, Liu figure 2.)
the second cell leading out a third tab and a fourth tab with opposite polarity; (Liu second pole 11, comprises a positive and negative tab as well—see Liu figure 2)
the third tab and the first tab being located on the same side of the first transfer sheet; (See Liu figure 2 below.)
the transfer sheet comprising a first transfer sheet, (Terminal 41 and 42, Liu figure 2.)
the first transfer sheet electrically connecting the first tab to the first pole; (Terminal 41 and 42, and positive and negative tabs 211 and 212, Liu figure 2.)
wherein the first transfer sheet has a first surface and a second surface oppositely, (Terminal 41 and 42, Liu figure 2. Both contain multiple surface, both in the vertical and horizontal direction)
the first tab, the third tab and the first transfer sheet being connected in any of the following two ways:
a part of tabs of the first tab being connected to the first surface, (Liu figure 2 clearly depicts the entire first tab connected to the first transfer sheet.)
other part of tabs of the first tab and all tabs of the third tab are connected to the second surface, (Liu figure 2 clearly depicts the entire third tab being connected to a second surface of the first transfer sheet.) the first transfer sheet being located between the part of tabs of the first tab and the third tab and the other part of tabs of the first tab, (Liu figure 2 depicts the first transfer sheet 41 being located in between the first and third tab.)
or, all tabs of the first tab being connected to the first surface of the first transfer sheet, (Liu figure 2 clearly depicts the entire first tab connected to the first transfer sheet.)all tabs of the third tab are connected to the second surface of the first transfer sheet, (Liu figure 2 clearly depicts the entire third tab being connected to a second surface of the first transfer sheet.)the first transfer sheet is located between the first tab and the third tab, (Liu figure 2 depicts the first transfer sheet 41 being located in between the first and third tab. As can be seen in Liu figure 2, a part of each tab is connected to a first surface of the first transfer sheet. See below for a comparison between the schemes of Liu and the instant invention.)
or, all tabs of the first tab (Liu figure 2 depicts a part of the first tab 221 being connected to the first transfer sheet 41.) and a part of tabs of the third tab are connected to the first surface of the first transfer sheet, and other part of tabs of the third tab are connected to the second surface of the first transfer sheet, (“According to the battery 100 in one embodiment of the present disclosure, as shown in FIG. 5, the tab 20 may be bent to make it easier to connect the tab 20 to the terminal 40. The tab 20 may include a bending portion 201, the bending portion 201 may form a socket 203, and the insulating spacer 50 may be located in the socket 203.” Liu [0054]. In this case, by bending the tabs around the terminal 40, the tabs would be in contact with multiple surfaces of the terminal. In the case where the third tab has a bending portion, the third tab would be connected to multiple surfaces of the terminal.)the first transfer sheet is located between the first tab and a part of tabs of the third tab and other part of tabs of the third tab. (Liu figure 2 clearly depicts the first transfer sheet 41 being located between part of the first tabs and the third tab.)
(As can be seen in Liu figure 2, a part of each tab is connected to a first surface of the first transfer sheet. See below for a comparison between the schemes of Liu and the instant invention.)
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches all of the following elements:
The secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the first tab is led out from the outer side of the first cell, and the third tab is led out from the outer side of the second cell. (Liu figure 2 clearly depicts a first tab led out from an outer side of the first cell, and the third tab led out from the outer side of the second cell.)
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches all of the following elements:
The secondary battery according to claim 1,
wherein the first tab and the first transfer sheet form a first connection area on the first surface, the third tab and the first transfer sheet forming a second connection area on the second surface, the first connection area and the second connection area being opposite or at least partially staggered. (Liu figure 2 clearly depicts both a first and third tab being connected to opposite surfaces of the transfer sheet, transversely, and the first and second connection areas are opposite each other in the horizontal direction.)
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches all of the following elements:
The secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the first tab located on the first surface of the first transfer sheet and the third tab located on the second surface of the first transfer sheet have equal or unequal lengths, and the tab located on the first surface of the first transfer sheet and the tab located on the second surface of the first transfer sheet have the same or different number of layers. (The first and third tab of Liu, both attached to the surface of transfer sheet 41, are depicted as having both an equal length and an equal number of layers, thus meeting all of the additional limitations of claim 8.)
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches all of the following elements:
The secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the projections on the first surface of the first tab located on the first surface of the first transfer sheet and the third tab located on the second surface of the first transfer sheet do not completely overlap. (Liu figure 2 clearly depicts both a first and second tab being connected to opposite surfaces of the transfer sheet, transversely, and the first and second connection areas are opposite each other in the horizontal direction, and they do not overlap each other.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20210083256 A1) in view of Wang (CN 112864539).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as shown above. Liu is silent on the following elements of claim 10:
The secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the cell further comprises a third cell,
the third cell leading out a fifth tab and a sixth tab with opposite polarity;
the first tab being located on one side of the first transfer sheet,
the fifth tab being located on the opposite side of the first transfer sheet,
a part of tabs of the fifth tab being connected to the first surface,
and other part of tabs of the fifth tab being connected to the second surface;
or, the cell further comprise a third cell and a fourth cell,
the third cell leading out a fifth tab and a sixth tab with opposite polarity,
and the fourth cell leading out a seventh tab and an eighth tab with opposite polarity;
the first tab being located on one side of the first transfer sheet,
the fifth tab and the seventh tab being located on opposite side of the first transfer sheet;
wherein all tabs of the fifth tab being connected to the first surface of the first transfer sheet,
and all tabs of the seventh tab being connected to the second surface of the first transfer sheet,
or, a part of tabs of the fifth tab being connected to the first surface of the first transfer sheet,
other part of tabs of the fifth tab and all tabs of the seventh tab being connected to the second surface of the first transfer sheet,
or, all tabs of the fifth tab and a part of tabs of the seventh tab being connected to the first surface of the first transfer sheet,
other part of tabs of the seventh tab being connected to the second surface of the first transfer sheet.
However, Wang teaches all of the elements of claim 10 that are not found in Liu. Specifically, Wang teaches a combination of 4 cells via tabs and a transfer sheet that, when combined with Liu, would create the secondary battery described in the instant claims. Wang teaches the following:
or, the cell further comprise a third cell and a fourth cell, (“Specifically, as shown in FIG. 2 and FIG. 3 again, in this embodiment, the power battery 100 includes two sets of battery cells 110. The two groups of battery cell pole groups 110 are respectively a first battery cell pole group 110a and a second battery cell pole group 110b.” Wang [58])
the third cell leading out a fifth tab and a sixth tab with opposite polarity, (As can be seen in Wang figure 10 below, each cell has two tabs leading out of it. Wang additionally states that there is a positive and negative tab leading out of each cell: “As mentioned above, in FIG. 2, the positive electrode connecting piece 113a of the first cell electrode group 110a is located under the corresponding first positive electrode tab 1111a and the second positive electrode tab 1121a, and the negative electrode connecting piece 114a is located on the corresponding first negative electrode. Below the tab 1112a and the second negative tab 1122a.” Wang [80])
and the fourth cell leading out a seventh tab and an eighth tab with opposite polarity; (As can be seen in Wang figure 10 below, each cell has two tabs leading out of it. Wang additionally states that there is a positive and negative tab leading out of each cell: “As mentioned above, in FIG. 2, the positive electrode connecting piece 113a of the first cell electrode group 110a is located under the corresponding first positive electrode tab 1111a and the second positive electrode tab 1121a, and the negative electrode connecting piece 114a is located on the corresponding first negative electrode. Below the tab 1112a and the second negative tab 1122a.” Wang [80])
the first tab being located on one side of the first transfer sheet, (See Wang figure 10 below for demonstration of the first tab being located on one side of the first transfer sheet. This is additionally taught in Liu.)
the fifth tab and the seventh tab being located on opposite side of the first transfer sheet; (See Wang figure 10 below for demonstration of the fifth and seventh tabs being located on the opposite side of the first transfer sheet.)
wherein all tabs of the fifth tab being connected to the first surface of the first transfer sheet, and all tabs of the seventh tab being connected to the second surface of the first transfer sheet, (As can be seen below in Wang figure 10, the fifth and seventh tabs are connected to opposite surface of the first transfer sheet in the horizontal direction, similar to that between the first and third tabs of Liu.)
Liu and Wang are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of lithium-ion batteries that electronically connect together a plurality of cells using electrode tabs and a welding method. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include a third and fourth cell to its tab connecting structure in order to produce a battery with increased power output and battery life. This would be desirable as by adding more cell groups, the capacity would increase (“The third battery cell pole group 210c is disposed between the first battery cell pole group 210a and the second battery cell pole group 210b, thereby forming a three-layer battery cell pole group laminated structure, which improves the capacity of the power battery 200.” Wang [93]). It would be well within the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art to either modify Liu to include a third and fourth cell via the welding method of Wang, or to include the cell structure and tabs of Wang within the battery casing including a pole and cover portion of Liu.
Conclusion
The following references were discovered in an updated search and were considered to be relevant:
US 20130143109 A1—teaches a structure in which anode and cathode tabs are connected to an upper and lower surface of respective leads, in a structure similar to the claimed invention
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN ELI KASS-MULLET/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752