DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted by the applicant and listed below have been considered and are included in the file.
Filed 11 January 2023
Filed 04 August 2023
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 13-14, 16-18, 20-22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wachter et al. (hereinafter Wachter, US 20210132197 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wachter anticipates a lidar system comprising:
a light source configured to emit an optical signal ([0046]; Fig. 1, transmitter (110) includes light emitters (112));
a receiver ([0046]; Fig. 1, receiver (120)) configured to:
detect a received optical signal comprising a portion of the emitted optical signal that is scattered by a surface of a target located a distance from the lidar system ([0049]), wherein the surface is oriented at an angle of incidence with respect to the emitted optical signal ([0061] - [0064]; Figs. 3A and 3B);
and produce an electrical signal corresponding to the received optical signal ([0049]);
and a controller configured to determine, based on the electrical signal, the angle of incidence of the surface of the target ([0046], [0065]; Fig. 1 where the controller (130) can utilize information from receiver (120), detector circuit (122) and ADC (123)received pulse width to determine one or more features of the inclined surface/object, which may include angle).
Regarding claim 2, Wachter anticipates the lidar system of claim 1, wherein:
the emitted optical signal comprises a pulse of light ([0061] - [0064]; Figs. 3A and 3B, signals (311) are emitted pulses);
the received optical signal comprises a received pulse of light comprising a portion of the emitted pulse of light scattered by the target ([0061] - [0064]; Figs. 3A and 3B, signals (321), (331) are pulses reflected off object);
and determining the angle of incidence of the surface of the target comprises determining a pulse characteristic of the received pulse of light ([0065]; received/reflected pulse information such as width can be used to determine one or more features of the inclined surface/object, which may include angle).
Regarding claim 3, Wachter anticipates the lidar system of claim 2, wherein the receiver comprises:
a detector configured to produce a photocurrent signal corresponding to the received pulse of light ([0049]);
an electronic amplifier configured to amplify the photocurrent signal to produce a voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal ([0073]; Fig. 4A amplifier (415) may be included in detector circuit (400));
and a plurality of comparators ([0072] - [0073], [0077]; Fig. 4A, where each photodiode (402) is connected to comparator (410) and sample-and-hold circuit (420)) coupled to a respective plurality of time-to-digital converters (TDCs), wherein:
each comparator is configured to provide an electrical-edge signal to a corresponding TDC when the voltage signal rises above or falls below a particular threshold voltage;
and the corresponding TDC is configured to produce a time value corresponding to a time when the electrical-edge signal was received, wherein the electrical signal produced by the receiver comprises one or more time values produced by one or more TDCs ([0073] - [0078]; Fig. 4A, where processing channels (421n) may run in parallel and sample the photodiode signal to output signals indicative of intensity and timing information, linked to the photodetector signal being compared to a threshold value.)
Regarding claim 4, Wachter anticipates the lidar system of claim 2, wherein
the pulse characteristic comprises an edge slope, duration, rise time, or fall time of the received pulse of light ([0061], [0065]; received/reflected pulse shape information can include rising edge timing, falling edge timing, peak amplitude, pulse width, or any combination thereof).
Regarding claim 5, Wachter anticipates the lidar system of claim 2, wherein
the pulse characteristic comprises a slope of an edge of the received pulse of light ([0061], [0065]; received/reflected pulse shape information can include rising edge timing, falling edge timing, or a combination, where the timing of a rising or falling edge yields its slope).
Regarding claim 6, Wachter anticipates the lidar system of claim 5, wherein
the edge of the received pulse of light is a rising edge ([0061], [0065]; received/reflected pulse shape information can include rising edge timing, falling edge timing, or a combination, where the timing of a rising or falling edge yields its slope).
Regarding claim 7, Wachter anticipates the lidar system of claim 5, wherein
the pulse characteristic further comprises a slope of one or more additional edges of the received pulse of light ([0061], [0065]; received/reflected pulse shape information can include rising edge timing, falling edge timing, or a combination, where the timing of a rising or falling edge yields its slope).
Regarding claim 13, Wachter anticipates
determining the angle of incidence comprises determining a duration of the received pulse of light ([0061], [0065]; received/reflected pulse information such as width can be used to determine one or more features of the inclined surface/object, which may include angle).
Regarding claim 14, Wachter anticipates
determining the angle of incidence comprises finding an angle of incidence from a look-up table based on the determined duration of the received pulse of light ([0042], where a reference pulse width and amplitude may be stored, along with other pulse characteristics such as slope, within a look-up table used for pulse/object identification).
Regarding claim 16, Wachter anticipates
determining a pulse energy of the received pulse of light ([0098], the lidar system may use the amplitude of the received pulse);
and calibrating the duration of the received pulse of light to the pulse energy of the received pulse of light ([0098]; where the peak amplitude may be used to determine the pulse width or may use any other suitable technique to measure, determine, or estimate the pulse width of the received light pulse, which one of ordinary skill in the art understands would include normalization of the peak height, which is a form of calibration of data).
Regarding claim 17, Wachter anticipates
the electrical signal comprises a digital electrical signal ([0077], [0080]).
Regarding claim 18, Wachter anticipates
at least part of the controller is included within the receiver ([0046], [0065]; Fig. 1 receiver (120) includes detector circuit (122) and ADC (123)).
Regarding claim 20, Wachter anticipates
the angle of incidence is a first angle of incidence;
and the controller is further configured to:
determine a second angle of incidence;
and identify an object in an environment of the lidar system based at least in part on the first and second angles of incidence ([0061] - [0064], [0104]; Figs. 3A and 3B, where multiple pulses are emitted into the environment and each will be measured and analyzed to yield a first and second surface angle via pulse spreading information, which is utilized to identify objects such as debris).
Regarding claim 21, Wachter anticipates
the lidar system is operating as part of a vehicle and the object is an obstacle located on a path of the vehicle ([0001], [0094]).
Regarding claim 22, Wachter anticipates
the first and second angles of incidence are determined based on different edge slopes of the received pulse of light ([0061], [0065]; received/reflected pulse shape information can include rising edge timing, falling edge timing, or a combination, where the timing of a rising or falling edge yields its slope, and both slopes of a single pulse may be utilized instead of two separate pulses for object identification).
Regarding claim 24, Wachter anticipates a method ([0035]) for determining an angle of incidence of a surface of a target comprising:
emitting, by a light source of a lidar system, an optical signal ([0046]; Fig. 1, transmitter (110) includes light emitters (112));
detecting, by a receiver of the lidar system ([0046]; Fig. 1, receiver (120) detects incoming signals), a received optical signal comprising a portion of the emitted optical signal that is scattered by a surface of a target located a distance from the lidar system ([0049]), wherein the surface is oriented at an angle of incidence with respect to the emitted optical signal ([0061] - [0064]; Figs. 3A and 3B);
producing, by the receiver, an electrical signal corresponding to the received optical signal ([0049]);
and determining, by a controller of the lidar system, an angle of incidence of the surface of the target based on the electrical signal ([0046], [0065]; Fig. 1 where the controller (130) can utilize information from receiver (120), detector circuit (122) and ADC (123)received pulse width to determine one or more features of the inclined surface/object, which may include angle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wachter et al. (hereinafter Wachter, US 20210132197 A1 in view of Liang et al. (hereinafter Liang, US 20240192338 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Wachter teaches the lidar system of claim 5.
Wachter does not teach explicitly comparing slopes of reflected pulses to slopes of reference pulses.
Liang teaches determining the angle of incidence comprises comparing the edge slope of the received pulse of light to a normal-incidence slope ([0006], [0066], slope of returned pulse is determined by information at two threshold amplitudes, known as the pulse width difference, and then compared to a reference pulse width difference, where the reference pulse is a pulse under normal incidence).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wachter to incorporate the teachings of Liang to compare the edge slopes of reflected pulses to a reference pulse which is based off of a normal-incidence reflected pulse with a reasonable expectation of success. As Wachter already teaches comparing a reflected pulse’s characteristics to that of a reference pulse, inclusion of pulse slopes as variables of comparison would have a predictable result of increasing recognition accuracy, as noted by Liang ([0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Wachter as modified above teaches the lidar system of claim 8, wherein
the normal-incidence slope is determined previously from a master signal and is stored in a system memory ([0012], [0016], [0093]; the reference pulse may be emitted during a calibration operation, and stored in memory).
Regarding claim 10, Wachter as modified above teaches the lidar system of claim 8, wherein
the normal-incidence slope is based on a measurement of a portion of the emitted pulse of light ([0114]; where the peak amplitude value may be measured by the LIDAR system and/or may be determined or otherwise derived from the transmit power level of the emitted light pulse, which is used to determine the reference pulse).
Regarding claim 11, Wachter as modified above teaches the lidar system of claim 8.
Wachter does not teach forming a ratio of the slopes of the received pulse and the reference pulse.
Liang teaches dividing the edge slope of the received pulse of light by the normal-incidence slope ([0015], [0075] - [0077]; a ratio of the reference pulse width difference and the pulse width difference is used as the 'slope' of the echo pulse, which is used to determine object recognition and classification).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wachter to incorporate the teachings of Liang to utilize a ratio of slopes with a reasonable expectation of success. Using a reference value such as in a ratio with a collected value is well known in the art of LIDAR as a way to normalize values, which can further indicate information such as reflectivity of an object (as noted by Liang, [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Wachter as modified above teaches the lidar system of claim 8, wherein
determining the angle of incidence comprises determining the angle of incidence from a look-up table based on the edge slope of the received pulse of light ([0042], where a reference pulse width and amplitude may be stored, along with other pulse characteristics such as slope, within a look-up table used for pulse/object identification).
Claim(s) 15, 19 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wachter et al. (hereinafter Wachter, US 20210132197 A1 in view of Drummer et al. (hereinafter Drummer, US 10340651 B1)
Regarding claim 15, Wachter teaches the lidar system of claim 13.
Wachter is silent on utilizing a full-width (FWHM) or half-width (HWHM) half maximum to find the pulse width.
Drummer teaches that the duration of a received pulse of light is a full width at half maximum, or a half width at half maximum, of the received pulse of light (Col. 4, lines 13-48; duration of LIDAR pulses, either emitted or received, may be defined as the full width at half maximum duration of the pulse).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wachter to incorporate the teachings of Drummer to utilize FWHM or HWHM values to define the width, or duration, of a pulse with a reasonable expectation of success. FWHM is a well-known metric utilized in describing peak widths, or in this case specifically, a pulse duration within a LIDAR system which emits pulses of light into an environment.
Regarding claim 19, Wachter teaches the lidar system of claim 1.
Wachter does not teach the specifics of the scanner optics within the system.
Drummer teaches a scanner configured to direct the emitted optical signal into a field of regard of the lidar system, wherein the scanner comprises a rotating polygon mirror (Col. 6, lines 19 - 43; where a scanning mirror, such as a rotating polygonal mirror, may be used to scan the environment).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wachter to incorporate the teachings of Drummer to specifically use a polygonal mirror within the transmit aperture to direct outgoing beams with a reasonable expectation of success. Wachter notes that the transmit aperture (Fig. 1, (113)) may include any suitable components such as a mirror to direct the light pulses being emitted ([0047]), and therefore including the polygonal mirror of Drummer would have a predictable result of controlling the scanning of the emitted beams into the environment where the system of Wachter is operated.
Regarding claim 23, Wachter teaches the lidar system of claim 1.
Wachter does not teach that the system is a frequency-modulated continuous wave system.
Drummer teaches a LIDAR system, wherein the emitted optical signal comprises a frequency-modulated (FM) output-light signal;
the light source is further configured to emit a FM local-oscillator optical signal that is coherent with the FM output-light signal;
and the receiver is further configured to coherently mix the received optical signal and the FM local-oscillator optical signal, wherein the electrical signal produced by the receiver corresponds to the coherent mixing of the received optical signal and the FM local- oscillator signal (Col. 12, lines 17-54; where the LIDAR pulsed system may be an FMCW system which mixes the returned light with emitted light where the beat frequency gives information on distance and/or velocity of objects).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wachter to incorporate the teachings of Drummer to further use a system which uses a local oscillator signal as a reference to not only compare received echo signals to, but to combine signals within an FMCW system to use beat frequencies to obtain further information about the objects in the environment with a reasonable expectation of success. Wachter discusses using a reference beam which is a pulse reflected off a known surface which is orthogonal to the beam ([0005]), and this could incorporate the local oscillator of Drummer with predictable results, as FMCW is common in LIDAR systems where pulse shape is important or may yield information about the objects.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Berger et al. (US 20200172095 A1) teaches a LIDAR system configured to emit pulses of laser light and to then compare the width of returned pulses, having been reflected from the environment, to determine an orientation or surface angle of an object or surface within the environment.
Lipson et al. (US 20180373260 A1) teaches a vehicle equipped LIDAR system, for hazard avoidance, which emits a pulse and then analyzes the pulse width of the reflected pulse to determine an orientation of a target surface.
Shu et al. (US 20180299552 A1) teaches a LIDAR device and system which analyzes returned pulses for variance from the emitted beam pulse, and includes electronics such as amplifiers, counters which compare signals to thresholds, and time-to-digital converters.
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645