DETAILED ACTION
Note, the restriction has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al.(US 2021/0090902) in view of Hsich et al.(US 2011/0042794).
Regarding claim 1, Cho et al. discloses a multi-layer substrate(fig 5, 110, 120a, 120b)), a dielectric layer(fig 2, 111); at least one pad layer formed in the dielectric layer(fig 2, 120); and at least one protective metal layer formed on the at least one pad layer and bonded to the at least one pad layer(fig , 130), wherein the at least one protective metal layer only covers an upper surface of the at least one pad layer(fig 2), the at least one protective metal layer is configured to contact an external element (fig 2, 195, as well as the protective layer shown in figure 2, top surface, yet not labeled or discussed in the specification), there is no height difference between an upper surface of the at least one protective metal layer and an upper surface of the dielectric layer(fig 2). Cho et al. shows in fig 2 a surface finish structure of the multi-layer substrate is completely bonded to a surface of the external element( the structure surrounding element 190 and mating with layer 160) without any gap without discussing this aspect of the invention in the specification). Additionally, Hsich et al. discloses a surface finish structure of the substrate(fig 10, the surface of 40) is completely bonded to a surface of the external element(fig 10, 30). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to use a surface finish structure of the multi-layer substrate that is completely bonded to a surface of the external element so as to protect the surface components of the circuit board.
Regarding claim 2, Cho et al. discloses wherein a material of the dielectric layer is polyimide(para0071).
Regarding claim 3, Cho et al. discloses wherein a material of the at least one pad layer is copper.(para 0025).
Regarding claim 4, Cho et al. discloses wherein a material of the at least one protective metal layer is selected from the group consisting of chromium, nickel, palladium, and gold(para 0088).
Regarding claim 5, Cho et al. discloses a dielectric layer(fig 2, 111); at least one pad layer(fig 2, 120), wherein a part of the at least one pad layer is formed in the dielectric layer(fig 2); and at least one protective metal layer formed on the at least one pad layer and bonded to the at least one pad layer(fig 2, 130), wherein the at least one protective metal layer only covers an upper surface of the at least one pad layer(fig 2), the at least one protective metal layer is configured to contact an external element fig 2, 195, as well as the protective layer shown in the figure, top surface, yet not labeled or discussed in the specification), there is no height difference between an upper surface of the at least one protective metal layer(fig 2, 130) adjacent to the dielectric layer(fig 2, 160). an upper surface of the dielectric layer, and the surface finish structure of the multi-layer substrate is completely bonded toa surface of the external element without any gap.
Cho et al. shows in fig 2 an upper surface of the dielectric layer, and the surface finish structure of the multi-layer substrate is completely bonded toa surface of the external element without any gap(the structure surrounding element 190 and mating with layer 160) without any gap without discussing this aspect of the invention in the specification). Additionally, Nakunura et al. discloses an upper surface of the dielectric layer, and the surface finish structure of the multi-layer substrate (fig 4, the surface of 10) is completely bonded to a surface of the external element without any gap (fig 4, 44; para 53, 0054). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to use a surface finish structure of the multi-layer substrate that is completely bonded to a surface of the external element without any gap so as to protect the surface components of the circuit board.
Regarding claim 6, Cho et al. discloses wherein a material of the dielectric layer is polyimide(para0071).
Regarding claim 7, Cho et al. discloses wherein a material of the at least one pad layer is copper.(para 0025).
Regarding claim 8, Cho et al. discloses wherein a material of the at least one protective metal layer is selected from the group consisting of chromium, nickel, palladium, and gold(para 0088).
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al.(US 2021/0090902) In view of Hsich et al.(US 2011/0042794) and further in view of Cho et al.(US 2016/0225706) herein in after “Cho2”.
Regarding claim 9, Cho et al. does not disclose wherein an upper surface of a remaining part of the at least one protective metal layer excluding the upper surface of the at least one protective metal layer adjacent to the dielectric layer is a protrusion shape or a recessed shape. However Cho2 discloses a pad (fig 2, 105) with in the insulating layer with a recessed shape(fig 2, 110). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to place a recess in the middle of the pad as shown by Cho2, with a modified Cho since this is a way to better control the solder from straying form the pad.
Regarding claim 10, Cho et al. discloses wherein a material of the dielectric layer is polyimide(para0071).
Regarding claim 11, Cho et al. discloses wherein a material of the at least one pad layer is copper.(para 0025).
Regarding claim 12, Cho et al. discloses wherein a material of the at least one protective metal layer is selected from the group consisting of chromium, nickel, palladium, and gold(para 0088).
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847