Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as anticipated by IMAYOSHI.(US 2017/0250141 ).
Regarding claim 1, IMAYOSHI discloses a dielectric layer(fig 1, 1, 7); at least one pad layer(fig 1, 6) formed in the dielectric layer(fig 1); and at least one protective metal layer formed on the at least one pad layer and bonded to the at least one pad layer(fig 1, 9), wherein the at least one protective metal layer only covers an upper surface of the at least one pad layer(fig 1)., the at least one protective metal layer is configured to contact an external element(fig 1, layers 11, 12), there is no height difference between an upper surface of the at least one protective metal layer and an upper surface of the dielectric layer(fig 1), and the surface finish structure of the multi-layer substrate is directly and completely bonded to a surface of the external element(fig 1) having metal pads(fig 9B, 16 the metal pad(fig 1, 15) in contact with 18a) without any gap(fig 9B).
Regarding claim 2, IMAYOSHI discloses wherein a material of the dielectric layer is polyimide (para 0068).
Regarding claim 3, IMAYOSHI discloses wherein a material of the at least one pad layer is copper (para 0053, 0088).
Regarding claim 4, IMAYOSHI discloses wherein a material of the at least one protective metal layer is selected from the group consisting of chromium, nickel, palladium, and gold (para 0053).
Regarding claim 5, IMAYOSHI discloses a dielectric layer(fig 1, 1, 7); at least one pad layer(fig 1, 6), wherein a part of the at least one pad layer is formed in the dielectric layer(fig 1); and at least one protective metal layer formed on the at least one pad layer and bonded to the at least one pad layer(fig 1, 9), wherein the at least one protective metal layer only covers an upper surface of the at least one pad layer(fig 1), the at least one protective metal layer is configured to contact an external element,(fig 1, layers 11 and 12) there is no height difference between an upper surface of the at least one protective metal layer adjacent to the dielectric layer and an upper surface of the dielectric layer(fig 1), and the surface finish structure of the multi-layer substrate(fig 1, 1, 7) is directly and completely bonded to a surface of the external element(fig 1, layers 11 and 12) having metal pads(fig 1, 15) without any gap(fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, IMAYOSHI discloses 5, wherein a material of the dielectric layer is polyimide(para 0068).
Regarding claim 7, IMAYOSHI discloses wherein a material of the at least one pad layer is copper(para 0053, 0088).
Regarding claim 8, IMAYOSHI discloses wherein a material of the at least one protective metal layer is selected from the group consisting of chromium, nickel, palladium, and gold(para 0053).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847