Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 17, and 19 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are still pending for consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendment narrows claim 1 by requiring that the number of captured images be derived based on region information identifying captured regions included in the acquired image information, that the comparison be made against an appropriate number of captured images specified for each region, and that the inappropriate-image determination be tied to an image that is inappropriate for observation. However, the amended claim remains obvious. Primary reference Kutsuna continues to teach a processor-based medical image evaluation framework that organizes results by anatomical position and generates a report evaluation result for positions that have not been diagnostically read. A new secondary reference Najarian et al. (US 20200364859 A1) teaches identifying colon regions from endoscopic frames, including mapping frames to colon segments or flexures, and further teaches distinguishing informative frames from non-informative frames based on image clarity and related features, thereby teaching both the claimed region information and the extraction of image information indicating that at least one image is inappropriate for observation. And a new third reference Emura et al. (US 20120245415 A1) teaches a protocolized region-based endoscopic image capture scheme in which portions are coded and pictures are numbered/named according to protocol with sufficient overlapping images to that areas are not missed, which would have suggested specifying an appropriate number of captured images for each region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutsuna et al. (US 20150279061 A1) in view of Najarian et al. (US 20200364859 A1) and further in view of Emura et al. (US 20120245415 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kutsuna et al. teaches a management device comprising a processor including hardware, wherein the processor is configured to (see para [0030]; “a medical image processing apparatus 100 according to the embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the medical image processing apparatus 100 is configured by including a communication control apparatus 10”, see also para [0130-0132]; “FIGS. 18A to 18C are views for explaining a display example of the report evaluation result of the medical image processing apparatus 100..”): acquire a plurality of pieces of image information acquired through image analysis of a plurality of images (see para [0040]; “The medical image input portion 31 receives a plurality of pieces of medical image data. …A plurality of medical images each composed of a plurality of images is input into the medical image input portion 31”, see also para [0138]; “the display portion 40 switches and displays a plurality of images (slice images, for example) constituting the medical image corresponding to the position of the local structure based on the determined display order” Note: it works over many images and their derived info (position/metadata), matching the “plurality pieces of image information”); a number of captured images of each region subject to the endoscopic examination (see para [0046]; “the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 determines whether or not the check target anatomical positions listed in the diagnostic reading check information have been diagnostically read based on the anatomical position detected from the medical image”, see also para [0134]-[0135]; “The diagnostic reading chart illustrates an order of check of the check target positions and time in a bar graph…. the respective diagnostic reading time of the anatomical positions is expressed by sizes of frames indicating the anatomical positions. The anatomical positions are arranged in the order in which the diagnostic reading is completed” Note: images are mapped to position/regions, per-region status over the image set; read/not-read determination is predictable use of counting on mapped images); a first evaluation value to an evaluation result for the region (see para [0046]; “the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 determines whether or not the check target anatomical positions listed in the diagnostic reading check information have been diagnostically read based on the anatomical position detected from the medical image”, see also para [0133]; “an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed when diagnostic reading is finished… a report evaluation result displaying the anatomical positions which have not been diagnostically read in a list is displayed together with a message in a message window W2”, and para [0130]; “the report evaluation portion 37 evaluates a creation situation of a diagnostic reading report. ….The report evaluation portion 37 creates a report evaluation result according to the report creation situation”, Note: per-region fail/flag and notification behavior that corresponds to assigning “first evaluation value” when coverage is insufficient); and generate the evaluation result that includes the first evaluation value and the second evaluation value, based on the acquired plurality of pieces of the image information (see para [0130]-[0133]; “At ST117, the report evaluation portion 37 evaluates a creation situation of a diagnostic reading report.. creates a report evaluation result according to the report creation situation… At ST119, a report evaluation result is displayed on the display portion 40…. The report evaluation result is created by the report evaluation portion 37 when creation of the diagnostic reading is ended and displayed on the display portion 40…. an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed when diagnostic reading is finished”). However, Kutsuna et al. does not teach captured in an endoscopic examination, derive, based on region information which identifies captured regions included in the acquired plurality of pieces of the image information, extract, from the acquired plurality of pieces of the image information, image information indicating at least one image among the plurality of images is inappropriate for observation; assign a second evaluation value to the evaluation result for each region corresponding to the extracted image information; when the derived number of captured images of each region is different from an appropriate number of captured images specified for each region.
In the same field of endeavor Najarian et al. teaches captured in an endoscopic examination (see para [0039]; “the methods of the present disclosure are applicable to many other non-surgical investigative procedures performed on human body such as, for example, upper endoscopy (esophagogastroduodenoscopy), endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography (ERCP)”), derive, based on region information which identifies captured regions included in the acquired plurality of pieces of the image information (see para [0089]; “mapping frames of a colonoscopy video recording to colon segments”, see also para [0082]; “At 1502, the method 1500 builds and trains a CNN to detect frames in four distinct segments of the colon. At 1504, the method 1500 inputs the informative frames to the trained CNN to identify frames in the four colon segments…. a frame sequence belongs to a flexure of the colon”), extract, from the acquired plurality of pieces of the image information (see para [0009]; “extract other features from the converted frames to identify non-informative frames and to distinguish the non-informative frames from the informative frames. A frame is informative if the clarity of the frame is above a threshold or if the frame includes clinically relevant information about the colon”), image information indicating at least one image among the plurality of images is inappropriate for observation (see para [0075]; “At 804, control detects informative and non-informative frames in the video recording and removes the non-informative frames from the video recording (see FIG. 8 and its description for details of the model used to perform the detection and removal)”), assign a second evaluation value to the evaluation result for each region corresponding to the extracted image information (see para [0008]; “generate scores indicating severity levels of a disease for a plurality of the informative frames, estimate locations of the plurality of the informative frames in the colon, and generate an output indicating a distribution of the scores over one or more segments of the colon by combining the scores generated for the plurality of the informative frames and the estimated locations of the plurality of the informative frames in the colon”), see also para [0009]; “extract other features from the converted frames to identify non-informative frames and to distinguish the non-informative frames from the informative frames. A frame is informative if the clarity of the frame is above a threshold or if the frame includes clinically relevant information about the colon” Note: disclose a region corresponding value based on extracted image information and the primary reference Kutsuna teaches evaluation framework organized by anatomical position and generating a report evaluation result for those positions). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify a wound assessing method to check information that has been diagnostically read based on the position of the local structure detected from the medical image of Kutsuna et al. in view of the use of automated anatomic and regional location of disease features in colonoscopy videos Najarian et al. in order to facilitate objective diagnosis and disease severity measurement (see para [0039).
However, the combination of Kutsuna et al. and Najarian et al. as a whole does not teach when the derived number of captured images of each region is different from an appropriate number of captured images specified for each region.
In the same field of endeavor, Emura et a. teaches assign, when the derived number of captured images of each region is different from an appropriate number of captured images specified for each region (see claim 13; “digitalization (numbering) and naming each portion/picture according to the protocol (alpha numeric code)”, see also para [0098]; “the pictures need to be redundant and overlapping so that no areas are missed”, and para [0118]; “every small segment of the imaged organ is alphanumeric coded”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify a wound assessing method to check information that has been diagnostically read based on the position of the local structure detected from the medical image of Kutsuna et al. in view of the use of automated anatomic and regional location of disease features in colonoscopy videos Najarian et al. and further in view of systematic chromoendoscopy and chromocolonoscopy as a novel systematic method to examine organs with endoscopic techniques of Emura et al. in order to aid in localizing tumors with endoscopic procedures (see claim 13).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach wherein the processor is configured to sum the first evaluation value and the second evaluation value included in the evaluation result (see para [0050]; “The report evaluation portion 37 determines a diagnostic reading report creation state from the diagnostic reading check information updated in the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 during diagnostic reading and creates a report evaluation result”, see also para [0123]; “how many slice images have been checked in the slice images extracted as corresponding to the check target position can be calculated as a ratio in the total”, see also para [0131]; “At ST119, a report evaluation result is displayed on the display portion 40” Note: creates a consolidated “report evaluation result” that compiles per-position metrics and performance information ).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a conducted endoscopic examination was good or bad, based on the sum total of the first evaluation value and the second evaluation value (see para [0133]; “a report evaluation result in which an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed when diagnostic reading is finished”, see also para [0135]; “The shaded portion may display a portion whose check result changes from “needs attention” to “favorable”” and para [0131]; “a report evaluation result is displayed on the display portion 40”, Note: the chart shows performance transitions such as” needs attention” to “favorable”).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach wherein, even when a number of captured images of a region is larger than the appropriate number of captured images, if a lesion is present in the region, the processor is configured not to assign the first evaluation value to the evaluation result for the region (see para [0102]; “The diagnostic reading determining portion 34 may make determination based on a key image or an input content of finding when a diagnostic reading report is compiled”, see also para [0135]; “The anatomical positions are arranged in the order in which the diagnostic reading is completed, and a label is displayed at the anatomical position at which a key image or finding has been input”).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach wherein the processor is configured to create a guidance document for a doctor based on the evaluation result (see para [0130]; “The report evaluation portion 37 creates a report evaluation result according to the report creation situation”, see also para [0133]; “a report evaluation result displaying the anatomical positions which have not been diagnostically read in a list is displayed together with a message in a message window W2”).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach wherein, when the endoscopic examination starts++++, the processor is configured to perform notification of advice based on the evaluation result (see para [0133]; “an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed ….,” see also para [0136]; “a user can be prompted for a final check of the diagnostic reading report … and feedback for the subsequent work can be made. By accumulating the procedure of the diagnostic reading work as above as a database, diagnostic reading methods of a skilled user can be shared with the others. In addition, by recording the diagnostic reading procedure, a missed site in diagnostic reading can be easily found, and when the diagnostic reading is resumed, duplicated work can be avoided, and improvement of efficiency and labor saving of the diagnostic reading work can be realized”). Note: notifications/visual prompts tied to evaluation both during and after reading).
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach wherein, when the number of captured images of a region is smaller than the appropriate number of captured images of the region, the processor is configured to notify a doctor conducting the endoscopic examination that the number of captured images of the region is insufficient (see para [0133]; “an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed when diagnostic reading is finished. In the example in FIG. 18A, a report evaluation result displaying the anatomical positions which have not been diagnostically read in a list is displayed together with a message in a message window W2 to confirm that diagnostic reading has been performed”).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach the processor is configured to perform notification of the image being inappropriate (see para [0133]; “an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed”).
Najarian et al. in the combination further teach wherein, when the image information includes information indicating that an image is inappropriate (see para [0009]; “identify non-informative frames and to distinguish the non-informative frames from the informative frames”).
Regarding claim 9, the scope of claim 9 is fully encompassed by the scope of claim 1,
accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is fully applicable here.
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach comprising: summing the first evaluation value and the second evaluation value included in the evaluation result (see para [0050]; “The report evaluation portion 37 determines a diagnostic reading report creation state from the diagnostic reading check information updated in the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 during diagnostic reading and creates a report evaluation result”, see also para [0123]; “how many slice images have been checked in the slice images extracted as corresponding to the check target position can be calculated as a ratio in the total”, see also para [0131]; “At ST119, a report evaluation result is displayed on the display portion 40” Note: creates a consolidated “report evaluation result” that compiles per-position metrics and performance information ); and determining whether a conducted endoscopic examination was good or bad, based on the sum total (see para [0133]; “a report evaluation result in which an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed when diagnostic reading is finished”, see also para [0135]; “The shaded portion may display a portion whose check result changes from “needs attention” to “favorable”” and para [0131]; “a report evaluation result is displayed on the display portion 40”, Note: the chart shows performance transitions such as” needs attention” to “favorable”).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach comprising: not assigning the first evaluation value to the evaluation result for a region, if a lesion is present in the region (see para [0133]- [0134]; “an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed when diagnostic reading is finished. In the example in FIG. 18A, a report evaluation result displaying the anatomical positions which have not been diagnostically read… From the diagnostic reading chart, … portion may display a portion whose check result changes from “needs attention” to “favorable””, see also para [0135]; “a label is displayed at the anatomical position at which a key image or finding has been input” Note: it already ties finding to specific regions. Model labels a region when a key image or findings is present, so the system knows which anatomical position contains findings (lesion) and mark them in the evaluation).
Emura et al. in the combination further teach even when the number of captured images of the region is larger than the appropriate number of captured images (see para [0098]; “the pictures need to be redundant and overlapping so that no areas are missed”, se also para [0092]; “endoscopic technique characterized by a detailed, sequential and systematic photographic record (or video) of the entire gastrointestinal surface examined during an endoscopic procedure”).
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach comprising: creating a guidance document for a doctor, based on the evaluation result (see para [0045]; “At ST117, the report evaluation portion 37 evaluates a creation situation of a diagnostic reading report”, see also para [0133]; “an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed when diagnostic reading is finished. In the example in FIG. 18A, a report evaluation result displaying the anatomical positions which have not been diagnostically read in a list is displayed together with a message in a message window W2”).
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach comprising: performing notification of advice based on the evaluation result when the endoscopic examination starts (see para [0133]; “an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed ….,” see also para [0136]; “a user can be prompted for a final check of the diagnostic reading report … and feedback for the subsequent work can be made. By accumulating the procedure of the diagnostic reading work as above as a database, diagnostic reading methods of a skilled user can be shared with the others. In addition, by recording the diagnostic reading procedure, a missed site in diagnostic reading can be easily found, and when the diagnostic reading is resumed, duplicated work can be avoided, and improvement of efficiency and labor saving of the diagnostic reading work can be realized”).
Regarding claim 14, the scope of claim 14 is fully encompassed by the scope of claim 1,
accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 is fully applicable here. Kutsuna et al. further teaches a medical system comprising a storage device and a processor including hardware (see para [0034]; “When a program stored in the storage portion 20 is executed by a processor of the main control portion 30, the medical image processing apparatus 100”), the storage device retains an appropriate number of captured images of each region subject (see para [0046]; “the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 determines whether or not the check target anatomical positions listed in the diagnostic reading check information have been diagnostically read based on the anatomical position detected from the medical image” Note: stored per-position standard for completed is the practical threshold and it would encode as the appropriate number (at least one quantifying image per region, i.e. 1,2,3..). Encoding that as a number in storage is an obvious implementation);
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach wherein the processor is configured to sum the first evaluation value and the second evaluation value included in the evaluation result (see para [0050]; “The report evaluation portion 37 determines a diagnostic reading report creation state from the diagnostic reading check information updated in the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 during diagnostic reading and creates a report evaluation result”, see also para [0123]; “how many slice images have been checked in the slice images extracted as corresponding to the check target position can be calculated as a ratio in the total”, see also para [0131]; “At ST119, a report evaluation result is displayed on the display portion 40” Note: creates a consolidated “report evaluation result” that compiles per-position metrics and performance information).
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a conducted endoscopic examination was good or bad, based on the sum total of the first evaluation value and the second evaluation value (see para [0133]; “a report evaluation result in which an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed when diagnostic reading is finished”, see also para [0135]; “The shaded portion may display a portion whose check result changes from “needs attention” to “favorable”” and para [0131]; “a report evaluation result is displayed on the display portion 40”, Note: the chart shows performance transitions such as” needs attention” to “favorable”).
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach if a lesion is present in the region (see also para [0135]; “The anatomical positions are arranged in the order in which the diagnostic reading is completed, and a label is displayed at the anatomical position at which a key image or finding has been input”), the processor is configured not to assign the first evaluation value to the evaluation result for the region see para [0133]- [0134]; “an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed when diagnostic reading is finished. In the example in FIG. 18A, a report evaluation result displaying the anatomical positions which have not been diagnostically read… From the diagnostic reading chart, … portion may display a portion whose check result changes from “needs attention” to “favorable””).
Emura et al in the combination further teach wherein, even when the number of captured images of the region is larger than the appropriate number of captured images (see para [0098]; “the pictures need to be redundant and overlapping so that no areas are missed”, se also para [0092]; “endoscopic technique characterized by a detailed, sequential and systematic photographic record (or video) of the entire gastrointestinal surface examined during an endoscopic procedure”).
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach wherein the processor is configured to create a guidance document for a doctor based on the evaluation result (see para [0045]; “At ST117, the report evaluation portion 37 evaluates a creation situation of a diagnostic reading report”, see also para [0133]; “an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed when diagnostic reading is finished. In the example in FIG. 18A, a report evaluation result displaying the anatomical positions which have not been diagnostically read in a list is displayed together with a message in a message window W2”).
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach wherein, when a doctor starts an endoscopic examination, the processor is configured to perform notification of advice based on the evaluation result (see para [0133]; “an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed ….,” see also para [0136]; “a user can be prompted for a final check of the diagnostic reading report … and feedback for the subsequent work can be made. By accumulating the procedure of the diagnostic reading work as above as a database, diagnostic reading methods of a skilled user can be shared with the others. In addition, by recording the diagnostic reading procedure, a missed site in diagnostic reading can be easily found, and when the diagnostic reading is resumed, duplicated work can be avoided, and improvement of efficiency and labor saving of the diagnostic reading work can be realized”).
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated herein.
Kutsuna et al. in the combination further teach, the processor is configured to notify a doctor conducting the endoscopic examination that the number of captured images of the region is insufficient (see para [0046]; “the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 determines whether or not the check target anatomical positions listed in the diagnostic reading check information have been diagnostically read”, see also para [0133]; “an alarm message is described when there is an anatomical position determined by the diagnostic reading determining portion 34 that diagnostic reading has not been completed when diagnostic reading is finished. In the example in FIG. 18A, a report evaluation result displaying the anatomical positions which have not been diagnostically read in a list”).
Emura et al. in the combination further teach wherein, when the number of captured images of a region is smaller than the appropriate number of captured images of the region (see para [0098]; “the pictures need to be redundant and overlapping so that no areas are missed”, se also para [0092]; “endoscopic technique characterized by a detailed, sequential and systematic photographic record (or video) of the entire gastrointestinal surface examined during an endoscopic procedure”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WINTA GEBRESLASSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2677
/ANDREW W BEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2677