DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 2. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 3. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 4. Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (CN 113416206 A, English translation provided by WIPO) . 5. Regarding claim 13 , Zhao discloses the following two compounds (Compound 60, [pg. 10] and Compound 269, [pg. 16 ]; see below) that read on Formula 1 of claim 13 wherein: X 1 and X 2 are each N(R 7 ) and R 7 are phenyl substituents; and Y 1 and Y 2 are direct linkages; and Z 1 is a carbon atom. 6 . Regarding claim 14 , Compound 60 (Zhao) reads on Formula 2-1 wherein X 1 and X 2 , Y 1 and Y 2 , and Z 1 are the same as previously defined. 7 . Regarding claim 1 5 , Compound 60 (Zhao) reads on Formula 3-1 wherein X 1 and X 2 , and Y 2 are the same as previously defined. 8 . Regarding claim 1 6 , Compound 60 (Zhao) reads on Formula 4-1 wherein X 1 and X 2 are the same as previously defined. 9 . Regarding claim 1 7 , Compound 60 (Zhao) reads on Formula 5-3 wherein R 3c and R 3d are represented by an additional fused spiro- bifluorene moiety as represented by Formula 6 wherein: Y 3 and Y 4 are direct linkages; and Z 2 is a carbon atom. 10 . Regarding claim 1 8 , Compound 269 (Zhao) reads on Formula 5-2 (as per claim 17 ) and wherein R 3b is represented by a substituted alkyl group. 11 . Regarding claim 1 9 , Compound 60 (Zhao) reads on Formula 8 wherein R 1 a is represented by a substituted alkyl group. 12 . Regarding claim 20 , Compound 60 (Zhao) reads on Formula 8 wherein R 1 is represented by a substituted alkyl group. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 13 . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 14 . The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 15 . The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . 16 . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 17 . Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 113416206 A, English translation provided by WIPO) . 18 . Regarding claim 1 , Zhao teaches a light emitting device comprising (pg. 44): a first electrode; and as second electrode; and an emission layer disposed between the first and second electrodes, wherein the emission comprises a spiro-polycyclic boron-containing compound. 19. Zhao discloses the following two compounds (Compound 60, [pg. 10] and Compound 269, [pg. 16]; see below) that read on Formula 1 of claim 1 wherein: X 1 and X 2 are each N(R 7 ) and R 7 are phenyl substituents; and Y 1 and Y 2 are direct linkages; and Z 1 is a carbon atom. 20. Zhao teaches that multiple resonance-thermally activated delayed fluorescent (MR-TADF) compounds possessing quaternary centers in the form of spirocyclic bifluorene moieties, such as Compounds 60 and 269, prevent tight accumulation of the compounds due to steric encumbrance (pg. 45). This results in organic electroluminescent devices exhibiting improved thermal stability , efficiency, and lower driving voltages when compounds such as Compounds 60 and 269 are used in the light emitting layer (pg. 45). 21. While Zhao teaches the disclosed compound s above (Compounds 60 and 269) and generally teaches uses of the disclosed compounds in a light emitting element of claim 1 , Zhao does not specifically teach the particular compound s in a light emitting element . A t the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound s shown above by using the compound s in a light emitting element of Zhao having the structure s described above as the light emitting dopant of the emission layer, based on the teaching of Zhao (improved thermal stability, efficiency, and lower driving voltages, see pg. 45) . The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). 22 . Regarding claim 2 , the modified light emitting device of Zhao comprising Compound 60 (Zhao) reads on Formula 2-1 wherein X 1 and X 2 , Y 1 and Y 2 , and Z 1 are the same as previously defined. 23 . Regarding claim 3 , the modified light emitting device of Zhao comprising Compound 60 (Zhao) reads on Formula 3-1 wherein X 1 and X 2 , and Y 2 are the same as previously defined. 24 . Regarding claim 4 , reads on Formula 4-1 wherein X 1 and X 2 are the same as previously defined. 25 . Regarding claim 5 , the modified light emitting device of Zhao comprising Compound 60 (Zhao) reads on Formula 5-3 wherein R 3c and R 3d are represented by an additional fused spiro- bifluorene moiety as represented by Formula 6 wherein: Y 3 and Y 4 are direct linkages; and Z 2 is a carbon atom. 26 . Regarding claim 6 , the modified light emitting device of Zhao comprising Compound 269 (Zhao) reads on Formula 5-2 (as per claim 5 ) and wherein R 3b is represented by a substituted alkyl group. 27 . Regarding claim 7 , the modified light emitting device of Zhao comprising Compound 60 (Zhao) reads on Formula 8 wherein R 1 a is represented by a substituted alkyl group. 28 . Regarding claim 8 , the modified light emitting device of Zhao comprising Compound 60 (Zhao) reads on Formula 8 wherein R 1 is represented by a substituted alkyl group. 29 . Claims 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 113416206 A, English translation provided by WIPO) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and in further view of Geum et al. (US 2021/0277026 A1) . 30 . Regarding claim 9 , Zhao, as previously modified, teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. 31 . The modified light emitting device of Zhao comprising Compound 60 does not specifically teach a light emitting device comprising a compound of Formula 1 as represented by Compound Group 1 as per claim 9. 32 . Geum teaches a light emitting element comprising a first electrode, a second electrode disposed on the first electrode, and an emission layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (¶ [0203]-[0210]). 33 . Geum teaches that the emission layer can comprise a host and a dopant (¶ [0210]), and that the dopant represented by Formula 1 ( Geum ) (see below, ¶ [0037]) has structural features, such as the substituents ortho to the N atom of the polycycle (circled below), that confer increased steric encumbrance and thereby improve service lifetimes of devices by minimizing intermolecular interactions (¶ [0038]-[0039]). 34. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified C ompound 60 of Zhao by substituting the R 7 substituents of the nitrogen atoms in positions of X 1 and X 2 (per claim 1 ) with ortho -substituted phenyl substituents, based on the teachings of Geum with the motivation to provide a light emitting element with improve d service lifetimes . This substitution provides the following modified C ompound 60 (see below). 35. The modified light emitting device of Zhao comprising Compound 60 ( Geum modification) reads on claim 9, meeting all of the limitations of claim 1 and Compound 60 ( Geum modification) being identical to Compound 15 of Compound Group 1 as per claim 9 . 36 . Regarding claim 21 , Compound 60 ( Geum modification) reads on Compound 15 of Compound Group 1 as per claim 21 . 37 . Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 113416206 A, English translation provided by WIPO) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1), So et al. (US 2014/0077172 A1), and Li et al. (US 2012/0302753 A1). 38 . Regarding claim 10 -12 , Zhao, as previously modified, teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. 39 . Additionally, Zhao teaches a light emitting device wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a host compound and a polycyclic boron-containing compound, and that the host compound is one that is known in the art (pg. 44). 40 . Zhao, as previously modified, does not specifically teach that the emission layer comprises a second compound represented by Formula H-1 (as per claim 10 ), a third compound represented by Formula H-2 (as per claim 11 ), or a fourth compound represented by Formula D-1 (as per claim 12 ). 41 . Regarding claim s 1 0 and 11 , Kim teaches a light emitting element comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, and an interlayer between the first electrode and the second electrode wherein the interlayer comprises an emission layer (¶ [0395]-[0397], see also Table 1: Example 9). 42 . The emission layer comprises a first host, a second host, and a dopant (¶ [0395]-[0397], see also Table 1: Example 9), wherein the first host and the second host are present at a ratio of 1:1 (¶ [0395]-[0397], see also Table 1: Example 9). 43 . The dopant is a condensed polycyclic boron-containing compound having a similar structure to the compounds of Zhao (¶ [106], [0108], [0201] , and [0395]-[0397]; Table 1: Example 9) . The dopant of Zhao has the structure that is encompassed by the structural formula of the light emitting dopant of Kim ( see Formula 3 (Kim) below, ¶ [0066]). 44 . The first host comprises a hole-transporting host having the structure shown below (¶ [0199] and [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9), which reads on Formula H -1 and is required in the emission layer as per claim 10 . 45 . The second host comprises an electron-transporting host having the structure shown below {¶ [0200] and [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9), which reads on Formula H - 2 and is required in the emission layer as per claim 11 . 46 . Kim teaches that light emitting elements using the combination of the compounds above taught by Kim possess high efficiency and long lifespan (¶ [0403]). 47 . At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the modified device taught by Zhao by using the compounds of Kim described above, based on the teaching of Kim. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make a light emitting element in order to produce optimal light emitting elements, which in this case means using the combination of materials taught by Kim in order to provide devices with high efficiency and long lifespan, as taught by Kim. 48 . Regarding claim 12 , So teaches light emitting elements in which the emissive layer comprises a thermally activated delayed fluorescence material and a sensitizer that is a phosphorescent material (abstract; Fig. 4 as described in ¶ [0016], [0039], and [0045]). 49 . So teaches that such an arrangement leads to reduced degradation and provides sensitization of up to 100% exciton utilization {¶ [0035] and [0038]-[0039]). 50 . At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the modified device taught by Zhao such that the emissive layer comprised a thermally activated delayed fluorescence material and a phosphorescent sensitizer for the thermally activated delayed fluorescence material, based on the teaching of So. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a device with reduced degradation and sensitization of up to 100% exciton utilization, as taught by So. 51 . Zhao, as modified above, and as modified by So do es not exemplify a fourth compound in the emission that has a structure satisfying Formula D - 1 . 52 . Li teaches the compound shown below (¶ [0112]). Li teaches that the compounds of Li are phosphorescent materials for use in light emitting elements (¶ [0090] and [0100]-[0101]) and reads on Formula D - 1 as per claim 12 . 53 . At the time the invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the modified device taught by Zhao and So by using the compound of Li shown above as the fourth compound represented by Formula D - 1 in the emission layer, based on the teaching of Li. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make a light emitting element in order to produce an optimal light emitting element. Conclusion 54 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Brandon J. Cooper whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-0005 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM . 55 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. 56 . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Jennifer Boyd can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-7783 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. 57 . Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /B.J.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 1786 /JENNIFER A BOYD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786