DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 5/12/26.
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1, 12, 14, 19 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s cancellation of claims 4, 5, 16 and 18 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s addition of new claims 24 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-3, 6-15, 17 and 19-24 are pending and subject to examination at this time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 6-15, 17 and 21 are allowed.
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al., US Publication No. 2023/0146085 in view of Lee et al. US Publication No. 2021/0289629 A1.
Kang teaches:
19. A system-in-package, comprising (see fig. 1):
a stepped mold (161+130; e.g. The mold has right angles that form stepped surfaces so under broadest reasonable interpretation, it is a stepped mold.);
a multi-layer board (e.g. attached to 191; see Remarks below);
an insulation film substrate (111+113; e.g. see substrate annotated in fig. 1 below) connected to the multi-layer board via a first plurality of connectors (191);
at least one processor die (141) integrated into the stepped mold and stacked onto the insulation film substrate via a second plurality of connectors (151); and
a passive element (e.g. 121 on the right), comprising:
a first element portion placed in a recess (e.g. recess due to displacement) of the stepped mold (161+130); and
a second element portion placed in a cavity (e.g. cavity is the space between the substrate 111+113) of the insulation film substrate that extends vertically from a top surface of the insulation film substrate (111+113) through a bottom surface of the insulation film substrate. See Kang at para. [0001] – [0096], figs. 1-5.
Regarding claim 19:
In fig. 1, Kang does not show a multi-layer board. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mound the insulation film substrate on a multi-layer board because Kang teaches “The external connection bump 191 may electrically and physically connect between the semiconductor package 1000 and an external device, on which the semiconductor package 1000 is mounted.” See Kang at para. [0042].
Furthermore, in an analogous art, Lee teaches (see fig. 5) a multi-layer board (500A). See Lee at para. [0055] – [0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to attach Kang’s package to a multi-layer board for the purpose of “keeping up with a high-multilayer and large-scale substrate” and “improving power integrity”. See Lee at para. [0114] – [0115].
Regarding claim 20:
Lee further teaches:
20. The system-in-package of claim 19, further comprising at least one passive element (300) directly connected to the multi-layer board (500A) via a third plurality of connectors (350), fig. 5.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kang with the teachings of Lee because this enables “keeping up with a high-multilayer and large-scale substrate” and “improving power integrity”. See Lee at para. [0114] – [0115].
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, as applied to claim 19 above, in view of Jung et al., US Publication No. 2019/0206804 A1.
Regarding claims 22 and 23:
Kang teaches all the limitations of claim 19 above, but does not expressly teach a shield.
In an analogous art, Jung teaches (see fig. 1) forming a shield (130) around a package at para. [0031] – [0040].
One of ordinary skill in the art modifying Kang with Jung to form a shield (130) around Kang’s package (1000) in fig. 1 would form:
further comprising a shield disposed along sidewalls of the recess (e.g. The shield on the outside of the package runs parallel to sidewalls of the recess so it is disposed along sidewalls of the recess.) of the stepped mold (161+130); and
further comprising a shield disposed on and in contact (e.g. through intervening layers) with a top surface and sidewalls of the first element portion (e.g. of 121)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kang with the teachings of Jung because “Electromagnetic interference (EMI) generated in such an electronic device may cause interference between devices or may be harmful to a human body…Therefore, techniques for coating a shielding layer to block electromagnetic waves in electronic components within such small electronic devices have been developed.” See Jung at para. [00003.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tsai US 20200006307 A1 (e.g. Tsai teaches in figs. 79 and 84 a package with a stepped mold.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michele Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818
17 July 2026